Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Uncle Jimmy's Licky Things

Uncle Jimmy's Hangin' Balls
- Item #17853
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Uncle Jimmy's Licky Things are premium refills that are made special to fit major treat holders on the market today.  They are great tasting and packed with vitamins and minerals essential for horse's everyday needs.

Fits in the Pony Pop Lic N' SpinLikit Holder or Likit Boredom Breaker.

You Might Like
    out of 5
    94% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Uncle Jimmy's Licky Things is rated 4.626 out of 5 by 131.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good purchase These are great treats and they keep the horses occupied.Only dislike is the sticky faces on the horses.
    Date published: 2010-12-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My horse loved this! Only problem was that it was gone in two days!
    Date published: 2010-12-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My horse loves these These are great for stall toys my horse loves them and takes time days to eat it
    Date published: 2010-12-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from licky things are great and cheaper fits perfectly into the Lixit holders and easier than the Pony Pops because of the hole size. The horse does go through it a bit faster because the grains are not as tightly packed as the Pony pops but they are half the price.
    Date published: 2010-12-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT LIKIT REFILL! I purchased a LIKIT for my very picky thoroughbred. He wanted nothing to do with it. So, I tried a Uncle Jimmy's Licky Things in the LIKIT holder... and he LOVED it! He licked it back and forth. He didn't get sticky at all, like some other reviews said. This lasted me about two weeks. A great alternative for picky horses!
    Date published: 2010-12-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from sticky goodness! Our horse is on stall rest and needed something to keep him entertained. This was a good alternative to other "likit" type items. I have to warn you that the nose will get STICKY!
    Date published: 2010-12-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from A Holiday Success I left this for my extremely picky and stall bound horse for a Thanksgiving treat. To my great surprise, it was halfway gone when I got home! He loved it.I have to include a warning about the sticky face, but to me it was worth it - and easily remedied with some extra grooming!
    Date published: 2010-12-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from best thing for stalled horses Licky things are the greatest. horses that won't touch Likits or similar stall snacks will like these. They are packed more tightly so they last longer than other stall snacks. The molasses in them keeps the horse coming back. Lots of ways to hang them besides using a stall snack holder.
    Date published: 2010-11-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Better option than the sugary treats Better option than the lickits or jolly apple things. Not just a chunk of sugar that they can eat in a day! I have 2 horses sharing 1 treat and it lasts about 2 weeks!
    Date published: 2010-11-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it My horses absolutely love these! I have a filly that can have hers gone in one day! I hung one in each stall during morning feeding, went to the track, came back late (gone all day), and found her's gone! Any flavor suits her fine. Yes, very sticky but well worth having.
    Date published: 2010-08-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very good product My horse really enjoyed this . He was kept busy for several of days.
    Date published: 2010-07-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it!!!! I have been through the Lik-its and all other refill types of things and haven't been able to interest my mare yet. So I bought this for my 3 year old since he figured out the milk jug trick too quickly and was destroying them within minutes. I got this one as a refill since I could just tag it on to my smartpaks order. I hung it in the opening of his stall door and let him lick it once with my holding it and the fun began! Well later on, my mare reached around her stall door and began licking it with him! Now they reach and take opposite sides so they can both eat it. It doesn't last long that way, but I'm going to buy her her own now so hopefully they'll last longer. This first one has lasted longer than 4 days with two horses going at it. I'm sure it'll last 2 weeks with each of their own!
    Date published: 2010-07-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Keeps them busy I put this in the trailer to help an anxious horse keep busy. It did the trick, but not until I held it in place to let her take the first bite...that got her interested. Just a warning...these are quite sticky...be prepared for a mess. I do think the mess is worth it though.
    Date published: 2010-07-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best treat on the market These are comparable to pony pops (a little smaller, but last about as long) But 1/2 the price of pony pops. They come in a variety of flavors, and even my extremely picky quarter horse mare loved them.
    Date published: 2010-06-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from pony treat keeps my pony busy for a long time, very entertaining to watch my pony enjoying this treat
    Date published: 2010-06-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from sweet toys tried these in llieu of pony pops- not as sticky, and just as much fun! I have an Arabian on stall rest for 2 months due to injury, one pop keeps him happily occupied for about 5 days. These are best hung in an area where horses can't brace them against anything- swinging loose! Just be prepared for sticky faces!
    Date published: 2010-05-12
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from don't leave it unattended My horse looked like he was going to polish this off very quickly. I then hung it in the middle where he didn't have a wall to push it against and it lasted much longer.
    Date published: 2013-04-25
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Unsafe Horse Treat I think my horse loved this product very much as he was able to eat it within an hour! I was worried about a choke episode, but apparently he was able to chew it properly. His safety is my only concern. The price, look, and taste, which was obvious from my horse's pleasure, was very good.
    Date published: 2010-04-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Just ok Im not sure why but my horse does not seem to be eating this. I think she may lick it because it's sticky but it has been in there for 2 weeks and still there. Probably just my horse because it looks good to me.
    Date published: 2010-04-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Yummy Treat That Lasted More Than 5 Minutes!! My young horse gets VERY bored in his stall and this spring has been no exception... limited turnout due to the heavy mud/clay leave him with too much time on his hooves. He has a Jolly Ball snack combo hanging in his stall and he goes through the "licks" within minutes of finding them. Refills are expensive especially when it becomes a daily deal. I tried a Licky Thing and was amazed! Not only did he LOVE it, but it lasted over a week!! Happy horse and happy owner, a very good combination!!
    Date published: 2010-04-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from A Decent Deal When I put this product in the apple-shaped toy that it is made to fit into -- my horse tried and tried to eat it but quickly gave up because she couldn't get to it due to it's shape and the design of the stall toy. I had to hang it freely without the apple toy holding it for her to be able to eat it. It did last longer than the lik-its, but I was a bit annoyed with the difficulty of use. Next time I might get the ball shaped one.
    Date published: 2010-03-30
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Horse finish in an hour It obviously was very good because both of my horses finsih it within an hour!!!
    Date published: 2010-03-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from THE PERFECT BABYSITTER Absolutely LOVE this product for my youngsters. It keeps them occupied for hours when they are stalled. GREAT VALUE!!!!!
    Date published: 2010-03-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My horses love these! but if you don't want them to disappear in a matter of hours you need to hang them where your horse can't pin them up against the wall! :)
    Date published: 2010-03-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Boredum Busters These treats are amazing!! My horse loves the grainy taste and feel to them rather than the regular smooth waxy lik-its. They are cheap especially for the hours my horse enjoys playing with him. My horse will play with them for hours instead of eating everything else he shouldn't be :P
    Date published: 2010-03-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from GOOD. My mare loves it, and it doesn't break for her. She's no longer chewing wood. And during the day birds try to eat it but can't, so it's funny to watch.
    Date published: 2010-03-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My horse is a picky eater but loves this My friend had purchased the Hangin' Ball and so I decided to give it a try for my horse. He loves this thing plus it provides him entertainment while in his pen. He did not like many of the Lick Its so when I found out about this I just had to try it. Definately worth the buy plus it looks like it is going to last for about a month.
    Date published: 2010-03-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best treat! These are the greatest! My horse loves them, he usually eats about one a month when he is on constant stall rest. I make sure it hangs in the middle of his stall so he can't get it pushed against anything. It fits well in his likit holder. He will not eat those candy things that come with the likit. I often walk buy and see him licking away at the Uncle Jimmy's treat. I used to buy him the balls but they were so messy and he learned to bite above the treat and pull down breaking the ball off the string. Since i can put the licky thing in is treat holder it solves that problem.
    Date published: 2010-03-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Greatest My horse LOVES treats as I'm sure most horses do. I had the treat holder thing from another company but those treats are straight up sugar with hardly any nutrition. My horse will eat just about any treat as fast as you give it to him but knowing that the ingredients are better and more natural makes me not worry as much that he finishes the whole thing in a day and a half. As soon as i put the licky thing in treat holder he started immediately. I wish they lasted longer but because they don't it means my pony really likes it. He has tried both candy apple and carrot.
    Date published: 2010-03-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Horse Gives 5 Stars to Licky Things My horse loves these treats. They are as good as the more expensive pony pops.
    Date published: 2010-03-10
    • 2015-02-27T06:37CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.1
    • cp_4, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_7, tr_124
    • loc_en_US, sid_7853, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Horse of the Month: Sir Rocco
    Horse of the Month: Sir Rocco, a.k.a “Bud” Breed: Appaloosa Age: 24 years old PATH Intl. Accredited Center: Hearts & Horses Location: Loveland, CO Bud is an incredible equine therapist, and has been at Hearts & Horses the longest of

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.