Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

SmartPak Breakaway Halter

SmartPak
- Item #12425
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why we Love This
 
Breakaway Halters are a barn staple! The SmartPak Breakaway Halter offers heavy nylon webbed noseband and cheek pieces for durability and a leather crown piece with adjustability on both sides making this halter great for everyday use.
 
Favorite Features
 
• Adjustable Chin.
• Brass Plated Hardware.
• Made in the USA.
 
Sizing it Up
 
Cobb
Horse
Warmblood


Please note, all breakaways halters will release at different degrees of pressure under different circumstances.

You Might Like
    out of 5
    89% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SmartPak Breakaway Halter is rated 4.4685 out of 5 by 111.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Halter It's perfect for an everyday halter and the clip is lighter so it is easy to take on and off.
    Date published: 2014-12-12
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Definitely a break away halter I really like this halter. Unfortunately my horse broke it about a week after I bought it. She was tied up to a pole and pulled back. The leather broke, like it is supposed to do, and she was not injured. The halter is actually still usable so I'm still using it!
    Date published: 2014-12-12
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Lasted two hours... My gelding was turned out in the paddock for less than two hours before he ripped the nylon chin strap away from the hardware. The rest of the halter, ironically including the leather crown piece, stayed intact. Not sure how he managed this, but looks like we're back on the great halter search yet again...
    Date published: 2014-12-12
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Fit The halter was well made but didn't fit my foundation quarter horse. The throat latch was about 2 inches too short. I bought the cob size for a 15 hand horse. I thought it fit so he wore it and I didn t ask for a return. My loss and I will donate it.
    Date published: 2014-11-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Runs really large! Really well made, great hardware, and nice color choices but the entire fit is quite large. I purchased the cob for my 16H Arab gelding and it was still quite big for him. Also, be aware that this halter is not IMO thick enough to hold a halter attached grazing muzzle on. The weight of the halter is very light which is great for those pastured with halters on but not for those looking for a breakaway solution with their grazing muzzle. Besides the fit being on the large size, it's a great buy.
    Date published: 2014-11-25
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Happy that I have one now - UPDATE After having this on my guy for a couple of weeks, I have to lower the overall rating. The nylon on the halter started fuzzing out into long thready like pulls on the bottom side of the nose band. Whether he rubbed it or not, not certain but it (the nylong webbing) didn't hold up nearly well as a Hamilton halter he's had and worn for years. I am pleased to say that SmartPak was great in exchanging it for another -- which I'm more than willing to retry just in case the first halter was a "lemon". I have to agree with another reviewer that the halter does flip around inside out quite easily.
    Date published: 2014-10-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Happy that I have one now I received this halter about 2-3 weeks ago and am glad I bought it. It's seemingly well made and it is really helpful that it can be adjusted both at the poll and noseband. It fits my Arab quite nicely and the green is very appealing on him. I thought I'd get to see him put it to the test when we gave him a bath recently (the boy is a bit chicken when it comes to gentle sprays of water on him). He pulled back on the lead and post he was connected to but happily not enough to cause any damage to himself or anything else. Hopefully, he won't ever need the breakaway feature of this halter in the future. I'm glad I purchased this and probably will use this type vs. the standard halters from now on. Can't put a price on peace of mind, right?
    Date published: 2014-10-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great value! Great looking halter at an unbeatable price. The only downside is the fabric isn't stiff enough and flips inside out.
    Date published: 2014-09-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very good quality, runs a little large though This is a great halter, but does run large, we have 2 average sized QH geldings and had to punch holes in the crown piece for both horses, 2 holes for one of them, 1 hole for the other. The quality was good enough that we would rather punch holes in them than return them.
    Date published: 2014-09-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality Item I really like this break away halter. It has the nice feel of a more expensive halter
    Date published: 2014-08-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from sturdy and safe I recently moved my horse to a new barn where they like to turn horses out in safety halters like this one. I got this one from Smartpak and am very happy. The blue color is cheerful, the halter is light but well-made, and fits well. I bought the horse size for my 16.2 Irish Sport Horse and I did have to punch an extra hole in the leather crown piece on each side, but he usually is on the last holes on horse size bridles and halters so I would say it is sized appropriately. Just got it so I can't say yet how the hardware will hold up.
    Date published: 2014-08-23
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice fit, looks good too. Bought this for my new TB and so far so good. Need a breakaway during turnout and it fits great. The adjustable chin makes the fit unique for each horse. I'm picky about halter clips and this one fits the bill.
    Date published: 2014-08-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Value! I've only used this a few times but it seems like a decent halter for the price. I was looking for a halter with the breakaway feature and this one seemed to be the best quality for a good price.
    Date published: 2014-08-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice quality I bought this about a month ago and so far it is holding up very well, it is on the horse 24/7. Looks very sturdy and nice quality. Bought it for a 15.1 quarter horse, built on the small side and the cob sizing fits very well. I tightened it up about 2 holes on each side of the crown piece.
    Date published: 2014-07-15
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Rusty Nice looking halter for the price, but the hardware rusts! We hang out halters on the fence during turnout, and the hardware has rusted in about 2 months. We bring horses inside when it rains, so it's not like it is getting wet on a regular basis. Besides that, it is a lovely halter. I replaced the breakaway piece with the padded breakaway crown the Smartpak sells. It really makes the halter even nicer!
    Date published: 2014-06-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Halter Great halter for turn out, had to get a cob size for my more refined TB but that's no biggie. Will buy one more just to have a spare
    Date published: 2014-06-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beautiful quality; didn't fit oddly shaped head Everything about this halter appears to me above reproach: thick, quality nylon with rounded, soft edges instead of rough ones; heavy duty hardware; and amazingly, stitched leather piece for the headstall (I've only ever seen the throw-away cheap leather strap up there with other halters - the stitching added a nice level of attractiveness and quality I didn't expect). Unfortunately, I've got a small 4 year old German warmblood (should eventually be about 16 hands, but is hovering around 15.2 right now) - and his head is too small for a horse sized halter from any manufacturer. So I tried this in a cob size - and the noseband was far too wide and the jaw was far too small (barely fits around his jaw). Since he's not a cob, I can't blame the halter; his head is clearly an odd size right now as he grows. The halter is such good quality that I've donated it to my barn in general so someone else can use it, as it's a shame to send back such a nice item.
    Date published: 2014-04-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great product Great quality. Love the halter but they run very big.
    Date published: 2014-04-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from just right Well made. Break away piece is sturdy, but still breakable in case of emergency. Handsome and not terribly expensive.
    Date published: 2014-04-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great but... I bought this halter in September of last year for my monster that tends to destroy and loose halters and it had been great! I love this halter! It fits his warmblood head perfectly but since he gets turned out in it and washed in it the brass coloring has worn off the buckles which I'm a little disappointed in that. Although i would definitely buy this halter again if i were to!
    Date published: 2014-04-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So Far So Good! My horse needed a new turn out halter. After reading the reviews, I got him the horse size even though he has a huge head - and it fits perfect. He is a large warmblood - I'd probably only go bigger if I had a draft horse! So far this halter has worked out great.
    Date published: 2014-03-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pretty and easily adjustable. I bought the green one in Cob size, and it's really good looking. Also, between the adjustable chin and leather crown, I think I probably could make this halter fit every horse on my farm. I bought it for a little 14.2 Arabian, though, and it's a good fit for her with some extra holes punched into the crownpiece.
    Date published: 2014-03-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Everyday Halter The first thing I noticed when I pulled this halter out of the box was how nice it looked and how good the construction was. As soon as I put it on my horse, I received compliments. If i had to make one change, I could add some kind of ring or keeper for the excess material around the nose. It's a bit big in this area, and, while the ability to adjust is great, I have to secure the extra bit or my horse's friends chew/pull on it in the paddock.
    Date published: 2014-03-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic halter! I was skeptical about buying this halter originally because the hardware is only brass-plated, not solid brass. It's always annoying to have the brass-plating chip off leaving discolored hardware. However, I needed a barn for the horses to wear at home because (no one wants their leather halters to wear out faster than need be!), so I decided to give this a shot. To my delight, after a few months of heavy use, the brass-plating is still intact! Aside from that, the nylon is nice and soft, and the leather crown piece if of gorgeous quality. Overall, this is a nice halter at a fantastic price! It's perfect for everyday use as it's safe and durable. You won't be disappointed.
    Date published: 2014-02-23
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Basic, well-fitting safety halter I wanted a safety halter with an adjustable noseband, and this halter fit the bill. I've only used it for a couple of weeks, but it seems well-made, and seems to be comfortable for my horse.
    Date published: 2014-02-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Attractive and Affordable Great looking halter that matches my horse's medium blanket. He's very color coordinated now. The head strap seems to be of high quality leather.
    Date published: 2014-01-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fits my hard-to-fit draft cross My boy's head is huge across his jaw. The adjustable straps make this so comfortable for him. I also like the leather strap for safety reasons.
    Date published: 2014-01-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from SAFETY HALTER After two broken halters in two years,( one leather one nylon), I was desperate to find something that would give without injuring my Big Warmblood. This halter is a little large over the head, but I can add an extra hole in the leather. The halter is soft and flexible and I really like the way it fits, Thank you
    Date published: 2013-12-24
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Smartpak Halter Nylon of the halter was very soft but the strap under the cheek bones hung too low. I was worried it could get caught on something.
    Date published: 2013-12-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from nice looking halter The halter fits fine and is nice looking. Hopefully it will hold up well. I have only had it for about 3 weeks.
    Date published: 2013-11-22
    • 2015-03-06T07:28CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.1
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_16, tr_95
    • loc_en_US, sid_2425, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    In Loving Memory
    You were a loving and patient partner. From our early days learning dressage together, to your "retirement" years of tearing around the field and stirring up all the youngsters, you always brought your kindness, your heart, and your spirit. Thank you for everything, Wes. You are missed.

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.