Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

SmartPak Baby Pads

SmartPak
- Item #16525
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Simple, practicality! Once you try it, you won’t be able to ride without it! Wicking lining gives our baby pad a little more substance than others you may have tried. 100% cotton baby pad with a wicking 100% polyester lining. Machine wash cold and dry. Specify White, Black, Navy. Measures 26" spine, 17'' drop

You Might Like
    out of 5
    88% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SmartPak Baby Pads is rated 4.3529 out of 5 by 85.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Quality I bought a few of these for xmas presents and am thorough pleased with them!
    Date published: 2014-10-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from great basic pads I use these under my half pad and while they are a very basic, no frills type pad, they do their job and they do it well. Other pads, even baby pads, would end up damp after some summer rides, but the backing on these pads really does wick away the moisture. I haven't had any issued with slippage either. Finally, I love that you can buy them in a three pack.
    Date published: 2014-10-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super Sturdy for a Baby Pad! I've been using these pads for about a month now and I'm thrilled with what I received! They have a cool moisture-wicking back, are made out of a more durable and sturdier fabric (more like a normal pad than a baby pad), and haven't slipped while I have used them. They are a touch long but I like them like that compared to other more square pads. Overall I'm very happy with these and will definitely be purchasing again when I am in need!
    Date published: 2014-08-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from nice baby pad for the price This is a good baby pad to use for the price, but it does have a different texture underneath than the normal quilted feel that is the top. I didn't mind it, but another lady at my barn didn't like it so she returned hers. I've been using the pad for a few months now and it seems to be holding up to every day use and frequent washings.
    Date published: 2014-07-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product! I bought this with a gift certificate that I'd received & it's beautiful! I got the light blue thread for my embroidery & it matches wonderfully! I will definitely be buying some more in the future !
    Date published: 2014-07-09
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Find something else... These pads bunch up a lot. These were a mess - the sweat bled right through them and left really dirty spots that did not wash out. I'm all for Smartpak products, but these were really a waste of money.
    Date published: 2014-05-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great! I love these pads! They allow my thick fleece half pad to fit with the girth that normally doesn't fit with a normal saddle pad so I'm happy they are thin! Great buy! But if you don't want a thinner saddle pad then don't buy these!
    Date published: 2014-04-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice Pad Bought two of these because they were at such a great price and SmartPak was offering free monograms. I got one with my initials and the other with my last name. Both turned out beautifully but the pads weren't what I expected. They're extremely thin (pretty much no padding), I'm not really liking the material they used for it, and the inside pills up after just one wash. But, the inside of the pad did seem to help wick off some sweat off my horse.
    Date published: 2014-03-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Baby Pad Great Price I bought this baby pad when SmartPak was doing one of their free embroidery days and I am very pleased. The baby pad is perfect for my needs.
    Date published: 2014-03-21
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good quality, but doesn't work for me This looks very nice on, is a good thickness, is much larger than I thought it would be and seems soft on the underside, however it slips very badly on my horse after 15 minutes or less. It bunches all up, so I really won't be able to use it without causing him discomfort. I have this problem with many saddles pads on him, and generally find if it doesn't have a girth loop it is going to move. I think if you have any worry it might slip, avoid it, but if you are one of those lucky people whose horse rarely has a saddle pad slip on, this is a good product.
    Date published: 2014-03-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice basic pad but small These are fine, basic baby pads. They wash and wear well, but are a little stiffer than my cotton ones and are kind of small. They just barely provide the coverage for my small jumping saddle. Wish they were a good bit bigger and softer...
    Date published: 2014-02-13
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Ok pad. I'm smartpak's biggest fan but not with thiss pad.  Prefer a shaped baby pad.  This runs small and slides back when used with my half pad.  Unfortunately I bought several to have monogrammed.
    Date published: 2014-01-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Customization was wonderful! This item was even better when I received it than the catalog picture. Very nice and will look great in show competition. I had it customized, and was very happy with the result.
    Date published: 2013-12-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Soft on the inside, sharp looking on the outside Not only are these baby pads a staple, I got my barn's logo and my name on them. The gal on online chat was very helpful getting the embroidering done correctly. The pads are the envy of my barn now!I have other customized smartpak baby pads that I have used for years. Even though they are white, they clean up nicely.
    Date published: 2013-11-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these baby pads! Bought these for my girls. I love the white because I can bleach them and get them clean. Love the free embroidering that comes with being a Smartpak customer! They was great, wear great and they look awesome.
    Date published: 2013-07-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great purchase! This baby pad has a nice thickness. Quality cotton with a nice lining. The length is great - you do not have to fold. I chose the "let smartpak pick the color" option and it turned out lovely. Overall a nice value!
    Date published: 2013-06-28
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from This pad is okay. I bought this pad looking for a black baby pad. Ordered with pink embroidery(very cute and free with barn saver shipping, thanks smart pak!) however the pad does fit strangely. It is not very wide, barely comes down to the bottom of the saddle flap, and is very long across the back. Tends to bunch slightly under my saddle.
    Date published: 2013-05-28
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not what I was thinking I purchased these pads to go under my saddlepad in the "shedding" season to make the laundry easier. The hair really sticks to the underside which is a little fuzzy, since it's wicking material. Not like the previous baby pads I had that were cotton quilt on both sides. Which is what I was told these were.....But that's not to say they don't do their job. The are a little smaller than my saddle pad in the length but that's not a problem.
    Date published: 2013-03-21
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Monogram was uneven. too short I was excited to try out SmartPak's version of baby pads with free monogramming and shipping I thought why not. But it's too short for my regular flap 17" saddle. My saddle flaps touch my horse's side which isn't the point of baby pads are meant to keep your more expensive tack clean (saddle, halfpads). The monogram was not even the first letter of my name was so much shorter it acutally looks like a lowercase 'u'. I don't like the fuzzy material under the pad and wish that was included in the description. I didn't rate durability as I have only washed it once so far. I didn't notice any uneven stitching like some other posters have noticed.
    Date published: 2013-03-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Substantial baby pads We love using dark baby pads so our white sheepskin pads, etc. don't get too dirty too fast. These pads were a little more substantial than some that we have purchased else where. They feel like pads that will last a long time! My only complaint was that we ordered navy and got black. Even the package said navy, but the pad tag was correctly labeled black. I know SmartPak would have gladly exchanged them but we were happy to use them anyway and at this price we will order them again!
    Date published: 2013-02-12
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from good, not great This pad is a good baby pad, but not the best one out there. It's very oddly sized, it hangs out from either side of my AP pad, but is too short to reach all the way to the bottom of the pad. If you were just using a half pad or something it probably would look a lot better, but with a full pad on top it just looks odd. That's really my only concern at this point- the pad is well made, though like all navy items from Smartpak it is a bit dark. Customization is top notch and was super fast to boot. If it just hid under my pad I'd be thrilled!
    Date published: 2013-02-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from I have ordered two of these baby pads, and like the quality and the free embroidery. However, I just tried to order a third pad and it seems many of the embroidery options have been taken away, especially if I want text and a graphic.
    Date published: 2013-02-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from for our wedding I got these 2 pads with "just married" embroidered in the corner. My husband and I rode off after our wedding reception and it was the perfect touch! Thanks SMARTPAK!
    Date published: 2012-11-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Buy Purchased this and got it embroidered, came super fast arrived in only two days. Doesn't slide back or scruch up like most baby pads. Definitely recommended. Great buy and super price! 5 stars!!
    Date published: 2012-11-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great pad! Love these pads! They look great with a monogram. You can never have too many pads!
    Date published: 2012-11-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Get what you pay for This is a very basic pad. You get what you pay for. I will say that it does have a tendancy to slip but other than that it does the job it is intended for. I do like the wicking lining.
    Date published: 2012-10-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome pad I love this pad! I think it's the perfect size! I use a Mattes pad over it and it's the perfect length for that..not too long where I have to fold it and not too short where the half pad is on the horses back. As others have said, it does bunch a little (I find more so on wider horses), but it's not enough to make me not use it. It seems that the lining underneath helps absorb sweat as there has only been one time where my saddle and Mattes pad have gotten wet.
    Date published: 2012-09-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Almost as good as the Beval baby pads Durable and don't rub my mare's withers, even if they slip. Love the material on the underside of the pads, but makes them prone to slipping on a horse that already requires a breastplate.
    Date published: 2012-09-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very nice! I had been looking for a baby pad, and for the price and the monogramming option, this was the best deal. The pad itself is really nice quality. The backing gives it some substance so it's not so flimsy. It does bunch a little which I don't like, but not enough for me not to use it.
    Date published: 2012-09-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very nice saddle pad! I go through a TON of baby pads. Due to the Southern heat, they only last one use before needing to be washed. So I've tried a lot of brands, and I really like the SmartPak pad. I was surprised to see that it's lined (even though it says it right in the description) but I ended up really liking it. I was afraid that the lining would separate from the top layer with use and washing, but that hasn't happened yet so I think it'll be okay.And the embroidery, of course, is perfect! SmartPak does a GREAT job!
    Date published: 2012-09-03
    • 2015-03-02T09:44CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.1
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_9, tr_76
    • loc_en_US, sid_6525, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    In Loving Memory
    You were a loving and patient partner. From our early days learning dressage together, to your "retirement" years of tearing around the field and stirring up all the youngsters, you always brought your kindness, your heart, and your spirit. Thank you for everything, Wes. You are missed.

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.