Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Back on Track/ThinLine Contender II Saddle Pad

ThinLine
- Item #17036

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Top Manufacturers Join to Develop the “Ultimate Saddle Pad”

A joint effort of ThinLine® and Back on Track® has resulted in the Contender II Saddle Pad which is undeniably the most technically advanced saddle pad available in the world. The new shimable (shims sold separately) saddle pad delivers therapeutic thermal heat from the Back on Track fabric combined with the renowned shock absorbing properties made famous by ThinLine.

The technologically advanced Contender II Saddle Pad from ThinLine and Back On Track is available for Dressage and Jumping. ThinLine is very well known for their lightweight shock absorbing saddle pads.

The Ultra ThinLine is a popular item and the same technology is utilized in the Contender II saddle pad. Many top riders have ridden in the traditional Ultra ThinLine for years to absorb shock, distribute weight and stabilize the saddle by using a wonderful no-slip impact technology. The shock absorption is designed to help horses and riders reduce back pain. In addition top riders in a number of disciplines depend on Back on Track products to maintain their horses in the best condition possible. Back on Track products are made from a one-of-a-kind fabric that blends ceramic powder into polyester threads. The result is the horse’s body heat is reflected back in the form of a soothing thermal infrared ray that increases circulation. For horses, Back on Track manufactures a number of products including stable blankets, hock boots, saddle pads, and leg wraps. Each product has the ability to help reduce muscle soreness, inflammation, and stiffness. Back on Track products are recommended for both the treatment and prevention of stress related injuries.

You Might Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    Back on Track/ThinLine Contender II Saddle Pad is rated 4.6176 out of 5 by 34.
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Liked at first BUT impossible to get clean! Hi,Bought for a horse with back problems. I like that the pad stays in place, and horse seems fine with it. BUT it is impossible to clean. It's really big and the thinline pad part is really stiff, so if you put it in a pretty big washing machine (the top loader type), it doesn't agitate properly and is really hard to clean. Then eventually somehow the washing machine sliced through the thinline pad part, so I guess now it's trashed. Am thinking to rather buy separate back on track pad with separate thin-line pad, hopefully easier to clean.
    Date published: 2014-03-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Pad Just received my AP pad - Love It and my horse loves it even more. Have been a big fan of Back on Track products - this is a great combo. Even better it FIT my County jumping saddle just perfect!!
    Date published: 2013-04-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality Back on Track has our horses best interest in mind as obvious from using this product. It works!
    Date published: 2013-03-23
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nice Pad Well I do like how the pad fits under the saddle, and how easy it is to have the shims go right into the pad. It also washed really well! The only issue I have with it is some of the stitching where the billets of the saddle lie have come undone, and I have only had the pad a month. Luckily my mother is a seamstress and will fix it for me but otherwise I would have to get it repaired already.
    Date published: 2014-03-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this pad! I have a 17.1h warmblood with high withers. For years I have used a shearling half pad to protect his withers but have always struggled to get the two pads perfectly aligned. This pad does it all. It ensures that the saddle is off his withers (using the additional shims) and is very well made and handsome. Not to mention the Back on Track therapeautic qualities, which I strongly believe in.
    Date published: 2013-02-04
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Warms up my horses back while grooming I do notice a difference in how quickly my older horse warms up with this pad so I am glad I purchased. I think I recommend that basic pad without the thinline pad because I'm not sure that addition is really worth the extra cost. The cost is why I only gave it 4 stars.
    Date published: 2014-03-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Horse seems to warm up more quickly I recently decided to make the rather large investment in this saddle pad on the recommendation of a trainer. While I can't say the results are very noticeable, I do think he warms up quicker and moves out better. I also really like the idea that you can purchase optional shims to slightly adjust the saddle fit.
    Date published: 2014-03-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice product I really like this saddle pad. I've tried it on several horses that have a tense back and it seems to have made them more comfortable. I've had the pad for about 6 months. Prior to this I had a thinline over a regular pad, but this is much better because I don't have to worry about getting it placed just right or the thinline slipping. The ability to use shims has come in handy when I had a horse I was getting back into shape after injury, as I was able to adjust the shims as he changed shape and got more fit. I hand wash it and let it air dry and it always comes out looking nice. The "thinline" imprint is starting to wear off, but that's not really an issue to me. The lettering on the strap that the girth goes through doesn't get as white as it was originally, though I imagine it might if you wash it more frequently... but no one can see it so it does not really matter to me.
    Date published: 2012-10-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from this pad really helps my horse and I My horse was acting like something wasn't quite right so i bought this pad and shims . He moved better than he did in months. Next day the chiro worked on him and the poor hoses withers and back were out of alignment .i don't want To ride an injured horse again but it says alot about the pad
    Date published: 2012-07-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very helpful! My retired eventer TB turned trail horse came out of winter with a sore back. Everytime I got on he would roach his back and act ouchy, like he was "cold backed". I found this pad and read the reviews. I was sceptical because of the price, but got it based on the reviews. I have had three great rides with this pad. I ususally take my time tacking and do some light lunging to help with the warming effect of the pad. Overall: I am very happy with this pad and it has exceeded my expectations! Would certainly recommend this pad to others.
    Date published: 2012-05-23
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-05-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-03-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth the pricetag My WB gelding had some backsoreness issues this fall, so the saddlefitter recommended that I look into Back on Track or Thinline products to alieviate my horses pain issues. I came across the BOT Contender saddlepad and have used it ever since. As I groom his body, I already place the saddlepad on his back, to let the ceramic properties do their magic. Especially during our cold winter days in the NorthEast I feel confident that my horses back is already warming up, while I am still grooming. This saddlepad, while pricey, is definetely worth the money. My WB is back to his cheery self in the crossties and more relaxed and willing under saddle.
    Date published: 2011-12-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great pad Looking for a pad that helped with slippageIn my treeless Ansur saddle, it's great
    Date published: 2011-11-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth the money! I own a wonderful but very stiff WB mare. My trainer and I have been working on getting her supple now since I bought her a year ago. I've tried supplements, chiro, injections and accupuncture. I thought why not try the BOT products too! Well I've had this pad for about 1 month and absolutely LOVE it. My mare is really coming round under saddle and carrying herself beautifully without me even asking. I haven't tried anything new lately so I'm pretty sure I can contribute the change to this pad. Definitely worth the money and has even prompted me to try the mesh sheet!
    Date published: 2011-10-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth every dime I was a bit uneasy purchasing this pad due to its high cost. After a few rides, I am completely sold. The first ride created a more rounded horse and a more stable riding position. I purchased the black due to uncertainty in keeping the white up to show standards and I hope to throw a white baby pad over it for actual shows. the quality is great and it is truly worth the money. I would buy a white one if I could afford it :) the ceramic fibers kept my horse completely cool under the saddle in the 90 degree heat while my friend's horse had a heat emanating, sweat covered back. try it!
    Date published: 2011-09-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great purchase have had clients by the same product it was out of ths world to ride in
    Date published: 2011-08-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this Pad! I have an ultra thin line pad that I use with my everyday dressage pads in the summer. This is ok but sometimes so hard to get the pads just right! I LOVE the combination of the ceramic in the "back on track" pad for warmth and cushion of the ultra thin line...and no worries about pad placement! Love it!!
    Date published: 2011-06-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent saddle pa Excellent saddle pad. I love the support this saddle pad gives to the saddle and to my horse and me. He really enjoys the extra room that it gives him with the saddle for his shoulders.
    Date published: 2011-05-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful Saddle Pad I bought this pad for starting my Friesian mare, and since she is just getting used to carrying a saddle I started bringing the pad to work with me. I am a therapeutic horseback riding instructor at a center where we have around 30 horses. I began putting the dressage pad under the normal western pads of some of our horses that have routinely sore backs and the change in their attitudes and work ethic has been so positive. Because of this pad our horses are more comfortable, our volunteers are saved from having to deal with a crabby horse, and the riders get a better experience. I wish we had one of these pads for each of our horses.
    Date published: 2011-03-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Back on Track products are great I have given this to my trainer to use when riding my horse who is coming back after injury. My thinking was that his saddle may or not fit my horse and this would decrease possiblle discomfort from being ridden in his saddle. Also, i thought that it would simplify things for the trainer, e.g. no baby pad or half pad etc, just one pad that covers several conncerns. Anyway, I am familier with Back on Track products and have been very pleased, I own the leg wraps and hock boots.I have not yet washed the pad, so can't comment on how well it washes up.
    Date published: 2011-03-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simplicity I am loving this pad. Instead of hauling all around and getting a baby pad + a fleece pad that then slips and bunches and creates bulk beneath my leg - this pad as really simplified my ride. My horse has a young strong back so rather than using this pad to help fix a problem - I'm hoping it will prevent one! So I cannot comment yet as to whether the ceramic properties are helping yet or not.
    Date published: 2010-12-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best pad I've ever had This is hands down the best saddle pad I have found for use with a saddle that fits your horse, for many reasons. The pad is just the right size (not too short for the saddle flaps), with the added huge benefit of the Back on Track therapeutic material incorporated within it; and, having the ThinLine pad sewn into the pad itself makes it SO much easier to position and put on the horse than when I was using a separate ThinLine pad... I also love that the ThinLine material does not extend over the spine or wither area; and it's easy to lift the pad up into the saddle gullet off the horse's spine and withers. Since I first purchased this pad I haven't bothered to use a half pad too. And you know what, my horse seems so much happier without that extra bulk. The pad provides the perfect amount of impact protection and fit. The only down side is that I can't afford to buy another one! That said, they are definitely worth their price.
    Date published: 2010-04-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pain free again. I bought this saddle pad after my 13 y/o jumper started having back trouble. I use it in combination with 'Sore No More linament" and now I have my jumper pain free again. The only problem that I am having with the pad is that I think the girth straps are too far back. It takes some time to adjust to my forward jumping saddle, but may work very well for an all-purpose saddle.
    Date published: 2010-01-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best of Both worlds I have replaced all my fleece pads. My saddles fit my horses but sometimes they need extra protection. This product gives you both without the bulk. My saddles do tend to slip with the large movement of my horses this product will minimize that problem. I could not own enough. They wash easy and retain all their benefits. The horses are never sore just like a great fleece pad but not the bulk. Fleece pads do not wash well. No problem with the Back on track products. Do not dry them in dryer! The ceramic and the thin line are the greatest combo. Worth the money.
    Date published: 2009-12-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great pad for horses with back issues My horse has kissing spine and can give me trouble about going forward. He also HATES having the saddle put on. This pad has made a huge difference. I have tried many different pads with my saddle (that has been fitted by my vet and chiropractor). This is the first one that really seems to make him more comfortable and more pleasant to ride. It is worth every penny.
    Date published: 2009-04-07
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.