Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Hoof Wraps

Item #16183
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Hoof Wraps put an end to the fussing, fighting and overall pain that comes with trying to treat common hoof problems. 

The wrap makes it easy to address issues like an abscess, stone bruise or shoe loss. The Hoof Wrap is constructed of tough 1680 ballistic nylon that will stand up to light turnout, offers great traction and is extremely easy to clean. The industrial strength hook and loop fastening system will ensure a custom fit.

One size fits most (horseshoe sizes 00, 0, 1, 2). An EVA foam pad is also included for added comfort (measures 1 ½” thick x 5 ¾”W). The Hoof Wrap measures 8”W x 11”H (when laid out flat).

Buy the single Hoof Wrap (all with included EVA foam pad), Hoof Wrap with additional 2 Replacement Pads, or Hoof Wrap with additional Gel Pad.

You Might Like
    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Hoof Wraps is rated 3.6786 out of 5 by 56.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I've tried them all -- this works the best!!! I am using this product on a mare with severe foot injury who has only 4 mm of sole. The vets are trying to avoid nailing a shoe on her, so we are using another product on her sole and then fit her into Hoof Wraps when we turn her out. She loves her Wraps and steps out comfortably once they are on.Product is durable; and I appreciate having to use some elbow grease to get them off because I know they are on securely, and the little tabs that come in the package allow for extra security.Some people have commented that the numbering system makes it difficult to get it centered on the hoof -- do this, just adjust the velcro on the toe first, slip the Wrap on, and then reposition the velcro for a custom fit.Does the Wrap become wet from overnight dew, just slip a plastic bag on the foot first secured at the top with vetwrap, slip the Wrap on, and you are ready to go.Hoof Wraps are working to save my mare in allowing us to avoid shoes while we work to grow sole. Other harder boots make her sore, spin on her foot, etc. they just don't work for us.I am SOLD on Hoof Wraps Products.
    Date published: 2009-09-25
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Difficult to use I did not like the wrap. It fit my horse poorly and was difficult to clean.
    Date published: 2009-08-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I really like this product I have been dealing with a missing shoe issue for a few weeks. My horse lives out 24/7 and they seem to last for 6 days. Its a lot of money every six days but WAY easier than duct tape. My only complaint (which made me actually stop using them this week) is that the grass has been wet and once these get wet they don't dry quickly, so his feet stayed wet for ages.
    Date published: 2009-08-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from second purchase a gelding at my barn recently had an hoof problem and needed bandaged. I lent my hoof wrap, which spent the following three days on his hoof in the pasture! He's great and so is the wrap. Practice putting it on a few times before putting it on the needed moving target
    Date published: 2009-08-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from worth a try this is not the easiest to put on, and it is a challenge to take off, but it has been a real assest.Anyone that has a horse that tends to throw shoes, this allows you to turn them out and not destroytheir hoof until the farrier comes. The velcro isreally strong, which makes it very hard to take off, but on the pro side it does stay on if put on properly. The best thing I've tried so far even withnegatives.
    Date published: 2009-06-29
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Disappointed My TB can't be turned out when he loses a shoe, and he goes bonkers if he's in more than a day or two. I was hoping this product would allow me to dispense with the duct tape, but boy was I disappointed. It took me forever to figure out the instructions, and I couldn't use the foam pad because it made the wrap too small. Once I finally had the padless wrap on his foot, it lasted less than half a day's turnout on damp (but not muddy) ground. I finally got it to stay on for turnout with--you guessed it--duct tape. Since I don't like to leave the duct tape on overnight, I took it off and re-applied the Hoof Wrap without it. By the next morning the wrap had come off (and I don't blame my horse, who is really good about wearing all kinds of silly stuff). Duct taped it back on for turnout, and it came in with the horse this time, but looking much the worse for the wear. Repeated this scenario one more time, into the trash it went, and out I went to buy more duct tape--which only costs a couple bucks a roll and stays on until I cut it off.
    Date published: 2009-06-23
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice Alternative My horse just lost his front shoe and the other is ready to go as well. Unfortunately, my farrier is on vacation. I bought this wrap last year for that just in case situation. The funny thing was this was not my first choice when wrapping his hoof. I duct taped his hoof, which lasted a few days, but my horse hates having his feet fussed with so it was a challenge to tape. Today, I chose the wrap instead and it took me about 5 minutes total instead of the 35 minutes I struggled with him the other day. I still put duct tape on it to make sure it stays as I know someone else that used it and it fell off. So far, I am extremely happy. I am buying another one right now for the next situation that arises.
    Date published: 2009-06-21
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Too hard to get on hoof After many attempts, could not get horse's hoof directly onto the wrap. Experienced barn manager even gave up. Not as easy to do as directions say.
    Date published: 2009-05-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful Product!!! I bought this boot for a 13hh pony and was skeptical as to whether or not it would fit. It not only fit but held up to a 5 day turn out. We had to do some trimming with scissors on the pad to get it to fit, but other than that it was simple to apply. The pony ran and played just as he normally would. I will use these again and again!!!
    Date published: 2009-05-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Hoof Wrap This Hoof Wrap is the real deal. The velcro closures hold it in place without slipping and the wrap provides excellent protection to the hoof while you're waiting for the farrier. I have bandaged my horse's hoof with diapers and duct tape for the last time. The Wrap is tough and stands up to turnout and crossing the creek with no ill effects. I highly recommend keeping it on hand for those times your horse loses his shoe and it's going to be a few days before the farrier can come out. I've tried other types of boots but can honestly say this is the easiest and most satisfactory one I've ever used - by far!
    Date published: 2009-04-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best product in a long time My horse escaped from his pasture and in his panic galloping around, managed to bruise both front soles and his left front heel. He doesn't wear shoes. I had a couple of hoof wraps and applied them with the pads. I have been down the duct tape route and that requires re-application of the bandage twice a day. I don't have that kind of time. My horse has crooked legs and feet and stands with his front feet very close together. That added a small challenge to applying the bandages but generally they were easy to put on. He walked sound with the boots on. My horse lives out 24/7 and stall rest is not an option because he gets very agitated in a stall. The wraps were still intact on the bottom after 6 days of continuous wear. They were ragged around the edges but what would you expect after he walked around hard ground for 6 days. I washed them and will save them for another time. Another amazing thing about the wraps is that it rained enough to make the pasture footing muddy and when I brought my horse to the barn that night, they were covered in mud (I just scraped it off), and his feet were DRY!! Outstanding product...will always have several in my tack box.
    Date published: 2008-08-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Mixed Reviews for a Truly Useful Product To be honest, I was a little concerned about purchasing a hoof wrap after reading the reviews. Some were fives and some were ones. However, because I am tired of using duct tape and baby diapers, I did give the product a try. The product does state that it is disposable, which means that the product will not last for ever. Although the cost was around 20 per wrap, the Hoof Wrap was fun and it actually worked on my horse. I played with the hoof wrap on my table to learn the numbering system before attempting to put on my horse. The velcro system is super strong which was also a positive for keeping the wrap in place out in the field. I also used the foam pad included and even mixed with a plastic pad since my horse is shoed. In my opinion, the makers of Hoof Wraps have come up with a wonderful idea for those of us with very little time that still love our horse too. I will purchase again!
    Date published: 2008-08-02
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from NOT "tough for turnout"! I bought this boot to protect my horse's foot after a hoof wall resection. Since it is advertised as being suitable for turnout, I figured it would be more than adequate for a week of stall rest. After using the boot for 4 days, the boot had a hole in the bottom! It managed to wear out even while using the included pad and keeping the foot wrapped up in vetwrap...while he was in a STALL. I cannot see how this boot can be advertised as "tough for turnout" when it disintegrates after a few days in a stall. The only good thing about this boot is that it stays on better than duct tape. This does not offset the fact that it falls apart after only a few days of light use.
    Date published: 2008-07-14
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Wore Through in 3 days Not great for us. We used the wrap on a shod hoof. Our gelding is out at night and in during the day. When we went to re-treat his hoof, and re-wrap, the bottom of the wrap was torn and worn through. We had to throw the hoof wrap away. Disappointing after spending $20.
    Date published: 2008-07-13
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Poor Durability Great concept but after one night in the stall this product was tearing at the seams and fraying. It stayed on all night though, but was tough to get off.
    Date published: 2008-07-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product I used the hoof wrap to protect my horse's hoof when he lost a shoe and the farrier was not able to come out ASAP. My horse was turned out for 3 days in the hoof wrap and it stayed on and also protected his foot. It showed wear, but continued to protect and never fell off. I HIGHLY recommend this product- it is much easier than tape and lasts longer!!
    Date published: 2008-04-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! We tried it out because we were tired of taping hooves over and over... and NOW we will NEVER tape again! The first time we used it, we turned her out and she tested it on a variety of terrains. After four days (and three chages) it showed wear, but continued to protect for about a week! The second one we purchased was for a pack and it ended up saving a ride we were on! Dollar for dollar this is the BEST solution I have found and HIGHLY recommend this product to anyone who is TIRED OF TAPE or wants a little more security! GET TWO!
    Date published: 2008-03-18
    • 2015-03-02T07:16CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.1
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_55
    • loc_en_US, sid_6183, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Horse of the Month: Sir Rocco
    Horse of the Month: Sir Rocco, a.k.a “Bud” Breed: Appaloosa Age: 24 years old PATH Intl. Accredited Center: Hearts & Horses Location: Loveland, CO Bud is an incredible equine therapist, and has been at Hearts & Horses the longest of

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.