Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Blocker Tie Ring

Myler Bits
- Item #16004

 

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer. That means this item isn't eligible for additional discounts or promotions.
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

The Blocker Knotless Tie Ring prevents injury to you or your horse. When a solid-tied horse spooks or falls, it can panic - then something breaks or the horse injures itself (or both). Quick-release knots and panic snaps put you in danger as you try to reach them. The Blocker Tie Ring works WITH the horse. When the horse pulls hard on the lead, some of the rope slips through the tie ring - releasing pressure AND the source of panic. If the horse falls in a trailer, it can pull enough slack to get itself back up. The Blocker Tie Ring is truly a quicker, simpler, safer way to tie any horse. And it is adjustable: you can regulate the degree or amount of hold by the size and type of lead rope used. No more injuries to the horse's neck or vertebrae from pulling back against the lead. No more injuries, or even death, when the halter snap, lead rope, or bungee cord breaks, sending the horse against a post or flipping over onto a concrete floor. The Blocker Tie Ring is invaluable in trailers, answering the age-old question "to tie or not to tie." If a solid-tied horse falls down in a trailer, it can't get up. With a Blocker Tie Ring, the horse can solve its own problem without you risking your life trying to free it. Chrome plated.

You Might Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    Blocker Tie Ring is rated 4.8065 out of 5 by 62.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from safe and easy to use I have a 7 yr. old Thoroughbred (rescue) mare who is now standing much quieter because of this product. I have been using it with her for about 3 weeks now. I like it because when she pulls back she gets resistance, but not so much resistance that it really panics her to where she tries to break a rope or halter. I also use a long 22' rope with it so that I can catch the end of it before she pulls it all the way through the tie ring and is able to run off. SHe still occasionally will get startled and will pull back, but since she can take a few steps back now rather than hit the end of a rope, she is staying calmer. I think the knowledge that she "can" move back if she needs to, is helping her figure this out. The snap clip allows me to take the tie ring and use it in my horse trailer as well, which is convenient. My only "wish" to make it even better would be a brochure or something that shows the different ways to thread the rope through the ring to get the various levels of resistance- would be handy to have that in the barn/tack room. I went online and found a video that showed "how to" from Clinton Anderson. I would definitely recommend this product to anyone who has a horse that pulls back when tied, or has learned to break those "breakaway" halters so that they can run off.
    Date published: 2013-06-18
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not what I had hoped We have a horse that occasionally pulls back, so I thought I'd give this a try. I found that it really didn't hold the rope very well at all; with the horse tied to the trailer, all he had to do was pull firmly but gently and he'd gotten enough play so he could graze. I don't think he even really realized he was tied. I think it could be somewhat useful for holding a horse that really doesn't tie well, say long enough so you can walk a short distance to grab some tack or something, but I wouldn't be further than a few steps away from a horse attached to one of these.
    Date published: 2013-06-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from A safe way to tie I have several blocker tie rings. I use them inside my horse trailer, in my barn, and at the hitching post. It's the only way I tie my horse anymore
    Date published: 2013-05-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from "Fix" Pulling Back This ring is THE tool for helping horses that pull back when tied. To have the best success, watch the Clinton Anderson video. He tells about seeing this item and it's inventor at a horse trade show, testing it himself at clinics and the best way to have horses train themselves to stand tied. Unlike the old school "hard tie to something they can't break until they give up the fight" method for horses that habitually pull back, the tie ring re-trains the horse to not panic when they put pressure on the line as they can "move their feet". I used this tool w/ great success to help a 15 year old 17h horse that pulled back EVERYWHERE he was tied. By the third day, he stood quietly no matter what the stimulus or fright. The horse's owners and professional trainer were blown away w/ my backyard results. Most importantly, a really sweet horse wasn't scared of being tied anymore: perfect.
    Date published: 2013-05-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great investment I have a 4 year old thoroughbred that has broken every halter, lead rope ect, this teaches him doesnt have restrictions, he gives it a pull and he is fine he doesnt freak out!!!! only thing i regret is that i didnt buy it sooner!
    Date published: 2013-04-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great solution for my horse! My older OTTB has an aversion to cross-ties but stands quietly on the blocker tie ring. A huge positive difference. Highly recommend this product!
    Date published: 2013-03-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2013-03-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Tool, Great Price I use the DUH method on my trainer horses and this is what Clinton Anderson's suggests using for a horse who pulls back or gets impatient. I was a spectulative at first, but once I tried it, I loved it. I now have 2 andam planning on buying more if that gives you an idea on the quality.
    Date published: 2012-12-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Product Bought a pair of these to use on my horse trailer. Worked great. Built to last.
    Date published: 2012-11-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A really great idea I have used these before at a barn, and thought they were a great safe idea. When we got our own place, that was on the list of must haves. They really work. I use mine as a single tie for my horse in the barn aisle. I think they would also be great as part of a cross tie too. The only draw back is in the price, especially if you would want two. I highly recommend them.
    Date published: 2012-09-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Blocker tie ring Great product - use in stall when saddling. Quick and safe to use.
    Date published: 2012-09-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works I have only used 1 time. It really does what it says. A friend as had one for years and loves it.
    Date published: 2012-08-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Blocker Tie Ring Saves the Day I purchased the Blocker Tie Ring for my horse trailer. Thankfully I had my horse tied to it when he unexpectedly decided to pull back. Not feeling any tension, he immediately stopped and he did not break away while on our trail ride.Thank you Blocker Tie Ring!
    Date published: 2012-07-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Clever! I love these! Not only do they make tying your horse up quick and easy, but they are great for those horses that like to pull back. It releases a little at a time, allowing the horse to not feel trapped and giving you enough time to grab the lead rope before they're free.My only complaint is the cost - they're a lot more money than I expected - but it really is worth it!
    Date published: 2012-07-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from As advertised I have only used this for a week, but it is a well made product, great instructions included, and works as advertised/described.
    Date published: 2012-07-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best investment I already had one of these and bought another so that I could cross tie. My "tie broke horse" had a mishap and tore herself up pretty bad (tied with a slip knot) I couldnt get to the knot fast enough and since then I've used the tie ring. She's tried to pull back once with the tie ring and as soon as the rope gave she quit and stood like nothing happened. I never have to worry about tying her again!
    Date published: 2012-09-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I feel a lot safer using the Blocker Tie Ring Recently at a show my horses were hard tied to the trailer. For some reason while saddling one spooked and caused both to set back on their leads. I got knocked down by my mare and broke my wrist. She slipped and fell and rolled onto my daughter, causing a slight concussion and hyper-extended her back.I strongly feel we both could of been hurt a lot worse, even killed because the horses had no where to go but back up to the trailer. My mare set back at least twice with me under her.I WILL NEVER HARD TIE MINE AGAIN!!! With this tie ring they can get away from you.STRONGLY RECOMMEND.
    Date published: 2012-06-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Safe & easy to use My barn uses these in the cross ties, but I wanted to get one of my own because there isn't one in the farrier area, and I thought it would be nice to have one when traveling to shows. Sadly, the first time I used it, I accidentally left it on a hook by my horse's stall and it walked away... I found a local store that carries it for five dollars less, so I guess I'll pick it up there next time. I do wish SmartPak carried the stainless steel version (local store doesn't either). As with most chrome-plated items, I expect it will start flaking off eventually.
    Date published: 2012-05-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this! My OTTB has problems being tied. The blocker tie ring has helped with that a lot! Im able to tie him without any problems or worries now!
    Date published: 2012-03-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works as advertised I have tried many different types of ties for horses. I could never get to the quick release ones in time to help the horse. Then I tried an automatic relase one which did prevent the horse from getting hurt but didn't really teach him anything because he got away. With the blocker tie ring the horse pulls back and as soon as he feels the slack he stops and there is usually enough rope left that he doesn't get completely away. When the pressure stops he stops. Of course the ideal is to teach him to give to the pressure but this works great in the meantime and he doesn't have a bad experience. It wouldn't be good to leave your horse on one if you weren't right there in case he did get away although there are alternative ways to tie them to give you a little more security. Overall, I am very pleased with the function and quality of this product.
    Date published: 2012-03-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easiest Way to Tie Horses I always worried about solid-tying my horse, and often used a loop of bailing twine at the tie post as a breakaway. But not any more! The Blocker Tie Ring is quick, easy to use and, most importantly, safe. It's a bit pricey, but the quality is excellent. Hope the chrome-plated finish holds up here near the ocean.
    Date published: 2012-03-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Safe, Effective, Easy to use I am a trainer and use this item many times a day with all breeds/ages of horses. I highly recommend the blocker ring. No more broken snaps or halters. Use in the trailer or at the barn for the horse that pulls back. The horse will stop pulling back after a while of using the blocker ring. It works best with 1/2 " rope. If your horse learns to pull the rope out intentionally, use a thicker cotton rope, or tie a knot at the end of the rope. If using outdoors year around, pay more for the stainless steel ring. The chrome plated ring will rust a bit in the weather, but should be usable.
    Date published: 2012-03-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A good investment. I have used the Blocker Tie Rings for a couple of weeks now, and am glad I bought them. If you just single loop the lead rope through the ring, it slides out VERY easily. So to use it that way, you have to have a horse that absolutely does not apply any pressure whatsoever to the lead rope. One of my horses figured out that he could lower his head to the ground and pull the rope through, and then walk off and pull it the rest of the way through. So for him, you have to do the more complex tying pattern to hold him. I LOVE not having to tie knots in ropes anymore to tie horses up! Just run the rope through, and you're done. I would like to use these inside my horse trailer, and I imagine for that I will need to use the more complex tying pattern, but that is no problem. My horses know how to tie and haven't pulled back yet (knock on wood!) so I don't know how they work in a panic situation. But for a convenience item, I am very glad I bought these, and I will eventually like to buy a few more. The cost is quite high for what you actually get, but that's just how things are these days :-)
    Date published: 2012-02-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Second Blocker Ring After experiencing too many "pull back" episodes with my horse, and trying many other so-called solutions, I bought a Blocker Tie Ring. Not only did it CURE my horse from having panic attacks, it helped me to overcome the fear that I had developed as well. This tie ring is not a gimic - it solves the problem at the source. As long as I have horses, I won't be without one. This one goes in my trailer.
    Date published: 2012-02-22
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Waste of Money With recommendations from Clinton Anderson I expected this to be a wonder product. I tried this product with all my leads and none of them seemed like they would pull through even a little bit. This product has many good recommendations and it is well-made, but I don't want to risk a broken fence pole in midwinter from what I've seen as to how it works.
    Date published: 2012-02-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from necessary barn and trailer equipment! We now have a bunch of these: two for tying to the trailer, and one at each cross-tie in the barn. They're perfect for every horse, but especially for any that might, just might, pull. Wish they'd been invented at least 20 years ago! Very highly recommended.
    Date published: 2012-02-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great design I have a 'Clip' which I think was the original concept but I really like this Blocker Tie Ring since it can be more easily separated from the lead rope. Great design and quality.
    Date published: 2011-12-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great way to Tie I was worried when i bought them that they wouldn't have enough tension to hold a nosy horse, but found that a respectful horse, with even minimal training, respects, but does not become afraid of being tied when tied with the ring. I highly recommend this for everyday use, for every single horse.
    Date published: 2011-12-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Convenient and Simple Solution I bought the Blocker Tie Ring after seeing a demonstration. I LOVE IT! It makes tying your horse up super easy and quick. And I don't have to worry anymore about repairing fences, tie rings or posts when a horse pulls back. Not to mention the money saved on broken halters and lead ropes. A real lifesaver! Will definetly order more soon!
    Date published: 2011-12-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Blocker Tie Ring works My horse used to fine with tying until he had an accident and flipped upside down. Now he panics whenever he hits the end of a rope. The ring helps, he's still worried, but he just backs up pulling the rope through the ring. It slows him down enough that I can safely grab the rope before he gets completely loose. If your horse has tying issues, I recommend it. For $25, it might solve your problems.
    Date published: 2011-11-16
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.