Product Image

SmartTendon® Pellets

SmartSupplements by SmartPak
- Item #17478
Form: Pellets
Maintenance Dose: 2 SmartPak Wells



SmartTendon Pellets provide targeted support for tendons and ligaments! This cutting-edge formula contains a careful selection of active ingredients including 500 mg of bioavailable Silica, a trace mineral that is essential to healthy, resilient connective tissue. It also contains 1,400 mg of Hydrolyzed Collagen, the main structural protein found in tendons and ligaments, as well as 5,000 mg of MSM. Research has shown that MSM protects tissues against the damaging effects of exercise and stress. Lastly, SmartTendon Pellets provide the antioxidants Vitamin C and Grape Seed Extract, to fight free radical damage and offer comprehensive soft tissue support. This unique formula can be fed alone or combined with your favorite joint supplement. SmartTendon Pellets are intended for hard-working performance horses and to support normal recovery.

View our Tendon & Ligament Supplement Comparison Chart

View Product Label

Order This Product In:

    Ships every 28 days
  edit
Maintenance Dose
  edit
Custom Dose  cancel
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Shipping on SmartPaks over $40
Congrats, you earned free shipping!

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Shipping on orders over $75
Congrats, you earned free shipping!
You Might Also Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    SmartTendon® Pellets is rated 4.7692 out of 5 by 156.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from So far so good My horse is eating them without problem. She is still out but hope to be riding her soon.
    Date published: 2013-12-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product I have a HUS Appendix gelding who was growing fast and his tendons/ligaments were having trouble keeping up with the bone that he was laying down. He would have intermittent lameness, roll his ankles, and bunny hop whenever a growth spurt happened. I've had him on SmartTendon for several months now and he is moving better than ever. He has his floaty stride back and is back to pretending he's a reining horse. I'll be keeping him on this until he stops growing, at least.
    Date published: 2013-12-20
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Picky Eater Approved I've had my gelding on this for about 2mos.  I started him on it because his right hind kept giving out during a farrier appt.  The farrier thought it was his tendons.  I had the vet out, couldn't find anything wrong with him and since he's not riding sound due to various issues, I just wanted something to support him without breaking the bank.  He did not collapse on the farrier after having been on it a few weeks.  The leg is still bothering him but I don't think it's ever going to go away.  :(  This horse is an EXTREMELY PICKY eater- he won't even eat grain dust.  He eats these pellets without a problem!
    Date published: 2013-12-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product! SmartTendon helped my horse to recover from a torn suspensory. I plan to keep him on it!!
    Date published: 2013-11-26
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Palatable My horse has been gobbling them up. I don't know if they are helping, but with a DDFT tear I figured they couldn't hurt!
    Date published: 2013-11-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just in case... My horse, Eva,  has never had tendon issues, but since she is jumping, I thought it couldn't hurt to put her on a tendon supplement.  She's never come up lame from a ride, and she can be a "mare" to other horses in the field (kicking at them), so as far as I'm concerned, the supplement is doing it's job!  
    Date published: 2013-11-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome supplement! I bought this product right after my mare a sprained her hind tendon in August. With the help of this supplement her tendon has fully healed in 3 months and she's back to her exercise schedule with no issues! 
    Date published: 2014-02-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from See it in her tail I bought this because my 15 yo Dutch mare had to have her check ligament  cut and her suspensory was also partially torn. I have no idea if its aiding in her recovery or not but I DO know for a fact her body is absorbing it. Her tail went from drab to glossy and slick with no breakage. I don't even have to use detangler anymore. She's always had a thick tail but this put the luster back into it. Hopefully it's doing for her ligaments what it's doing for her tail! My horse eats anything btw
    Date published: 2013-11-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent basic supplement This is an excellent basic supplement with key quality ingredients for expedited healing.
    Date published: 2013-11-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Supplement I started my 3yr old Dutch Warmblood on this last year when I started breaking him under saddle. I figured I would do it for my own peace of mind as he is a very big boy 17.3 and constantly growing. He has never been sore and his legs are always nice and tight even after a long work out. After owning quite a few horses I know it's not a fluke that his legs are in such great shape and that he's been completely injury free even with playing so hard in turnout. I will make sure he's always on it. Not to mention he eats it right out of my hand :)
    Date published: 2013-11-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Smart Tendon Our horse has been having tendon and ligament issues for a year now. We have been dealing with heat and swelling on and off the whole time. Have been treating with DMSO and EPF5, ice packs, stall rest and hand walking, the swelling went down but would come back in a day or two. So I decided to give Smart Tendon a try. Then we added the cold laser therapy for 10-20 minutes, She has been on it for over a month now, the swelling is gone and the vet says that our mare is the soundest she has seen her.
    Date published: 2013-10-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product I originally tried this for a tendon tear. Thought it might help aid the healing. Was reultrasounded at 8 weeks. The vet had a difficult time seeing any evidence of the tear. The vet and I was quite impressed and give a lot of credit to this supplement since my horse is so NOT a good patient.
    Date published: 2013-10-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works like a charm? I started my LARGE sport horse, with two old suspensory injuries, on this about a week ago. It might be a little too soon to tell, but I have already gotten comments on how much nicer he is moving! I can feel that he is tripping less, and moving much more comfortably, confidently, and freely! He is known as "the vacuum" and has no problems eating it, super easy to feed too! Great price with so far great results!
    Date published: 2013-10-29
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Too soon to tell anything Too soon to tell anything...mare is out with a distal seasmodian ligament injury. Thought it couldnt hurt to throw as much as I can at her and pray something sticks. She eats it, no problem, but she's also the equine equivalent to a garage disposal. Still not sure if I should swtich over to the SmartRehab supplement, chose this one due to cost.
    Date published: 2013-10-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Did wonders for my old horse My 30 year old ex-jumper has been doing really well on this supplement. Sure, he has his bad days where he has low energy and doesn't do much in his turn out. But on his good days he can get up off all fours and let out a decent buck or two. I have seen less frequent swelling in his back leg from an old suspensory ligament injury which is great. Even though he is slowing down a lot lately (30 is a loosing battle) he seems comfortable and happy.
    Date published: 2013-10-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great supplement I started my 3-year-old Andalusian Percheron on this after the vet diagnosed a stretched patellar ligament. Since starting the supplement she has not had any further issues of tripping in the hind or dragging that leg. She has since had further growth spurts, which may have corrected the ligament issue; however, I am continuing her on this supplement for support as she continues to grow!
    Date published: 2013-10-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Silica is for strong tendons Silica that is very important for strong tendons and this is one of the very few products that have that ingredient. After having many pulls or torn tendons my horse will be on this for ever. She soooo fussy about the taste of things, but this smells so good, I'd like to eat it myself. Not so sure if it REALLY works, but I'm not taking any chances any more. Reasonably priced compared to a 9 month layup.Shes been on it for over a year and there are no more problems with her tendons , knock on wood...
    Date published: 2013-10-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2013-08-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product My rescue gelding has had issues with his DDFTs (among numerous other issues) and had been lame for months. I had honestly come to terms with the fact that he may be a pasture ornament for the rest of his life, but I put him on the SmartTendon and 3 months later he is moving better than he ever has before. And the most important part is that he is comfortable and happy!
    Date published: 2013-10-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worked great! My mare has an old tendon injury, and had some light lameness issues. I put her on the SmartTendon, and she hasn't had any lameness issues since!
    Date published: 2013-08-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Worth the price Originally, I was using SmartFlex Rehab, but switched to SmartTendon to save money, since really I only needed tendon support, not joint support (I use Adequan for joints). While I don't have any way of scientifically knowing if it helped with my horse's recovery, the vet was impressed when he came back out to ultrasound. He said that he recovered very well in the sixty days of lay up. I believe that this supplement, along with cold compression therapy (see the Game Ready machine or Centurion Boreas machine), hand walking and wrapping helped to heal my horse's tendon better than icing, hand walking and wrapping alone.
    Date published: 2013-07-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good product Nice palatibility and balances nutrients nicely with other smartpak products.
    Date published: 2013-07-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Helped after tendon surgery My gelding severed two tendons in his back leg on April 19, 2013. He had surgery and was in a cast for 8 1/2 weeks. I started him on SmartTendon on May 15, one month after his injury. He got his cast off on June 18 and the vet was very happy with his progess.On July 16, four weeks after cast removal (and 2 months after being on SmartTendon), I took him in for a checkup and sonogram. The vet was impressed with his recovery so far and said his tendons are looking really good, especially for the short amount of time it's been. I haven't told the vet my horse is on a supplement because I don't want to influence his opinion on the recovery. I'll be taking my horse in for a checkup in five more weeks, and am optimistic that the healing will be even better.I can't guarantee the supplement did anything miraculous, but the way the vet was talking, I'm certain the results so far are above average.I will definitley be keeping my horse on this for as long as I can afford it.
    Date published: 2014-02-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from ligament injury My horse suffered a ligament injury and is still recovering. He likes the pellets and eats them right up. I'll be able to tell if they are working when he goes back to work. I'm hoping they will help prevent another injury.
    Date published: 2013-06-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another great smart! After having my 19yo mare on SmartTendon for a month, I have noticed that all of her swelling has gone away. I've always struggled to reduce her swelling from old pervious injures. SmartPak has done it again!!
    Date published: 2013-06-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Smart Tendon This product improved my horses movement and stopped the snapping and cracking sounds within a week.
    Date published: 2013-05-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Expensive, but worth it My horse eats these pellets right up. I'm at ease knowing that hes getting a supplement that is targeted at healing his suspensory injury.
    Date published: 2013-05-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Stuff My OTTB gelding had a 20% tear to his deep digital flexor tendon in October. I put him on Smart Tendon and Smart MSM about a month after the injury. He gobbles it up, with no problem.Although I don't think the supplements helped him heal any faster, I do notice that he has less swelling and discomfort on the supplements.For example, after he was healed, I went about a week without them to see if there was any noticeable difference, and their was - I noticed increased soreness and discomfort, and once I put him back on it, he seemed much more comfortable.After 4 months of hand walking and him in a private run - no stall rest and no PRP - he healed completely, with an expected amount of scar tissue. I'm happy with how he healed, and I think the SmartPak supplements certainly helped him remain comfortable, reduce imflamation, and support his healing. I will keep using Smart Tendon and Smart MSM for the rest of his life!
    Date published: 2013-05-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for Recovery!! My mare Lilly tore her suspensory and I decided we needed a little extra something to help her heal. Well we just had our first check up and she has had "remarkable progress" and I have to think that SmartTendon played a big role. I intend to keep her on it to help us get back to competition!
    Date published: 2013-05-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Choice It helped my horse recover much faster from bowed tendon.
    Date published: 2013-05-12
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.