Product Image

Cool Calories 100

Performance Horse Nutrition
- Item #13725
Form: Powder
Maintenance Dose: 2 SmartPak Wells

Cool Calories 100 is a concentrated energy supplement suitable for all types of horses. Cool Calories 100 will provide essential fatty acids for skin and hair condition, calories for weight gain and exercise performance. Cool Calories 100 contains 5 times the fat of an equal amount of high fat, stabilized rice bran.

View our Weight Gain Supplement Comparison Chart

Order This Product In:

    Ships every 28 days
  edit
Maintenance Dose
  edit
Custom Dose  cancel
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Shipping on SmartPaks over $40
Congrats, you earned free shipping!

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Shipping on orders over $75
Congrats, you earned free shipping!
You Might Also Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    Cool Calories 100 is rated 4.5244 out of 5 by 307.
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Okay Weightbuilder I used this weight builder for 2 months and really saw no results. You have to feed more to see any kind of results.
    Date published: 2014-02-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really helped my senoir rescue! When I got my 30 year old rescue in July he was nothing but skin and bones, August I started him on this and have had him on since. The difference is amazing! Really put the weight on him, his body looks so good you would never know he was 30! And it's soooo affordable!
    Date published: 2014-03-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it for seniors!!!! In July I got a 30 year old 13 hand rescue pony who was soo skinny, this product worked great for him, so afforadable, and easy to feed. Does not make him hot and it's a gradual safe weight gain. Cannot say enough good things about this product!!
    Date published: 2014-03-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Adding weight! Use this for my 30 yr. old QH who is extremely picky and a hard keeper. Took him about a week to "accept it" in his food, but now he gobbles everything down. I do wet his food a bit, and the powder sticks better and it helps ensure he eats it all. Def. seeing a difference in his condition--just in time for winter.
    Date published: 2013-10-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE!! The horse I ride had to undergo colic surgery back in April. He lost A LOT of weight, 4 1/2 months later he is back to his normal self! I started him on this as soon as it was "Ok"ed by the vet!Not only that but he loves the taste of this stuff! He licks it out of my hand! To me it smells like fun dip powder!Ps. He is all TB!
    Date published: 2014-03-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Weight Gain Cool Calories helps my otherwise thin 10 yr. old Thoroughbred mare to keep weight on as she can not be fed any carbohydrates and is underweight without Cool Calories.
    Date published: 2013-08-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Did the trick Vet recommend Cool calories for Dude, our 25 yr old AQH felting. His teeth are worn down & feed & hay weren't enough. He was getting very thin. After adding cool calories, the weight came back & he looks & feels great!
    Date published: 2013-08-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic I have used this product on several of my OTTBs and hard gainers and it is hands down the best weight supplement I have tried! Excellent palatability, and I always notice great changes in coat/dappling/tail growth as well. I will use the recommended dosing to get their weight up, then Ive found you can back down to just a scoop a day to maintain, which makes the product last forever. The last 20lb bag I bought for one horse lasted me over 6 months! Haven't yet had a horse get fresh off it either. Love this product!
    Date published: 2013-08-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best supplement for weight gain. All of my horses are rescues, two of them dropped weight adjusting to their new life despite a regular grain & hay ration. I put them on cool cals after reading the great reviews on it, it has done wonders for them! After only just a couple of months they are almost back up to full weight, their coats are glowing and their hooves are improving, my mare is VERY picky and eats this right up! Will always use this if I ever come across a horse who needs weight, it's my new go to weight gain supplement.
    Date published: 2013-08-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well Worth It! I've got a 10 year old 17.3 hh thoroughbred who is a hard keeper! I've tried all sorts of weight supplements and Cool Calories 100 has not only shown the biggest results (in less than a month) but it was the cheapest! I'm so glad to have found a supplement that works and doesn't break the bank. I highly recommend it to anyone who has had trouble putting weight on their hard keepers.
    Date published: 2013-06-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good product My horse licks the bucket to get all of this up. She is 28 years old and she has put on more muscle and filled out in her flanks on this product.
    Date published: 2013-06-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Picky eater likes it I have a hard keeping 15 year old tb. He is a super picky eater. He doesn't mind this at all mixed in his beet pulp. He also isn't a huge hay eater and we have no grass. We have decreased his feed and he is maintaining his weight thanks to Cool Calories 100.
    Date published: 2013-05-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works Great! I have seen a big improvement in just 2 months, my horse looks great! He has gained around 50lbs and his coat looks great!
    Date published: 2013-04-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! Started my 7 year old OTTB on this about 6 weeks ago. We have been trying to put weight on him for about 2 years without much success. His coat is shiny, he has started to put weight on, and it has not changed his temperament (very laid back). I do feed the "weight gain" dosage to him at this point - 2 scoops 3x a day.
    Date published: 2013-04-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Annie on cool cal I bought an older horse a couple months ago. She gained a little weight on grain but not enough so I ordered cool calories from smart pak. She has put on a good amount of weight and muscle. To be around 20 years old she looks GREAT!
    Date published: 2013-04-17
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Did NOT Work I have a 10 year old off track Thoroughbred who is a very hard keeper. I fed him 8oz of cool calories to him to him every day for 2 months and there was not a single difference in his weight or coat? It smells great, but he did not eat it unless I put water in his grain with it to make it stick and it was clumping in the bag.
    Date published: 2013-04-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Always had good luck I have always had good luck with cool calories. Having thoroughbreds I tend to have more "hard keepers" than easy. Cool calories is a great way to supplement them without worrying about getting a "hot" horse. I have also used this with my young, rapidly growing horses and find it works well to keep them looking less "ribby". I notice the biggest difference after 3 or 4 weeks.
    Date published: 2013-04-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this Best product ever!..my picky horse loves it and showed weight gain in the first month. Recommended to a couple friends and they also feed it now..
    Date published: 2013-03-23
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from I've been using this for two months for my aging horse who had not been keeping weight on, and I have definitely noticed a change. It took her a while to warm up to the taste, but once she realized that's the only way she'd get her sweet feed she took to it.
    Date published: 2013-03-09
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Wouldn't Buy it Again My horse is not a picky eater at all, and he really didn't like this. Not palatable at all, and really just got stuck all over his nose.
    Date published: 2013-03-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product for the best price! My TB has a tendency to drop weight in the winter. He is nice and fat without having to drastically increase his grain. Plus he does not seem any hotter which Ive noticed to be an issue with some other supplements. Will buy again.
    Date published: 2013-02-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE LOVE LOVE I have an older OTTB and she can never seem to keep a healthy weight. Since starting her on Cool Calories 100 I have been able to cut back on her grain so she isn't as energetic/uncontrollable and she has still put on the pounds. I have had Moon on this product for 2 months and there is a dramatic difference in her. You can no longer see her ribs and I have had to drop my girth by 2 holes. My horse is now at a healthy weight and looks so much better! Thanks SmartPak. I'll be buying this product in the future for sure!
    Date published: 2013-02-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2013-02-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2013-02-19
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Seemed to help but my horses avoided eating it I bought this as a weight gain supplement for my older tb and hard to keep mare. They both sort of sifted it around in their grain bin to avoid eating it. It seemed to work when I could get them to eat it but who knows how much they really ate. I switched to gleam and gain supreme; they love that.
    Date published: 2013-02-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tried and true Seen this product put weight on those pesky Thoroughbreds time and time again. You can't beat it!
    Date published: 2013-01-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2013-01-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Just what I needed...but clumpy! Since discovering my mare is sensitive to sugars, I have taken her off grain almost completely. She is now down to a handful every evening of a low-starch pellet but I'd like to go completely off once spring comes. I needed to get her more calories than her hay and pasture were providing without having her swinging from the rafters. She's very quiet normally and I have no intention of changing that! Cool Calories seems like the only fat supplement that doesn't have anything else in it and has the most fat per pound. I decided to split up her 4 scoops between morning and evening feedings. She gets other supplements in the morning, so there's pellets for her to eat this with and she does a good job of cleaning it up. In the evening, however, I doubt she would eat 2 scoops of this powder without anything else so this is when she gets her handful of grain. This is also the only time I find any powder left in her bucket. I think the powder is just too fine, it's like sugar. My plan is to shift her to 3 scoops am and 1 scoop pm in the spring when she doesn't need the additional calories to stay warm at night and she's getting worked more prior to dinner time. I bought the biggest bag (unfortunately not a re-sealable plastic tub) because that made it the cheapest but there are some huge clumps in it! They are rock hard and make measuring difficult. Maybe moisture got in somehow before I opened it? Anyway, this is exactly what I needed and it seems to be keeping weight on my mare just fine (I find that 1 scoop = 1lb. grain), it's just annoying to have to break up the rocks. I am transferring what I have left into a plastic tub I saved from another supplement to keep it from getting any clumpier....maybe the next bag will be better?
    Date published: 2013-03-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love This! I rescued a Belgian who was several hundred pounds underweight, and even at the rescue, they couldn't get weight on. He was eating a ton of hay, lots of grain and equine senior, but just wasn't gaining. His hips stuck out so far it was embarrassing and his top-line was seriously lacking. Then, the poor guy got ulcers because of all the grain! So I cut his grain in HALF, and added just two wells of Cool Calories a day, and within TWO WEEKS he was starting to fill out. Within the first month, his hips were shockingly fuller, and he was developing a great top-line. This was also in November/December, when horses are harder to keep weight on. I am SO THANKFUL for this product, and plan to keep my horse on it for the rest of his life.
    Date published: 2013-01-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Worked for my TB mare Tried just about every weight gaining supplement out there for my mare. This was the only one that showed results and didnt make her a basket case. I would definitely recommend trying it. Every horse is different but I've seen this do wonders for a lot of OTTBs.
    Date published: 2013-03-24
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.