Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Keratex Hoof Hardener

Keratex Equine Hoofcare
- Item #17363

 

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Keratex Hoof Hardener is a gentle acting chemical formulation which forms additional intermolecular bonds between molecules of keratin through the process of cross-linking. Keratin is the main protein constituent of horn and is best described as the building block of the horn structure. Keratex Hoof Hardener strengthens weak, worn and cracked hooves by improving the molecular structure of the horn itself.

  • Equally effective in wet & dry conditions.
  • Prevents the horn from taking in excess moisture, making it resistant to softening and weakening in wet conditions. This results in a reduction in shoe loss and abscesses.
  • Keratex Hoof Hardener is not an oil or resin layer and does not seal the hoof.
  • Keratex Hoof Hardener will ensure the treated hoof is able to breathe naturally so the moisture balance is properly maintained.
  • Should also be applied to the sole of the hoof to prevent bruising.
250ml. Includes brush for application.

Apply to lower half of hoof and sole, avoiding coronary band and frog. Use daily for one week then twice weekly for general hoof maintenance. If the hoof has been treated with any oils or greases over the past three months, degrease the hoof thoroughly with acetone before applying Keratex Hoof Hardener. Do not use any oils or greases while using Keratex Hoof Hardener.

You Might Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    Keratex Hoof Hardener is rated 4.6923 out of 5 by 104.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product I adopted two OTTBs with horrible feet. When we pulled shoes one went immediately and severly lame. Our farrier had recommeded using this on their feet and within just a couple days, it hardened his feet and he is no longer lame. I have used so may different products in the past that didn't work so I was skeptical but this product actually works and it does its job in a very short period of time. Will definately continue to use this since TBs natoriously have bad feet anyway.
    Date published: 2013-11-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from ASWSOME Product Living in Florida we always have to deal with the humidity, rain and wet ground. Combined with living near a large river my pastures hold allot of moisture. This product has hardened my shelly, soft, and thin soled Thb hooves that he can go barefoot in the off season and his feet do well. It seems to also have an ability to protect the hoof from the excessive moisture. I will never quit using it regularly on my horse year around and more frequently during the summer months.
    Date published: 2013-10-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great! This stuff is awesome. I've been using it on my Trak gelding whose feet chip and crack in really wet weather. This spring was awful for rain, and he developed two abscesses. I didn't make the connection between the abscesses occurring and the wet weather wreaking havoc on his hooves until the second abscess happened. I asked some online friends for any suggestions and many of them recommended Keratex Hoof Hardener. I've been using this stuff for just over a month now, and I'm extremely pleased. My horse's hooves now look great, and with the recent round of wet weather, they look solid. Thanks!
    Date published: 2013-08-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works wonders! :) Keratex Hoof Hardener is absolutely amazing! Before using this, my TB had horrible feet! I have tried several different hoof supplements and other hoof hardeners for years with no luck. Her front hoof soles were so soft that she was having major problems with her back/withers. I have spend a crazy amount of money in trying to figure out what was wrong with my mare’s back for about 2 years now, and 2 years of Chiropractic adjustments … I was at a complete lose at how to fix her problem. I have sadly had 4 different vets exam her with no luck to stop her ouchy back. I recently started using a new Farrer and he right off the bat said he was 99.9% sure her back issues were coming from her extremely soft soles. He recommended me to use Keratex Hoof Hardener and man am I glad I did … what a difference! Within a week of using this on my mare’s front hooves she was already showing less soreness in her back/withers. I have been using this for a month now and her hooves are healthier then I have ever seen, and her back/wither soreness/tightness is practically gone! I could not say enough great things about the product!
    Date published: 2013-08-13
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good for wet ground Too much rain has left my horse with soft soles. Keratex has helped give her a better sole.
    Date published: 2013-07-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for tender soles This is a standard "go to" product in my barn! I have a tenderfooted TB that struggles even more during our wet, hot summers. Daily applications of Keratex keep him comfortable and sound.
    Date published: 2013-07-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product My horse has horrible feet, my farrier has been complaining to me for a while now about how bad his feet look. With the wet summer we've had so far, and the fact that he wears bell boots, I've had a hard time keeping his feet dry and from just completely falling apart. So I found out about this product and decided to give it a try (couldn't hurt). It's done a great job hardening up his feet and bringing them back together! Hopefully he can get out of his glue on shoes and get them nailed on this next time since his feet have grown and strengthened! Highly recommended for horses that have that same problem.
    Date published: 2013-07-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2013-07-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from It works! My horse was very foot sore and I used this for 2 weeks and he is much better. I also added smart hoof to his smartpak.
    Date published: 2013-07-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2013-06-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fabulous Hoof Hardener I have been using Keratex on my paint mare's crumbly, weak hooves for years. Where I live, her feet tend to get more crumbly during the late summer and as soon as I start applying the Keratex they harden right back up. You have to be dilligent about this product to see results, but you will actually SEE results.
    Date published: 2013-07-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Breathability a plus When you want a safe and effective hardener, Keratex is the best product, although it is pricey, and you need to use it within a few months.
    Date published: 2013-05-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Keratex is an excellent product to improve hoof quality. My area has experienced a wet winter and Keratex helps shoes stay on longer and strengthens unshod feet as well.
    Date published: 2013-03-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Hoof Hardener Keratex Hoof Hardener has been instrumental in hardening my 18.2h Hanoverian's hooves. My farrier asked me, "What are you doing to his hooves? Whatever you're doing, keep it up!" I fed him hoof supplements for years to no avail. It was a waste of money. Keratex isn't cheap, but it's the only product that improved and maintains my horse's hooves. I highly recommend this product.
    Date published: 2013-02-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from YES!! It WORKS!! After going through a pair of hoof boots, my barefoot mare needed help quick. She has been wearing hoof boots 24/7 (unless riding) since last spring because her feet chip so badly and she's always getting stone bruises and abscesses and bringing half the gravel driveway into her stall stuck in her feet.About a month ago, she ruined both back boots while turned out in the snow. Keeping her inside is not a good option as she worries and the ulcer cycle begins (boarding stable doesn't give enough hay during indoor T/O) and buying yet another pair of $130 boots was getting old. It was either keep her in and get ulcers or turn her out and wreck her feet again. Of course this happens when the ground is frozen and hard - of all times to go totally barefoot for the first time in months...ouch!The first day out without boots, she got multiple stone bruises in each foot and by the second day, her feet were getting crumbly. After using Keratex for just two days, her feet were noticeably harder. She also stopped walking on eggshells so I know she could tell a difference. By the end of one week, her feet were totally different, a huge improvement! I went on to use it for 10 days straight and now use it 2-3 times a week. I am SO happy this product actually works :)I realize I will have to start this process over every time she is trimmed but it's so much cheaper than buying new boots, constantly dealing with them getting lost, rubbing, or getting full of slush. I also no longer have to rasp her peeling hoof walls almost daily or re-shape her chipped up feet back to "normal". I also feel better about her being able to walk barefoot so her frog can be in better contact with the ground to keep its growth more normal.I also have to add that she's been on Tri-Amino for almost a year and there is a noticeable improvement in hoof wall quality. Any time now that new, stronger hoof will grow out to the ground finally. Hopefully this means we can ease off the Keratex but it will always be in my tack box just in case!
    Date published: 2013-11-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good results My horse Micah was having issue after issue with his hooves. Once starting on Keratex Hoof Hardner it took several weeks but I was seeing results and after using the product for less than 6 months his hooves are in excellent condition. The cracking and sore soles are gone. With better hooves, I am able to ride him more which has improved his overall condition. Micah is a much happier horse and I have less vet bills.
    Date published: 2013-01-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simply Amazing. My trainer suggested this product to me when I got a new sales project with less then great feet. He was having a hard time keeping shoes and growing foot in between trimmings. I started him on Farriers Formula and this product and he has not lost a shoe since ! (knock on wood!) Wish the bottle was a little bigger for the price but TOTALLY worth it!
    Date published: 2013-01-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best hoof hardener Recommended by my farrier and has been excellent. Hooves improved even within 6 weeks. Great for conditions in which hoof goes from wet to dry frequently
    Date published: 2013-01-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing!! I never though I'd see the day that my mare could go barefoot comfortably. When I bought her she had TERRIBLE feet--dry, crumbly, cracked, and prone to abscesses and stone bruises. I've been using this and SmartHoof for the past year and her feet are completely different. When we pulled her shoes for the winter, she wasn't ever tender at all! I couldn't recommend this (or SmartHoof!) any higher---it's truly made the difference for my mare.
    Date published: 2013-01-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent!! I purchased this hoof hardener for my appy, who has hair line cracks in her hooves. After a month or two it seems the cracks have not widen or produced more cracks. She still has 3 a bit larger cracks but, again, they are not getting worse. I think with more use and time they should be controlled until she can grow past them. I like the product easy to use.
    Date published: 2012-11-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really Helped Thoroughbred Feet! After moving back to SC from VA, my Thoroughbred started losing shoes left, right and center. They looked horrible. After talking with my farrier we decided to add Keratex to his hoof care regimen. It did wonders to strengthen the poor quality hoof he'd grown during the stress of the move to allow the hoof to stay together and healthy long enough for good foot to grow back in. I didn't quite follow the directions 100%. I used Keratex every time I went to the barn (about 5 to 6 times a week) for two months. Now that his feet are doing well I use it once to twice a week. You do what works, right? :) Even with all this use, I still have approximately half the bottle left. So price wise, I'm thrilled.
    Date published: 2013-01-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bad Hoof Helper My OTTB had not so great feet but between this and his supplements the farrier, my trainer and I are quite impressed how they are looking now.
    Date published: 2012-11-02
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Saw NO results... I had high expectations for this product after reading all of these raving reviews. The bottle this stuff comes in is very cheap and tips over easily. I have a thin-soled thoroughbred and applied Keratex to his feet 2-3 times a week for a month... and saw no results. It runs off the hoof like water, I could not get it to absorb at all. I DID notice that it caused my horses soles to die faster, but his feet did not get harder and he was still just as sore as before. I'm going back to using TUFF STUFF, it just works.
    Date published: 2012-11-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product Keratex has made a dramatic difference in my horses hooves. Calls to the farrier to come out between shoeings is a thing of the past.
    Date published: 2012-10-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hooves no longer chipping! I have been using this product for about a month and am very happy with the results. I haven't been able to find a product to stop my horse's hooves from cracking and chipping a couple weeks after a shoeing job. It's been six weeks since her feet have been done and her feet still look great!
    Date published: 2012-10-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The only one that works Keratex is what I have used for years for my horses. I have rescued others with terrible feet - chips, cracks, too soft due to lack of nutrition - Keratex has made is possible for the farrier to trim and put on shoes. Now as my Tennessee Walker ages, it's the only product I use to keep his hooves strong and supportive.
    Date published: 2012-10-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-09-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Keratex Hoof Hardener Have only been using this on my horses hooves for about a month and along with my SmartPack hoof supplement which he has been on for a few months, I already have noticed improvement in that his hooves are now not as brittle!
    Date published: 2012-08-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product At the recommendation of my barefoot trimmer, I purchased this to use on my horse. I was skeptical at first, because I didn't want to waste $40 on something that wasn't going to work. You apply this product every day for a week and then twice a week after that for maintenance. My friend and I shared the first bottle and it's lasted almost 6 weeks for two horses. The farrier was impressed with how strong my gelding's hoof walls are, and my friends mare has not been getting cracks anymore. For one horse this bottle would probably last about 3 months, so $13 a month makes it worth it for my horse to have stronger, healthier hooves.
    Date published: 2013-01-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Irreplaceable This product is without a doubt one of the most important in my horses' health. It all started with loose shoes, but over time, I have come to use it weekly even now that they no longer pull them in the paddocks. It keeps their hooves nice and healthy, less chipping, less maintenence, and overall better feet. This is a no brainer.
    Date published: 2011-08-23
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.