Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

SmartPak Ultimate Turnout Blanket

SmartPak
- Item #20621

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're sorry, but certain colors/sizes are sold out and are no longer available.
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Battle the elements this winter with the SmartPak Ultimate Turnout Blanket, our toughest waterproof blanket yet! With heavy-duty nylon, this blanket is great for a horse that is tough on blankets. We're so sure it will last for years to come that we've backed with a 10-Year Indestructible Guarantee. We've got you and your horse covered - no matter what! Imported.

10 Year Indestructible Guarantee- the fine print:
We are so confident in the toughness and durability of the SmartPak Ultimate Nylon Turnout Blanket, that if anything happens to this blanket within 10 years of your purchase, we’ll replace it—no matter what! It’s that easy. However, the guarantee does not cover blankets that have embroidery stitched on the barrel as it compromises the integrity of the blanket.  

Favorite Features

  • Heavy-duty nylon:  This special weave of nylon is ultra durable and resists rubs and tears.
  • 1000 denier nylon is ultra durable and the toughest blanket material available
  • Available in Light (no fill), Medium (220g)
  • Nylon outer is waterproof and breathable, so your horse stays dry and protected from the elements without feeling stifled underneath
  • Nylon lining
  • Two low-cross surcingles keep the blanket secure on your horse
  • Quick-clip front closures are easily adjustable and allow you to take your horse's blanket on and off effortlessly
  • Nylon/elastic leg straps allow freedom of movement and keep the blanket from shifting
  • Tail flap provides additional protection from the elements so your horse stays warm and dry

Sizing It Up

Available in sizes 69-87" (3" increments)

How to measure a horse

You Might Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    SmartPak Ultimate Turnout Blanket is rated 4.4309 out of 5 by 123.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this blanket Bought this for a stocky qh who has trouble finding a good blanket fit. The ultimate fits her all over and is attractive too.  Can't beat the 10 year guarantee either. Once again SmartPak did it! Another reason they're the best. 
    Date published: 2014-01-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bite the bullet and spend the money I have a big appendix gelding who is very hard on blankets. I have never had a blanket that he didn't rip or damage in some way, until this blanket. It is a really well made blanket. I thought the fit was true, it's attractive and in the long run will save money. Very happy with it and glad I spend the extra money for the quality.
    Date published: 2014-01-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from High Quality It looks very well made. Ran small in my opinion and I had to exchange it for a bigger size.
    Date published: 2014-01-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Substantial product Easy to put on. It fit the first time...And it stays on!
    Date published: 2014-01-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Fitting Blanket! I have a 16.2 Oldenburg mare, who tends to have blankets pull back toward her hind end and are tight at the neck and shoulder due to this tendency.  This blanket has tons of fitting options. This blanket does not pull back when properly fitted.  Love the fact that the shoulder gussets allow her freedom.  She is tough on her blankets, so I also love the 10 year warranty.  Remember to keep your receipt. 
    Date published: 2014-01-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fully Guaranteed This is the second one of these I've purchased for my herd and the only one I will purchase in the future. I love that if my wild ones can be as rowdy as they like and I can return the remnants for replacement... not that they are that bad. I like that it's a medium weight because that covers most weather conditions here in winter as I don't clip. My horses are outside 24/7.
    Date published: 2014-01-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Light and Medium different sizes I love this blanket. Has held up very well so far. I started out by ordering the light weight (sheet) in a size 72. I decided I wanted the medium weight as well and ordered the same size. However when I got the blanket in, it did not fit my horse. Very strange, but thanks to the ease of shopping with SmartPak, I shipped back the 72 and have a 75 on the way. 
    Date published: 2013-12-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice Blanket, Love Warranty! Nice looking blanket with a good fit. I bought two with my horses' names embroidered on them and was excited about a blanket with a 10 year warranty. Long story short I like the way the blankets look and fit but will have to send both back in when it warms up because within a few weeks both were already coming apart back on the tail flap area. Although I wish I didn't have to hassle with washing them and then shipping them back I'm very glad they are covered by the wonderful warranty! Also, I would suggest not embroidering on the left front corner as when the blanket is buckled, the embroidery is covered by the flap. Front right corner is nice and visible. :)
    Date published: 2013-12-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect fit I am pleased that we chose the Ultimate Turnout Blanket. Very well made.
    Date published: 2013-12-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is the best blanket for the money. If anything happens to it, you just send it in and SmartPak replaces it. We own a light and medium weight one now.
    Date published: 2013-12-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Nice Turnout! I purchased two of the Ultimate midweight turnouts (separate orders, for different horses) at the beginning of our wet season. So far I love the quality, the double snap front, the way the neck comes up high enough to keep the weather out. Not a mark on either blanket (so far!) Very easy to hose the dirt off the outer layer when my horses roll. You can watch the water bead and runs right off. Looking forward to having turnouts that last. Certainly can't beat the 10 year warranty!! Sizing is very similar to the Big D European cut turnout line, which do run slightly larger than some other brands (like Weatherbeeta or Schneiders) but since I was used to that sizing, the fit on both horses is perfect!
    Date published: 2013-12-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Looks great! True to size and looks great I haven't had it very long but it seems to hold up pretty well. The detailed piping looks really nice also. I love that it comes with a ten-year guarantee
    Date published: 2013-12-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from It FITS! Can't testify to durability yet as I have had the blanket just a few days and so far it is too cold here in Michigan to try it out (I bought the light weight one to use as a rain sheet and so far it has snowed every day). But I am THRILLED to find something to fit the Shetland pony. I do agree with others that the sizing is a bit difficult as he measures a 60, but needed a 57. SP was great about shipping the new size when the order was wrong and the new sheet is a great fit. Much of what I have tried before were too long for a short legged pony. Once I see how this wears I will order for the big horses.
    Date published: 2013-12-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Blanket I bought this blanket a few months ago, it is very tough and fits great. I just bought another one for one of my other horses, and will probably replace all the blankets in my barn with this one!
    Date published: 2013-12-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fabulous Blanket I loved this blanket, and I especially loved the warranty on it (since I was purchasing a new blanket after a thorough shredding of an Amigo).  Unfortunately, it was too narrow in the shoulders for my chunk of a Quarter Horse.  I think it would be perfectly fine for the average horse - this one is quite broad-shouldered and has been difficult to fit into a blanket.  He is currently in a Rambo, which is just barely wide enough to not rub.  If this comes out in the QH version, I will buy in a heartbeat - it's a beautiful blanket, looks very well made, and has the best warranty I've seen.  I was disappointed to have to return it, but as usual SmartPak handled the return so well.  
    Date published: 2014-01-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful, lovely fit I enjoy this blanket, and so does my horse. I've had another horse rip up 5 of my gelding's blankets so I bought this one, and so far, so good. I'm hoping this will stay nice for years to come. 
    Date published: 2013-12-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Turnout I've Come Across My friend recommended this blanket to me - my 16.2 OTTB gets pushed around by the Morgans and ponies in his pasture pretty hard! I have the lite fill and it's warm enough for most NorCal evenings even with a body clip. Not only does the sheet stay on and fit great, it protects him from heavy abuse! There are no tears yet, even when I see damage from a kick underneath. He has been nice and dry under heavy rain also. (The little ones keep him out of the shelter most of the time.) Love, love, love this sheet - will be getting the neck rug and the medium fill when I save up more money! ;) It's the SPUT for all my pasture horses from here on out!and the 10 year warranty is UNHEARD of. Convinced my non-horsey fiancee that the price was definitely worth it!
    Date published: 2013-12-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Thank goodness for the guarantee. In about a weeks time, I had two small tears(one in the lining and one in the ripstop) and one of the leg strap buckles had broken.  I think the fit is pretty much right on for my growing 3yo QH gelding.  I bought a size up for him to grow into so it has a little room, but never seems to shift and he likes to play and roll.  It's an attractive blanket and with the neck cover it makes a great set.  I'm happy for Smartpak's great service and the warranty on this blanket because the exchange was simple and the new blanket has arrived. 
    Date published: 2013-12-08
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Love SmartPaks Guarentee BUT They Didn't Hold Up.. I purchased this blanket for two of my horses over last year's winter (2012), even had them customized. They looked great! However, they did not last at all. I had my paint go through 5 of these blankets in ONE season! I also purchased for a Clydesdale and we went through 3 in one season for him. SmartPak was WONDERFUL and I cannot recommend this company enough for their customer service but they finally refused to honor the guarantee on this blanket with these horses. They pushed me towards Rambo's and I actually have had MUCH more success with the Rambo's. The other thing that I didn't like about this blanket was the piping, although attractive, comes off in less than a weeks time! The leg straps stretch out too, make sure to get an extra back up pair. If you have a horse that isn't hard on a blanket or is not in a pasture/turnout with another horse that bites your horses blanket... I would say go for it! Otherwise, go with a Rambo!
    Date published: 2013-12-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic blanket for an affordable price! I bought several of these blankets a month ago and they fit great and seem incredibly durable!! You can't go wrong with the 10 year warranty either! Fantastic blanket, especially for the price!
    Date published: 2013-12-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Fit I bought this blanket last year and it held up great to the rain, my horse lives outside 24/7 and was never wet in WA rainy weather. The durability is mid-range, but given that SP will replace it is worth the investment. I have had to replace mine twice,  with no hassles. In the blankets defense, my horse lives outside with 10 other horses that run and play rough.  
    Date published: 2013-12-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent value for the $$. This blanket is well made and very durable. So far so good! A wee bit narrow in the chest for my warmblood mare, but not rubbing!! High quality hardware and materials!
    Date published: 2013-12-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from size if off but otherwise well woth the price!!!!! I have a young stallion who is tough on his blanket; along with his pastures buddy's blanket as well. Normally he has torn his blanket in a day but he has been wearing the SPUT for a week now and no tears, on top of that these blankets fit perfectly, no rubs! I'm very impressed with the quality, having gone through many brands in my 15 years of owning horses, and a 10 year grantee is just un heard of and totally worth the price. My only issue is that the sizes are off by one size in the "horse" and two sizes in the "pony". My gelding normally wares a 72' in Weatherbeeta but he's a 69' SPUT. And my stallion is a 66' horse in the SmartBlue, but a 60' SPUT pony size. The great thing is that SP has such a great return policy that it was no problem to send them back for the correct sizes. THANKS GUYS! Next on my list is the neck rug.
    Date published: 2013-12-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Holding up to my blanket eater So far this blanket is holding up to my geldings pasture mate and buddies playfulness.  The 81" fits my 17h thoroughbred perfectly. No rubs yet and he's been wearing it everyday for almost a month now. 
    Date published: 2013-12-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it Fits my Dutch Warmblood perfect! Love the weight of the blanket. Great buy for the quaility   
    Date published: 2013-12-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A perfect fit I have a horse with really high withers and this blanket fits her perfectly and keeps her very warm!!
    Date published: 2013-12-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excited about the guarantee! Haven't had it very long so can't testify for durability yet but is a nice looking blanket and I like the way it fits my horse. Love the front snaps and very excited about having the SmartPak guarantee for the next 10 years! Only wish I had had my embroidery done in another spot...did the left front corner, which is covered up when blanket is snapped into place. Right front corner would be visible so wish I had picked that option but I am quite happy with the blanket itself so far. :)
    Date published: 2013-12-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Price, Quality, and Style! Great Blanket! I bought the medium weight Ultimate Turnout last year for my newly retired OTTB :) He looks a lot like the handsome model in it :) This blanket has it all! It is super durable and well-made.  The material always looks clean, even if it's not.  It has a very classic style, clean lines, not garish.  The blue piping with the gray trim is a perfect combination with the black.  I haven't had any issues with it rubbing or bunching up.  No tears, snags, or ripped stitching.  And the 10-year indestructible guarantee is well beyond what any other company is offering (that I have found anyway)!  I just recently ordered the same blanket for our new horse in the medium and ordered my OTTB a Lite weight turnout :D I really love this blanket.  Now we have three!  I would definitely recommend this turnout!  (on a side note:  I think there needs to be a level between expert and intermediate....that is where I feel I am...lol) 
    Date published: 2013-12-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just as advertised After doing lots of research online, I decided this was the blanket best suited for our guy. It arrived in just a few days, and is "just as advertised". The quality, size, and fit are all top notch, and I have to say the warranty is better than any others I looked at. Time will tell on the wear and tear aspect, but I expect great things from it. Price is comparable to others. It's not the cheapest, but you get what you pay for and quality is important to me.
    Date published: 2013-12-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great sheet and SmartPak honours their warranty! Bought this sheet last year because I was going through two sheets a season on my horse who was his pasturemate's chew toy. I finally threw my hands up and decided to give this one a try, which was more expensive than what I usually buy, but hey, 10-year warranty! The first one got a hole bitten in it in about a month (the only reason it got 4 stars), but I called SmartPak. They said wash it the best you can and ship it back and my new one was on it's way! Horses have since been separated, but the sheet is well-designed and fits my big 81" OTTB well. I don't love the mesh lining, but I don't think the horse cares and it sounds like maybe the new ones are all nylon? It is nylon lined on the shoulders, so no rubs and does not shift. It's even attractive!
    Date published: 2013-11-17
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.