Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Colors and Styles

Big D Nylon Halter

Big D
- Item #17531

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

The Big D Nylon Halter is a sturdy and classic halter that is a barn staple.  Adjustable chin and rolled throatlatch snap to ensure a perfect fit. 

  • Rot-resistant heavy duty nylon that is doubled and tripled for strength.
  • Big D-exclusive heavy duty brass plated buckles, rings, and squares are designed for years of use.
  • Buckles are designed for easy on and off use.
  • Buckle tongue is 5mm in thickness for extra strength.

Made in the USA.

You Might Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    Big D Nylon Halter is rated 4.4082 out of 5 by 49.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice nylon halter, about what you'd expect I ordered this for a 17-hand Percheron cross who has a BIG head. I initially ordered the 1500+ pound size, but that one was too big even for my horse. I sent it back and SmartPak exchanged it, no problem, for the next size down. I'm not crazy about the look of the "gold" hardware. It doesn't look like brass, and overall I'd prefer steel or chrome.
    Date published: 2013-01-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Run Large Size Large was way too big on my large-headed quarter horse. "Medium" fits both my quarter horse and my Morgan mare, on tightest fitting. A new feature is a keeper on the chin strap. It makes adjustments more difficult, but hopefully it will keep the ends from fraying. Also, no grommets just hemmed holes. I plan to purchase another one as most web halters are of poor quality these days.
    Date published: 2012-10-16
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not quite the right size. I originally purchased a medium sized halter for my 16 hand AQHA gelding, but the fit was a bit tight. I then exchanged that halter for a large, which took about two weeks (so not the fastest turnaround, but pretty good) to get back to me. The large was entirely too big, there was no way to take it up to where he could wear it. My boy is average; he wears a medium Crusader fly mask with room to spare, average size bridles fit fine, and I had no problems fitting his other halter, so I was a bit disappointed that the sizing didn't work for him. This time I'm just going for a credit- I know that Smartpak will have something else I can find to spend it on!The quality for the halter looks to be nice, the buckles were nice and heavy- they didn't feel like they would break easy at all. I never got to try it out to see how it really holds up.
    Date published: 2012-08-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product Excellent quality and great price. I ordered the wrong size and realized that the minute I saw the halters. With one phone call a very nice young lady, guided me to the right size and shipped them out to me the next day. I returned the halters (via UPS) that were too small and received my credit on my card in a few days. Love this company.
    Date published: 2012-08-24
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from good everyday halter I was looking for an everyday barn halter and I have a warmblood with a very large head. I got the draft size at first and it was way too big, so I exchanged for a large and it fits ok. It is a little on the small side. Also if you have cross ties, the size of the hardware on either side of the halter are too thick for the snaps that our barn uses on the cross ties, so I will look for a different brand next time for that reason. It is well made. My daughter decorated it with fabric paint and it is super cute.
    Date published: 2012-08-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from nice halter this is a good halter with nice features, i would have liked a wider size range however as the horse size is a little too small with not enough room for adjustments and the extra large warmblood size would have been too big; overall though a nice halter
    Date published: 2012-07-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great halter! Love this halter. The nylon is very soft. I imagine it's a lot more comfy on my horse's face than the stiffer nylon halters. It's very adjustable, too! The horse size fits my TB mare great.
    Date published: 2012-07-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Halters These are nice, practical halters but one word of warning - if you're ordering these in mini horse size, they will not fit a size B mini. Mine were way too small for even my 33" miniature horse.
    Date published: 2012-05-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-05-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Fit Bought this for my Belgian Mare. Fits well with room to spare.Nice quality to the holes and buckles.
    Date published: 2012-02-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this halter. I have a mare that has figured out how to get out of breakaway halters, so she is back in Nylon. It fits well, the material is great, and it seems like it will last a long time. I would definitely order it again.
    Date published: 2012-01-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice, solid halter Great halter. Took a little playing to get the right size: my gelding, who's 16hh and about 1000lbs, has a fairly "average" sized head, but is thick through the throatlatch area (to give an idea of his size, his bridle has cob-sized cheek pieces, but an oversize browband and throatlatch). Tried the Medium, and could BARELY get it on with the loosest settings. SmartPak's awesome about returns, of course, so I exchanged it for a Large. Fits great.
    Date published: 2012-01-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super Quality and Great Colors Love these halters for my little horses (minis). There are great colors to choose from. They are study and a quality product. Heavy hardware for strength and durability. These are a much higher quality than what I find at my local feed/tack stores for the same price. Highly recommend this product for your horse. The stylish colors are for you!
    Date published: 2011-12-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good value Good price for a nice average halter. It has the adjustable nose band and a snap on the throat latch which were 2 of the things I was looking in for a nylon halter.
    Date published: 2011-12-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good halter I was looking for a good quality "regular" everyday halter. This seems to be it. Haven't used it long enough to speak to durability (which is the reason for the 4 stars on quality), but so far it has stood up well to hanging outside the turnout fields in all weather and occasionally falling in the mud. It has a good feel, looks nice, the hardware seems solid and is adjustable in the right places, no unnecessary frills but everything I need. And it fits well - I like the many different sizes. Medium horse fits my 16.1 hand warmblood, head a little bigger than a cob but regular horse-sized is often slightly big on him, perfectly. (Though in truth he's probably more than 1100 lbs...!!)I consider this a good purchase and intend to buy more of them.
    Date published: 2011-11-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice, nice halter This is probably the nicest halter I have ever purchased. It is made of thick and sturdy materials. It is the Cadillac of halters. I purchased the green one and it looks great on my sorrel gelding.
    Date published: 2011-11-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Big D Halter = Big The weight guidelines for the halter size are a little off. My horse fit in the XL category but the halter was way too big. Smart Pak kindly replaced it with a Large and it's great! We love it :)
    Date published: 2011-10-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Halter I bought this halter and really enjoy the way it is adjustable at the nose band too. I like the clip feature. This is a sturdy and well made halter but the adjustability of it is what makes it my favorite because one size does not really fit all. The color is beautiful too.
    Date published: 2011-09-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very affordable for the quality Great quality at an excellent price. I like the fact that it adjusts at the poll and chin. Especially nice with growing foals/weanlings/yearlings. There size changes often and it's reassuring to have a halter that fits properly.
    Date published: 2011-09-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great everyday halter! These are great everyday halters. The holes are just the nylon and stay easy to use unlike halter with metal around the holes. That is my one requirement in a daily halter and this one fits the bill.
    Date published: 2011-09-12
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good for odd size head This halter does fit my colt with his head being in between sizes right now, but the chin buckle is always coming undone on it's own.
    Date published: 2011-08-26
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from not strong latch my mini had this on less than 6 hours and the latch broke
    Date published: 2011-08-15
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from nice at first...but rusts I love the colors and durability of the halter nylon. This the first halter my green horse has not been able to break.The main problem I have is that it doesn't look very good anymore. I have only had the halter for the past few months and the metal is rusting. The halter is never left outside in the rain. My horse is stall boarded. It has very little exposure to water. Only during bath time but I don't hose the face since he's a baby about it.My matching Big D halter lead is having similar problems. I won't be buying anymore Big D products.
    Date published: 2011-08-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really Strong and look good! Even after a few washes these halters look great and they are really well made and strong and safe. They last for years. The only colors I have had that fades are the red and black.
    Date published: 2011-07-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Halter This halter runs a bit big, especially on the adjustable nose piece. But it is very well made and holds up to daily use and abuse. It has kept its color and the metal parts still look good.
    Date published: 2011-07-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice nylon halter. The design seems strong and durable. The colors is very rich and true.
    Date published: 2011-04-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2011-03-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful Halter Very nice halter. It ended up being to small for my adult miniatures, but works well on my yearlings. Put together extremely well. Very durable
    Date published: 2011-03-22
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from not happy The halter is very heavy and I should of really checked it out before I put my horses name plate on it. Some parts were twisted and sewed together. I have a feeling it might give my horse a rub. It is my fault for not examining it more carefully.
    Date published: 2010-12-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is one STURDY halter! My horse's narrow face is difficult to fit. He is also on the low end of the weight the big D halter is made to fit, so the chin strap is set to the smallest adjustment possible and could still stand to be a bit smaller-but it works ok. The throat strap is too big for him right now and I wish it could be made adjustable. My husband added a couple of holes in the head strap because it was still too big for him at his current size. So we had to modify that for wear at this time. But this halter will be durable for a looong time and I know it will continue to adjust. My horse is only 20 months old and the Big D halter is the 5th halter I have bought for him. It is so well made it just may be the last one I ever have to buy.
    Date published: 2010-12-22
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.