Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

SmartPak Weight Tape

SmartPak
- Item #15805

 

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

SmartPak's own height and weight tape allows you to easily measure your pony or horse's height and weight.  Keep track of weight changes and know what dose of supplements and wormers to administer to your horse. 

Directions for accurately taking measurements are referenced on the weight tape.  Have more questions on what doses you should be feeding?  SmartPak's Customer Care number and website are printed directly on the tape! 

Measures weights from 0 -1,250 lbs and heights up to 20 hands.

You Might Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    SmartPak Weight Tape is rated 4.0615 out of 5 by 65.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Handy Height and Weight Tape I like having a handy height and weight tape around to approximate my horse's current height/weight. I like SmartPak's version with their contact info. Helpful, since we do feed the Smart Paks!
    Date published: 2012-11-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Height/Weight tape This is also a height tape, I bought it thinking it was only a weight tape but it also had a height measuring side as well. However it is also somewhat flimsy and likes to fly around in the wind so get a helper or an assistant.
    Date published: 2012-10-31
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Cheap Weight Tape This weight tape is a "you get what you pay for" purchase. Yes, you can measure your horse's weight, though I'm not convinced of how accurate it is. At least it's something to go by. The very first time i used it, i put my foot on the end and the little metal tab at the end popped off. Oh well, at least it was cheap and it's better than nothing for checking my horse's weight.
    Date published: 2012-10-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Handy, hardy, helpful! Easy to store (compact), has yet to be destroyed by me or my horses, and it's been incredibly helpful in measuring weight for deworming and supplements. I was also able to properly measure my horses' heights. I have to hide it from people!! Everyone wants to borrow it! Definitely worth the little amount of money it costs. I'm sure mine will go missing before it breaks, so I'll be buying a new one then!
    Date published: 2012-10-12
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Ridiculously off the mark Now, I know weight tape is not an exact measurement, it's supposed to be used to ball park. Well, this weight tape was off the mark by over 300lbs, proven against another brand of weight tape and a horse scale at the vet. Don't base your horses supplements/feeding off this product.
    Date published: 2012-10-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great tool! I've always wanted a weight tape and height stick, so what's better than that - two in one! I was able to quickly and accurately measure my mare's weight and height with this handy little tool. The instructions are right on the tape and easy to follow. The tape is made of nice material, a fabric maybe, but it doesn't feel like it will tear when I pull it tight. Great price too! No more guessing, now I know how much wormer and supplements my mare needs, for sure! Great little piece of mind :)
    Date published: 2012-09-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Purchase Ever I was always guessing how much wormer or other medications to give my horse since they are based on weight. I now have a better way of knowing how much my mare weighs, rather then guessing. It makes giving medication or supplements more accurate and peace of mind of not enough or too much. Really like this tape measure and how easy it is to use. Every tack box souldn't be without one.
    Date published: 2012-09-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Weight Tape Good to be able to keep track of weight on my pasture of older horses.
    Date published: 2012-09-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Does the trick This works great. My whole barn has asked to use it. Great little tool to have in your tack box. My only complaint is that the silver end piece fell off after its 5th use. I'll have to glue it back on. Otherwise, a great buy.
    Date published: 2012-09-08
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-08-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Useful! It's made of a nice material, not paper, and it's great to have around the barn! Really easy to read and use, buy one :)
    Date published: 2012-07-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from well worth it This tape measure is well made and a must to have on hand. My Quarter was looking bloated, so we were able to measure his weight and indeed he had gained weight quickly. We were able to diagnose him with tape worms, and solve the problem. We again used the weight measure to monitor his loss from the shedding, and then his re-weight gain back to his healthy weight. Excellent product, will buy a few more just to have on hand.
    Date published: 2012-10-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-03-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Gets the job done This is a little flimsy, and I wish it were waterproof. However, it gets the job done and is good for the purpose I use it for (for judging my horse's weight periodically, and for making sure he gets the correct dosage of wormer).
    Date published: 2012-01-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Purchase really comes in handy and a great buy!
    Date published: 2012-01-18
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great for hard keepers. This is a handy tool for monitoring my horses weight every month. I just wish it was water proof.
    Date published: 2011-11-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Must Have This item is inexpensive and it works. I think that everyone should have one in their tack box. It's a great way to keep track of your horses' health.
    Date published: 2011-10-12
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from It works! The weight tape works. Only thing that would make it better is to have it in plastic.
    Date published: 2011-08-10
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from A tape is a tape I don't think it's very accurate but then again I don't think any weight tape is. It gives a general idea. They aren't made to last but again neither is any other one.
    Date published: 2011-07-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great to have! I bought this smartpak weight tape along with the smartpak sure scoop. This weight tape helped me get a pretty good idea of both my horse and pony's weight. Buying the sure scoop along with it now helps me use the weight measurement determined from the weight tape to give my horses the proper amount of feed. since the bags determine feed rations by pounds not quarts as in most scoops, the sure scoop is measured in pounds so it makes feeding easier and you can feel more confident knowing that your horse is getting exactly the amount of feed needed. The weight tape also gives you a height measurement, good to have 2 in one. I would definetly recommend but buyign the sure scoop in conjuction with the weight tape is the best bet!
    Date published: 2011-07-11
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Like the quality Made of sturdier materials than other weigh tapes I have ordered.
    Date published: 2011-06-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Big help I am horrible at telling how much my horses weigh by looking at them, this weight tape is a huge help to someone like me. I no longer have to guess my horses weight.
    Date published: 2011-05-16
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from It is ok I like this tape but at the same time I wish that it was a little bit tougher.
    Date published: 2011-05-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very useful for keeping track of weight especially in extreme weather. I write the horses weight on the tape
    Date published: 2011-03-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Not quite long enough I bought this mostly to monitor my pregnant mare's weight, and she's going to outgrow this tape very soon (maybe she already has, I haven't checked in a few weeks). I don't know if it's worth trying to find a draft size tape to use on her. But for your average, non-pregnant horse, this should do the trick.
    Date published: 2010-12-29
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Honestly, it's just not good This tape is functional...that's about the only good thing I can say about it. It's paper with a wax coating, it can rip very easily. The numbers on the weight side are small and blurry. The metal tabs at the ends come off. I'd really like to give this product a better review, but I was pretty dissaponted. It's just not up to my expected "smartpak" standards.
    Date published: 2010-09-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Tool! Great price for this product, sure most people would like it to be a tougher material, but it get's the job done and it's accurate! Worth the money and I'm glad i bought it!
    Date published: 2010-09-17
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Usefull This is not the most high-teck tape. But it does the job. to give you a idea of how much your horse weighs and how tall. For the price it works.
    Date published: 2010-08-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Value Very helpful in measuring my new draft rescues- had no idea how much they weigh. Material is a little too lighweight- could be made a little heavier..Overall- good tool!
    Date published: 2010-07-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy to Use Tape was easy to use and our horse did not seem to mind the the feel or sound of the tape. Only used once, but seems durable and a good tool for monitoring horses weight.
    Date published: 2010-07-12
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.