Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

JP Korsteel Oval Mouth Loose Ring

Korsteel
- Item #16446

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Designed with world-renowned Australian trainer, John Patterson, to provide maximum comfort and top performance. The curved mouthpiece eliminates interference and stops bit from hitting the roof of the mouth, allowing room for the tongue. The shape also reduces the severe direct pressure on the bars of the mouth. Hand polished stainless steel. 4½", 5", 5½", or 6". 18mm thick.

You Might Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    JP Korsteel Oval Mouth Loose Ring is rated 4.9565 out of 5 by 23.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very good bit for OTTBs starting retraining Bought this for my OTTB because a roller bit was too distracting and a normal jointed snaffle pokes them in the roof of his mouth. Got him this bit because a similar bit was working well for my friends 5yr old and he has really changed and offers to collect and offer collection alot now. A very good deal for any new or young horse first goings.
    Date published: 2012-03-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from just what I expected A good, inexpensive extra bit for my new starter dressage bridle. Looks good, and the price was good!
    Date published: 2012-01-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Bit After trying every bridle in the barn, i found this bit and thought it worth a shot. It worked wonders. For the first time i was able to bend, flex, and collect a very intelligent, but very inclined to bucking, mare. We have since moved on to curb bit of this mouth and she is doing great. I have also used it on some other horses as a way to keep their mouths fresh and ive never had an issue. Its soft and round, doesn't pinch the tongue or the cheek and is and unusual shape so its good for horses that have gotten "hard" to their normal bit. Highly recommend.
    Date published: 2013-11-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from just what the pony ordered Nice bit. smooth and well made. Pony is enjoying it--same bit in a smaller size as the one I use for my big horse.
    Date published: 2011-05-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from You won't be disappointed!! Great, great bit! I purchased it after reading previous good feedback. This bit is exactly what i was looking for. Restarting a horse that has been out of work for a while. He accepted it easily and was very responsive. I do think it runs a little small. Had some issues with sizing of the oval mouth. egg butt 4 3/4" was too big. Ordered this in a 4 1/2" that was too small. The 5" was a perfect fit in the loose ring. Great return service with Smartpak as well!
    Date published: 2011-03-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Gentle Bit I bought this bit for my horse who's been ridden exclusively western all his life (he's 16). Just started riding him english just for fun and versatility. This was the bit I chose since it had good reviews and it would be very gentle on his soft mouth. It has been great! He never gave a moment's hestation when using this bit and an english rider who has ridden him with it is impressed with how fast he is picking up english and how quiet he is. Great bit and good price too! Highly recommend.
    Date published: 2011-02-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT bit I started out with one of these bits, and ended up purchasing a second in a larger size since the various horses I've worked with like it so well! From reschooling my gelding (converted from Western to Dressage), to schooling a very sensitive green 4 y/o, to a VERY opinionated older FEI horse... the horses have all been very comfortable in this bit. Their mouths stay nice and soft, and I don't worry about the bit having a nutcracker effect. I LOVE this bit and would definitely recommend it. The quality is excellent, it has a nice medium weight, and shines up great for show!
    Date published: 2010-11-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Little Bit About a Bit It fits my horse well, he enjoys its feel in his mouth. He is more relaxed and willing to work.
    Date published: 2010-09-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Horse loves it I had been riding my warmblood in an expensive German made bit with a link. But he didn't seem to do as well and so I experimented with different snaffles. He wouldn't accept them and I couldn't get him to be round and supple. Decided between a French link and this bit. Bought this one and am glad I did. My horse is very happy with it, is very accepting and is eager to work. Highly recommend over the regular or French link snaffles. The price is more feasible as well.
    Date published: 2010-07-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My horse loves this bit I was using a normal single jointed snaffle and switched to this bit. The difference was enormous; connection and submission both improved.
    Date published: 2010-06-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Value This is a great everyday bit, and cheaper than most other bits of the same style! It is perfect for schooling my Training Level dressage horse. It is not overly heavy or thick.
    Date published: 2010-03-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this bit! This is a high quality bit at an unbeatable price. It's a great dressage bit-very mild, but gets the job done. Korsteel's bits are consistently very high quality at equally affordable prices!!
    Date published: 2010-04-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Bit at a Cheap Price I'm really glad I purchased this bit, my horse accepts it and does really well in it. I've had trouble finding a good 6" bit and so was glad to find that this one came in that size.
    Date published: 2010-03-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from tremendous difference in horse my horse loves this bit, it is a medium/heavy weight with no sharp edges. Very good quality and gave me an immediate improvement in connection, half halt, and ease of transitions.If your horse likes a double jointed snaffle with a center piece I would definitely consider this. Its as nice as the more expensive bits.Just make sure its not too small, also if the bit is off-center it has more tendency to pinch until it settles on the horse.
    Date published: 2009-09-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2009-06-25
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.