Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

SmartPak Soft Padded Leather Halter

SmartPak
- Item #13155
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

  • Why We Love This
    Each halter is handmade by skilled Amish craftsman of the highest quality leather.

Favorite Features

  • Double stitched 1” nose and cheek pieces with contrasting soft padding
  • Adjustable chin strap
  • Rolled throat piece, convenient snap at throat for easy on
  • 1” double buckle
  • Havana halters have solid brass hardware. Black halters have stainless steel hardware

Made in the USA.

Sizing It Up
Available in Cob, Horse or Warmblood

Please note, this leather halter is not a breakaway halter.

By choosing to add customization to this halter, a nameplate will be attached with your desired text

You Might Like
    out of 5
    95% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SmartPak Soft Padded Leather Halter is rated 4.7801 out of 5 by 141.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful Halter This is a beautiful halter- and the leather is soft right away. I got the havana with blue and it looks great on my chestnut mare. I had Smartpak do the name plate and it looks perfect on the halter. I don't think of my horse as having a particularly large head, but this halter just barely fits. If your horse has a large head, I'd recommend sizing up.
    Date published: 2012-11-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Nice Halter! Though slightly smaller than my last O/S halter, when I expanded the crown to the last hole it still fit my 17.3 boy perfectly. I like the silver metal and the overall quality and softness of this padded leather halter is great.I purchased it to replace my horse's everyday halter... but it's so nice I'm tempted to keep it for show. Though given the quality I expect it will last for quite a few years to come even used daily.
    Date published: 2012-10-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gorgeous halter! I got the black and red halter. It is gorgeous! We were at a different barn for a clinic this weekend and got tons of compliments.
    Date published: 2012-10-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lovely soft leather this is the softest and most beautiful leather head collar I have ever purchased. It is almost too nice to put on the horse...!
    Date published: 2012-10-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Halter I couldn't say anything negative about this product even if I was paid. I bought two (black and brown) and both came supple and the padding was so soft. Within a week they were totally broken in.
    Date published: 2012-10-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Halter I had such a hard time finding a black, leather halter with stainless hardware at a reasonable price. I was so excited to find this. It's beautiful and the leather is such nice quality. The nameplate is the icing and my horse looks so handsome!!
    Date published: 2012-10-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from "Halter Envy" is now a thing These Soft Padded Leather Halters are absolutely gorgeous. The leather is soft and supple right from the start, and the padding is stunning in the colors I have seen. I have the havana and blue for my chestnut, and he looks like a million bucks at horse shows. I bought the black and red for a friend with a gray horse and she loves it, too! It fits true to size and doesn't drown my horse's small features or leave him with the saggy-diaper halter look. I wish I could afford to use it every day, but it's too nice!
    Date published: 2012-09-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this halter! I love everything about this halter, I use it as an everyday halter and it is holding up well to daily use and being rained on. Love the stainless steel hardware on it, it really looks unique and the padding is very soft! I would definitely buy another in a heartbeat!
    Date published: 2012-09-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! I purchased the black and turquoise in OS for my draft cross. It fits on the very last holes of the crown, but looks good! I have another in black/black, but this one is extra beautiful!
    Date published: 2012-09-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Pretty good Name plate looks absolutely gorgeous. Padding is soft. It was pretty soft when I got it, but the head piece and throat piece were super stiff. Oiled it at least five times, but it's still stuff as all get up. Hopefully it'll break in nicely with time. Everyone has complimented me on how nice it looks.
    Date published: 2012-08-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The cob size was absolutely the right choice for my Morgan mare. After using it for awhile, I'm not sure I am completely sold on the padded leather halter being worth the extra money it costs relative to a high-quality "regular" leather halter. I do appreciate it's made in the USA though. It came with lightening speed- literally the next day- complete with the engraved nameplate.As others have said, I don't love that it says "Smartpak" on the buckles. Makes me feel a little silly.
    Date published: 2012-08-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product Great quality and fit. Nice soft leather and adjustable parts
    Date published: 2012-07-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well done Smartpak! Have to say I was so reticent to purchase this halter, as I was really thinking I wanted something more classic for my 18.1hh++ Dutch boy. But after much discussion about almost every halter Smartpak carries (lol) decided to go for it after Jaime (Smartpak Customer Service Rep extraordinaire) talked me into it. She really listened to what I was looking for, how I described my horse, and said it would be perfect for him. And boy was she right! It is GORGEOUS and looks stunning on him. The nameplate was perfect (Roman font all caps, of course) and the quality is just top notch. Let me say this halter is not for those that don't want their horse to get noticed, but that said it is still understated enough for any classic H/J's style. Perfect for those of us that want a little 'flair' but nothing too over the top. The girls at my barn are going gaga for it, which let's face it, we all love!One other note: it does say 'Smartpak' on the buckle-- doesn't bother me at all, but you should be aware of that.
    Date published: 2012-06-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great for the shows this halter looks great and fits nicely. I save it for show days :) I love it.
    Date published: 2012-06-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Too Nice for turnout I bought this to replace my horse's old, broken turnout halter, and had a nameplate put on so it would be easy to identify at a training barn with a number of horses. When it arrived, I decided it was much too nice to use for turn out in the spring mud, and used an old halter from my last horse instead. I'm keeping this one as a stable/show halter in case my present one breaks. The silver hardware on the black leather and silver nameplate look beautiful on my horse! It does seem to run a bit smaller than his other halters, however.
    Date published: 2012-06-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dissagree with My Previous Review Wow was I wrong!!! With some saddle soap and conditioner, this halter came out butter soft!!! The brown/green looks wonderful on my chestnut arab!! My grandfather even put a nameplate on it! Buttery leather and color are making me love this halter even more!! SmartPak, you have my word that you may delete my previous review. Because it was sooo wrong!!!
    Date published: 2012-06-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Nice Very soft, nice brass fittings, colors looked like picture, and adjusted to fit nicely. I love Perri's leather and workmanship and Smartpak was competitively priced.
    Date published: 2012-05-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So cute After my beloved old Perri's halter walked away, I decided to try one of these since I have been pining over the havana with the blue (my mare's colors, plus she has blue eyes). It's stunning on her, and better quality than I thought for the price!
    Date published: 2012-04-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Soft padded leather halter Lovely quality. Take it to any show with pride. Personalized name plate on left cheek piece was beautiful and matched the hardware on the halter. My warmblood has a huge head. "Large horse" size halters were always too small, and "draft horse" size were too big. I ordered the "warmblood" size in this halter and it fits perfectly.
    Date published: 2012-04-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from And Made in USA! Often the "you get what you pay for" caveat rings disappointingly true, but I was very pleasantly surprised to find this excellent value to also be of excellent quality...and it's Made in the USA! I should have known. It's from SmartPak!!
    Date published: 2012-03-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from High Qulality Soft Leather I wanted a high quality padded leather hatler and this fit the bill. The havana/dark brown leather with cobalt blue trim looks great on my black TB mare - distinctive but not too flashy for my barn.
    Date published: 2012-03-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from If you get a plate to custumize it Smartpak puts it on for you and it usually arrives next day with regular shipping!
    Date published: 2012-03-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great halter! This is a really nice halter for the price. I was unsure of what to expect but since the description indicated that this was a Perri's halter, I figured it had to be fairly nice. The leather is surprisingly soft right out of the box and with a little oil and use, it's now like I've had the halter for years. I had the nameplate added and it is beautifully done. I've only had this halter for a month or so and can't speak to its durability but I'm very pleased with the quality of halter that I received for the price.
    Date published: 2012-02-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Halter! I really like this halter. I got the black and it is soft and supple and the padding is nice. It is a bit stiff on the throatlatch but it should work in nicely. I'm very pleased with this product and would order it again. I got the horse size and my horse has a pretty big head (16h Paint) and it is just right on the loosest setting.
    Date published: 2012-01-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Just OK This product really isn't soft. It is a nice looking halter, but the leather is stiffer than I thought it would be. Unless you plan to use this as a stable halter and not a show halter, that would not be used as often, I really don't reccomend this.
    Date published: 2012-01-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Halters At last I have halters that fit my large horses.I have two large riding horses. Both are bigger than your typical horse. But their heads are very different shapes.My mare has a large jaw.My gelding has a long head.These halters fit both horses.In addition, there are high quality leather and beautiful to look at.They are well worth the price.The horses are happy and I am happy!
    Date published: 2011-11-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Purchase I really love this halter. I have been looking for a good quality halter for awhile and to find one that is good quality and also padded in my color. Awesome.
    Date published: 2011-11-24
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from excellent halter i needed large halters for my two large horses, a percheron/tb cross mare and a very large appendixgeldinghe is 17'2"she is not as tall but has a big head with a large jawat last i have halters to fit both horses even though their heads are quite differently shapedi ordered the oversized and they fit each horseas both have areas of sensitivity i and pleased by the paddingi have chosen, however, not to leave them on while they are outside, which they are all day, because i am tired of trying to find lost halters or fish them out of the creek and thse halters are too nice to losethe halters are soft, lovely and beautifully made
    Date published: 2011-11-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Halter Very nice halter. The silver name plate is beautiful!
    Date published: 2011-11-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Nice Quality Halter I purchased this halter in the Havana/Blue color. While not top of the line, the quality is very nice and I'm very happy with it. It came out of the package fairly soft and supple, which only improved after a good soaping, oiling, and lederbasalm application. I would have preferred if it were triple stitched, but the leather seems good and strong, so the double stitching ought to serve it well.The brass hardware looks to be of good quality and feels very solid and sturdy. The havana brown leather is a very rich chocolatey color, which matches my other gear quite nicely. The blue padding is not an overly electric blue, but a nice bold royal blue color that stands out without being garish. I'm curious how the dye on the blue padding will hold up, as it looked just a tiny, tiny bit faded after a vigorous saddle soaping. But for the price, it's a pretty solid deal and a very pretty halter.
    Date published: 2011-10-24
    • 2015-03-01T07:03CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.1
    • cp_4, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_7, tr_134
    • loc_en_US, sid_3155, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Horse of the Month: Sir Rocco
    Horse of the Month: Sir Rocco, a.k.a “Bud” Breed: Appaloosa Age: 24 years old PATH Intl. Accredited Center: Hearts & Horses Location: Loveland, CO Bud is an incredible equine therapist, and has been at Hearts & Horses the longest of

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.