Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Magic Cushion Hoof Packing

Premier Equine Health Products, LLC
- Item #17151

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Magic Cushion Hoof Packing is a natural anti-inflammatory and analgesic hoof packing for the equine athlete. Provides relief from the soreness resulting from the everyday rigors of training, laminitis, white line disease, pedal osteitis, abscesses, navicular syndrome, bruising, corns, canker and any concussive trauma to the hoof tissues.

Formulated for use after hard work or the day before and all the days of athletic events. Can be used under a protective pad or simply applied with a wrap.

4 lb tub (12-14 applications) or tube of 6 individual applications.


How to get the most out of your Magic Cushion

You Might Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    Magic Cushion Hoof Packing is rated 4.5484 out of 5 by 31.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great packing material that sticks I have never packed my horse's hooves, as it was never needed, but recently, I had to. So I got this product and it was great. I have tried a few other products, but this one is the best. Over the weekend when my horse has to sit in his stall, the packing stays tacked up in his hooves (with a thin gauze), protecting him from cracked hoof to pre-thrashy odor to impacted hooves with manure/wood chip bedding. A bit gooey, but has good component to prevent infection and soreness. You should have a disposable gloves and lay a large golf ball size ball on each of 4 hoof size 1 layer gauze, and push it up, with the gauze side away from the hoof, on the center of a cleaned hoof- it will spread into all direction when the horse puts his foot down on the shaving. Pack the end of each gauze in with hoof pick for the perfect finish.
    Date published: 2013-02-13
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from So messy! Wouldn't recommend it... I DREADED putting this on my horses feet every time I used it because I just knew it was going to get all over me and him and never come off. It worked alright for a 24 hour period after a show but then when it came to removal it got stuck all around his coronet band and I had to make sure I was wearing gloves at all times. One time it got so dry and stuck that I had to continuously shave the hair around my horse's hooves to get it off because nothing else worked... it took about 3 weeks to get rid of all of it.
    Date published: 2013-06-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from great product, but messy I use this packing in my farrier business and have had great success with it, especially in sore footed horses during the dry summer months. It is extremely messy, and gloves are recommended, as it leaves a residue that takes a while to wear off.
    Date published: 2012-10-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from gloves wear gloves - not because it stains because I didn't have issues with staining but because it works so well your hand/arm will tingle until you wash your hands thoroughly!
    Date published: 2012-10-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Miracle stuff My horse had a very sore foot, grade 3 lame, and after using this for 3 days, he was completely sound. Use rubber gloves and do not get any on your skin or clothes--it will not come off.
    Date published: 2012-10-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product Great product for pulling heat out of a foot. Worked great.
    Date published: 2012-09-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from AMAZING solution Best hoof medication ever. My mare recovered amazingly fast after we started using this product. Can't live without it anymore!
    Date published: 2012-08-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Helps With Lameness Quickly This product works terrific! Just be sure to use gloves when applying to clean dry feet and then wrap with duct tape and vet wrap. We used it for a lame horse and the next morning he was so much better!
    Date published: 2012-07-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product Great hoof packing for my thin soled thoroughbred!
    Date published: 2014-01-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Horse Loves This! I can tell the difference the next day if I just pack his feet overnight. Tip: Do use gloves though! Very very sticky!
    Date published: 2011-12-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic product Magic Cushion is a must have in your tack room! My horse pulled a shoe and was sore, I wraped and packed his foot till the farrier arrived. No soreness at all! Great product!
    Date published: 2011-11-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Expensive and messy... I bought this product in a panic to help with an already drained abscess right before a huge show. I'm not really sure if it helped or not, but it did end up creating a seal in the abscess cavity, allowing it to become re-infected in just two day's use. This product is very messy and tough to use on a barefoot horse. I'm not sure if I will use it again, hopefully I will have no need to. The analgesic ingredients are what first attracted my attention, but I'm not sure I could tell a difference or not. I think this is a good product to have on hand, as long as you have gloves and hoof wrapping material on hand as well. Have everything ready before you start packing the hoof though!
    Date published: 2011-10-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Recommended by my trainer Great product! Saved my mare's feet at a show where there were lots of rocks.
    Date published: 2011-06-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent product, worth the money In addition to owning a horse with sore feet, I'm a farrier and I can tell you first hand, this product is definitely worth the money. My horse has something going on in his navicular region, we don't know exactly what (cant afford an MRI!) but before using this product he was 3-legged lame, and after, he was his old self! Like everyone else said, wear gloves when applying. God forbid you get any on your hands or clothes, it NEVER comes off.
    Date published: 2014-01-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Must always have MC on hand Love magic cushion - but beware it's messy (it doesn't wash off - we were finding magic cushion in wierd places on ourselves and our horses for weeks after a show last summer!) & don't even try the individual application packets -which I thought would be so handy for travel - the packaging is a disaster, but out of the bucket you can at least make an attempt to keep it where it belongs, it really is great stuff so the hassle is worth it!
    Date published: 2011-05-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A lifesaver for sore feet Outstanding product, will always have this on hand for sore feet.
    Date published: 2010-11-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product but BE CAREFUL WITH IT! I'm a barefoot trimmer and I use Magic Cushion on horses with ouchy feet for one reason or another. It's a very good product and does give results, but the application of it is a real PAIN. If any of the liquid leaks out, it will ruin anything it touches, and will make the lid almost impossible to put back on. WEAR GLOVES! If you get this on your skin, you need acetone to get it off. Soap and water will not cut it. Ditto for the horse's hair. When wrapping the foot, you have to use many layers of material, or the super sticky goo squeezes through the material, then dirt and bedding sticks to the bandaging material, giving the horse a huge ball of crud to walk on - similar to how ice balls build up in shoes. The best results I've had is to put a piece of plastic or thin card board on the bottom of the hoof, then wrap over the top of that. Once it's been on the foot overnight, it is pretty easy to get off. Most of the super sticky liquid has soaked into the hoof, and into the bandaging material, leaving the leather shreds fairly dry. You can peel the whole patty off with a hoof pick at that point. But if you try to peel it off before the liquid has soaked in, good luck! This isn't really something quick and easy to just plop on the foot and go. You really have to wear gloves, get the application right, and be careful with it. But once you get the hang of it, it's absolutely worth it!
    Date published: 2011-05-16
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Mixed review I'm sorry I didn't get the 6 pack of pads first to try this product. The package arrived and I had to cut it open because the extraordinarily sticky product had leaked. It was a mess. I had to take it out of the package and use a tupperware because I couldn't screw the cap back on. I had to soap and soap my hands etc. There are no directions on the package. I have not used this product yet but will use gloves when I do (which was stated on the package).
    Date published: 2011-05-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This stuff really works!!! Magic Cushion was referred to me by my farrier. My horse was diagnosed with pedal osteitus in his front left hoof about 4 years ago, so it's usually applied to the sole of his two front hooves with pads applied on top. Recently, however, his hoof quality has been such that glue-ons have had to be applied with no pad.He's been sore on the front feet because his hoof growth hasn't been great (which is why I've also started him on Farrier's Formula). After applying Magic Cushion and wrapping the hoof with vet wrap and keeping it in place with duct tape for 24 hours, he's back to his old sassy "I want to GO!" attitude and he's moving extremely well.I HIGHLY recommend this product for it's medicinal properties and it's immediate effectiveness!
    Date published: 2011-05-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth it! A vet recommended this product to me, after the farrier had trimmed my horse too short. My horse was showing signs of founder and is starting to recover after 1 and a half weeks of wrapping her front feet with magic cushion. It looks and smells awful but it works!
    Date published: 2009-12-04
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from First time Buyer This product did not have instructions with it. I contacted the company and they were very nice and helpful. I think the product has helped my mare, but it is a bit tricky getting it to stay on a barefoot horse. I would reccomend this product.
    Date published: 2009-09-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Recommended by my Farrier My farrier said that I should buy this for my horse because his feet were getting soft. We use venice turpentine in the barn (which is the base) already, but combined with the anit-inflammatory properties that magic cushion is supposed to have, it makes me feel like I'm doing something to make my horse more comfortable. Sore feet are so common during the show season. My trainer swears by this product. So far so good. I think it is worth the expense. No feet, no horse.
    Date published: 2009-07-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2009-06-25
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.