Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Solstice Waterproof Leather Boot

SmartPak
- Item #21358

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Fashion, comfort, performance - the Solstice Waterproof Leather Boot has it all! These incredibly versatile crossover boots are just as perfect for barn chores as they are around town as a fashionable, functional footwear choice across the seasons. And they're affordable to boot!

  • Full leather boot is designed with a classic equestrian look and feel
  • Waterproof interior booty keeps the boot waterproof to the high ankle
  • Thermoregulation interior fabric keeps your feet comfortable in a range of temperatures - from cold, to cool, to warm
  • Full side zipper makes the boot easy to take on and off
  • Discrete, interior calf gussets accommodate a variety of calf sizes while still providing a clean, fitted look and feel
  • Durable sole is riding appropriate and built to withstand a variety of conditions

You Might Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    Solstice Waterproof Leather Boot is rated 4.5362 out of 5 by 69.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful boots! These boots are great- wonderful color and are comfy for riding as well as barn work.They do run small, I normally wear a size 9 but ordered a 10 and they are not too big. Foot is rather boxy but I have a wide-ish foot so it fits well. the calf has some elastic in it so the fit on my somewhat large calf is also comfortable.
    Date published: 2014-02-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Leather is good quality! I called Smartpak to find out how this boot actually fits. What I was told is exactly how it fits on me! The footbed is roomy, with plenty of toe room. The calf is tight, but I have large calves for my feet size, but with the elastic gussets, it is comfortable. I dont believe I could put jeans under them, but riding britches or tights will be no problem.
    Date published: 2014-02-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great boots! I received this pair of boots just 2 days ago as a gift from my wonderful sister. I absolutely love them. They are very comfortable, looks great. I did not have problem with sizing.
    Date published: 2014-02-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfortable foot, calf too wide I normally wear a size 7 shoe and ordered a euro size 38, which for me fits like a size 7.5. I wanted a boot to wear in the winter over thicker breeches and socks. The foot fits great with thick wool socks and easy to zip up over thick Tuffrider breeches. But even with thick breeches or jeans, the calf is really wide (my calf is about 13.5 inches). Am going to ask my local shoe repairman about altering the calf before I decide whether to return. Great boot if you have a wider calf! Love the red brown color.
    Date published: 2014-02-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing boots!! I got these boots as a Christmas present, but they were so popular that I didn't get my size until the middle of January. But they are well worth the wait!! They fit perfectly and are very comfortable, durable, and stylish. I love having a pair of boots that are tough enough to wear to the barn and sleek enough to wear to school. Thank you SmartPak, love these boots!!!
    Date published: 2014-02-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from love these boots! Bought them after reading all the reviews.Was surprised they fit so well.Roomy toes,and they fit over jeans!
    Date published: 2014-02-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice boots. Bought these boots on impulse during a one day sale in my regular size. THEN I read all the reviews about them running small. I figured I would be sending them back. Much to my surprise they fit me like custom boots. A little tight in the calf but I have large calves and they are not too tight. I wore them all day one day just to see andthey stayed comfortable all day! The leather is good looking and they are classylooking. I wish I could find a show boot that fit as well and were as comfortable.
    Date published: 2014-02-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Runs small! Order a size up! Bought size 10, too tight! Returned and went to size 11, still too tight for my liking in the heel. Just walking around the house could feel the burn in my heels...also, boot has extra waterproofing material at the ankle (just felt odd, to me). Was planning to use these for trail riding. Returned the size 11 , Smartpak has the greatest customer service, easy return process with full refund!!
    Date published: 2014-02-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Solstice Waterproof Leather Boot Both of my riding instructors were impressed with the boots!
    Date published: 2014-02-12
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Solstice leather boot Once again,great service from Smartpak. The boots were back ordered and when my size arrived,I needed another pair for comparison. Stayed with my usual size and very glad that I waited for them. Really nice leather and fit.
    Date published: 2014-02-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Boot! I originally ordered this boot in a size 9, but the toe box was small, I ended up switching to a 10 and happy I did. The boots are comfortable right off the bat, no need for a long break in period. I like the side zipper as opposed to the common back zipper. My feet have stayed dry in very slushy snow, so the waterproofing seems to hold up nicely. Thanks SmartPak!
    Date published: 2014-02-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Looking All Around Boot This was my second attempt at getting the correct fit, and it seems to have worked. These boots (Euro sizes) run small so I had to size up. The second pair was a much better fit, however, I will have to wear thicker socks. They are a good looking boot and I like that the zipper is on the outside for riding. They are nicer than some more expensive boots I have purchased.
    Date published: 2014-02-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for winter weather in warmer climates First, a warning on sizing: order your usual European size! The conversion on the size chart is wrong (at least for size 41 and 42) and if you follow it, you will get a boot one size too small.I got these boots for winter riding and around-the-barn activities in Northern California and they are great. As for durability and functionality, they have held up to almost daily use in mud, dry weather, and hosing in the wash rack. My feet have stayed cozy and dry. And the patina on the leather continues to look nice.As for fit and aesthetics, I’d characterize these as barn boots one can also ride in. They are on the clunky-looking side and the sole is very aggressive--good for traction, bad when you go to mount and there’s mud caked to the bottom of your boots that is hard to get off. They are also too big in foot and calf volume--I had to add an insole so my feet wouldn’t slosh around and even with my winter breeches and knee-high socks on, I can still fit a hand down into the calf when zipped up (without even stretching the multiple elastic gussets). I don’t notice they are so wide when I ride, it’s just an aesthetic issue and the perfect size gap for hay and the like to fall down the boots. To be fair, the sizing chart was pretty accurate re calf width, so this is just a plea to design these slimmer next time.
    Date published: 2014-02-04
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great winter boot for warmer climates I got these boots for winter riding and around-the-barn activities in Northern California and they are great. As for durability and functionality, they have held up to almost daily use in mud, dry weather, and hosing in the wash rack. My feet have stayed cozy and dry. And the patina on the leather continues to look nice.As for fit and aesthetics, I’d characterize these as barn boots one can also ride in. They are on the clunky-looking side and the sole is very aggressive--good for traction, bad when you go to mount and there’s mud caked to the bottom of your boots that is hard to get off. They are also too big in foot and calf volume--I had to add an insole so my feet wouldn’t slosh around and even with my winter breeches and knee-high socks on, I can still fit a hand down into the calf when zipped up (without even stretching the multiple elastic gussets). I don’t notice they are so wide when I ride, it’s just an aesthetic issue and the perfect size gap for hay and the like to fall down the boots. To be fair, the sizing chart was pretty accurate, so this is just a plea to design these slimmer next time.
    Date published: 2014-02-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I'm in Boot Love... These boots are FABulous. I just got them today and they fit perfectly and are even cuter in person. I normally wear a size 8.5 and I ordered a size 9. Very comfy already and the leather color is gorgeous. If they came in black I'd buy those too. Super fast shipment despite the current bad weather nationwide. Thank you, SmartPak!
    Date published: 2014-02-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love These Boots! Bought these so that I have a nice pair of waterproof boots for the barn and running errands after. I wore them for a full afternoon of walking around town and shopping in weather in the teens. Even tromped through the snow, and still had toasty feet, with medium weight socks. Looked great with skinny jeans, and clean up with a quick wipe. They look a little different than anything out there, which I love! I always wear a size 39, and that is what I ordered and they fit fine. A size larger would have been way too large, especially as they have a very generous toe box. Recommend!
    Date published: 2014-02-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loves these boots The quality of these boots is exactly what I was looking for. They fit very well too but the calf is a bit narrow. I have a 16" calf (years of ballet) and the boots are a bit snug but they will stretch and then fit perfectly. The toe section is pretty hard too just in case you get stepped on. They are true to size and very flattering. I'd feel comfortable wearing them to the barn or with an outfit,
    Date published: 2014-01-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exactly what I expected! I've had these boots for about a week. They were exactly as I expected straight out of the box; beautiful, durable but soft leather, easy on and off, smooth but strong zipper and perfect fit. The best part is my feet have stayed warm with temperatures in the teens! Thanks Smart Pak for your great service and demand for quality at a great price!
    Date published: 2014-01-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Boots EVER I bought these for a xmas present for myself and couldn't be happier. I have had so many compliments on them. They are very comfortable. The fit was small for me, so I returned and ordered a full size up. I am 5'6" and weigh 140 and have medium size calves and the fit up to my knee was perfect. I don't use them for riding though, because I don't want to get them all scuffed up, but they would be just fine for that.There is an inside zipper that glides up beautifully. I also am glad that they were offered in brown because I am sick of black boots.
    Date published: 2014-01-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lovely craftsmanship I really liked the boots, but they ran a bit small. Had to return them.
    Date published: 2014-01-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice leather, solid sole. Definitely order a size bigger. My first order had rubbing with the stitching on the left insole. I asked for an even exchange hoping it was 'that' boot. They were back-ordered over a month, but I just got the new pair and they are much better. Soft leather (easy to break in), nice fitting calves (over skinny jeans/breeches), sturdy sole. The ankles are a little stiff for walking, but perfect for heels down.
    Date published: 2014-01-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Boots I bought these boots a month ago, and wear them every time I go out.
    Date published: 2014-01-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Awesome Boot I'm so happy I decided to purchase a pair!! They're comfortable, warm, & stylish enough to run errands around town. I do recommend ordering 1 size up though, as they run a bit small. (Hence 4 star rating) I usually wear a 10/11, so I bought a 12 & they're perfect! 
    Date published: 2014-01-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Looking Looks to be exactly what I was looking for -- waterproof and attractive to wear in the saddle and on the ground, however, it was way to small so I have returned and I am waiting for the replacement size. I would strongly suggest sizing up which is hard because they are EURO sizes.
    Date published: 2014-01-10
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from SOLSTICE BOOTS CUTE BUT WRONG SIZES I BOUGHT THESE BOOTS AND REALLYW ANTED THEM TO WORK BUT THE SIZE WAS WAY OFF, FOR EXAMPLE , THEY RAN SMALL BY A FULL SIZE AND DID NOT HAVE THE 1/2 SIZE I NEDED SO I HAD TO SENT THEM BACK , OR KEEP BOOTS TO BIG OR TO SMALL BUMMER!
    Date published: 2014-01-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Daughter absolutely LOVES these boots!!! I bought these boots for my 17 year old picky daughter for Christmas and she absolutely loves them. She loves the style and look, they were comfortable from day one and she loves the contact they let her have with her horse. The leather is soft and pliable and the fit was great! She normally wears a 8.5 in Ariat boots and I bought her a 8 in these.
    Date published: 2014-01-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love these boots however they run very small. I generally wear a 8.5 wide ended up with an 11
    Date published: 2014-01-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wasn't expecting to love them as much as I do! I bought a few weeks ago during the 12 days of Christmas deals and really wasn't expecting to love them as much as I do -- I really just needed something to keep my feet warm and dry -- but OMG, I adore them!! (keep in mind, I am not a "shoe" person either, but these have won me over and are my go-to pair of late). Can't ride in them b/c they'll scratch my saddle, but have been wearing them just about everywhere else, running errands, shopping, etc. They clean up nicely and appear to be very well made. Contrary to prior reviews, my experience is that they run a little on the small side in the foot as I did have to exchange up a size. Two thumbs up if you are looking for a waterproof, warm pair of winter boots!
    Date published: 2014-01-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from perfect fit! They fit me good and feel great! I got them for Christmas and they break in nice!
    Date published: 2014-01-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Cute boot Nice boot. I read the other reviews and bought a size larger than I usually wear and that was a good idea. I wanted them for riding and without the reinforced calf area I did not think they would hold up for long enough. I ended up returning them. 
    Date published: 2014-01-02
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.