Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Kensington Breakaway Halter with Lead

Kensington Protective Products
- Item #12322
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer. That means this item isn't eligible for additional discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

You get safety and style with the Kensington Breakaway Halter Set with Lead!

Favorite Features

  • Triple stitch, 1” nylon webbing with padded nose band
  • Leather breakaway at buckle and snap at throat
  • Matching 9.5 ft. 5/8” poly lead adds a touch of fashion to your everyday halter 
  • Exclusive USA made 2002 TEXTILENE ® Mesh is specially formulated to withstand fading, fire, mildew, soiling and wear and tear
  • Brass plated snaps and hardware to insure maximum strength.

Sizing It Up

Small (Pony/Yearling)
Medium (Arab/Cob)
Large (Standard Horse)
XLarge (Warmblood/Small Draft)
Please note- sizes tend to run small. If your horse is a large cob, then you should consider ordering a large size halter. If your horse is a large horse, then you should consider order an XLarge size halter.

Halter Size...Crown Piece (ring to middle hole)...Cheek Piece...Nose Band...Throat Latch
Small...12 ½ "...5"...8"...10"
Medium...16 ½"...6 ½"...9"...13"
Large...18"...7"...11"...14"
XLarge...20 ½"...7"...11"...14"

Please note, all breakaways halters will release at different degrees of pressure under different circumstances.

You Might Like
    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Kensington Breakaway Halter with Lead is rated 4.5106 out of 5 by 141.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A fashion statement! Great halter with matching lead rope. Very satisfied with the product.
    Date published: 2011-02-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Looks great on my grey TB It fits perfectly, quality is great, and the red looks wonderful on my big grey TB gelding!
    Date published: 2011-02-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Halter Ever I love this halter! It looks so good on my QH Gelding. I like that it's leather padded and it also comes with a matching lead rope. I have most of the SmartBlue tack avaliable and it all looks so cute together! This is a great halter and well worth the money spent.
    Date published: 2011-02-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice I got the green and was worried I wouldn't like the color. Much nicer in person. I already have the halters and leads for four other horses so I already know it is well made and very safe. I have QH's and these halters are good fit for their head shape.
    Date published: 2011-02-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Halter I ever owned. My daughter has had this halter for over a year and a half. It still looks brand new! I have gone through four or five. I like for my halters to look new and washing them doesn't always help. It looks great and it match all our other Blue Kensington accessories! We have the stall guards, helmet case, boot case, etc!!
    Date published: 2011-02-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Greatest Halter The Kensington Breakaway halter with lead has everything and more in a great safety halter, triple stitching, nylon webbing and a padded nose band - not only is it well made it is a sharp looking halter. I have it in SmartPak blue plaid, on my white horse it looks wonderful, awesome. Best of all it comes with a matching lead which is an added bonus. They are both beautiful. A great product.
    Date published: 2011-01-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Runs small Runs small! I had to buy a "Full" or large for my small QH who normally wears a cob size everything.
    Date published: 2011-01-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE THIS HALTER! I think this is a GREAT halter/lead rope! It's strong, high quality, and a great design! I also love the breakaway strap feature, I feel like my horse is safer that way just in case. I reccomend you buy it!
    Date published: 2010-12-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this Halter Just bought this beautiful halter for my dauthters new horse. Its beautiful and the breakaway feature works perfectly! Our horse pulled away from the trailer tie and was able to break away unharmed....We are thankful for that!
    Date published: 2010-12-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pretty Pony Chic! I love all of Kensington's SmartPink products. They're my mare's "almost Burberry" stuff as a friend calls them, and they are certainly of the same quality. This halter does run small, as my horse normally wears cob-sized bridles and halters, but she's a large in this, so it's best to order a size up. But even after nearly a year of use it still looks brand new. The leather is supple enough that it will break easily but not so supple that it's super thin and will break TOO easily. Just a wonderful halter. I'm getting the SmartBlue for a friend's horse, she and I like this halter so much!
    Date published: 2010-12-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super Cute Halter! I love this Halter! It is safe and seems to be extremely durable so far.
    Date published: 2010-08-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Kensington Breakaway Halter Love the style and soft padded nose band. The breakaway servded its purpose the first week. My mare spooked and it broke quick and clean without any further damage to my mare or surrounding area. The leather breakaway is easy to replace. All-in-all a great halter.
    Date published: 2010-08-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Nice Halter! I bought this for my 16.3hh TB Mare and it fits perfect! Looks beautiful against her dark bay color! I love how Smartpak sells multiple things in this color...I am currently adding to my collection so everything matches. The breakaway feature is great, although the straps break a little too easy in my opinion, rather be safe than sorry!
    Date published: 2010-08-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super deal! L-O-V-E this halter. VERY attractive (ordered the SmartBlue plaid). My thin-skinned TB gets rubs even with the best fitting halters, and the padding on this one has alleviated the problem. It's also very durable, after a month it still looks brand new. The lead rope is also great quality and matches perfectly.I wasn't thrilled with the leather breakaway tab that came with it, it was a little flimsy. However, the replacement tabs are much nicer. As mentioned in the product description, it does appear to run a little small - but it wasn't a problem.
    Date published: 2010-08-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from love it I was having a hard time finding a fun looking yet safe halter for my horse. Then i came across this one the Blue plaid matches his winter blanket and looks great with his light dapple bay coat. Finaly a cute and safe halter for my best boy!
    Date published: 2010-08-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cute Halter I love this halter! It is cute, classy and safe for my 18 hand Jumper. I know that my horse will remain safe during her daily activities and, be fashionable in the stable.
    Date published: 2010-07-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful! Great halter! And the description of the size was right! My 16.2hh mare has a hard to fit head- too small for a typical 'large horse' sized halter, but a bit too big for a regular sized horse halter. The LARGE in this one fit perfectly and looks beautiful on her <333 The only thing Id suggest would be to purchase a replacement breakaway piece right off the bat. The leather on this one is very thin... If I could change one thing it would be that I would like the original leather to be a little thicker.
    Date published: 2010-07-13
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Cute halter, awkward fit I purchased this halter to use with a grazing muzzle. I was looking for one that didn't have an adjustable noseband, because the ring around the noseband on my old halter was rubbing my horse raw when he had the grazing muzzle on. Thankfully, this halter seems to have solved that problem and he can now wear the muzzle without a problem.My horse tends to be in between cob and horse. I picked horse size, and it was probably the right choice, but the noseband is too big. It's not an issue since he only wears it with the muzzle, but I probably wouldn't recommend this halter for turnout if you have an Arab or Morgan or any horse with a shapley head.This was definitely more than I was hoping to spend for a halter, but it was the only breakaway without an adjustable noseband that I could find. If it lasts, it will be worth the purchase price. It doesn't hurt that the plaid pattern looks cute on my horse.
    Date published: 2010-07-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful This halter is very beautiful. I wish that the Kinsington products did not cost so much but maybe that is why they are better looking and functional. Lead rope was of nice quality but nothing special
    Date published: 2010-07-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Halter I love this halter. I have a 6 year old gelding and he is always playing with the others in his paddock. If he gets tangled up with a buddy the halter will give and not hurt his face. It says that the halter sizes run small, I am not sure if this is true though. I bought a size bigger as his head is in the middle of two sizes and the halter is a little big. Just take that into account when you buy yours.
    Date published: 2010-06-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent Quality Bought the Cob size for my Arabian pony, as that is what she normally wears, but it's too big. Should have bought the Pony size. Apparently this runs big. Lead rope is too long, even if I put several knots in it...both pony and I keep tripping over it.
    Date published: 2010-05-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lifesaver Halter My horse Vinny has never ever pulled back while being tied up. One windy day he did and I don't know how he did not break a leg. After consulting with Smartpak I decided to buy this halter and I really like it and can rest assured that if he pulls back again the halter will break-away. It's a great halter!Thanks Smartpak!
    Date published: 2010-05-26
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Could be sturdier I purchased this halter for my new Chestnut Hannovarian. She is gorgeous and I thought the mint green halter would look fantastic on her. The halter looks great but the "safety leather" riveted above one of the cheeks will break too easily. This horse is 1500 pounds. I understand that some people may want the "break-away" type of halter but one little reaction will rip this in half. I am nervous to use the halter when we head off the property. I will continue to use it but I am having a saddlemaker place better quality leather on the cheek.
    Date published: 2010-05-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent halter! This halter and lead set it great to use for shows or for at the barn to have your items match. All of the colors look wonderful on the halter and lead, they are made of strong material that holds up to wear and tare. The breakaway leather piece really works when the horse is stuck or fighting to get away. It is a good idea to get a replacement leather to have around if needed. The padding is nice and the halter always gets great complaints. The SmartPink Plaid looks beautiful on my bay mare.
    Date published: 2010-05-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great product but a little "funky" fit I love this halter - with the exception of the fit. I originally got the next size down, but the nose-band area wasn't roomy enough for my horse (who wears between a cob and a full bridle, usually pretty standard in sizing - he doesn't have a weirdly shaped head).I exchanged the halter (thank you, Smart Pak, for your great return/exchange policy!) for the next size up. The nose and throat latch fit great now, but the crownpiece is now a bit long. I have it on the highest hole, and he can still "wiggle" out of it if given a chance. I need to punch some holes in the strap (it's leather!), and then we'll probably be fine.Otherwise, I love it. I have a number of Kensington products - they are of great quality and last for years! It's nice to have the leather crownpiece for emergencies (since the rest is nylon), plus the noseband has extra padding. The fact that this halter comes with a matching lead is an EXTRA BONUS! People are always commenting on it - how nice it looks & how well the halter/lead rope match. :)
    Date published: 2010-05-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good looking halter I ordered the Kensington halter in black plaid. It looks terrific on my dark bay TB. It fits him perfectly. I like the padding and the breakaway feature. He gets compliments whenever he is wearing it.
    Date published: 2010-04-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very nice halter. The oversize is a bit small, but it fits my warmblood very well.
    Date published: 2010-04-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really nice halter Bought this to replace a halter my horse broke when he got spooked by the vet. Very attractive piece, workmanship is quiet nice, fit is great! Sits on his head very comfortably. The sizing information about the halter running small was spot on, and I was able to get the right fit with no problem. The matching lead rope makes for an attractive set - we got quite a few compliments at the barn! Only reason I gave durability and value only 4 stars is because I haven't had it long enough to rate acccurately.
    Date published: 2010-03-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Halter I have only had this halter for a few weeks, but I really like. I have received several compliments on it as well. I thought I remember it saying that this halter runs small. Well that is not true. Unless your horse has a very large head just get the standard large size. I have a 16.2 Thoroughbred and it(large)fits her on the top notch.
    Date published: 2010-02-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Real Warmblood Halter! My Dutch gelding does not have to squeeze into this halter! It is very roomy, looks great, and is a great value. I was nervous about the fit, because I had not been able to find a halter big enough for him. I recommend this halter for anyone that has a horse whose head is larger than average.
    Date published: 2010-01-30
    • 2015-03-06T07:32CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.1
    • cp_4, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_13, tr_128
    • loc_en_US, sid_2322, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    In Loving Memory
    You were a loving and patient partner. From our early days learning dressage together, to your "retirement" years of tearing around the field and stirring up all the youngsters, you always brought your kindness, your heart, and your spirit. Thank you for everything, Wes. You are missed.

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.