Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

SoloComb

Item #11626

 

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

The SoloComb is an essential item for a tidy mane and tail. Create a natural look without the tedious job of pulling.

High impact plastic SoloComb is extremely lightweight and easy to use. Back comb the hair as usual and then instead of pulling the hair simply press the lever and the hair is instantly and painlessly clipped. The SoloComb even works on the whiskers and is great for grooming dogs too!

We also carry the Replacement Blades

You Might Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    SoloComb is rated 4.5315 out of 5 by 111.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from For the Perfect Mane This is a handy little option to have as part of your grooming essentials. I watched a few videos on using this first and saw that it is extremely easy to use. I also noticed that it can produce a "choppy" look if you overuse it so I was careful not to do the whole mane with it. I did a little pulling of the mane first to thin it, and then I used this to create that perfect flat, trimmed mane look that is even and clean looking. Also, a friend at my barn has a horse that absolutely hates having his mane pulled and she borrowed this and she said it was magic, so it's definitely ideal for finicky horses. I love this product and would highly recommend it for anyone that is into grooming and keeping their horses looking sharp and handsome.
    Date published: 2013-07-11
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not the best I bought this hoping for a better way to trim my horse's mane and avoid pulling. I like the look of a pulled mane but my horse really hates me doing it. Don't bother with the solo comb If you want the look of a pulled mane because you won't get it. Yes it is super easy to use and it only took about 5 minutes to trim her mane, but it looks like I used scissors - yuck! Good thing I don't have a show coming up because I am embarrassed at how it looks. It was difficult to get each section the same length so it looks like a bad scissor job at that. Take the time to pull your horses mane correctly since this comb really is too good to be true. I will be returning mine.
    Date published: 2013-07-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great invention. Thank you! Wish I'd discovered this sooner. Works just like it promises, and keeps manes tidy without the stress of pulling. Happy horse = happy me.
    Date published: 2013-07-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy Mane Tool Love this product. The replacement blades were so expensive I purchased a 2nd comb but found the newer model to not hold up as well. I ended up removing the blades from the new one and using them in my old comb which has been going strong for about 5 years. I am happy to see the replacement blade price has decreased somewhat. I use it on 4-6 horses every summer.
    Date published: 2013-06-07
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Needs to be more durable I love this product I received it for Christmas and it works easily on the areas the horses don't like pulled like near the poll and withers, or on an already thin mane. But the durability is terrible. I used mine twice, once on a very very thin mane just to shorten it, and once near the poll on a horse who wouldn't let me pull up there. The plastic teeth popped off and the end busted. I was able to slip it back in and finish the touch ups, but it was a pain because I had to keep putting the teeth back in. For the money it needs to hold up better. In the summer I do a lot of mane pulling I was hoping this would be a good easy method for the few hard to pull horses I do, including my own with a mane too thin to pull. I expected it to last several sessions since it costs nearly what I get paid for one mane job.
    Date published: 2013-05-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2013-04-27
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Does an OK Job I bought this product to use on a horse that hates to have his mane pulled. The SoloComb does a decent job, but I do prefer a pulled mane.
    Date published: 2013-03-29
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good concept.. This tool works well for a mane that doesn't need a lot of thinning. I do regularly use it on one mare's mane because hers only really needs to be shortened and not thinned. You can definitely get a thick mane thinned out using this tool, but it's going to look terrible once the mane starts to grow out. I made the mistake of using it on my colt, who has a very thick mane. I used it just as the instructions say, trimming small sections at a time and back combing just like you would with a regular pulling comb. The mane looked decent when I was done, and I finished the job quickly. However, 2 months later all the hair that I had "pulled" started growing back and was sticking straight up through the top layer of hair. Luckily I only used it for one show at the end of the show season, so I've had time to let my colt's mane grow out and it is finally trained to lay flat again. I will not be using this to thin his mane this year, rather I'm sticking with the old fashioned method. I've yet to find something that works as well as pulling a mane the old fashioned way.. However, I do like this product for touch ups and for shortening an already thin mane.
    Date published: 2013-03-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from mane pulling this comb works great and I can do my horse's mane in less than 15 minutes.....LOVE IT!
    Date published: 2013-03-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from easy mane pulling this is a great tool for thinning a mane - especially a thick one... It is my second one as i have 2 horses at 2 barns - so one at each barn.... It is a much easier way for me to pull the mane...
    Date published: 2013-02-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Mane Tool! The SoloComb is perfect for getting that tamed, thinned, and shorter mane I need for braiding and overall grooming. No harsh pulling/ripping out of hair, its very gentle. Just hold the hair, tease it up only (not up and down) then clip. I love that it makes the mane look very natural and neat, it doesn't give that "scissor cut" look when you're done. Perfect addition to my grooming tote.
    Date published: 2013-02-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Mane pullinge made easy I've been using the solo comb for years. My mare hates having her mane pulled, I've tried using thining blades, sissors and several other methods but couldn't get the results I was looking for. I had to replace the blade on my first solo comb after a couple of years but it was very easy to do. Unfortunately I dropped my first one too many times and it broke apart. I will be more carefull with the new one. Great product!
    Date published: 2013-01-29
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Too Good to be True I hate pulling mane. When I saw this product, I was so excited to give it a try. Of course, it was too good to be true. While it was easy to use, it definitely did not give my horse's mane a natural look as advertised. It is essentially a fancy-looking pair of scissors. I hate to send things back but I had to because I just don't see myself using it ever again. Back to the convention mane comb it is!
    Date published: 2013-01-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works Great Love my new SoloComb. Works great, unfortunately it doesn't work so well for left handers. I had to hold it in my right hand which was a bit awkward for me since I am left handed and have always held the pulling comb in my left hand.
    Date published: 2013-01-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I am sold on the SoloComb! I have tried literally every other mane-pulling/trimming gimmick on the market for my OTTB who HATES having his mane pulled. The SoloComb is the most expensive one out there, so after all the others didn't work, I wasn't going to spend more money one something else that didn't work. Today I borrowed a friend's SoloComb at her insistence when I mentioned pulling my horse's mane. His is ridiculously thick and coarse, so all the other trimming methods yield the equine afro look. But, with the SoloComb, I was able to trim his mane to the desired length, leaving enough long hairs to pull in order to thin it somewhat. The reduced amount of mane pulling was fairly tolerable in Johnny's opinion (with minimal head-tossing), and instead of 2 hours, blisters, and blood, I spent less than an hour with NO blisters or bloody fingers! His mane looks great, and while it's not as thin as it would've been if I'd pulled it, it's braidable without the 'fro look! I'm buying my own SoloComb before I have to do his mane again.
    Date published: 2013-01-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great mane puling tool! I pulled my horse's mane for the first time last week. I found this tool to be very easy to use! It only took me 15 minutes. :)
    Date published: 2013-01-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Life saver! My horse is AWFUL when it comes to mane pulling. She will rear and side-step and do everything in her power to keep from having her mane pulled. It used to take me about an hour to an hour and a half to pull her mane due to these antics, but not anymore! This comb works better than any other comb I have used! I absolutely love it...and so does my horse! When I first used it my mare started freaking out as usual and then when the horrible hair pulling never occurred she calmed down and I was done in 10-15 minutes! Amazing! It jammed up once, but my horses mane was pretty dirty and it was insanely easy to clean so it wasn't a real problem! I also love that I can get replacement blades for it so I don't have to buy a new comb every time! I would recommend this to any of my friends! I love it!
    Date published: 2013-01-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very comfortable for the horse This is my second solo comb and a must have for my barn. My first one's spring broke after about a year of use. If that happens you can still use it but you must manually life the handle. My horse hates having his mane pulled so this is perfect. He can also be braided beautifully after using the solo comb. It shortens the mane wonderfully but won't thin as much as traditional pulling.
    Date published: 2012-11-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this tool I know technically it's cheating, but this tool is amazing. It gives a natural pulled look but in record time and no discomfort to your horse. I highly recommend this in your bag of tricks.
    Date published: 2012-09-19
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not for thick manes This was easy to use but you can't get close enough to root with a thick mane. As a result, there are lots of short hairs sticking up when you are finished. Don't like that look. I still use it because I like the handle which makes it easier to use for traditional pulling.
    Date published: 2012-09-11
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy to use and works I have an extremely head shy horse so I wanted to try something new. Ususally pulling his mane involves having someone hold him, while he throws his head up and tries to back away. I can't even cross tie him because he will panic and break them. The SoloComb made the process so much easier! Its very simple to use and the horse doesn't feel a thing. It doesn't "pull" the mane in any way so if you are looking to thin the mane out this doesn't do that. But since my horse has a thick mane, I used the Solo Comb to get the desired length and then pulled a little out as well just to thin things out. This saved my horse and I so much time and stress. I've only used it once, so I can't comment on how long the blades last though. But with a head shy horse it is well worth the money.
    Date published: 2012-08-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works Well! You get the pulled look without the pain! The SoloComb helps to speed up the pulling process with my big 17h horse and he likes it alot better too! Although I still have to use a pulling comb to thin the mane it works great to shorten it and get it even.
    Date published: 2012-07-11
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for Youngsters Looks like a pulled mane without the pain. I've used this for years on my young horses (and the cranky ones) and it works great for all of us. I only wish the product were more durable - I have gone through a number of them. But then, it would be more expensive so...
    Date published: 2012-06-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-05-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-05-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-05-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from solocomb, i love you I purchased the solocomb for my daughter's horse who WILL NOT allow his mane to be pulled, It was thick and wild from us cutting it and nearly impossible to braid. The solocomb trims and thins in one easy motion without putting any pressure or pulling on the horse. Its been like a godsent for us. My daughter did it by herself and when she turned him around so i could see her work i couldn't believe it!! Cocoa's mane was neat and tidy and laid flat against his neck. This is a MUST HAVE item for anyone whose horse doesn't like pulling.
    Date published: 2012-05-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Happy Horse! I love this product! I have a horse that HATES having his mane pulled. A friend at the barn recommended this product after using it on her horse and I have to say that it has been a dream! I have only used it once to "pull" a medium length mane to short and it did a fantastic job! My horse was so relaxed that he fell asleep in the crossties. I will never pull another mane again and I am glad that I made my horse happy also with this product!
    Date published: 2012-05-04
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from good but not a pulling substitute This is great for a quick touch up. Very easy. Very fast. My horse didn't seem to even know I was doing it. But it's not really a substitute for pulling - results are a bit like trimming with scissors. Finishing up with an abbreviated pull seems to have better results.
    Date published: 2012-05-04
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from solo comb very easy to use, comes apart too easily but very happy with overall results
    Date published: 2012-04-24
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.