Product Image

Recovery EQ

Biomedica Labs
- Item #11689
Form: Powder
Maintenance Dose: 1 SmartPak Well

In addition to providing key ingredients for healthy joints, Recovery EQ was developed to support healthy circulation, aid in normal healing, and help combat tissue damage. The primary active ingredient of this unique formula is Nutricol®, a potent blend of naturally-occurring antioxidants derived from foods including green tea and red grapes, which have been shown in numerous clinical studies to support cellular health.

Recovery EQ provides a careful selection of ingredients to support joint and soft tissue health, including 10,000 mg of glucosamine (plant source), 10,000 mg of MSM, 1,400 mg of Vitamin C, and 750 IU of Vitamin E.

For the benefits of original Recovery EQ with the addition of 100 mg Hyaluronic Acid, choose Recovery EQ Extra Strength! Voted "Best Performer Overall" by the Horse Journal, the Recovery EQ formulas have earned credibility among horse owners everywhere.

View our Joint Supplement Comparison Chart

Order This Product In:

    Ships every 28 days
  edit
Maintenance Dose
  edit
Custom Dose  cancel
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Shipping on SmartPaks over $40
Congrats, you earned free shipping!

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Shipping on orders over $75
Congrats, you earned free shipping!
You Might Also Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    Recovery EQ is rated 4.6689 out of 5 by 151.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from VERY HAPPY WITH PURCHASE I am using this product on my 22-year-old roping horse and he is doing great. He has not shown any issues with lameness since starting this product and seems to move out much more at ease. Keep in mind he is an older horse, but he is still competing in local rodeos as a heel horse. I am very happy not to have had to retire him yet. Having the product come automatically is a great way to keep regular with the dosing to get the maximum benefit with consistency.
    Date published: 2013-09-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Results I've used this product for about a year. I have tried several other products, but nothing took care of his lamness "chronic limp" except using Bute every time I needed to ride him. Couldn't locate the problem either, not sure if it was his shoulder, or his foot, but I tried Recovery EQ and after just about two weeks I noticed improvement, and after a month there was no limp and he didn't need Bute any more before a ride. We even rode in the Osceola Trail Ride and it worked great! I was foolish to think that he would be fine if I took him off of it, because of the cost (its kinda pricey but SmartPak is the best deal overall), but after just a few weeks being off of it, the limp came back so I immediately put him back on it and won't ever take him off again. He's once again limp free and will stay that way.
    Date published: 2013-08-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Joint Supplement Recovery is one of the best joint supplements I have ever used. The extra strength helped heal a suspensory injury. This regular formula maintains my horse's ability to move freely and not be stiff after a long ride. I love this product!
    Date published: 2013-07-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for rehab I began using this supplement on a 19 year old QH that was rehabbing from a chronic hind end suspensory sprain. I feel that it made a difference, especially paired with PentAussie for arthritis. The only thing I dislike about it is the fact that it discolors very quickly, and I'm not sure if that means that the product is comprimised. Also, I can't speak of palatability because my horse will eat anything.
    Date published: 2013-06-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazingly fast relief My two Tennessee Walking Horses are prone to laminitis and tendonitis. The first time we used Smart Recovery a few years ago, I was amazed how fast-acting it was to relieve pain and heal--after months of pain and inactivity. Previously, Smart Tendon was our daily staple until they needed Smart Recovery--which also contains the ingredients in Smart Tendon, giving us two products in one feeding. But their favorite taste is Herballs. The taste and smell are so pungent that one Herball goes a long way! They can't get enough of these treats.
    Date published: 2013-04-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Product! We started seeing results in about a week and a steady progression from than on. I would definitely recommend this product for horses recovering from joint issues.
    Date published: 2013-02-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Vet recommended An Alternative Therapy Vet recommended Recovery EQ for several of the horses on the farm I manage. One of those horses was my own Saddlebred gelding who suffered from ringbone. He has been on Recovery for about 4 years and is still being ridden at age 33. Another vet just suggested it for a 28 year old TB gelding with dropped suspensories. He's only been getting it for 2 months, but yesterday he cantered to the gate at bringing in time. My horse eats it fine mixed with his grain, but others have left it behind and need more encouragement, which is why I gave only 3 stars for palatability.
    Date published: 2013-02-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Immediate results I saw results within 3 weeks in my mare. She has had joint and tendon issues and this is the first supplement that produced results. It took a few days for her to get used to the taste but now she eats it right up.
    Date published: 2012-11-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product saved my horse. I was at wits end. Thought he had an abscess but he didn't. Then thought he may have nerve damage or arthritis. Limped terribly. Walking on pavement or on gravel was like walking on cut glass. It was terrible. Then I read about Recovery EQ and after about a month we noticed a tremendous difference. He stopped limping and we can walk on pavement but he's still not too crazy about walking on gravel so I try to avoid it when I can. We even went on the Osceola Trail Ride in March for three days and rode for hours and hours.
    Date published: 2012-11-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So far so good My 15 year old TB was just starting to show signs of arthritis and films show very slight changes to his navicular bone and fetlock. Between Natural Balance shoes, Back on Track standing wraps and Recovery EQ, he's showing little to sometimes no signs of unsoundness. It's only been a couple months but the change is noticable so I will continue. He has never been unsound in his dressage career and absolutely loves his job, so I'll keep the Recovery coming if it keeps him feeling good. Also, he has finicky taste when it comes to supplements but he LOVES his Recovery. I scored it average for value just because it is expensive but if it continues to make a difference, well worth it.
    Date published: 2012-08-15
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from great formula - if your horse will great formula if your horse will eat it. the flavor has to be disguised in applesauce or some other carrier or she won't eat it. i tasted it, and she's right. pretty yucky tasting. i hope they find a way to make this excellent product more horse friendly.
    Date published: 2012-08-14
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Didn't work for us :-( I have been a SmartPak customer for several years and this is the first supplement that my horse really tried to avoid eating. He is NOT a picky eater by any means but would leave much of this powder in the bottom of his feed tub. I have not had any problems with him refusing other powdered supplements. So I can't comment on the efficacy of this product. I would definitely recommend requesting a sample of this before adding it to your Smart Pak to make sure your horse will eat it.
    Date published: 2012-07-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from GAVE ME MY HORSE BACK! My horse was head bobbing lame and I tried other products with no change within 2 weeks of being put on recovery eq he started to get sounder. Everyday he got better and better. I am not a huge believer in joint supplements as it is and recovery eq completely changed my mind. My horse is sound and weve gone back to compete in the reining. THANKS RECOVERY EQ FOR GIVING ME MY HORSE BACK!!
    Date published: 2012-05-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not sure it helped I have been using RecoveryEQ for a year now. My ottb had a rough life on the track and off before I got her. I can not say weather this helped her or not because even a year later she still has problems from all the soft tissue damage in her leg. I'm taking her off for a month to see if there is a change or not. Will try to update in a month.
    Date published: 2012-04-27
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Helped my COPD horse Used about 7 weeks on multiple horses. Only one would not eat food with this in it no matter how much I tried to disquise it. Other 5 no problem. Seemed to really help my COPD horse all through heavy spring pollen. Two aged horses got worse on soundness, so going back to Glucosamine XL Plus, which is still going to be my #1 pick for joints.
    Date published: 2012-04-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-04-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Recovery EQ True to it's Name In November, my horse developed a mystery injury to his back. He was kicking out under saddle and refused to bend to the right. He was in pain.I had blood work done, physical exams, chiro adjustments, regular massages and gave him time off. He improved slightly but I could tell from his gait at liberty & the look in his eye, he was still in pain.After many sleepless nights and a lot of Internet research, I decided to try Recovery EQ. Even though it is pricy I figured I'd give it a couple of months to see if I noticed a change.Well, I'm thrilled to report that I saw significant improvement within days. He was running and playing in the pasture, his attitude was improving and his appetite was ravenous.It has been 6 weeks since I started him on REQ and he will begin his conditioning to return to work this weekend.I am very pleased with the results.Note: For the first two weeks I worked him up to a loading dose of two scoops. He was on the loading dose for four weeks and also received a massage every two weeks. He will stay at the recommended maintenance dose of one scoop daily.
    Date published: 2012-03-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I believe this saved my horse... back in sept. my mare was running in her turn out slipped in the ONLY mud puddle out there fell on her side sliding half way under the wood fence causing her to tear flesh off her back right stifle all the way down to the muscle than slammed into a large fence post braking the stifle and damaging the soft tissue. I was tolled by a few vets that if she ever healed she would never be nothing more than a very nice looking expensive "pet" (ending her hunter jumper career before it even started). well i was not going to take that as my only option. so i did my home work and I found "Recovery". I figured it could not hurt to give it a try (worst thing that could happen is i wasted some money). well after being on recovery for 5 months now she is walking forward 100% sound!!! she is clear to be turned out again she is even trotting some on the lunge line, the trot is a little stiff but getting better. she can also back up on a straight line with out dragging her hind end and is able to put full weight on the leg. Her h/j career may be over but the odds of me being able to ride her again are almost 100%. she still needs some more therapy before I can get on her but I'm just so happy that her recovery has excited what the vets have ever though possible and i truly believe that "recovery" has helped get her to this point.the only negative thing i can say about it is that it is a little hard to feed. my horse does not seem to like the taste or smell of it and it took a few tries to figure out what to feed it with. i feed it with hay pellets and i get the pellets a little wet and mix the powder up with them and she will eat it right up. it would be nicer if the company could maybe make this into pellet form?thank you smartpak for carrying this product witch gave me back hope! :)
    Date published: 2012-02-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Recovery saved my life and Newton's... My horse Newton (Alter Ego) is a registered Paint show horse...I ended up owning him on chance...he was broken down and headed down a dead end when I took possession of him and changed his life...I spent an entire year trying to restore him to soundness (navicular) and was FINALLY successful when I bought Recovery! Tried a dozen other products FAR more expensive and NOTHING worked... ***I*** take it too...I am quite the SENIOR and had knee surgery, back problems, you name it...I was advised to do surgery again after a mere ten months...I decided to give Recovery a try and I am so glad I did!
    Date published: 2012-02-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Joint Supplement So amazed with this product. It has worked wonders on every horse I've ever used it on. You see the results in the first week.
    Date published: 2012-02-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fianlly something that WORKS! My gelding has navicular and I have bad knees/joints...I have tried every product out there and this one works! Tastes like grapes gone mad, but I would chew barbwire if it helped me thru the pain in my knees! After using this for the last several months, I am no longer on prescription OR OTC pain killers, and Newton is down to half a tab of bute every 5 days! We also show steadily on the national Paint horse circuit and we do quite well for an old lady and a "broken down" horse!
    Date published: 2012-01-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product! Of all of the joint supplements I have used, I believe this one is the most beneficial. Within 2 weeks of using this product, I can tell the difference in the way my horses move.
    Date published: 2011-12-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from tried the rest and I wish I had tried this first...**I** use it myself ON ME! I had knee surgery and in less than a year the docs were advising a re-run on the surgery...OH NO! Me and my navicular gelding have HAD IT with useless surgeries (he had a nuerectomy!) so after trying countless other products, we have BOTH been on Recovery EQ for a month and I am feeling wonderful and so is he!!! Just wish it was more affordable ...
    Date published: 2011-12-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great value! I bought recovery for my new OTTB mare that had a PPE where the vet wrote that she would always require maintenance for her ankles and hocks. I've used recovery for a month and haven't seen a single sign of stiffness, soreness or swelling in any soft tissue joints, where as the month before I got her she was having daily swelling. Piper is pretty finicky and hasn't turned her nose up at it in any form, whether mixed with pellets or wet down with beet pulp. I would highly recommend this supplement for anyone that has a horse with some serious wear and tear on their joints.
    Date published: 2011-12-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Helps with recovery! Purchased this for my horse after he had surgery to help with excess inflammation. Love the product so much I haven't taken him off of it and it's been over a year! Horse eats it with no problem. Does get kinda sticky if any moisture gets into container so make sure to keep it sealed tight. Good product!!
    Date published: 2011-12-07
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Didn't notice any change I bought this for our gelding that has Navicular and didn't notice any change in his lamness the only thing it did was make him sweat more.
    Date published: 2012-01-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My horse is sound! I acquired a Dutch Warmblood jumper who had become lame in his right shoulder. His previous owners did everything to diagnose the problem but were unsuccessful. They had no clue how it even happened. I took him on with no expectation other than he would make a great horse to teach beginners and would be a great pasture pal for my dressage horses. As we began reconditioning him with dressage, he was becoming more and more sound, but not 100%. I decided to start a supplement and had read reviews on Recovery EQ. I was skeptical as I always am, but I am a believer now! After only 1 month on the supplement, my horse is sound. His old owners are shocked. I believe that the combination of proper strength training with dressage and Recovery EQ is phenomenal. I am not teaching on him...he is now one of my personal horses, and we are headed to the show ring!
    Date published: 2011-11-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2011-10-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from It's a miracle :) I have owned my 14.2 h gelding for 10 years. He has always had "sticky" stifles. My vet told me that there was no supplement that would help his condition. I kept him on 24 hour turnout, however, I do not have the luxury of riding every day or even every other day. My boy is now fat and on a weight loss program. This year I became extremely concerned with the difficulty he has moving under saddle. Even on the ground, he cannot just move off without struggling to unlock either stifle. To pick his feet, I actually "POP" his stifle by cupping it with my hand because if I don't I am afraid he will fall over! His time on a dry lot makes him even less active. I read a lot of information about stifles and what to do and that's how I discovered Recovery EQ. I bought it not carrying much hope but figuring that at least it would make me feel better to try something. Within one week of being on this supplement, he can now step off without struggling, he can lift his legs without my help, he can turn with ease, he can back up under saddle, he is more responsive to my leg aids and the smoothness of his walk is incredible!!!!!! I am sharing this info with my vet so that he can recommend it to other horse owners. Thank you Recovery EQ!!!!!!!
    Date published: 2011-11-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from awsome stuff I started spunky on Recovery because the website reported it could help manage some symptoms related to cushings.He has had a very long curly dull coat and not shedding alaso he is 17 and a barrell horse.Afer the first 2.2 lbs i suddenly realized he had shed out was shinning like a coppe penny again.He also was much less anxious about going into the barrell areana.i couldn't believe the difference it has made in my boy
    Date published: 2011-09-23
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.