Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Colors and Styles

Colorful Cotton Leads w/ Snap End

Item #18155

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Bring out your bright colors with these Amish made cotton lead ropes. Lead measures 1/2" x 6'. Chrome plated snap and clamp. Comes with snap.

You Might Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    Colorful Cotton Leads w/ Snap End is rated 3.6038 out of 5 by 53.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love it! Great everyday lead with beautiful colors. My only fault is that is is kind of thin and I prefer a thicker rope.
    Date published: 2013-01-24
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not what I expected... I was excited for this lead rope because of the fun colors BUT it was not at all what I was expecting. It was so short and much thinner than any other lead rope I've seen. The clasp wasn't very substantial and the end was capped off poorly. Needless to say, it went directly back into the box and was returned.
    Date published: 2012-11-05
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from not well made stay away if you are looking for quality.The fixing is misserable and will not last long.The ends are fixed with wire.NO go!
    Date published: 2012-10-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good for what it's worth My lead finally needs to be replaced. To give people an idea, I just checked my order history and I bought this lead rope a little over a year ago. For eight bucks, it's lasted much longer than I ever thought it would. It's definitely been battle tested. It's been left out in the rain and snow, dragged through the mud, and I use it on my horse when I bathe her. It's fairly inexpensive so I don't mind replacing it. The only drawback is that it pretty short.
    Date published: 2012-09-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Choice I am only 5'1" and the 8' leads were way too long for me to handle. The shorter lead is perfect - fits in my hand without dangling on the ground. Would recommend especially for petite people.
    Date published: 2013-04-04
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from LEAD ROPE I RECEIVED MY ORDER AND I TOOK IT OUT OF THE BAG AND I PUT IT BACK IN ITS WRAPER AND SENT IT BACK. IT WAS NOT STURDY OR HEAVY ENOUGH.I AM NOT A PICKY PERSON AND I DONT HAVE ALOT SO FOR ME TO NOT LIKE THIS PRODUCT IS SOMETHING. I EVEN THOUGHT OF USING IT FOR MY DOG'S LEASH BUT IT WASNT STRONG ENOUGH LOOKING FOR THAT
    Date published: 2012-09-10
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Sticky clip The ropes on the leads are fine, but the clips do not move smoothly, even with an application of WD-40. I ended up adding on my own clip to the one attached to the rope since this became such a problem.
    Date published: 2012-09-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cotton Leads I use these as trailer ties for my trailer tied to a piece of bailing twine. They are very adjustable (Just tie them at the legnth you want them) and work Great!
    Date published: 2012-08-31
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Short lead I love the color choices of these lead ropes, but it was much shorter than I had expected. It does not feel all that durable either. I don't expect it to last long, but I suppose it's cheap enough to replace with another great color combination.
    Date published: 2012-08-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this rope! I love this rope and the variety of colors that it comes in. I purchased this specific rope because I wanted something purple/orange to go with the rest of my horses tack. The quality is good however it could stand to be a bit more sturdy. I noticed people commenting on the length but I personally don't have any problem with it, I don't prefer an extremely long lead rope so this works great for me. I will re-purchase this item in the future :)
    Date published: 2012-08-06
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from small its a good quality lead rope but very very small for PONIES only
    Date published: 2012-06-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Lead Rope It is not as substantial or thick as I expected and there is a lot of metal at the snap. Not as long, either. However, the lead rope was a good value for the price.
    Date published: 2012-06-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from perfect lead great length and thickness, with a quality snap! perfect for around-the-barn use. I don't bring it to shows because I use an extra long lead for grazing outside the ring. I got the navy and white and love it.
    Date published: 2012-06-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Really nice lead I am very happy with this lead. I use a rope halter w/ it and it works very nicely!! Very happy w/ it as it matches her black and pink halter. I use it to hold her while she grazes and trust me she pulls VERY hard when I try to take her away from the grass, so I can tell you this is a durable lead.
    Date published: 2012-04-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality cotton lead I wanted some cotton lead ropes that were small enough to be manageable for my young daughter, and these are it. Easy to tie and hold. Work just fine!
    Date published: 2012-04-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for mini horse! I am always on the lookout for short cotton leads for the minis. The hlage diameter cotton 10 foot leads with heavy snaps are just too much with the short horses. These are lightweight and a good length, making them great for the minis. I wouldn't expect them to hold a fullsize horse, though, especially as a tie-rope. For my purposes, they are a good solution. The colors aren't a big plus for me, solid white or navy would be fine. I would prefer a different type of attachment at the snap end, as I don't fully trust the "H" clamps.
    Date published: 2012-03-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great, handy lead These lead ropes are the best because they are short and narrow, so they are easy to tie and you don't feel tied up when holding them. And they come in great colors!
    Date published: 2012-03-09
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Broke with Pressue I hate to leave a bad review, but one of the first times I used this, my horse was a bad boy and, as I threaded this lead through a loose ring to tie him, he backed up, put pressure on it (with me holding the other end) and the rope busted loose from the snap. Not too thrilled that he tried to get away, or that the lead broke! I loved the color of the lead (black and pink!), but I would only use it for leading around the barn/familiar situations or with a "I never behave badly" horse. I won't buy this again unless it's for a dog, but I have read some other reviews that say they would not even use for for a dog! Also, I didn't consider the length when purchasing, but it certainly feels too short. If your horse startled, you wouldn't have much time to react and stay with him without letting go of the lead. I hope SP either markets these for dogs or stops carrying this item.
    Date published: 2012-02-29
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2011-12-22
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from worse excuse for a lead ever This is wiithout a doubt the cheapes, most useless thing I have ever ordered for a horse. I have a golden retreiver dog and the hardware on this would not begin to hold HER much less a horse. Would not even last as a mini lead. This has destroyed the comfidence I used to have in Smart Pak. Please save your money.
    Date published: 2011-11-28
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from unbelievable poor quality..yuck I really CANNOT believe Smart Pak would sell something like this. Someone in quality control is alseep at the desk. This lead isn't even 5 1/2'... the hardware is a joke...the ends are wrapped with a puny piece of electrical tape. The snap isn't even large enough to hold my DOG at bay. Not worth a dime as a lead line. PLEASE SAVE YOUR MONEY. USELESS ITEM IF YOU HAVE A HORSE!
    Date published: 2011-11-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from An overall good leadrope These are great leads, cheap in price, but they last for years. I love all the colors as well, a different one for each horse.
    Date published: 2011-11-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great! Great im a young rider an d i olny have a small pony so its hard to find shorter leadropes also they come in really cool colors
    Date published: 2011-10-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best lead in the barn! I use these leads all the time, they are my favorite. Just throw in the wash when they get dirty, last for quite a few years. Great all around lead rope!
    Date published: 2011-07-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2011-05-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Lead I really like this lead rope. The colors are bright and fun. I love that it is shorter, thinner and lighter weight than most lead ropes because you don't have to carry around a handful of heavy rope. It is not really a practical lead rope to tie your horse with just because it is so short but it is great for leading for that reason.
    Date published: 2011-02-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love these! It's a very short, very simple lead. It's not much longer than the distance from a 16hh horses chin to the ground which is why I buy them! If the horse gets of the lead, they don't get tangled! Also, its cotton and short so even if they yank on you, you're not getting rope burn! Clasp is good and solid. I had this on a pony who got loose and when they took of they stepped on it a few times and the ends frayed. Oh well. $7. I keep a safety supply on hand.
    Date published: 2011-01-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from BEST LEAD EVER I have used this lead on a daily basis and it is great i have TB and i even have a 2yo stud that loves to try to pull and eat his lead and he broke a chain lead but not this I also have small hands and its hard for me to hold the thick leads but no issues with this i am 5'2 and use it on a 17H OTTB and he holds his head as high as he can and i still have alot of lead for him to spook and not take the lead out of my hand i will only buy this lead my first one i got 10 years ago and still in use today
    Date published: 2011-01-19
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Cool colors, bad design I was very disappointed when I received this lead rope. It was very thin and too short, it hardly looked like it would withstand much use. I ended up returning it.
    Date published: 2010-12-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Kind of Short I know it says in the description that its 6 feet, but I guess I'm used to a longer lead. Love that the black and hot pink matched her halter, though. Will use it until it wears out.
    Date published: 2010-09-23
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.