Blackenall

HorseTech, Inc.
- Item #11813
Form: Powder
Maintenance Dose: 1 SmartPak Well

Blackenall, from the makers of Glanzen, is a high quality supplement for black and bay horses because black never goes out of style. Blackenall is peppermint flavored.

Note for Competitive Riders: This product contains Paprika, which may contain trace amounts of Capsaicin.

View our Skin & Coat Supplement Comparison Chart

Order This Product In:

    Ships every 28 days
  edit
Maintenance Dose
  edit
Custom Dose  cancel
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Shipping on SmartPaks over $40
Congrats, you earned free shipping!

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Shipping on orders over $75
Congrats, you earned free shipping!
You Might Also Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    Blackenall is rated 3.5556 out of 5 by 18.
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2013-04-12
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from So Far So Good I had been using Black As Knight, but SmartPak stopped carrying it so I switched to this. It seems to be a better value. My horse likes it, but it will have it's true test once the sun gets hotter in the summer. I do have to stop using this product a week before my shows since it contains paprika. I then use the show formula from Black As Knight.
    Date published: 2014-04-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Dark bay to buckskin to dark bay again! I bought this when my beautiful dappled dark bay turned into a muddy buckskin in the sun. I'm not vain enough to keep him inside when he is happiest outside. But I did think his spring coat was lovely and I was looking for a product that would turn this around. I don't know if it's because he's shedding and his new coat is coming in dark or if it's the Blackenall doing it. But I'm willing to keep him on it until next year to see what happens.
    Date published: 2011-09-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pure Black Horse I have a black horse, true black with no white, and this makes him glow. He went through winter and is at the spring shows already looking wonderful, and during the summer this helps prevent fading from sun and fly sprays. Always gets eaten, I would recommend to anyone with a darker horse that wants a glowing, dappled coat. Mane and tail look great too!
    Date published: 2011-04-25
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Just Didn't See A Difference I used this product religiously and didn't really see a difference. I have a Friesian who gets sun bleached. Even with turning him out with a fly sheet with a sun screen protection of 80% and using the maximum dosage of Backenall I didn't see any significant difference from the year before when I didn't give him the supplement. I used Blackenall for 6 months. I'm glad if it has worked for others, but not for me. Can't recommend.
    Date published: 2014-04-13
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Didn't work for my horse but tasty I tried this product after using Glanzen3 with huge success. However, the blackenall didn't work for my horse and I believe that it works great for some and not for others.Regarding palatability- my horse loved it. I would mix it with a little water and he would slurp up every drop.
    Date published: 2010-10-25
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Didn't work for my horse I have been using this since March (now July 15) and he is already orange. This is my first full summer with him so I don't know how early he usually turns orange but this product did not help keep him black as I had hoped. Overall I love Glanzen products and will continue to be a customer but this one didn't work for us.I'll try Black as Knight now
    Date published: 2013-11-05
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Didn't work I have to agree with the other writer whom stated their horse turned orange; my mostly black paint has taken on a distinct "bronze coloring" despite daily feeding for a month (and in northern vermont, we don't get much sunshine!). Flat out: the product didn't work for him. I also would NOT recommend this for a picky eater. I had to bribe him with mixing it with molasses to get him to eat it- the smell of paprika was overbearing even for me just smelling it- it's a wonder he didn't want to eat it. Going to try the black as night, will update with a review for that product.
    Date published: 2010-06-10
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.