Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Horse Shave

Item #16209
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

 

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

This little gadget is amazing and it really works! If you get wriggly noses when trying to trim whiskers, then despair no more - ditch the scissors/clippers and use the Horse Shave Razor!

The Horse Shave is a very quick and easy way to remove all those unwanted whiskers from muzzles. It can also be used for removing any unwanted hair from the face and legs, plus removing bot fly eggs.

  • Remove Unwanted Whiskers and Hair From Muzzle
  • Safely Remove Long Hair Around Eyes
  • Removes Bot Fly Eggs
  • Set of 3

You Might Like
    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Horse Shave is rated 4.2821 out of 5 by 78.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great for dogs too ! We show our our dogs & this is the fastest , simplest & easiest way to remove whiskers for presentation in the show ring.
    Date published: 2010-11-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quick and Easy Does a great job when you're too lazy to use clippers!!!
    Date published: 2010-11-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Safe, Easy, & Quick! I use this product before EVERY show I go to! My pony is a wonderful show pony, great with everything...except when it comes to touching her nose! There's something she doesn't like about having her nose touched! There is no way I would even attempt using clippers on her nose...this is a MUCH better solution! She's only gotten a few little nicks (in her strong struggles to get away!), but honestly, I've been using this product for years now, and that was the first time I've seen one scratch on a horse (even Miss Sensitive Nose!). After using the Horse Shave, your horse looks beautiful, feels great, and their patience is saved for the rest of the day (so is mine!). I use this with any horse I show...this year I'm showing horses from a Thoroughbred and a Mini, and all will be getting a "Horse Shave" session! ;)
    Date published: 2010-08-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great & Easy I love these little shavers. I was impressed with how well they worked. I used them the night before a show. One horse I had shaved with clippers a week earlier. So he had short stubby whiskers and they came right off. With the same shaver I did my second horse. and she does not like the clippers on her mussel. So she had long whiskers and they came right off with no effort at all. NO cuts or nicks!!This product is a must have in your grooming bucket.
    Date published: 2010-08-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good supplement for clipping This is awesome when you get those horses who are hard to clip their muzzles and it's great for last minute touch ups.
    Date published: 2010-07-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simple, Quick, Convenient These are really handy to have around and with a few quick stroke your horse looks brand new.
    Date published: 2010-05-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy to use Very easy to use, shaves well and wont sppok your horses.
    Date published: 2010-05-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best invention ever. I absolutely love these! They make it so easy to clean up your horses whiskers. I don't think it's possible to cut your horse accidently with these, under the chin, around the nose and eyes, no nicks or anything. It's great to have them clean and handsome without having to take out the clippers every time- you can just keep these in your tack box.Long story short, these are worth it! Great buy!
    Date published: 2010-04-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Alternative- Not Just for Horses!!! I show dogs and part of the grooming is to remove the whiskers. Some dogs, especially puppies, hate the electric trimmers, and this product is perfect for them! I was very happy with the ease of use and especially the price!
    Date published: 2010-03-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy and Safe Super easy for a quick nose shave! "Horse show worthy", fast, and safe. I have NEVER cut a horse with one of these, even under the chin! My mare isn't fond of them, but she isn't fond of anything touching her nose, so I wouldn't even worry about that. =)
    Date published: 2010-03-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Shaving without stress! These are great for horses that have issues with the clippers on or near their muzzles. I love them, my braiding box is filled for the year so I NEVER runout. They are super easy to use and always come in handy.
    Date published: 2010-03-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Handy and necessary for the clipper shy horse... I love these shavers. I can clip my horse's legs with clippers but not his face or bridle path.These shavers take care of both areas perfectly! My horse does not mind the shaver at all and in fact, he finds it sort of relaxing.You can get a several uses out of one, especially if you don't use it on the bridle path.These things are fabulous!
    Date published: 2010-03-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product I have a horse that sometimes has issues with clippers around his muzzle. This product has resolved that problem. It is easy to use and great for quick touch ups. But can be used to shave your horse's muzzle on the days he just doesn't want to stand for the clippers.
    Date published: 2010-03-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great I have been using these for a while now & I really like them. They are easy to use & they don't take up any room in my bag. When you don't want to bother getting out the clippers, these are just great.
    Date published: 2010-03-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Convenient. I love these things! Makes it easier for both horse and owner when horse isn't comfortable with clippers on his/her face.
    Date published: 2009-11-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from horse shave works the best on bot eggs.very easy to remove the eggs from legs with horse shave
    Date published: 2009-10-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from These Are Great! My horse thinks getting his whiskers shaved is the best time ever, now. He acts like it's a game. I use to have to wrestle with him about the electric clippers, but now he stands quiet.I was worried about potentially cutting him, but even when he wiggles his nose, it's almost impossible to cut their nose, as long as you don't use extreme pressure.The only injury sustained ever was when he decided the razor might taste pretty good... needless to say he got a small cut on his tongue.I also feel safer using these vs the cheap human ones, because they are ergonomically designed to be held differently than the human ones, thus preventing any boo-boos.
    Date published: 2009-10-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Handy! I love these little shavers! They're small, handy, and really easy to use. In the past I just bought cheap-o people razors from the store, but the way these are made make it really easy to shave the horse's face and muzzle. The first time I used it I took a little too much off, but I've got it figured out now!
    Date published: 2009-08-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Product Everyone should have a pack of these in the barn- great for quick face trims or when the clipper battery runs out. Long lasting blades too.
    Date published: 2009-08-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fun, fun, fun! Love it! Horse shave is great for removing nose wiskers, especially with fussy horses or when you don't feel like dragging out the clippers. My guy doesn't mind it at all, although he does sometmes try to eat the shaver when it comes too close to his mouth!
    Date published: 2009-08-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Surprisingly Terrific!! I bought these because my horse has the worst fear of clippers and his face was too hairy to even bridle let alone show with! I was very nicely surprised about the quality. I was expecting them to pull more than cut but they did a terrific job. Clean cut and no spooking!
    Date published: 2009-06-11
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Useful Tool This product works well for horses who do not tolerate clippers on their muzzles. Although, the sharpness of the blade outlasts the strength of the plastic holder.
    Date published: 2009-06-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Handy last minute clean-up Works well to get the small whisker growth cleaned up before inspection classes. Easy to use, easy to tuck in a kit, and did a good job.
    Date published: 2009-05-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Horse Show Must Have! These are great for those quick touch ups at the show! No worrying about batteries going dead or spooky horses, and it is small enough to carry anywhere!
    Date published: 2009-04-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Makes in-between trimmings easy! These horse shaves just make life so much easier! They get a pretty good cut and with a new sharp one, you can do legs as well! It's basically impossible to cut your horse with these so even little girls with there show pony can use it!
    Date published: 2009-04-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great to keep your horse tidy These Horse Shave razors are perfect to have in your tack box for touch-ups. You can easily trim away your horse's whiskers without getting out the clippers or worrying about cutting him. They trim right to the skin - which is great, but you have to be careful around the hair above the muzzle so you don't end up leaving bald patches. They also work great on long stray hairs under the throat and on the back of legs if you aren't doing a full body clip. I wish the handle was a bit longer because my horse is very playful and can grab them out of my hand with his lips, and I wouldn't want him to get the whole thing in his mouth.
    Date published: 2009-03-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from WOW! My horse doesn’t do clippers, especially around the face, until I bought Horse Shave. This was truly a miracle and now my horse looks great. (NO WHISKERS!!) The product works great without any sharp edges and comes with 3 for one order!
    Date published: 2008-10-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A must have for any tack box! I have a yearling that refuses to have her nose touched at all, but especially with clippers. I finally got her trimmed using the Horse Shave. I was affraid they might cut her if she pulled away but they didn't. I won't be without these from now on.
    Date published: 2008-05-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I LOVE these little shavers! I carry them in my pockets at the barn, at shows, and are great for a little touch-up on your horse's nose or ears.
    Date published: 2008-04-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome These things are great! A friend talked me into trying them and I loved them- perfect to have around for quick touch ups. They work surprisingly well and are cheap!
    Date published: 2008-03-14
    • 2015-03-02T10:00CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.1
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_9, tr_69
    • loc_en_US, sid_6209, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    In Loving Memory
    You were a loving and patient partner. From our early days learning dressage together, to your "retirement" years of tearing around the field and stirring up all the youngsters, you always brought your kindness, your heart, and your spirit. Thank you for everything, Wes. You are missed.

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.