Product Image

UlcerGard

Merial Limited
- Item #12668

Actively prevent stomach ulcers and the pain and discomfort that often accompanies them by giving your horse ULCERGARD during times of increased stress or exercise. ULCERGARD is the first and only non-prescription proven preventative for Equine Gastric Ulcer Syndrome. No other product is FDA-approved to prevent stomach ulcers in horses.Each tube of ULCERGARD contains four preventative doses for horses weighing between 600 and 1,200 pounds. Two doses are recommended for horses weighing more than 1,200 pounds.View our Ulcer & Gastric Health Supplements Comparison Chart

Order This Product


Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Shipping on orders over $75
Congrats, you earned free shipping!
You Might Also Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    UlcerGard is rated 4.825 out of 5 by 80.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really works My ulcer prone horse required bute for 5 days. He quickly began acting like his ulcers were back. (Crabby about the girth and did not want to go forward.) I gave him 1/2 tube per day while he was on bute and one day after, it immediately resolved his ulcer issues. This product is VERY expensive so I just use it when needed.
    Date published: 2013-06-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Effective and reliable Keep this on hand to use on my Walker gelding for times of stress like shows and training. Works well, easy to give and he seems to like the taste. Like that it's an OTC option.
    Date published: 2013-06-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from readily accepted easy to use, readily acceptable, but it is expensive
    Date published: 2013-06-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2013-06-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2013-06-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from good product Put my horse on this 2 days prior to travel and 2 days at show...did as preventative for stress ulcers..he liked the taste
    Date published: 2013-05-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good product Good product for ulcer maintenance. Expensive for a month long therapy and my horse relapsed right after anyway. But when she is in discomfort it does seem to make her more comfortable. I have a 6yo ottb, she's responding we'll to a month therapy of ranitidine and I will use the ulcer gard for follow up.
    Date published: 2013-05-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works Quickly This product shows results in a fairly short amount of time. Great product!
    Date published: 2013-04-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from excellent ulcer prevention my 14 yr old appenidix gelding suddenly came up severally lame 3 days after his life long companion passed. long story short he was on banamine for about 30 days and i also used ulcergard every day as well. blue had every reason to colic and i am very thankful that i was able to give him ulcergard...
    Date published: 2013-04-17
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for stressful periods My horse goes off his feed any time we trailer to shows, ulcergard, when given 72 hours in advance of and throughout the stressful period, kept him happily eating.
    Date published: 2013-03-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Ulcer Med! Having dealt with ulcers with my 20 year-old gelding over the last couple of years, I notice a huge difference quickly with him on the UlcerGuard. Every so often when he seems to be having a flair-up, I'll do 4 days dosing and he gets his "bloom" back quickly.
    Date published: 2013-02-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from a must for my competition horses Ulcer Guard is a must for all my competition horses. I like to know I have ruled out any physical and medical discomfort in my horses that give so much during the show season. This is a product I know works! I never show without it .
    Date published: 2013-01-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for Horse Shows! I have a mare who becomes anxious when traveling and at horse shows. I use Ulcerguard once I get to the show 30 minutes prior to my first class of the day, and it does the trick to help keep her more relaxed and keep her stomach healthy. There has been a noticeable difference in my mare since I started showing her on Ulcerguard.
    Date published: 2012-11-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-10-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Staple in My Tack Box! Being owned by a reactive mare, I've become well-read in ulcer management. UlcerGard works extremely well, though is indeed an initial shock to the pocketbook, especially as a college student. Having had experience with ulcers in my family's high-maintenance TB, I knew that the sooner I resolved the ulcers the better, for everyone. I shopped online for prices and was pleasantly surprised that Smartpak was willing to price match another retailer who has UlcerGard at a more a manageable $29/tube, including free shipping. I treated for ulcers with UlcerGard for a month after signs of ulcers appeared once moving barns. I still rely on 1/4 tube of UlcerGard when trailering or at shows since ulcers can occur so quickly.
    Date published: 2012-10-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-09-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I'm a believer! Yes, it's a bit on the pricey side, but this product works! After having to treat my gelding for a moderate case of gastric ulcers (with GastroGard), I will forever take the time and make the investment to prevent their return by using UlcerGard. It's easy enough to administer and my horse doesn't seem to mind it's taste. I recommend this to all of my friends. Use UlcerGard!
    Date published: 2012-09-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Product When using this product during show season, it really helped to keep my horse ulcer free and comfortable.
    Date published: 2012-08-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really works, a MUST have! Although my mare is on U-Gard daily, she started biting at my leg a few weeks ago acting like she might have some ulcers coming back. She had been kept on indoor turnout for nearly two weeks due to a lost hoof boot and apparently the lack of full-time grazing and the stress of being separate from the herd was enough to upset her system. I started her on 1/2 tube for 7 days, and am now down to the stated 1/4 tube daily for the remainder of the 28 day regimen. We are at the peak of our show season, so I'm sure there's a little extra stress there already. I'm willing to pay to keep her healthy and comfortable, I just wish it wasn't so expensive especially since she's getting this on top of her daily U-Gard. I had been giving her a SmartGut paste the night before and the day of a show and that seems to work well. I will go back to that routine for the easy part of the show season next year. Next year I will not be without 7 days worth of UlcerGard though, better safe than crabby!
    Date published: 2012-08-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product! Despite our best efforts to help our horse gain weight, his ribs were still showing. He was given lots of good quality hay, grain and supplements. We also checked fecal count to make sure parasites were not the problem. Our trainer suggested Ulcer Gard and that has solved the problem. Although it is an expensive product, we will continue to use it.
    Date published: 2012-08-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from I keep a tube on hand at all times. Long story, but in short my uber picky OTTB loves the taste of UlcerGard. It smells kinda like cinnamon to me. Although my horse lives on SmartGut, I always keep a tube of this at home -because it is mildly costly, I try to follow the storage info to keep product at 68-77 degrees fahrenheit. I utilize UlcerGard in extra stressful situations like when hauling or competing.(If you want the full story read my review for SmartGut Pellets)
    Date published: 2012-07-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not tasty but necessary It took me a little time to figure out the best way to administer this paste but once I got the technique down it wasn't a problem. It's disappointing to give this medication at approximately $9/dose and see it come right back out onto the floor or yourself. We gave this to my gelding on show weekends as a preventative after he became colicky at a show early in the season. We had no troubles after that. When it comes to his health, I'd rather be safe than sorry.
    Date published: 2011-10-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works. I started my horse (with ulcers) on a 2 week course of GastroGard (the prescription version) and then switched to the generic Omep. Before the GastroGard he was kicking before during and after eating. Once I put him on a course of this stuff he stopped kicking completely. When I switched to the generic Omeprazole the kicking came back. So I started him on ulcergard because it's easier to procure than the prescription version. I started off with a full tube for 2 days then went to the 1/4 tube and he's back to no kicking :) Meanwhile I had him on Succeed the whole time for support, I can't tell if that helped at all, but since the kicking came back despite the fact he was on Succeed and Omep.Overall if your horse has ulcers, this is worth a try, it worked for me and Major :)
    Date published: 2011-09-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Product This stuff does wonders for my colic-prone TB. I gave her one dose a day for 28 days, and now she's gets U-Gard to keep the ulcers away. She gained weight and muscle, grew a shiny coat, and feels great. I would definitely buy this again!Just to clear up the confusion - Ulcergard and Gastrogard both have the same amount of omeprazole and cost the same amount per syringe. However, one syringe of Ulcergard is 4 doses, while Gastrogard only has one dose per syringe. Therefore, a 28 day regimen (as recommended by my vet) costs 1/4 the money with Ulcergard.
    Date published: 2014-03-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from It Works If you could only pick five essentials to pack when traveling with your horse, make this one of them. I go no where without it.
    Date published: 2011-08-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yippee! No more tummy aches. My young horse displayed mild colic symptoms at some shows last year, even interupting a class at once point nosing at his side. One dose of UlcerGard prior to loading onto the trailer to go to shows has completely solved this issue. Hopefully with more show and trailering mileage, he won't need it sometime in the future, but for now we won't leave home without it!!
    Date published: 2011-07-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ulcer Guard - Best treatment approach Considering the high incidence of gastric ulcers in horses (much higher than most horse enthusiasts are aware of), this is the only FDA-approved prevention and treatment. It's a very effective product that shows improvement in the horse often within 8 to 10 days. I was disappointed, however, to learn from my vet that UlcerGard and GastroGard (available by prescription only) are identical in their dosage of omeprazole paste per syringe, other than their labeling. It seems misleading for the consumer, but this comes from Merial, not anything that SmartPak has control of, though SmartPak does market these products as if they are different (GastroGard for treatment and UlcerGard for prevention).
    Date published: 2014-02-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product This product really helped my mare on a 4,000 mile trip...2,000 trip one way. She was able to eat and drink the whole time during travel and while at the destination...I was so pleased with the results of using this. Before even knowing about this product I had taken my mare on a 1,200 mile trip one way and she did not eat or drink very well on the trip itself and the first week at the destination...This really worried me, and I didn't know what to do to help her. Before this last trip I contacted a vet and described the issues with my mare and the stress of traveling and for a recommendation of how to help her... the vet recommended UlcerGard... I was soooo happy with the results on how well it helped make such a difference for my mare to be able to eat and drink much more normally and was really happy the whole time of our trip... Thank you for having such a great product. And Thank for sending it so quickly (overnight) as we needed to start with the treatment right away.
    Date published: 2011-05-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Use for Ulcer Prevention I want to keep my horse performing at the top of his game and enjoying his life at the shows. UlcerGard is an essential part of my show routine for him - he receives the preventive dose every day he is at the horse show.
    Date published: 2011-05-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from No Worries A tube before and after long hauls and there are no worries about ulcers.
    Date published: 2011-05-17
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.