Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

SmartPak Breathable Girth

SmartPak
- Item #16115
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The SmartPak Breathable Girth is cushioned and contoured for comfort. The synthetic material offers a non-slip,
secure hold. The PVC waffle-weave allows air-flow for your horse and convenient, easy care for you!

Favorite Features

  • Double ply elastics
  • Nylon reinforcements
  • Stainless steel roller buckles

 

You Might Like
    out of 5
    93% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SmartPak Breathable Girth is rated 4.5294 out of 5 by 68.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Durable, comfortable I've had this girth nearly 2 years and aim to ride EVERY day. This girth has never caused any chafing/fungus or shown wear and tear and almost never needs cleaning.
    Date published: 2014-06-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love it I haven't been using it long but it stays in place and doesn't pinch and is so easy to clean because it barley gets dirty. Despite the picture there is a d ring attachment so if you want one it is there. Yes your horse will still sweat with this girth just like with any other however it does not collect sweat and dirt like fleece and unlike fleece it breathes. It seems really sturdy and the flaps that extend to the buckles don't get in the way and to me seem to give my pony more comfort than a standard girth. Overall I really like it and for the great price I'm glad I bought it and feel like it will last me a long time. The only thing I thought bad was that it seemed to be only slightly shorter than my old girth however my old girth was 5 years old and I sure was stretched out some.
    Date published: 2014-03-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this girth! I was looking for a replacement for my Thorowgood girth which had gone "missing" recently. The girth was almost 15 years old and still looked almost new despite being used almost daily. I was so pleased when I found that SmartPak'a girth was almost identical and at a fraction of the cost. I have no doubts that I will still be using this girth in 15 years time as well!
    Date published: 2014-02-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great girth Have 3 of these girths now, in 3 different lengths. Latest purchase for a big bodied warmblood. No more saddle slippage.
    Date published: 2014-02-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from great value I've only used this girth for a month but so far, I really like it. No chafing or rubs and at the price, it's hard to beat.
    Date published: 2014-02-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great girth and the easiest to clean The polo players at the barn saw and made me order 10 for them. Wonderful girth for everyday and a new one could work in the show ring!
    Date published: 2014-01-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fit. True to size and the elastic on both sides is a great feature.
    Date published: 2013-12-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best girth I've ever used! I love this girth. Nice matierial that doesn't slip or pinch my horses. The elastic on both ends makes it easy to put on and comfortable for my horse. The D-ring is nice for equitment. I will never buy different girth!
    Date published: 2013-11-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very nice girth If you are looking for an easy to use and maintain everyday girth, then this is the girth for you. It is inexpensive for the quality.The fabric is easy to clean. It does not rub. The double elastic is easy on the horse and easy to tighten even for kids. We use it in our therapeutic riding program.
    Date published: 2013-10-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic girth This is a very durable, nice quality girth for a great price. Whats not to like. I bought one for my horse last summer, and bought one for my daughter's horse this year. great product. Would recommend it to anyone.
    Date published: 2013-06-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bought another! This is a repeat purchase but just in other sizes! We really like these girths. Much better than the slippery leather and love the elastic on both sides. D ring is great to fasten breastplate to if desired.Made well and good price. All of the other girths like this that we have purchased are in great shape and still performing 100%. Would highly recommend.
    Date published: 2013-01-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great girth! I bought this girth for everyday use (to have handy so I don't have to constantly be searching for the right size!). It is well made, nice to look at and perfect for hacking/trail riding, etc. My only complaint is they do run snug-- I bought it for a 3 year old paint mare who is a 46/48-- the 48" that I bought was SNUG. After we were warmed up (we were on a trail ride) I was able to be on the second hole on each side but I had to start on one (which I never, ever do!). If you're considering this and your horse is between sizes I DEFINITELY suggest going up a size... That being said, I still love it!
    Date published: 2012-11-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not the girth in the picture I purchased this girth a few months ago in a smaller size and really liked it. The one that came this time had elastic on both sides and had a different type of elastic. I like the quality of the girth but, would have prefered elastic on one side only. I needed the girth quickly so am not returning it. I love the no slip feature! Ends saddle slipping and easy to clean.
    Date published: 2012-10-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Better than anticipated To be honest, I wasn't sure this girth would work for me but I was pleasantly surprised. I think of synthetic girths as being uncomfortable and maybe plasticy and prone to rub off fur. This had not been the case thus far. I am having a tough time finding a nice chocolate brown leather girth to fit my OTTB who is a 44. In the interim I have an inexpensive fabric and faux fleece girth but it gets nasty fast and so I got this so I can wash the other and have an extra. The girth is quite stylish the way the bands of nylon curve around the outside and I like that is is a perfect match for the saddle and actually my dark bay horse. The only metal ring is under the belly which suits me fine. I wanted a very clean look and this one nearly disappears on my horse because it is so thin and plain from a distance. IT drys fast and should be easy enough to wash. The only thing I see happening is you have to be careful when cinching the girth up to make sure the small girth extra that sits behind the elastic doesn't bunch up. This is starting to happen and I just have to make sure to pull it up so that it doesn't cause irritation on my horse. I have only had this for about three weeks so I can't attest to how it will hold up long term but for the price I feel it is a good buy.
    Date published: 2012-09-28
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Very thin, doesn't hold up I can't remember if I reviewed this, but I have used this now repeatedly to give it more chances. It is too thin/narrow and it moves does not stay put. The buckles/pin when tightening flip to the side and make it impossible to tighten it. It is very easy to keep clean but sadly last week it snapped so I will never purchase this again and have told others not to. I will also keep this to show others what can happen. I thought maybe it had something to do with my saddles, but all my saddles are CUSTOM made to fit my individual horses. If the girth was thicker and the pin/buckles redesigned I MIGHT, MIGHT think about reordering one.
    Date published: 2012-09-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent value! A good-looking reasonably priced girth that goes the extra mile. Friends who have seen mine aprrove and wanted to know where I bought it.
    Date published: 2012-09-14
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Meh, it's ok It does slip and will cause your saddle to slide so beware, it is also very thin, I thought it would be wide like the wintec girth. WOW, big mistake, very thin, very slick. Other than that, it is well made, just doesn't work for me, not sure why either. Did the same thing on all my horses with all their custom made saddles.
    Date published: 2012-09-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Girth! So I had at first purchased a new girth at my local tack shop for the tune of $75 and I wasn't 100% happy with it. I saw this one on Smartpak and thought I'd give it a shot! So glad I didn't it was a better price and seemed to just fit better! So glad I got this one, super easy to just hose off and hang to dry too!
    Date published: 2012-08-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from decent quality for $ The girth is decent quality for the price. The fit is pretty standard, the workmanship is average. My two complaints are that the hardware is already rusting after a month's use, and the girth edges roll under and wad up too easily, causing rubs.
    Date published: 2012-08-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Everyday Girth I was pleasantly surprised at the quality of this girth. It is made of a very soft material and is easy to clean.
    Date published: 2012-08-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice girth Nice girth for a nice price. Really well made and easy to clean. We bought this girth for my daughter's quarter pony that she uses for mounted games. Love that it is non slip- as you can see from the pic her saddle HAS to stay put! It's easy for her to adjust by herself with the double elastic.
    Date published: 2012-08-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great value!!! Wears well, looks great, appears to be comfortable for the horse. Affordable quality. This is not a "fancy" girth but durable and can go into the show ring in a pinch!
    Date published: 2012-07-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Breathable Girth Very breathable girth, great for summer use. Ran a bit smaller than what I expected.
    Date published: 2012-07-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great value Girth is supple, does not rub and has the sturdy elastics and stainless buckels usually found on quality leather girths.
    Date published: 2012-07-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Girth I love these girths. They are gentle on the horses belly. They are easy to wash and dry. Would always buy these girths!!
    Date published: 2012-07-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Summer Girth Great girth for the summer months. Love how flexible and soft it is, plus its breathable!
    Date published: 2012-06-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well-crafted! Bought this girth to replace a fleece lined girth as it kept getting so dirty. My very sensitive mare has had no problems with this girth, there's no pinching or rubbing. I love that it has rollers on the buckles! The color is a nice dark brown and it matches my Thorowgood saddle perfectly. When I get another horse this will be the girth I get for it!
    Date published: 2012-06-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Schooling/Show Girth I truly love this product. When I bought Jonah in March at the age of eighteen (now nineteen), I really didn't have a lot of money to spend on tack and other goodies for my boy. So I began my search for a cheaper girth that I could use for schooling, and for shows. I use hand-me-downs from my sister's old horse, so a saddle and bridle were already acquired (at least to use for the time being until I can afford a proper fitting saddle for my high withered boy). It just came down to a good price and a slight match in color. This girth has been fantastic to me. It gets a little dusty or sweaty from a workout, just hose it off, sit it in the sun for ten minutes and it's ready to be out away. The one concern I did have with the girth itself is, it looks EXTREMELY big in the packaging. I bought a 46' and was concerned it would be too long, but decided to try it out and it fit perfectly. So don't panic too much when you get a girth that looks horribly big! Overall, I am completely satisfied with this product and would recommend it to others.
    Date published: 2012-06-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this girth!! Great quality girth at a super cheap price :)This girth along with the success jumper pad keeps my saddle in place. My mare is round and we were constantly trying to keep her saddle from slipping. These two products solved my problem!!
    Date published: 2012-06-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Girth for the Price Overall, I am very happy with this girth. I bought this to replace my fleece elastic girth for my draft cross. This girth doesn't have much stretch, which makes tightening kind of difficult. It seems to run a little small, too.
    Date published: 2012-06-11
    • 2015-03-04T07:29CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.1
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_5, tr_63
    • loc_en_US, sid_6115, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    In Loving Memory
    You were a loving and patient partner. From our early days learning dressage together, to your "retirement" years of tearing around the field and stirring up all the youngsters, you always brought your kindness, your heart, and your spirit. Thank you for everything, Wes. You are missed.

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.