Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Shoulder Guard

Weatherbeeta USA
- Item #11943

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Stretchy 100% nylon Shoulder Guard with touch tape closure. Full shoulder coverage. Navy. Small (Pony), Medium (Cob), or Large (Horse).

You Might Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    Shoulder Guard is rated 4.1458 out of 5 by 48.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-03-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-03-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good shoulder guard Doesn't stretch out or fall out of place. Fits my large bodied 16.3 TB well!
    Date published: 2012-03-02
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Quality product but too big! The quality of this shoulder guard seemed good, but horse size was way too big even for my 17 hand Hanoverian mare. I had to take it off after a week because it slid way back, and the top of the neck opening was at the middle of her withers. It pushed the hair up backwards and caused swelling in that area. I definitely should have ordered cob size.
    Date published: 2012-02-21
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Serviceable shoulder guard Product is doing its job but the elastic is already getting stretched a bit after just about a month of fairly constant use. Product is ok for the sale price I paid but I would be disinclined to purchase at full price.
    Date published: 2012-02-17
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Large is a medium i have had this one for a short so I can't talk about durability but I have a large horse and this is too small. It needs to come in a XL.
    Date published: 2012-02-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stops shoulder rubbing Winter blanket shoulder rubs are a continual problem for my endurance Arab gelding. Shoulder guard solves the problem. Nice and stretchy, with velcro closure which minimizes bulk and snagging under the blanket. Good value, useful purchase.
    Date published: 2012-01-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great fit I purchased a large for my very broad shouldered Lusitano and it fits him perfectly. There is much higher coverage than a previous other brand I had, yet it does not constrict his huge Lusitano neck! Great product, have only used for a month, so cannot comment on durability.
    Date published: 2012-01-12
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from would buy again fit my narrow high withered TB very well! but rides up a bit on my broader shouldered TB..but overall very happy.. The hair started to grow back after 1 week! very pleased and the price was right!
    Date published: 2012-01-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Product This is a great product to prevent blanket rubs, but it tends to slide way back on my horse's back. I think that if it was a little smaller and had a piece that went between the front legs, it wouldn't slide back so much. I love that this shoulder guard is a little bit longer than most and gives more coverage along the withers and back because those are the main areas my TB gelding always gets blanket rubs on. I would definitely recommend this product to anyone dealing with blanket rubs!
    Date published: 2011-12-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Worth the money! I purchased the medium for my 16.1 hh young, thin warmblood and it fits wonderfully. The neck opening was the right size and it stays in place. Material has a nice feel to it also. It has plenty of adjustment around the belly. Definitely recommend it!
    Date published: 2011-12-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from held up well this winter Got this because my horses winter blanket was rubbing the hair off her shoulder. It fit well and held up to the winter use. In the spring I threw it in the washer and it came out great.
    Date published: 2011-07-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from perfect addition I purchased the shoulder guard to eliminate rub, perfect fit, super comfortable for the horse.
    Date published: 2011-03-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! This shoulder-guard is perfect for preventing shoulder rubs and protecting already present ones. I own two!
    Date published: 2011-03-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect!! The large fit my 16 hand thoroughbred perfectly, the quality is fabulous and I could see hair growth in just a few days.
    Date published: 2011-03-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exactly what I wanted Perfect to prevent shoulder rubs from stable sheet.
    Date published: 2011-02-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fix for blanket rubbing Great fix for blanket rubbing! Horse is no longer loosing the hair on her shoulders! Fits great.
    Date published: 2011-01-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Does the Job I bought this because my horse and pony wear blankets all winter due to our cold climate and they get shoulder rubs. I bought an XS for my welsh pony and a L for my horse. The L fit well for my horse. The XS for my pony was loose in the chest, but still did the job. My pony is not big in the chest. Product is decent, good velcro.
    Date published: 2010-12-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice product for the price This is a good product to use to prevent shoulder and wither rubs from turnout blankets, however, if it doesn't fit correctly it will rub the tops of their legs. A size medium would have ft my 16h TB better than the large. However, it does the job...the velcro is nice and durable, and the material is easy to wash and stays clean. Good to use under the Rambo Wug turnout for extra warmth in cold weather, also.
    Date published: 2010-10-04
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Until I washed it... I loved this product until I washed it. I washed it in cold water, hung it to dry, and the elastic belly band was ruined, as there was no more stretch to it, therefore deeming it useless. It is unfortunate, because it was a nice product for the price.
    Date published: 2010-07-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from good fit I ahve a 15.2h Saddlebred mare, I had to order a large because of her big shoulders and neck and it fits great. stays in place and best of all the blanket rubs went away!
    Date published: 2010-07-12
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from snug fit i ordered the large for my 15.2 ASB mare and it fits perfectly. easy to take on/off
    Date published: 2010-04-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from great for blanket rubs My horse had a decent size blanket rub on her left front shoulder. This shoulder guard works greatunder her blanket now to protect the shoulder and prevent it from happening again.
    Date published: 2010-03-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fix the Rub My horse had rubs marks all along his shoulders where the blanket was rubbing the hair off. This is great - he seems quite comfortable in it - it isn't binding and the fabric appears to wear well.
    Date published: 2010-03-05
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good product I have a Welsh pony, who, when I measured is a cob type. And having read some reviews it seemed like it may run small. So I decide to get the medium, hoping that it would be better bigger than smaller.I wanted it because his blanket has been rubbing him horribly in two spots, at the whithers and front shoulder. The "shirt" as I call it covers both of these.The material is a nice soft spandex so it stretches, and I suppose you should plan on it stretching because there was enough slack in the fabric and with the blanket on it would pull back on the shirt anyway. It still covered him, but it would have been better to have the small, as it slid further down his back.I noticed it got a little staticky when I pulled it off to ride, but that is to be expected.The only reason the overall rating is 4 stars is because I could use the small, not because the product is bad.
    Date published: 2010-03-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Happy with purchase Size fits well on my horse but do have to adjust it every other day or so as it shift on withers and belly strap shift forward slightly (not enough to interfer with use or bother horse). Stays put on shoulder area that gets rubbed the most though.
    Date published: 2010-02-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice fit, great price It seems some people have trouble with sizing on these, but the L fit my 16.2h appy qtr horse like a charm.
    Date published: 2010-02-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Does what its supposed to do My horse's blankets were rubbing his coat across his shoulders so I bought this shoulder guard. He has only been wearing it a week and his coat is already growing back.
    Date published: 2010-01-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from it's probably working It is difficult to see whether or not my horse's thinning coat has actually stopped thinning, but the way this cover's top is slightly rubbed indicates that the cover took the rub, instead of my horse's coat. So I am hopeful. The other people's feedback had some sizing issues, but generally speaking, it is fitting pretty OK with my Dutch WB. Next time I might go up to the full body cover.
    Date published: 2010-01-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2010-01-04
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.