Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Colors and Styles

Kensington Fly Boots

Kensington Protective Products
- Item #12292

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer. That means this item isn't eligible for additional discounts or promotions.
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Kensington Fly Boots feature three VELCRO® Brand closures, heavy fleece and are reinforced with a nylon support piece. Can be used to protect wounds, as a covering over leg wraps, and for added protection when shipping. Finally, fly boots that stay upright!

20% of our net profit on any SmartPink Plaid item is donated to Breast Cancer Research.

One size fits all. Pair.

You Might Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    Kensington Fly Boots is rated 4.3333 out of 5 by 171.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent protection I am quite happy with these boots. I have a mare that has a knee that is starting to give her a little pain now and then and these keep her from having to stamp flies. The furry liner does a good job at not attracting seeds from weeds/grass in the pasture. They stay up well if you get the middle strap secure above the fetlock. The mesh is coming away from the stitching in a couple places, but it has not affected the protection.
    Date published: 2013-07-23
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent, soft, light fly sheet I am very happy with this Rambo fly sheet. It is light, airy and comfortable for my mare. She has not wanted to wear the past ones, so I thought I would try it. It has a couple snags from trees that have not affected the integrity and I love the neck piece. I did buy one size up from what she measures.
    Date published: 2013-07-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Must Have in my Barn I bought these as back up fly boots after purchasing a more expensive pair that were supposed to be my main boots. However, these have turned out to be my favorites. They are holding up well and are easy to put on and take off. My mare has worn them 24x7 except when I'm riding. The second I take them off she starts stomping to shake off what I suspect are imaginary flies. I would've given them a rating of 5 rather than 4 for value if they had come in sets of 4 rather than 2.
    Date published: 2013-07-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice flyboots Both of my horses wear these, and the three horses of my friend do, too. The flyboots seem to be of good quality and so far have held up well. The horses don't mind wearing them at all.
    Date published: 2013-07-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2013-07-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Kensington fly boots These flt boots are the ideal item to have during fly season for your horse.They stay up, love the fleece around the edges, and stay on.Have recommended to my friends. Exc. product and made in the USA.
    Date published: 2013-07-12
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from They still sag :-( These are ok, better than others. Unfortunately, they still sag, not sure any fly boot will not!
    Date published: 2013-07-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fly boots They are great. They stay up all day, cover all of the leg and the coronet band so the flies don't annoy my horse. No stomping the flies with these on. They are flexible enough that there are no rubs on my horse's legs. They do not wash well tho.
    Date published: 2013-07-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome for the price I bought these boots for my 15.3 Appendix and they fit him perfectly. He is really sensitive and HATES flies. They held up really well over the last year, and my horse isn't always kind to them. Sure they don't always stay on place but you can't really expect that from boots made of this material.
    Date published: 2013-06-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fairly expensive for two boots. If you have a big boned horse they will be way too small. They fit my 15'2 mare but don't go around my 17 hand warmblood.
    Date published: 2013-06-06
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from One size fits most, not all. I gave these only 3 stars because one size does not fit all. I bought these for my 16.3 hh warmblood mare but they did not work for her. They were too small. However, they work great on my 15.2 hh quarter horse gelding. I haven't had them long, but they seem to be very well constructed. If you have a larger horse these may not work for you. I would love these if they would make some in larger sizes.
    Date published: 2013-04-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very Good Product Got these for my painted beast and they've been VERY helpful. When I got him in September, the fly bites on his legs were so bad it felt like fungus as he had given up stomping at them. I'm on my second season with my first set, he wears them on all four, just about 24/7 May-October, except in the rain. He did get one small rub on a hind fetlock, but nothing concerning. Worn out in a few areas and sag after a while, but 95% coverage is still very beneficial.
    Date published: 2013-06-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product My horse had blood dripping from his legs because of flies and other insects biting him.These boots keep the flies off him, they don't slip and he looks quite comfortable in them.
    Date published: 2013-06-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very effective I got these boots to cover a leg wound on the ankle. I was told that fly boots don't hold well during turnout. This pair of fly boots is still standing up perfectly and is very effective is covering a leg wound. The boots are still in very good condition. When they get dirty, I hose them with water and they dry very quickly.
    Date published: 2012-11-28
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Fly Wraps I was disappointed with these boots. The first pair of these I had, lasted two summers. This pair didn't even make it a month before I had to start patching them. I threw them away after 3 months of use. They were used on the same horse so I am blaming the wraps, not the horse. I can buy less expensive wraps that will only last a few weeks.
    Date published: 2012-11-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great buy Nasty end of summer flies were driving my sensitive skinned girl "buggy". Her stomping was driving ME mad, so these leggings were a lifesaver for both of us. Also shipping from smartpak is always timely and usually I receive my order before I receive notification it has shipped.
    Date published: 2012-10-30
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Disapointed! I have a set of Roma fly boots that are great, so I thought I would get fly boots for my other Paint horse. I quickly found out that the Kensington boots cost twice as much as the Roma. I only got one pair of the red boots (looked nice on those white legs). They are very stiff, so they didn't wrap nice around the legs. I only used them a couple of times and the stitching on the velcro is coming out. I have not had to wash them yet so I do not know how they wash. I would recommend the Roma over these. The Roma have been washed many times and they are still great. The paint horse that I use them on just stands there and waits for his Romas to be put on. I will replace the Kensingtons with Romas. Much better product.
    Date published: 2012-10-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hard wearing, fits little Tb legs These are the first set of boots that I've found consistently stay on my horse's rather thin Thoroughbred legs. They last 1-2 years for me with daily use before the bottoms basically are worn away. Decent value for the money for me.
    Date published: 2012-10-26
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from pretty and good quality, but wish they were longer I needed these to cover a wound just under my horse's hock and they are much too short for a tall horse's back leg. To improvise, I stacked them and turned the top one upside down.
    Date published: 2012-10-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolutely the best fly protection! I have 3 horses that are wearing the same set(s) of Kensington Fly Boots for the 3rd season! I love that the boots stay up, and the velcro stays closed despite stomping. These boots wash up nicely and do not snag.
    Date published: 2012-10-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Pick These Kensington fly boots work great. I have had them several months and my horses wear them daily while out to pasture. They stay up and seem comfortable to them. Sure cuts down on the stomping. And, they were on sale. Gonna get two more pair for the hind legs.
    Date published: 2012-09-05
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Get the job done! This boots are pretty good. They stay on and dont move around too much. THe only thing is I have a 17H TB with long skinny legs and a 15H appaloosa with short stubby legs and they are little short and a little long respectively. They still stay on and in place though and keep the flies off. My TB is super sensitive to flies and my Appy lives outside and has been stomping her feet so hard cause of the flies that her shoes come off and these have definately helped!
    Date published: 2012-08-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fly boots Great fly boots. Tried lots and these hold up the best. Hold their shape well. Good value too.
    Date published: 2012-08-05
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from fly boots for what ever reason the stable manager found the fly boots stayed up better if put on upside down! (fleece top at the bottom) I say whatever works-and they certainly do. My horse is very happy. ( Photo taken when we first tried them on.) My mare also wears the crusader fly mask with ears & cut out for forelock. It stays on, has a great fit and cleans up in a jiffy. thank you!
    Date published: 2014-03-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Flyboots out there This is my third year purchasing these fly boots. The are well constructed, hold up all season long, wash up nicely and fit the horses very well. I won't purchase any other fly boots.
    Date published: 2012-08-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from staying up do not stay up quite as well as advertised. Much depends on how tight you fit the middle velcro.
    Date published: 2012-07-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great purchase I know i have not had product long but she is hard on stuff & boots are standing up & staying on, in So. TX. flys are bad & several kinds.
    Date published: 2012-07-29
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Bad Purchase I bought theses two years ago looking for a nice fly boot for my paint who is VERY sensative to flys. He gets hives and bleeds where he gets bitten. These boots tore and within a week and on the second day my horse had been rubbed raw and started bleeding by the third day. They fell off all the time and i would not buy again.
    Date published: 2012-08-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Fly Boots I've purchased other fly boots including Cashel which tore apart. these stay up and fit by 16.3 TB mare perfectly
    Date published: 2012-07-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product! I LOVE these. I purchased them primarily for the reason that they came in purple.. not because I "needed" fly boots. But anyway, they turned out to be wonderful! I keep them on my mare 24/7 and they stay on!!! She had to have her shoes off a few days early before her farrier appt, and with stomping eliminated, she didn't chip her hooves.
    Date published: 2012-07-21
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.