Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Colors and Styles

Heavy Cotton Lead w/ Chain

Item #15187
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

This durable cotton lead rope is soft in your hands and makes for a great necessity to have at the barn.

Favorite Features

  • Soft cotton rope
  • Brass bolt snap
  • 15" chain

Sizing It Up

3/4" cotton rope
8 1/2' long
15" chain

You Might Like
    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Heavy Cotton Lead w/ Chain is rated 3.4821 out of 5 by 56.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Lead Rope Pretty standard lead. I like the thickness and length of this one and it seems to be holding up well so far. The chain is nice and feels very heavy-duty. Good for everyday so I can save my nice leather lead for shows.
    Date published: 2011-03-02
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Somewhat disapointed I don't really like leads with chains. However, when my horse was being a little fresh, it was good to have one. However, I only had this a short time when it started to fray and it actually separated while we were outside and she was eating some grass. Luckily she was quite happy eating the grass and I was able to secure it by tying pieces together before she realized that she was loose. I then proceeded to tape it up and secure it that way. But it should have lasted way longer than a few months. It is a heavy rope but just didn't last.
    Date published: 2010-12-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Lead w/Chain!! This is a lead of perfect thickness and softness that still has a bit of weight to it. Since my horse is not very tall the lead is almost a tad long for walking him but fine for grazing. He had gotten rather piggish with his grass and would cause me a five minute tug of war until he would finally relent and let me take him back to his stall so the chain is perfect!
    Date published: 2010-08-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great lead! I bought this for my yearling who has become pushy, but as soon as I put this over his nose he calms right down. Hes a chewer and occasionally bolts and this lead is still in good condition. Its perfect length, durable and very soft on your hands!
    Date published: 2010-08-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from excellent excellent qualityworks greatgot to type more lol
    Date published: 2010-04-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from nice lead :) I am trying to color coordinate all my horses stuff, and it's nice to find a quality lead in just the right shade of burgundy! I like it, it's soft, won't slip through hands, when it gets wet it dries quickly, and it's attractive. It's durable, and that's the most important part! Definitely good value.
    Date published: 2010-03-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I like to have one lead rope with a chain and I prefer it to be a cotton lead. It is easier to hold, doesn't slip through your hands.
    Date published: 2009-11-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Handy Dandy lead rope I bought this an "emergency, keep in the trailer, just in case lead rope". Great lead rope for the money. The purple is beautiful!
    Date published: 2009-09-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Good Lead My horse has a big head, so when I went to the tack shop and bought him a maroon halter, one of the few they had that would fit him, the next thing on my list was to buy a matching rope. SmartPak is the only place with a maroon/burgundy cotton lead rope that has a chain, and believe me, I looked everywhere. The rope isn't too think which is nice because my hands don't have to wrap around this huge thing when I handle my horse. The chain is a good length. My only tiny complaint is the rope itself isn't very long but it is very usable and I can adjust. I just have to stand closer to my horse while he grazes and can't let him move around as freely.
    Date published: 2009-08-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good lead, short chain The product was almost as I expected it. The chain is too short to wrap through the halter of my percheron cross, but otherwise is a nice lead.
    Date published: 2009-08-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Lead I got the purple lead rope, and have loved it ever since. Its very durable, and great for hand-grazing. The chain part was a little long, but manageable. The thickness of the rope was perfect though!
    Date published: 2009-06-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good lead at a good price! This is a very nice lead rope for the price. It would be nice if the chain was another inch or two longer, but overall I'm very happy with this product. Would definitely purchase again!
    Date published: 2009-05-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just what I was looking for! I love this lead rope for everyday use. It is cotton and not nylon/poly which I much, much prefer. I was also looking for something with a chain, but not a ridiculously long chain and this is it! Great price and great color options. Just what I was looking for!
    Date published: 2009-05-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I LOVE THIS LEAD This is a great lead. Its a great length and perfect for hand grazing. Its really attractive and a great price.
    Date published: 2009-04-07
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nice features, but poorly made I recently purchased the Heavy Cotton Lead w/ Chain because I needed a new everyday lead for the barn. I was very happy with the color choice and overall length and weight of the lead rope, but after using it for 3 weeks it broke. The cotton portion near the beginning of the lead unraveled and pulled apart from the chain. I would be willing to purchase this item again if it was constructed more securely.
    Date published: 2008-01-10
    • 2015-03-04T07:15CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.1
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_3, tr_53
    • loc_en_US, sid_5187, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    In Loving Memory
    You were a loving and patient partner. From our early days learning dressage together, to your "retirement" years of tearing around the field and stirring up all the youngsters, you always brought your kindness, your heart, and your spirit. Thank you for everything, Wes. You are missed.

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.