Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Colors and Styles

SSG Lycrochet UltraFlex

SSG Riding Gloves
- Item #10821
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

SSG Lycrochet UltraFlex glove is designed with comfort in mind. This glove features a pigskin palm with finger rein reinforcements to help prevent wear from daily use. Additionally, this glove boasts a cool crochet back for comfort and style. Hook and Loop wrist closure.


Favorite Features

  • Crochet keeps your hands cool during warm weather
  • Rein reinforcements help prevent wear
  • Hook and loop closure offer a snug fit  

Imported.

Sizing It Up

To determine your glove size, measure around your hand at the widest part, excluding thumb. The number of inches should equal your glove size.

You Might Like
    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SSG Lycrochet UltraFlex is rated 4.1724 out of 5 by 116.
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not thrilled These gloves don't seem very durable. Before I even tried them on I noticed some thread ends sticking out, so I'm not sure how long the crochet part is going to stay connected to the leather. The color transferred to the cotton when the gloves got wet from sweat, even though I got the natural pigskin. And the strange placement of the velcro in front of the wrist, rather than at the back, is very uncomfortable.
    Date published: 2012-07-24
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from ok i have had these gloves for 1 month and i ride almost every day and they already have a whole in the thumb. the leather is very thin.
    Date published: 2012-07-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great all-around schooling gloves! Awesome value! These gloves are great for schooling. Very comfrotable and snug...really stylish in white, too!! A great buy!
    Date published: 2012-05-21
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Wouldn't buy them again I purchased these gloves less than two months ago, as they are very comfortable and affordable they are already ripped on the seam, which is unfortunate because I do like the look of these gloves but the quality is poor and I wouldn't purchase this brand of lycrochet gloves again.
    Date published: 2012-05-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good for the price These gloves seem a little small, but I think the leather will stretch out as I use them more. It's also nice to have the crochet back to keep my hands cool when it's warm.
    Date published: 2012-05-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good for Everyday Good traditional gloves for every day work. The crochet part started unraveling a little after a few days of use, but I'm pretty hard on gloves. The navy is more of a teal blue which was sort of disappointing but for the price, I wasnt too bothered. They didn't "fit like a glove" straight out of the package, but have settled a bit.
    Date published: 2012-03-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pretty Gloves ! These gloves are so pretty, saving them for up comming Dude Ranch vacation- gonna be soooo cool !!
    Date published: 2012-03-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Purchase Purchased for a gift for a jumper. Gloves are sturdy.
    Date published: 2012-02-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Gloves I ordered a pair of these for myself and another for a Christmas gift. Everyone fell in love with them, and I ended up ordering two more pairs.I think these gloves run a size small, and the fit is very tight at first. After a little wear they stretch out to comfortable.
    Date published: 2012-02-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from comfy gloves I love these gloves. they fit great and allow easy movement and have great grip.
    Date published: 2011-12-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Crocheted Gloves Ever I am a foxhunter and have worn many different types of crocheted gloves in the field. These, by far, fit the best!
    Date published: 2011-12-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Value Buy these gloves all the time. They last me about 4-6 months if I use them everyday. Great value!
    Date published: 2011-11-28
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nice quality. I wish they would have fit. The fingers were too short and I was afraid if I upsized, the gloves would be baggy.
    Date published: 2011-11-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Gloves! I am a Fox Hunter. I've been wearing these gloves for as long as I can remember. They are durable, practical and very reasonably priced. They are also great for schooling!
    Date published: 2011-11-13
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from OK these gloves are ok but after a few weeks of everyday riding the fingers get dirty and the dirt never comes out. Also the gloves are not the most comfortable.
    Date published: 2011-11-05
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from not a fan I recently purchased these gloves in black and used them for the first time at a show. I was not happy to find that when I took them off, my hands were covered in black dye! It took a few good scrubs to get the dye off and I haven't used the gloves since :(
    Date published: 2011-09-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really nice gloves These are nice, simple gloves my only complaint is that they do make your hands hot but they are good winter gloves without the bulk!
    Date published: 2011-08-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Schooling Glove Great glove for the price! I would order a 1/2 size larger. I found they ran just a but small, but will stretch and fit. Love these gloves and own a couple pair to have around!
    Date published: 2011-08-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice ecconomical glove These gloves fit great and wear really well. They are priced very resonably. I will buy a few more pairs just to have around.
    Date published: 2011-08-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from fun to wear These gloves are easy to get on & off, and I like the variety of colors
    Date published: 2011-08-06
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Cooler gloves for summer I was hoping to find comfortable gloves to wear in the TX heat. I can't ride without gloves and the pair I was using were falling apart every time I rode. I loved the old crochet back gloves I used as a junior and thought these would be similar. Unfortunately while they look somewhat similar, they feel cheap and don't fit well. The velcro closure on the wrist is on the bottom instead of the top and it is uncomfortable. The crochet back is nice to have and does keep my hands cooler. The leather palms keep turning my hands brown, I guess the sweat makes them run.
    Date published: 2011-08-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these g;oves! Growing up in Texas and Florida, riding in warm weather, I pretty much have always schooled in crochet back gloves. I think the SSG gloves are the most durable (I just replaced my last pair, which I rode in for about 5 years!). I like the velcro back closure better than the brands without velcro. I've always worn a size 7 but when I got this newest pair and put them on, I thought I had gotten a size too small, as they felt a little short in the fingers. I decided to ride in them anyway instead of sending them back. In one ride, they stretched out to the normal fit I was used to.
    Date published: 2011-07-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Gloves Great quality and even better price. Perfect for everyday use.
    Date published: 2011-07-11
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Flexible Gloves I am a size 7.5 so I bought a 7 and they stretched out to fit which is great! I haven't had any issues with durability or color coming off of my gloves onto my hands. I ride regularly, these are great for schooling.
    Date published: 2011-06-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great value! I typically get too hot while riding and these gloves help keep me cool while providing durability and comfort!
    Date published: 2011-05-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great gloves at a great price I had an expensive pair of leather gloves, wore them at a show and wiped my face. A few minutes later I had black smear marks all over my face! I used these gloves instead and no black on my hands and especially on my face. Thanks smart pak.
    Date published: 2011-03-22
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Bare Hands are better than these! I used these gloves for a few weeks with a winter liner that I had added, and they were fine. But I used them without the liner for the first time a few days ago and when I took them off, skin came with them!!! I have a really deep, raw sore on my 4th finger, right where the reins go. Turning these gloves inside out, it looks like there is a line of stitching that goes right along the level of my knuckle on the inside of the finger that is the culprit. I would have been better off with bare fingers on the reins! Very sad, because I have had pairs of the SSG lycrochet gloves in the past that were wonderful. Looks like other reviewers are right, the quality on these has gone down significantly.Pros - the teal color is pretty, though it gets dirty/faded very quickly.
    Date published: 2011-03-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Solid Everyday Gloves Not as high quality as they used to be, but these are still a great pair of gloves. Fit is good, they give a great grip on the reins without sacrificing "feel." I use these also for lunging and light barn work. The blue ones look adorable, the black/black and natural colors look professional, and you can't beat the price. I'll be buying them again!
    Date published: 2011-02-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very nice affordable gloves This is my third pair of these gloves. I have always had great luck with them. However, for some reason this pair has already gotten slick and the reins are sliding through my hands. Overall, a good product since this has never happened with them before.
    Date published: 2010-12-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Comfy gloves in fun colors I bought these gloves fall '09. They didn't get much use before I switched to my winter gloves, but I used these ones all spring, summer, and early fall this year. They held up fantastically for every day arena riding as well as long trail rides. No blisters, no rein slipping, nada. I love the great colors, too. The lilac just gets a darker purple when dirty, which I definitely like! I can easily tighten girths and adjust stirrups with these gloves.The only bad part is that they're not as cool as you'd think with the backing. My hand never felt overly hot, but they were a pain in the butt to get off post-ride. They seemed to stick. I have no clue if it's because of the humidity tends to make most things sticky or what.I prefer these for spring/fall days when it's quite so hot and humid.
    Date published: 2010-12-01
    • 2015-03-06T07:01CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.1
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_19, tr_97
    • loc_en_US, sid_821, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    In Loving Memory
    You were a loving and patient partner. From our early days learning dressage together, to your "retirement" years of tearing around the field and stirring up all the youngsters, you always brought your kindness, your heart, and your spirit. Thank you for everything, Wes. You are missed.

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.