Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Colors and Styles

Crusader Fly Mask - Standard - With Ears

Cashel Company
- Item #21540
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer. That means this item isn't eligible for additional discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This
Crusader Fly Mask was chosen as best fly mask by The Perfect Horse and Horse Journal. We couldn't agree more!

Favorite Features

  • Designed for comfort with soft durable materials and fully lined seams
  • Three hole cap for ears and forelock provides stability
  • Eye darts keep mesh well away from the eyes
  • Provides UV protection for sensitive noses for horses that sunburn easily 

Imported

Sizing It Up
Small Pony/Weanling
Large Pony/Yearling
Arab
Horse
Warmblood
Draft

 

You Might Like
    out of 5
    90% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Crusader Fly Mask - Standard - With Ears is rated 4.4667 out of 5 by 60.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love it! I just recently bought this fly mask, but everyone at my barn has one but none with the ears except mine. The quality is amazing and they hold up very well. From all day turnout to just a couple of hours they do their job. They don't rub the horses face and they won't come undone. The only problem I have with my fl mask is that I bought a Standard size instead of Warmblood so it fits a bit snug but not to tight. The ear part is made of a sort of spandex material luckily because my horse has giant ears so they are barely fitting :) but they would fit a normal size ear horse perfectly. (All my bonnets are stretched out for this big guy).. All in All I would recommend this product to anyone and everyone!!
    Date published: 2014-08-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great! I have a hard-to-fit Chincoteague pony (13hh, around 700lbs), and the Large Pony/Yearling size fit him perfectly! Most masks are too big or too small, and this one was just right! He's only been wearing it for about a month, but so far it's held up nicely.
    Date published: 2014-07-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great fly mask I have been buying Crusader fly masks for over 20 years. They last forever even with repeated washing in the clothes washer and dryer. After 15 years one of the masks finally wore out and I had to replace it. Liked the newer improved and stretchy fastener.
    Date published: 2014-07-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from happy with my purchase, ordered an "Arabian" due to a finer head shape and it fit great. Very durable
    Date published: 2014-07-19
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Small Horse Size Fit is Off Cheyenne appears to be in the middle of the Small Horse size and the Horse size. The horse size is too big on her cheeks, and the small horse size appears to fix the cheek issue, but somehow remains really loose on the top. Twice she has worn it and twice it has popped off her ears and fallen to be stuck halfway off of her. In general, he quality of these masks has fallen a lot over the years. It might be time for me to try different brands again.
    Date published: 2014-07-13
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Fell apart in <1 week Bought two of these, one for each horse...BOTH were completely destroyed in less than a week. Ears had so many holes in them after a week that they are just hanging off now. The mesh over their faces have also come apart. SO disappointing. They are back to their old masks that have lasted years--had purchased the new ones, as they had a free monogramming sale. Bummer.
    Date published: 2014-07-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Envy of the barn This is the best fly mask I have ever owned. No rips or tears & my mare has yet to pull it off. Only downside is the sizing is a little large Velcro wise.. Other than that it keeps bugs out and is very easy to brush dirt off of. I also added the custom embroidery and it turned out fantastic. Lots of compliments of how cute the mask turned out!
    Date published: 2014-07-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from the horses can't get Crusader's off as easy as som We bought all new fly masks this year. The Cursaders seem to last longer than other brands. (we've tried a few) I got the embroidered name on each of them and my granddaughter thinks that's pretty neat
    Date published: 2014-07-10
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Clever horse always rubs off Great qualityExcellent value unfortunately my clever 20 year old always rubs it off.
    Date published: 2014-07-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My horse loves this fly mask and the fit was great. My horse can be difficult to fit, but this fly mask fit was perfect!
    Date published: 2014-07-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fits very well I like the way it is padded around my horses nose so he does not get rubbed
    Date published: 2014-07-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonder fly mask Loved the fit and the embroidery! The coverage is great for fly protection since my boys ears are sensitive
    Date published: 2014-07-01
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Declining quality I have 3 of these masks with ears that I rotate; two are on their third year, and one is just a couple months old. The old ones are still OK, but the new one is somewhat shredded: the ears got holes in the first two weeks and one is now hanging almost off the mask. I'm guessing Cashell's subcontractors for fabric and sewing in China have substituted cheaper means for these expensive masks.Other horses at the barn have this mask and the ears are too short for most of them, including mine.On the plus side, my new mask is still better than my last Supermask II with ears, which within a few weeks became an eye hazard.
    Date published: 2014-07-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Soft and light I love this soft mask with great ear covers,two Velcro straps, plenty of room, and a fore lock opening.. Better yet my mares love it. They dive in. I love the personalized names I got for free too.
    Date published: 2014-06-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful Fly Mask! Fit my horse perfectly, runs large so order size smaller. Great quality and my horse appreciate his mask!
    Date published: 2014-06-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very nice fly mask! I bought this fly mask in the warmblood size for my Swedish warmblood and it fit him perfectly. The fleece lining is very nice to have so it doesn't rub him. I also got his name embroidered and it looks great! Love this product and highly recommend to others. The only reason i didn't give it five stars is because he always seems a little hot in it when I take it off but other than that it's awesome!!
    Date published: 2014-06-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stays on! Absolutely love this fly mask! I love that you can pull the forelock through and the fit is superb.It has stayed on everyday for his 12 hour turn out. No more hiking through the pasture to retrieve a rubbed off fly mask. I had mine monogrammed!
    Date published: 2014-06-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great mask, w/b size is really big First bought this in warmblood size for my big-boned 17.1 hand Belgian Warmblood, but it was too big. Reordered in Horse size and it is perfect! Very well made and nice.
    Date published: 2014-06-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best fly mask out there!!! Cashells are the only fly mask that does not give my horse rubs & the only one he will actually keep on his head! The added bonus of being able to get it monogrammed is awesome!!
    Date published: 2014-06-19
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Like it but disappointed with durability I had high hopes for this mask as it seemed very nice and sturdy; love the fleecy edging, very soft. However, my gelding someone managed to put a small hole in the mesh in only a week of wearing it! He's not a horse who is hard on his "clothes" other than being a mudball whenever it rains. Definitely disappointing, hoping I can darn it somehow.
    Date published: 2014-06-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The only one I buy Love this fly mask-- well made and stays on my horse's head even thought he likes to take most fly masks off. Also loved that it was customizable so that if it does fall off in the field, the barn manager always knows it's mine.
    Date published: 2014-06-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Keeps the flies out Works excellent at keeping flies out of my horses eyes. It also appears comfortable and he has not been able to take it off by himself. The only negative is that if he rolls in sand or dirt areas while wearing it the sand gets trapped in the mask on his face.
    Date published: 2014-06-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fit! I Love this fly mask because it is so easily adjustable for a great fit, light in color so my boys face come in mostly dry and cool, and best of all it stays on without creating rub marks!!!!
    Date published: 2014-06-17
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from holds well this is a very nice mask, HOWEVER, I have arthritis really bad in my hands and it is hard to get on and offk, but once on it stays!! I had bought a smart pac one about a month ago and that one is Impossible for me to get on and off, that is why I went with this mask, it is easier.
    Date published: 2014-06-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from She keeps it on! I have a mare that routinely rubs off her fly mask. Not the case with the Crusader one. She wears it all day most days and that is a wonderful improvement.
    Date published: 2014-06-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Don't buy any other I've been using these fly masks for ~7 years now and they are all I'll buy. They hold up amazingly (had one on two four year olds [the same fly mask on one horse after another] for 2 years and both love to play, not a single rip). They even stay pretty clean looking. They don't make the horses really warm or sweaty on hot days and they don't rub at all. I don't plan on ever buying a different fly mask.(The photos are of my current horse who just wants to play all day with his pasture buds and he still hasn't damaged or ripped off his 2+ year old mask)
    Date published: 2014-06-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I bought one for my pony and she has had it for two years and it looks brand new. She has trampled it in mud to having the others horse bite on it and still looks good. The quality is amazing and very durable. The fleece keeps it staying in one place while making it comfortable for my horse. I just ordered one for my new horse with his name on it and it turned out perfectly how I wanted it. It said they weren't going to ship it for a week and I had it in 4 business days. Very good overall product!
    Date published: 2014-06-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from GET ITT!!! After trying a few other brands time and time again I go back to this product! Even when my horse covers it in mud it cleans up great and keeps him happy! My guy is very sensitive but even when he sweats in the sun it doesn't rub him and keeps the flys OUT! I am happy if he is happy!
    Date published: 2014-06-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from nice fly mask I've used this mask on my narrow faced OTTB a few times now. The first time he wore it I had to retrieve it from the middle of the pasture the next day. Since then I have put it on a little tighter and it hasn't come off. I had mine monogrammed and love the way it looks and that I can identify my mask from the other Crusaders at my barn. I would buy this again.
    Date published: 2014-06-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My gelding has a very long full forelock so we need the forelock opening. This mask is great!
    Date published: 2014-05-30
    • 2015-02-25T07:46CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.1
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_5, tr_55
    • loc_en_US, sid_11540, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Horse of the Month: Sir Rocco
    Horse of the Month: Sir Rocco, a.k.a “Bud” Breed: Appaloosa Age: 24 years old PATH Intl. Accredited Center: Hearts & Horses Location: Loveland, CO Bud is an incredible equine therapist, and has been at Hearts & Horses the longest of

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.