Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

The Medicine Boot

Davis
- Item #11321

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

The Medicine Boot is ideal for continuous soaking when conditions such as abscesses, thrush, puncture wounds and other aggravated foot conditions exist.

The Medicine Boot also relieves pressure when signs of bruises, corns or cankers appear. Soft pliable upper comforts the leg during use and closes tightly just below the fetlock. Boot opens wide for easy on-off application, and the durable triple-layered bottom is made of a tough polyvinyl compound making it usable many times over.

Size 1 : 5 1/4" wide x 5 5/8" long
Size 2 : 5 5/8" wide x 6 1/8" long
Size 3 : 6 1/4" wide x 7" long
Size 4 : 7 1/4" wide x 7 3/4" long
Size 5 : 8" wide x 8 1/2" long

You Might Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    The Medicine Boot is rated 4.3529 out of 5 by 34.
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Helpful This is certainly easier than soaking in a bucket, but it's still not a walk in the park. It's hard to get on, and then one of my boys just took an instant dislike to it and did anything to get it off (and succeeded). Still, if there are no other options it will do.
    Date published: 2012-11-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Soaking or wearing.. If soaking get the next size larger. If wearing order the correct size per the chart.
    Date published: 2012-11-08
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from good idea This boot is hard to get on, and then hard to keep on. The hoof part fits well but then the ankle part is too big. My gelding did keep it on for a few hours but did eventually get it off. Perhaps if he was quietly grazing instead of galloping and bucking it would have stayed on...
    Date published: 2012-10-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good boots We bought a size larger so that we could add ice to use them to ice hooves. The rubber is quite thick and we haven't had any leaks. the velcro strap on each boot is plenty long.
    Date published: 2012-04-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from does the job used this to soak with white lightening and also eneded up using it to soak an abscess. easy enough to use - fit fine with room to spare but not too loose.
    Date published: 2013-11-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from a wonderful boot! I did not have high expectations because I was using this boot with a 2 year old who is "into everything" and had an abcess. This boot was amazing. It stayed on for turnout, was easy to apply and remove, and did not rub the hair at all off my gray horse! Such an improvement over anything else you could try to use to wrap a hoof!
    Date published: 2012-03-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Useful We purchased the Davis Medicine Boot to help protect an open hoof abscess from stall dirt. It certainly did its job. My only complaint is that even with the correct hoof measurements, because our horse is a draft cross, the heel was very difficult to get into the boot. It helped to warm up the boot, as it made it more flexible. However, it was still a two person operation, with one being extremely strong to pull the boot on and off.
    Date published: 2013-11-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Takes time to break in. My horse's measurements were the exact size of the size 0 boot. I didn't want to be struggling to get it on every time, so I got a size 1. The size 1 was even a little bit of a struggle to get on at first, but after a week of use it stretched just the right amount. It is now much easier to get on and only takes about a minute to get on:)
    Date published: 2012-03-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Abscess must have I have tried several other boots designed for the treatment of abscesses but none have stood the test of wear and tear that my young horse provides! The Davis boot is relatively easy to use (It can be a little difficult to put on when wet) and stands up to the beating that my horse puts all his boots through. I will always keep one of these on hand in my tack box!
    Date published: 2012-03-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Used the Medicine boot for soaking an abcess and was way better than using a bucket. Needed less water than a bucket too! Ordered size 3 for my TB who wears a size 2 shoe. Fit with room to spare!
    Date published: 2012-02-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent soaking boot Easier than most to put on and take off, fits well, and must be fairly comfortable for the horse, since my guy didn't react to it at all. Highly recommended.
    Date published: 2011-12-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works Perfectly Henry, a Haflinger, had a severe stone bruise and infected hoof. The vet did an extensive removal of the infected area.Hoof needed to be soaked every night and protected.The boot was ABSOLUTEY PERFECT. Stayed on in mud!
    Date published: 2011-11-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from great product I wish I would have purchased a while ago. Sure beats trying to soak my horse's hoof in a bucket. A little hard to get on & off but well worth it.
    Date published: 2011-09-27
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from The medicine boot Measured hoof, but even though we returned twice, still couldnt get it to fit properly. The large fit his hoof, but we couldnt get it to tighten enough around the ankle. Too much strap left over.
    Date published: 2011-05-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just ordering it made the abscess go away My new filly developed two abscesses within two weeks of arriving at our facility. I borrowed a Davis boot from the barn manager for use with poultice and vet wrap. Apparently, just like making a doctor's appointment causes an illness to go away, placing the order made the abscesses heal in record time. The boot arrived within the week ... and she no longer needed it.The Velcro strap on the boot I borrowed was broken/chewed through, but that boot has been used many times and is almost a year old. Duct tape worked fine and the boot stayed on and did its job. The boot itself is still in excellent shape and has retained its functionality and quality, so I expect similar results from our shiny new Davis boot.
    Date published: 2011-04-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from VeryVery Satisfied with this Product My mare was a doll about soaking her foot. Stood easily with it in a bucket as long as I needed her to. And as long as I stood with her.HOWEVER. . . . .in an attempt to save time and multi-task I ordered the Medicine Boot. WOO-HOO! Less hot water needed, less Epsom salts needed, and NO ME STANDING WITH HER needed. So while she strolled the pasture, soaking her foot in the boot, I could finish some other barn business. Boot goes on easily, fastens as tight as you need it and does the job. HIGHLY recommend to anyone. Easy to use, inexpensive and effective. What more could you want?
    Date published: 2013-11-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2010-07-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great multi-purpose boot I have a big one for soaking and a correctly sized one for daily wear during abcess treatment. They work great, very durable. The only complaint I have is that the velcro strap is too long and I have to duct tape it to keep it from coming loose. Maybe my mare just has dainty ankles? =o)
    Date published: 2011-01-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Glad I Bought It I bought this because my mare punctured her hoof and I needed something to efficiently soak it. I am pleased with this product. It is a bit hard to get on but it fits nicely and comes off easily. It stays on well and cleans easily. The Medicine Boot fit the bill quite nicely. Thank you Smart Pak.
    Date published: 2013-11-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Won't be without one again Never had a horse with even a small abscess before, but our first one here was a very bad one, blown at the heel and also a very large hole in the sole. I had been repeatedly soaking, medicating & duct taping a bandage until I found this Medicine boot.By the time I figured out there was an easier way, and this boot arrived, I was past the need to soak, so I used it to protect his bandaged foot. Has held up perfectly even during a few hours of daily turnout in a small paddock.I know it isn't intended to be a boot for exercise purposes, but I needed something right then to provide protection from dirt/rocks /snow soaking his duct taped bandage, and light support while outside , and it worked well. And I'll never need a bucket again for soaking.Note to SmartPak - I needed a tighter fitting boot once I quit bandaging his hoof, to allow him to continue healing that hole up while getting some more exercise to get his hoof circulation flowing.Bought an Easyboot Rx (newer product of theirs, I think) and have found another winner. Fits like a glove, has small holes to provide circulation, very very easy to take on and off to check how his hole is healing up. Hasn't come off yet during play. He is now able to be outside in the paddock 24/7 and doing well even in the snow.Please consider offering this wonderful item for sale on your website in the future (would have preferred to buy it from you guys, as your service/delivery is just the best, but didn't see it here)!
    Date published: 2009-11-25
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from I think I bought too big of a boot. It is difficult to tighten and therefore falls off easily. If it was easier to tighten it would be great.
    Date published: 2009-08-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from No more buckets! Two of my horses had abscesses at the same time. Soaking in a bucket was not an option. I used two Davis boots at the same time. It's hard to appreciate this boot if you've never had to deal with buckets! Just make sure you get the right size or you'll just make more trouble for yourself!
    Date published: 2013-11-23
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Wow, durable AND easy to use! I bought this boot for a horse at my barn who seems quite prone to abscesses. Her poor owner constantly had to apply sugardine and then wrap the horse's hoof, hoping the wrap would last long enough for the sugardine to have an effect. I thought this Medicine Boot might help protect the hoof wrap and save the owner from having to re-wrap. I figured she'd still need to wrap the hoof but at least the wrap would be protected. Well, it turns out these boots come with a removable pad that actually helps keep the sugardine (or whatever medication you are using) in contact with the hoof, and also provides some padding! The pad is washable so it can be reused many times, and eliminates the need to wrap the hoof before applying the boot. The boot is extremely easy to put on, just make sure you get the right size. The first boot I ordered was too small, and therefore very hard to put on. As soon as I bought the correct size, VIOLA, the boot is a cinch to put on. I have never turned the horse out in the boot, so I cannot say how durable it is during turn-out, but this boot holds up to use in the stall very well. Definitely a great product to have on hand!
    Date published: 2009-04-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Helpful! This boot surprised me- despite it's claims, I didn't think it would really work up to the hype. So far, I am really pleased! My horse is recovering from an abscess, and I am using this boot for turnout. It is staying on and keeping his hoof clean. Definitely worth having around!
    Date published: 2013-11-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for a Foundered Horses I have used this product not only as a soaking boot, but as a support and way of keeping the feet dry and clean between treatments. I have used this boot on a few horses with trush problems with a product called hoof zapp that is great for drying out thrush and hoof rot. This boot is easy to use and if it is the correct size will stay on even if you have a very active horse in turnout and in the stall.
    Date published: 2011-11-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great For Soaking Feet My horse had an abscess and I was told that I had to soak his foot. I TRIED the old method of putting the foot in a small bucket, but that just freaked my horse out. I bought this boot and had great success. I was able to put the boot on my horses' foot and put the Epsom salts and water right into it. My horse thought it was just a regular boot so he remained calm. There was no way that he could take his foot out like he could with just a bucket. This boot made foot soaking a whole lot easier for me and my horse.
    Date published: 2012-11-19
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.