Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

JP Korsteel Copper Oval Mouth Loose Ring

Korsteel
- Item #16145

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Thick, kind, double-jointed Oval Mouth Loose Ring with curved bars eliminates "nutcracker" tongue pinching and encourages the horse's chewing motion. Copper mouth to increase acceptance of the bit and increase salivation. 4.5", 5" or 5.5".

You Might Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    JP Korsteel Copper Oval Mouth Loose Ring is rated 4.8485 out of 5 by 33.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it Love this bit. Have used it on many different horses, and they all become much more relaxed and supple. All my TBs and Warmbloods have loved it. Definitely my go-to bit. Highly recommend.
    Date published: 2012-12-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great value! I have used this bit on three horses and each has loved it. My new horse has been going western and I'm switching him to English. He sucks this bit into his mouth, and won't let go when the ride is over. Encourages a soft, gentle chewing with plenty of good moisture in his mouth. Will be ordering another so dressage and hunter bridles have one.
    Date published: 2012-12-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great bit at a great price My mare loves the bit no issues. Actually bought a more expensive bit before this one and she hated it! Love Smartpack as well ; )
    Date published: 2012-11-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great inexpensive bit Spent $150 on a herm Sprenger and my mare hated it! Spent $30 on this one and she loved it.I believe it was the thickness of the bit.
    Date published: 2013-12-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-05-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Does the job In the past I have bought Herm Sprenger Aurigan KK bits because my horses responded so well to them. Money being more scarce these days, I decided to try this bit. It seems to make my horses happy and does the job. I have purchased two in different sizes.
    Date published: 2012-05-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Deal Bought this bit for my Arab who had been running with his head up and who was reluctant to take the bit. Since he'd previously been ridden in a D-ring, I wasn't sure how he would go in a loose-ring, so I didn't want to spend a ton of money on a top line bit, but still wanted quality-this bit has been exactly what I was looking for!He loves the copper in this bit, actually reaches down and picks up the bit on his own and will hold it in his mouth when I'm trying to take the bridle off.
    Date published: 2012-04-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very good purchase This is a great bit. I highly recommend it. I use it on my high spirited little arab mare. She is soft mouthed and this works well on her control.
    Date published: 2012-03-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from As described I have only placed this in my horses mouth so far, not actually used it. He has a $120 "German silver" bit he likes just fine, but he immediately started chewing on this one. Also, the copper is noticeably warmer than the stainless rings, I see this as a plus.
    Date published: 2012-02-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from perfect bit for my mare love the combination french snaffle with round center link. I searched for a while until I read the reviews on this bit myself and found it all to be true. Not only can I start my mare with it but I can use it far into her training in dressage and use it for shows as well.
    Date published: 2012-02-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great bit As many other have said, this bit is great. The only thing I would love to see is a 6" my horse, well, he has big box head with a wide mouth. The 5.5" only just fits.Other then that, I can not fault it.
    Date published: 2011-11-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Chewing! Wow... For the first time EVER, my horse is relaxed and chewing on his bit. Usually, he just sucks it into the back of his mouth and holds it in his teeth... Yeah, no love for his past bits, but with this one, he is like butter.. I am ordering another for my other horse!
    Date published: 2011-07-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic value I thought about buying the KK Ultra bit, but found this one to be very similar and much more affordable! My horse goes very well in it. I love the ergonomic shape and sweet copper that encourages salivation.
    Date published: 2011-10-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very happy horse I've been using this bit on my horse for almost 2 years and he is still going well in it. Much more accepting of this bit than standard snaffle.
    Date published: 2011-05-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great bit! Love this bit! My 5 year old OTTB likes to lean and the loose ring keeps her from doing such. She is in a full-cheek fulmer bit on trail, but in the dressage ring, she is in this loose ring. No more fighting the contact! She also seems to like the copper.
    Date published: 2010-11-23
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2010-05-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Simple Bit My mare really loves this bit. We have progressed in our training so much after switching to this bit. What I love most is the contoured shape. It doesn't hit her in the palate and the copper is inviting and creates a soft mouth. I have spent hundreds of dollars on expensive Herm Sprenger bits and wouldn't you know my horses train better in this much much less expensive one!!
    Date published: 2010-05-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Smartest Choice for your Horse This is a bit that you and your horse will love. It is good because your horse salivates and goes on the bit and accepts it easier with out much of a fight. I did recommend this for my friends horse ( 4 year old horse) and they both love it and its also affordable and in regualtions for shows. The first time I rode in I was sure my horse even approved of it by stretching and relaxing more and more.
    Date published: 2010-01-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great value My horse really likes this bit. I've never had a copper bit before and glad I made the choice to try this one out. I like to switch my bits out occasionally and this was a great value for a nice heavy and kind bit
    Date published: 2010-01-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful bit My dressage horse likes this bit as well as, if not better than, the HS ultra. It fits in her mouth perfectly. The curve is just right and the center link lays nicely in the mouth. She tends to fuss with bits but only mouthed this one softly; no head shaking or fussing! We will stay this this one. Thank you, Smart Pak!
    Date published: 2009-12-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Accomplishes what it's supposed to This bit is kind, well-made, and does increase salivation/bit acceptance. I have a TB with a sensitive mouth and she took to it without a hitch. I would definitely recommend it if you want a quality bit at a reasonable price.
    Date published: 2009-12-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Big fan I'm a big fan of JP Korsteel bits, but this one is one of my favorites. I love the fact that it's completely copper. It's a little too thick for my horse so I'm using the jp french link dee ring with him, but I've used this bit on other horses with great success.
    Date published: 2009-12-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2009-10-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My horse loves this bit My TB is very sensitive and tends to toss his head when he's not happy. I've been using this bit for a week and already I can notice a difference in the softness of his jaw and he hasn't tossed his head once (knock on wood).
    Date published: 2009-08-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great bit for a steal! This bit is as nice as others that cost 4 times as much.
    Date published: 2009-05-27
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.