Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Sam's Yams Sweet Potato Chews

Item #13568

 

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing dog
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Human food quality, fresh sweet potato and nothing more. High in antioxidants. Nothing artificial, no sweeteners, colors, or processed food items.

You Might Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    Sam's Yams Sweet Potato Chews is rated 4.5738 out of 5 by 61.
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from My dog hates them These sounded so healthy and sensible, but my dog does not like them one bit. He adores all the Zuke's meat based treats, but he drops these sweet potato things on the floor and ignores them.
    Date published: 2012-08-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dog loves them! My dog loves these and I like that they are made in the USA.
    Date published: 2012-08-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent! One of my dogs has horrible food allergies. I asked her vet if there were any foods we could give her as treats and she suggested these. All of my dogs absolutely love these treats. While I like giving these, the bag is kind of small for the amount it costs. I reserve them for my dogs as 'special occasion' treats though.
    Date published: 2012-02-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from yam treats great my dogs love these, and they are healthy for them, much better than rawhide which can block the digestive tract. HIGHLY recommend!
    Date published: 2011-07-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My dog loves these! What else can be said? Both dogs love these yummy treats and they are good form them.
    Date published: 2011-07-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from If only they'd last longer... I love these, my dog loves these, if only they would last longer!
    Date published: 2011-04-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sam's Yams Sweet Potato Chews My 3-yr. old Havanese LOVES this treat!!The price is reasonable.
    Date published: 2011-04-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love them! Our boys just love these sweet potato chews. They enjoy the flavor and I like the fact that they get a treat that's good for them!
    Date published: 2011-03-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great chewy, edible treat My two Labradors love Yam treats. I feel comfortable giving them to my dogs, as they are healthy and digestible. I have found these to be a great alternative to rawhide.
    Date published: 2011-02-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sam's Yams Sweet Potato Chews My 3-yr old Havanese LOVES these Chews.It's his FAVORITE T R E A T!!
    Date published: 2011-01-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dogs can't get enough! Love that these are large thick cuts of pure sweet potato. Nothing insubstantial about this treat. Or unhealthy! Our dogs are older shepherd mixes and they adore getting their nighttime yam treat. Wish there were a few more in the bag, just so they'd last longer, but it's definitely a good value- we're just greedy for the good stuff over here! :-) Highly recommend!
    Date published: 2011-01-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2011-01-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sam's Yams Sweet Potato Chews My dog loves these chews, they smell so good I could eat them.
    Date published: 2011-01-05
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good stuff The dogs love these and they are so good for them. I love that.
    Date published: 2011-01-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Quality Healthy Chew I have been looking for a sweet potato chew that was made in the united states and found these great chews. My picky eater loves them and waits for one every night. Great quality healthy chew that I can give my dog.
    Date published: 2011-01-04
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not happy with these! I ordered the Bichon Fries (they look like french fries). They are VERY hard and not suitable for my two older dogs. I took them out to the barn to give them to the labs there and while they do eat them, they're not as thrilled with the treat as I've seen them act with other treats. It sounds and looks like they're crunching on rocks, so considering the price tag and the poor reception, I will not be ordering these treats again.
    Date published: 2010-12-30
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Very Disappointed I am sorry to say that this product was a total flop all around. I spent a lot of time reading the reviews about this product tying to find something fun and yummy for my lab. At first I thought my dog was just picky and would not touch it;but when I attempted to give it other dogs they wouldnt touch it either. I am not saying that it is a poor product for the consumer; but as a christmas present for my dog syrah; it was a bad choice.
    Date published: 2010-12-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Alternatative to Rawhide I have dog who loved rawhide and can no longer have them because of Allergic IBD. He love these Chips. They are hard like a rawhide and great for his digestive tract since he eats a diet that uses sweet potatoes as the main carb source. The only Criticism I have is they need to come in a larger value size
    Date published: 2010-12-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fabulous! My dogs love these. All I have to do is say 'sweet potato' and they come running. Very nutritious and healthy low fat treat. Would be great in more shapes and sizes!
    Date published: 2010-12-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A very Healthly Treat They are wonderfully chewy. My dogs love them and it's nothing but sweet potato! An exceptionally healthy treat. I highly recommend them.
    Date published: 2010-12-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from No Stained Area Rugs! My dogs have been happily munching on these treats for years. No only do they keep my labs occupied for about 20 minutes at a time, they also smell great, and don't stain the rugs like bully sticks. McGee (my smaller lab) also appreciates the low calorie count on each chew. A great product. A great price.
    Date published: 2010-12-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dog loves them My dog will do about anything for these. She absolutely loves them and they are so much healthier for her! Terrific product.
    Date published: 2010-12-07
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Sweet Potato Chews Although my puppy loves them, they go down like a cookies - I thought they would be more like a chew and last a bit longer. Great quality but I would not buy again for the price - if they were more chewy and lasted longer, I would buy again
    Date published: 2010-12-07
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not sure how to review this product. Not sure how to rate this product. As a pet owner I was satisfied with the quality and ingredients or lack of with this product but I was extremely disappointed to find my dog wouldn’t even touch them and she is NOT a picky eater. I really wish I could’ve given a higher rating. Sorry!
    Date published: 2010-11-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great quality These are hard to find except at high end pet supply stores. Our dog loves them! I tired to make by own in a dehydrator, but they just were not the same.
    Date published: 2010-09-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great product! I am mom to 2 golden retrievers, one of whom has some food allergies. This is a wonderful product because of the limited ingredient and they both just love to chew! They each get one every day!They just wish there were more in the package. I love the product because it also helps clean teeth!
    Date published: 2010-09-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful Product!!!!!! Wonderful treat for dogs suffering from allergies or gastrointestinal illnesses. My 3 year old Cairn Terrier Mix suffers from food allergies as well as needs a high fiber low fat diet. I searched everywhere and all I could find in local stores were low quality chews made in China. Wonderful product and would recommend to anyone!!!!
    Date published: 2010-09-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Dogs Love'em! My dogs love these chewy sweet potato treats and I feel good about giving them such a healthy goodie!
    Date published: 2010-08-18
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not for my dog My dog has recently become picky, and I don't think the Sam's Yams are for him. I loved the quality and the fact that they are all natural. I have given them to some other dogs, many of whom seem to really enjoy munching them, so I would still recommend trying them, especially for dogs with allergies.
    Date published: 2010-08-17
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from natural snacks these are easy, stain free natural snacks, no grease or mess , my dogs like them ok but arent crazy about them, but i will def keep on hand
    Date published: 2010-07-06
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.