Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

SmartPak Deluxe High Neck Turnout Blanket

SmartPak
- Item #17378
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're sorry, but certain colors/sizes are sold out and are no longer available.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Designed for superior fit with uncompromising quality and construction.

Keep your horse warm and dry with the SmartPak Deluxe High Neck Turnout blanket! This blanket includes all of the great features of the SmartPak Deluxe Turnout blanket but with a higher neck that offers extra protection against the elements and winter drafts.

Favorite Features

  • Waterproof and breathable
  • Tough 1200 denier, grid patterned ripstop outer shell
  • High neck design reduces pressure on the withers and offers better protection from the elements
  • Two stainless steel quick clip front closures which can be adjusted to achieve the perfect fit
  • Nylon/elastic leg straps help to prevent the blanket from shifting
  • Tail flap protects from wind and rain while helping to keep the blanket in place
  • Two stainless steel low cross belly surcingles
  • Imported

Please note: We recommend placing embroidery on a surcingle. Embroidery on the body of the blanket may interfere with the blanket's waterproofing ability.

Sizing It Up

How to measure a horse


Turnouts, Sheets and Blankets Comparison Chart

You Might Like
    out of 5
    95% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SmartPak Deluxe High Neck Turnout Blanket is rated 4.6121 out of 5 by 165.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from So far, so good! After my gelding's other blanket got destroyed by his pasture mate, I was in a quick hurry to find a new turnout. I decided to go with this one because I liked the high neck option and for the price I thought it was worth a try. It fits my horse great, doesn't rub, doesn't slide. Thus far it is in good shape *knock on wood*! Will be interesting to see how well it pulls out after winter. The one thing I didn't like is there were some clear spots where the sewing was messed up leaving fraying edges/straying string…so I did have to take the scissors to a few spots.
    Date published: 2015-01-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Mid-weight high neck turnout is awesome. I bought this mid-weight blanket last year for my aged TB mare who has trouble keeping weight on in winter. It held up and kept her warm and dry, and she didn't lose weight. So when our gelding needed a new turnout this year, I bought one for him. He's now toasty and dry as well. Smartpak has improved the leg straps, and the high neck is especially effective in heavy rain. It keeps their shoulders completely dry. I wholeheartedly recommend this blanket.
    Date published: 2015-01-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love the design I love everything about the design and quality of the blankets. However on both PRE mares it is tight over the shoulders. I wish there was more room.
    Date published: 2015-01-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Terrific turnout! I bought the sheet version of this turnout a year ago and I liked it so much that when it came time to replace my gelding's worn-out heavyweight turnout this year, the SmartPak high-neck turnout was an obvious choice. With more adjustability through the chest and deep shoulder gussets, this blanket allows my high-withered, retired TB more freedom of movement than his old Rambo wug did. It hasn't rubbed him anywhere, and the fit is deep enough to cover his sides and belly. (For reference, I ordered a 78" for my 1,050-pound, 15.3h TB). He is turned out 24/7 with access to his stall, and I am pleased to say that the turnout has held up very well in these conditions. It's a great high-quality alternative to pricier wugs, and I will definitely consider getting one for my other horse when the time comes to replace her blankets, too.
    Date published: 2015-01-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Blanket I have had this blanket about 2week. So far I'm pretty happy with it. The only bad thing is the white piping on it started coming off already :( also the nylon and the blanketstarted ripping where the clasp is on the chest.
    Date published: 2015-01-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect fit Other blankets rub on my horse's mane, this one fits the whole body perfectly and the coverage on the neck seems to eliminate a rubbed out mane. Time will tell, but I love the fit and quality.
    Date published: 2015-01-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good basic sheet Hind leg straps attached to the sides are too low-
    Date published: 2014-12-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good fit. I bought this for my short backed, narrow shouldered, long legged TB. It fits nicely, doesn't pull too much on his shoulders. Haven't had it long enough to talk about wear and tear but I imagine Smartpak will back their product should there be any problems.
    Date published: 2014-12-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great blanket Perfect fit, warm, no rubs on my horse. Great product as usual!
    Date published: 2014-12-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Purchase! I bought this blanket for my narrow half-Arabian and it fits great! The high neck keeps pressure off her withers and helps hold in body heat. The clasps and buckles hold the blanket together really well, and overall the blanket just feels like it was made really well. I feel like it fits pretty true to size, maybe a little smaller in the back (around the tail) to account for the extra length on the neck. I'm very happy with this purchase!
    Date published: 2014-12-23
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Well made This was the only high neck medium weight blanket I could find. It's wonderful in every way except it is cut very high at the base of the neck and so it pulls when the horse puts his neck down. This looks uncomfortable for him while grazing and eating on the ground.
    Date published: 2014-12-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice features, fits well and durable so far Have had this a few weeks and am really happy with it. Fits my TB/Holsteiner well, no rubs. The high neck is a nice feature.
    Date published: 2014-12-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Overall the construction is good with a few exceptions. There is no velcro on the chest so despite the buckles and hooks, it gaps open. The leg straps do not stay at the length you put them, they constantly slide down to the maximum length.
    Date published: 2014-12-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from perfect fit! I haven't had this blanket for very long but love it so far! A 78 fits my high withered 16 hand gelding perfectly. He seems very comfortable in it so far. Definitely worth it.
    Date published: 2014-12-17
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from snap broke in two days! Seemed like a great blanket but I immediately noticed the snaps that have been consistently troublesome in the past, and sure 'nuff--within TWO DAYS one of the chest snaps broke apart like a cheap toy.
    Date published: 2014-12-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent blanket I bought this blanket for my OTTB and love it. My favorite feature is the snap front buckles which are so much easier than traditional buckles to get on and off. With a little help from the SmartPak staff, I got the right size. Fits my mare perfect. Great fit, durable high quality, and a great price. Happy customer!
    Date published: 2014-12-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Blanket. Good Fit. Hunter green and burgundy have been my horse accessory colors since I was about 12 years old, but it's difficult to find things in that color combination these days. I was excited to find this blanket.I have a small Thoroughbred mare (about 15.1 and a smidge) who wears a 75 in Weatherbeeta and Horseware products but sometimes a 76 or 78 in other brands. I went for the 75 in the medium weight (she's not clipped so it's mostly for particularly cold/wet nights) and it was definitely the right choice. The blanket fits her very well. I like the little bit of elastic in the belly surcingles and the multiple fitting options on the chest. I do think it might be snug in the chest for a horse who is wider than she is.So far my mare is doing very well in this blanket. She is not hard on her clothing and does not currently live with a blanket destroyer so that definitely helps. And she looks pretty in green.
    Date published: 2014-12-16
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Thought I it was love on Day 1. I was wrong I bought this on 11/24/14. It looked and felt great. It looked and felt great yesterday. And if I had gotten the request to review from Smartpak yesterday I would've either posted a very postive review or skipped it altogether. Then my Barn Owner tagged me in a picture this morning...Today, 12/15/2014, there is a giant rip on the haunches of the blanket. In the 3 weeks since I purchased this, it has probably been worn less than 6 or 7 nights due to unseasonably cold weather. The field is clear of debris and there are no nails at this height on a 16.3 horse so there is no reason for destruction of this magnitudeThere are 3 of the Smartpak Deluxe blankets in my barn (the other two are medium weights) that have all been purchased this winter. Mine ripped, the buckles are falling off one of the medium weight that was purchased last week and the 3rd is already showing signs of wear.I am sure that the warranty request I put in will be honored because Smartpak customer service is awesome. But unfortunately, these turnouts are not.
    Date published: 2014-12-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fit and durable! I bought the sheet first, loved it so much I bought the medium and heavy weight and am selling my old ones. My guy normally wears a 78, so got the sheet in that size, wish I had gone up to an 81 which I did on the medium and heavy weight, just gives a little more room in the shoulder and high neck. I have used Shires, Ramobo's, Northwinds and others, but love this style the most. My Shires full neck blanket rubbed the mane out where the blanket and neck seam met, this high neck does not do that at all and still protects the neck and gives more protection from the rain and adds warmth. I highly recommend any of these turnouts!
    Date published: 2014-12-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The perfect blanket I couldn't have made a better decision than to purchase this blanket for my body sore OTTB. I was dreading this winter when my thin-skinned, short haired TB would have to be blanketed for the cold. I decided to try a high neck blanket to relive some pressure on his withers, and it was the best decision I've made for him. Within a week he was visibly more comfortable, and within 2 he was barely sore. The blanket stays in place and hasn't shifted an inch. Hardware is great, stitching is great, and the fabric isn't HEAVY like in some other brands.
    Date published: 2014-12-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fitting blanket for those hard to fit horses This blanket was the right choice for a difficult to fit horse. I sought guidance from a SmartPak rep and she could not have been more helpful and importantly, accurate!
    Date published: 2014-12-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent blanket! Excellent price! I called and got great help on which blanket best fit my needs as far as price and needs of horses. Blankets came in about 7 days and I was very happy with what we chose! Blankets fit great and I have very different size horses, so was worried at least one would not work. All fit very good. Horses seem to be very comfortable also:). One of my horses actually lines up behind the other when blanket time comes.... I have to wonder if it's the blanket.... He didn't do this with his old blanket:)
    Date published: 2014-12-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So cozy! Bought this blanket last month after we leased a pony and the blankets he came with were in pretty rough shape. This is so cozy and the high neck is a great feature providing extra warmth from the wind. I think this medium is warmer than the heavy rambo he came with!
    Date published: 2014-12-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful anf Functional! I just got this blanket out of the box and though sadly I have to send it back because I accidently ordered a size too small. I am very impressed with this blanket and am so excited to re-order it so by gelding can finally wear it. I would definitely recommend this blanket and next time I'm in need of a new blanket I know what I'm going to order.
    Date published: 2014-12-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from runs big but built well Bought this for my nearly 18hh 4YO TB who measures an 81" but has that tall, thin TB build. First purchased an 81" sheet and it was HUGE; may fit a larger breed that fills it out more perfectly. It was hanging off his haunches by inches, way too big. I sized down to 78" and it fits very well. He has only been wearing it a couple of weeks but so far it seems durable. He is turned out with 2 other horses and will likely give the blanket a good "test". Only issue so far is that a portion of the white piping trim near the front closure started coming off, but I trimmed it with scissors and it doesn't seem to be a problem any longer. Thank goodness SmartPak has free shipping both ways for sized items!
    Date published: 2014-11-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Exactly what I hoped for! I received this blanket today and immediately put it on my horse, as our nights are down in the 20s and low 30s now. The customer service rep recommended a 72, given the measurement of my 15.1 Trakehner/Arab gelding, and it fit perfectly. I rated it a good only because I have not had it long enough to judge durability, but as far as looks, quality of fill and workmanship, buckles and straps, this blanket is everything it is advertised to be, and the young lady who answered my questions could not have been more helpful and pleasant. I could not be more pleased.
    Date published: 2014-11-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gorgeous alternative to pricier options! Can't say enough great things about this turnout. I have a high withered, narrow chested 16H Arab and this fit him great. Plenty of room in the shoulders without being loose. Love the high neck feature which wasn't so stiff it "cut him off" when he had his neck up. He typically wears a 72 and that was the perfect length for him. Color and durability are great. IMO the only difference between this turnout and the Rambo WUG is the price and the hardware. The hardware on the Rambo seemed heavier and more durable. However, if you're looking for a more affordable alternative to the WUG style, I would definitely go with this one. I ended up returning this and buying the Rambo because of the Rambo warranty. I think if SmartPak offered their 10 year warranty plan with this turnout as they do with their Ultimate Turnout I would have made a different choice.
    Date published: 2014-11-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful and Warm! The blanket is beautiful and I love the high next future
    Date published: 2014-11-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this sheet!! I have had this sheet for about 3 weeks now. I love it! I have been a "Horseware ONLY" person for the past 7 years with multiple horses because they have been the only kind that don't cause rub marks or bind in the chest. I decided to give this one a chance because of reviews I saw and I'm glad I did! I haven't had it long enough to attest to it's durability, but it fits my TB perfectly. He's been wearing it almost constantly for the past 3 weeks and even though he's freshly body clipped, he has no hair loss or blanket rubs even beginning. The waterproofing is great as well. I will be buying more of these for my other horses when needed!
    Date published: 2014-11-17
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Well made. Nice product. Liked the neck a lot I bought this for my little quarter horse and it didn't fit him - it pulled across his chest and shoulders. The shoulder gussets needed to be 4-6 inches further forward and start an inch higher to fit him nicely. I returned it.
    Date published: 2014-11-15
    • 2015-02-28T07:17CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.1
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_6, tr_159
    • loc_en_US, sid_7378, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Horse of the Month: Sir Rocco
    Horse of the Month: Sir Rocco, a.k.a “Bud” Breed: Appaloosa Age: 24 years old PATH Intl. Accredited Center: Hearts & Horses Location: Loveland, CO Bud is an incredible equine therapist, and has been at Hearts & Horses the longest of

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.