Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

French Style Cribbing Strap

Item #16437
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

 

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

The French Style Cribbing collar is the highest quality at an affordable price. The French Style Cribbing collar is an effective deterrent against cribbing.

If selected, engraving will be on the crown.  Please allow an additional 1-2 days for engraving. 

You Might Like
    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    French Style Cribbing Strap is rated 4.1698 out of 5 by 53.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Seems to work well I bought this about a month ago for our new horse. This is my first time owning a horse that cribs, so I wasn't sure which type was best to get. A friend recommended this collar because she said it works well and is affordable. So, I decided to give it a try. This little horse isn't a hard core cribber and only cribs lightly in her stall. As long as it is on snug enough, she doesn't even attempt to crib. I did have to add a hole and I am sure over time, I will have to add more, but I am pleased with how it has worked thus far. I also liked the price!
    Date published: 2014-02-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works for me This works well on my almost 20 year old, lifetime cribber
    Date published: 2014-02-06
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Wears easily My gelding is a compulsive cribber, nothing seems to stop him. This collar lasted him a month now he just cribs with the collar on and gets nasty rub marks on him from the collar
    Date published: 2013-10-16
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from stretched I have a gelding who has wind sucked for years, and he's always had a miracle collar, since that would rub horribly I got this to see if it was any better, I liked it alot, and for about a month it worked really well, however about a week ago I went out and he was doing it and making the noise, meaning he could get air in his stomach! (they get too much air into their stomach=they colic) so I immediately put his miracle collar back on, since he's a 14.3 morgan this fit him on the 2nd to last hole for about 2 weeks, then the last hole until it was unusable.overall, if you can afford to replace it every two months, or you have a LARGE horse you're better off buying a miracle collar and a few sets of fleeces to stop rubs until they start sizing it for cob/full/oversize horses.
    Date published: 2013-04-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Solution for Cribbers I was very unsure about this collar. I had seen it on other horses and it never looked like it stayed in place which worried me when it came to rubs. I had been using the Miracle Collar for two and a half years but kept having to replace them because after a while, no matter how well I'd clean them, they would rub my poor pony's head raw. They were expensive to replace so often so I went for the French Style collar and I love it! It's easy to put on, no matter how much he moves his head while I do it, and it hasn't actually turned out of place or rubbed him. And as for cribbing he's not even trying with this collar on. I absolutely love it.
    Date published: 2013-03-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works Well and Looks Nice This collar has been working great for my cribber! The nicest thing is that it doesn't rub or pinch. All the other collars I've tried rubbed even with all the fuzz I could fit on them (my horse is not sensitive). This collar does run large and did take a week or so for my horse to stop putting his head down and shaking it, which made the collar spin around and require constant adjusting. Now there is no issue. It's quite durable also considering; when left hanging on his stall once while I was brushing him; he grabbed it and stomped on it! French collar is far less noticeable than any of the other collars and the leather is quality. You can't beat the price either!
    Date published: 2012-12-24
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from A decent cribbing strap I have a very persistent cribber and have tried everything on him. Although this didn't fix it completely, it did cut down on the severity of it. It's very sturdy (although the keeper broke after a few months), and a great price. I found that when he'd put his head down it would rotate around his neck sometimes.Worth a try at this price though!
    Date published: 2012-11-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works on our very dedicated cribber This is my second time purchasing this collar. The first collar's buckle came off after about 1 year. This cribbing strap works, but it runs very large. I really wish they sold a cob size, This collar is sized for a jumbo. For our 15 hand Arabian, I have to trim the leather on the strap and punch several new holes in the strap. I also take a hammer and reshap the metal to have a slighty wider U for the airway and bit snugger fit around the neck so that it fits the curves of my horse so that there are no gaps when his head is in a natural upright position. After my modifications he wont crib with the collar on and it does not make him sore. The miracle collar rubs him raw on the forehead and the Dare makes him sore under the jaw.
    Date published: 2012-11-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Surprisingly, It Worked! I tried the metal "nutcracker" collar, Miracle Collar, Chew Stop and finally resorted to the French Style Collar. I was skeptical at how simple it looks and how cheap it is, but was so impressed at how well it works. After two years, it's still doing it's job and I will occasionally see my mare make an attempt to crib and give up after a try or two. The thickness is essential to halting the cribbing ability. The only cons are that it was huge for her. All this implies, however, was a minor inconvenience. I cut off the end of the strap and added two extra holes (over the years I have added about 3-4 holes total, since leather stretches). But it's far worth the 2 minutes it takes to cut and punch. Also, it does turn on the neck. It has not once caused rubbing or any soreness/irritation, but it slips clockwise throughout the day. Doesn't seem to make a difference with how effective and comfortable it is.
    Date published: 2012-08-30
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nicely made, but didn't work for my horse This French collar is really nicely made, without any seams on the inside that could rub the horse. Unfortunately though, it didn't work for my horse. He's pretty persistent, and cribs through his miracle collar as well. He wasn't quite as deterred with this on.. I put it on him and he immediately went to his bucket and started in, despite being as tight as I could physically make it without choking him. Because he was not the least bit discouraged, I sent it back.Bottom line: I've heard great things about them for other horses, so for the price, I would definitely recommend giving it a try before you buy a pricier collar, especially if your cribber is not as committed as mine.
    Date published: 2012-07-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from The only strap that works for my horse This strap has been a miracle find! No other collar or strap could stop my senior TB from cribbing, but this one did the trick right away. He will occasionally try to crib once of twice, but since the strap is effective, he quickly gives up. The straps last a long time (I have two, and have been using them for over four years), and do not rub if used properly. (The only time that my horse got a rub with this collar was during a time of continuous rain. He constantly got rubs with the miracle collar, even with the covers!)Although this strap works well, there are a few features that could be improved, namely the sizing. My 16.2 hand gelding has a fairly refined head the throat (cob size bridle/halter), and the strap had to be modified to fit properly. In the beginning, it was effective on the tightest hole, but as the leather stretched, I had to cut the strap so that the buckle could reach added holes. The keeper for the excess strap is just a thin piece of leather, which has broken on both of my straps. This is just cosmetic though, and the strap is so effective that I can live with that.Please consider making a smaller size, it would make this a near perfect product!
    Date published: 2012-06-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Only one that works This is the only kind of collar that works for my cribber. It looks nice too. Easy to clean and fits a skinny neck. The leather is a little stiff, but nothing that can't be worked out or softened.
    Date published: 2012-04-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Did the trick!! I didn't want to spend a ton of money on a cribbing collar. This did the trick!! Sometimes it moves around but it still stops my horse from cribbing. It stretches out but all leather does, it still fits tho. My horse is also very sensitive from rubs from her halter and this doesn't rub her hair out. Give it a try for the money!! Well worth it!!
    Date published: 2012-04-03
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Simple: Does not work This was a total waste of money and time. No results at all.
    Date published: 2012-03-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality Material, Average Performance The quality of the leather and the buckles on this collar are superb and it wears very well in elements and in mud. I use this as a back up collar as my primary collar is a Miracle Collar.This is sufficient for my horse as a back up option, but when worn more than a few days is not optimal as it tends to shift so that the bottom part (that inhibits cribbing) moves to the side.
    Date published: 2012-03-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Collar! I bought this cribbing collar for my two year old. It held up very well for two months until the leather strap that holds the free end down fell off. Sense then he has been able to pull it off very easily and has even just chewed through the leather and rendered it useless. It also slips to the side but amazingly it still works. This completely stopped his cribbing (while I can keep it on him) and doesn't rub as bad as the Miracle Collar. I also think that it does a better job at stopping cribbing than the Miracle Collar and I have recommended it to everyone who has a cribber at my barn. Bottom line- its cheap and it worked for me so give it a try! Even if you will have to buy another in a couple months.
    Date published: 2012-02-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Only product that has stopped my cribber! Great quality! Have been hunting to find something to deter my cribber, and have finally found it! Miracle collar, chew stop, he would crib through anything. Until now!
    Date published: 2011-12-26
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not for the dedicated cribber Did nothing for the dedicated cribber. Have issues with it sliding around when he puts his head down or rubs on something since his "cribbing muscles" are so developed and the loop-thing that holds it in place at his throat is far too small for him or any other cribber with developed under-neck muscles.
    Date published: 2011-12-23
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works Well but is Large This is a lovely collar; it looks much nicer than either the "nutcracker" style strap or the miracle collar my horse also owns. It does work well, however it is quite large, I have already had to punch 2 new holes in it. I'm afraid if the leather continues to stretch with use that it will be too large to work properly. For reference, my mare is a 15 hand Arabian so she is on the petite side :)
    Date published: 2011-11-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A+ My horse will chew on buckets, gates, fence, windows, tack, and most everything else. I was using a nylon cribbing collar but it would only stop the chewing on the windows and fence and that left the gate and buckets to be all chewed up. A friend at the barn whose horse is also a cribber had a similar issue but she was using the miracle collar. She ordered one of these and it instantly stopped all the cribbing. I bought one a month later and I love it! No more cribbing! The leather streches out But you can easily punch holes in it! I highly recommend this product
    Date published: 2011-09-16
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from French Cribbing Collar Switched from Miracle Collar to this but he cribbed a whole lot more with this one, so I put the Miracle Collar back on and he barely cribs anymore. The reason I only used it for a short time is that it did not work at all.
    Date published: 2011-09-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stopped cribbing Recently started leasing a 22 year old TB who by the look of his teeth has been cribbing his whole life. He arrived in a Miracle Collar which he was cribbing right through. I put the French collar on, he went to the window to crib (where after only a month in his new stall he had already whittled away much of the board) tried to crib once, couldn't, and hasn't tried to crib on the window since. He was furious with us for the first couple days (we joked he was like a smoker coming off cigarettes), but he got over himself pretty quickly. Many reviewers mentioned it runs large, which I also found. He's about 17hh with a pretty thick neck from years of cribbing, and after 2 weeks it stretched out enough that I had to punch a new hole. Another boarder in our barn has also ordered the collar for her cribber and had equally good results.
    Date published: 2011-09-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Quality Cribbing Strap I found this cribbing strap to be of good quality, rather wide, but not as effective as the miracle collar.
    Date published: 2011-06-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice Product for the Price This does stop my mare from cribbing. It is light weight, well made, and a good quality leather. It was way too big for her, so I had to punch 2 holes and cut off some of the excess leather from the end of the strap. I am not sure if it is too loose for her. It stops her from cribbing at the current setting, but the throat cup often slips to the side of her throat. Again, I am not sure if it is doing this because I had to rig the strap or if it is not tight enough. Still - it serves its purpose!
    Date published: 2011-06-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works well This strap has stopped my TB gelding's cribbing! No other collar worked, but this one stopped my gelding almost immediately! He tried to crib a few times with it on, but eventually gave up. Now he doesn't even try to crib when I take the strap off for short periods of time. I just ordered my second one because the leather stretched out (after a year of full time use), and there is no more room for me to punch a new hole. My horse is 16.1h, and the collar is way too big. I have to make my own hole, but it is right next to the wider part of the strap, so I guess I will have to buy a new one annually. However, the price is right and the strap works, so I will stick with it.
    Date published: 2011-06-09
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not satisfied This collar did not work at all with my horse. It pulled his skin/hair - and my horse is very fit and young so it shouldn't of even happened. The collar would slip to the side even if I tightened it more and my horse would still crib with this collar on. I was not impressed at all so I went back to the Miracle Collar which works great!
    Date published: 2011-03-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Collar...working so far! I have been using this collar on my 22 year old retired event horse for a few weeks now and it has stopped the cribbing. He was cribbing more and more this winter with the lack of grass and this has stopped it. He still tries to go to the fence and puts his mouth on it but can't crib. My husband is much happier now that CB isn't tearing up our new fence! He's a fairly big horse and I've got the strap on the 2nd to last hole so smaller horses will need holes punched for sure. I also love the fact it does not have to be SUPER tight to work. I feel like I am not strangling him with this collar. It has been holding up to the weather well since my horses live outside 24/7. No rubs marks, but will get mud chuncks between it and his hair so must be checked often when muddy out. Excellent product for a very affordable price!
    Date published: 2011-02-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Buy I bought this cribbing strap after reading the reviews of other people. My mare is a bad cribber and I had a miracle collar on her, but she would crib anyway, all the time. I had put it so tight that it really bothered me to see her with it on, especially the browband area. I read that people had good results with the French Style cribbing strap. The price was inexpensive enough that I thought I would give it a try and if it didn't work out I wouldn't have spent a lot. This cribbing strap did work better then the miracle collar and has cut down her cribbing about 90%. She stills cribs sometimes but not for as long. I think that the collar could fit a little better, it seems big on my mare even on the last hole.
    Date published: 2011-02-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I was a skeptic but it works! I have an incredible Paint whose only vise is his windsucking. I hated putting a collar on him but have tried every spray to no avail. I worry he will suck in feed, choke, colic or ruin his teeth. With the strap on he does not attempt to suck. It is totally loose on his neck when he is eating and drinking and thinner and less obtrusive than other straps. When I take it off to brush him, he puts his head down and doesn't mind me putting it back on. Get this strap if your horse is a windsucker. You won't miss hearing that dreadful noise or worrying about his health anymore!
    Date published: 2011-01-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I am in awe! My horse is a severe cribber of 12 years. His cribbing had gotten so bad I was having his teeth filed every 2 months. Weaver's Miracle Collar did nothing but create gnarly rubs. After I began counting pennies to save for cribbing surgery, I tried this crib stopper, and it worked! My gelding is happy and healthy, my fences are looking better then they ever have and I am sure I'll be spending many more years with my crib-free gelding. If you've got a cribber who can't tear himself away from the fence, try this! I even got my boy's named engraved in the top, and it looks stunning. This is my go-to crib stopper! Best part is I can use my favorite cleaners to keep it looking tip top. Thanks, SmartPak for an affordable, functional product once again!
    Date published: 2010-12-29
    • 2015-02-28T07:22CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.1
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_51
    • loc_en_US, sid_6437, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Horse of the Month: Sir Rocco
    Horse of the Month: Sir Rocco, a.k.a “Bud” Breed: Appaloosa Age: 24 years old PATH Intl. Accredited Center: Hearts & Horses Location: Loveland, CO Bud is an incredible equine therapist, and has been at Hearts & Horses the longest of

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.