Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

The Rancher

SSG Riding Gloves
- Item #11318
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The Rancher Gloves are made from genuine North American deerskin and are favorites for roping, riding and working! Imported.

Favorite Features

  • Gun cut finger treatment
  • No finger seams on the palm side of the glove allow for a far more comfortable feeling in the saddle
  • Elasticized wrist for easy on and off

Sizing It Up

You Might Like
    out of 5
    88% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    The Rancher is rated 4.625 out of 5 by 24.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Tough and comfortable Fits very well, and is very tough. But not very warm. Wish I got the lined ones for working in winter weather.
    Date published: 2011-12-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great gloves! I love these gloves. I have always used work gloves but the ssg ranchers are the best for barn work and riding. They are tough enough for working around the barn and thin enough to ride in without losing contact/feel for the reins.
    Date published: 2011-11-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Decent work/riding glove, but... I bought these gloves because I'm sick and tired of gloves that fall apart in 3 months or less. I have large hands, with wide palms and long fingers, so I ordered a 9. They're just a little bit too big- not enough that they're uncomfortable to ride in, but I do have to pay attention so that the fingertips don't get stuck while I tighten the girth. I really wish they offered 1/2 sizes, as I know for a fact that the 8's are too small. They have fairly good grip on the reins, and certainly don't cause rubs or blisters, but they do stain my hands yellow, if I have a particularly sweaty ride. I have a feeling that these will be relegated to the work glove category, as soon as I find gloves that fit me well, and actually LAST!!
    Date published: 2011-08-11
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from I wouldn't buy them again I bought a 7, my usual glove size and they ran very large! I was never able to wear them because they always slid off my hands. When I wasn't morving, the gloves fit well in the fingers (length wise), but everything was just proportioned bigger. The elastic at the wrist isn't very tight so they wouldn't stay on. I know they are meant to be a looser fitting glove, but I just couldnt get them to work for me. The seams in the fingers were bulky and made my hands feel cumbersome, but man oh man are they warm! I really do wish they had fit me better!
    Date published: 2011-02-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from love these gloves I haven't been able to use this product for years!! I am thrilled to be wearing them again!!I wear these gloves ALL the time!!! I ride in them, work in them and even wear them around town when my hands are cold--vourse I live in an area where a lot of men wear cowboy hats too!
    Date published: 2011-01-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from These gloves are the greatest I absolutely adore these gloves. The Ranchers are buttery soft, yet grippy. I purchased them in a size 7, my normal glove size, and they are a tiny bit big. Even with the little bit of extra room, the gloves conform to my hands and allow me to have excellent feel while riding. I have used my Ranchers on very hot, humid days and they have remained tacky enough to give me a good grip on the reins despite my mount's sweat. Also, my hands have not gotten too hot or too sweaty, as the leather really breathes.
    Date published: 2010-08-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tough gloves for everything These are tough gloves for any work around the house or barn or even for riding. I like how long they held up versus other leather gloves I have tried yet still remain butter soft. I also like the fact they come in larger sizes to accomadate my long fingers. I just bought my second pair as my first ones are getting a little thin after 2+ years of use.
    Date published: 2010-07-18
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not What They Used To Be I've used and loved SSG Rancher gloves for years, but I must agree with another reviewer who said the quality of these gloves has slipped - this is unfortunately true. The leather quality and craftsmanship are now poor, and I won't be purchasing any more of these gloves in the future. What a pity.
    Date published: 2010-06-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great gloves for hard riding! I love these gloves for the fall/spring riding seasons. The leather is soft but very durable. They have great grip and good feel (not too thick). They hold up to a lot of wear - the one glove I was not able to wear holes through in a couple months.
    Date published: 2010-04-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Durable, Comfortable and Surprisingly Warm! My title says it all. My pair of these gloves are going on their 3rd year and still are flexible and have no rips or holes. They are my everyday gloves for everything from riding to barn chores. I have long fingers and most women's gloves do not fit my hand properly. These fit perfectly. I was even happily surprised to find they keep my hands quite warm on all but the coldest of days. Worth the money if you're hard on gloves and want a pair that can take whatever working around horses can dish out.
    Date published: 2010-01-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good schooling glove I prefer deerskin gloves, which limits my available glove options; these are pretty good although I think that I like the SSGs a little better. I tend to wear mine only for riding and switch to rugged work gloves for mucking/chores, so that may be why they are holding up pretty well.
    Date published: 2009-10-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Warmest riding gloves I've ever had My hands are always cold in the winter, and they were toasty through my entire ride.
    Date published: 2009-01-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great all-purpose glove I keep several pairs of these gloves around the barn because they're so useful. My "clean pair" I lunge and ride in and my "dirty pair" I clean hooves and apply hoof medicine with. They're also durable enough for barn and farm chores like cleaning stalls, fixing fence and weeding. Did I mention they were durable?
    Date published: 2007-04-09
    • 2015-03-05T08:42CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.1
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_3, tr_21
    • loc_en_US, sid_1318, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    In Loving Memory
    You were a loving and patient partner. From our early days learning dressage together, to your "retirement" years of tearing around the field and stirring up all the youngsters, you always brought your kindness, your heart, and your spirit. Thank you for everything, Wes. You are missed.

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.