Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

SmartPak Ultimate Turnout Blanket

SmartPak
- Item #20621
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Battle the elements this winter with the SmartPak Ultimate Turnout Blanket, our toughest waterproof blanket yet! With heavy-duty nylon, this blanket is great for a horse that is tough on blankets. We're so sure it will last for years to come that we've backed with a 10-Year Indestructible Guarantee. We've got you and your horse covered - no matter what! Imported.

10 Year Indestructible Guarantee- the fine print:
We are so confident in the toughness and durability of the SmartPak Ultimate Nylon Turnout Blanket, that if anything happens to this blanket within 10 years of your purchase, we’ll replace or refund it—no matter what! It’s that easy. However, the guarantee does not cover blankets that have embroidery stitched on the barrel as it compromises the integrity of the blanket.  

Favorite Features

  • Heavy-duty nylon:  This special weave of nylon is ultra durable and resists rubs and tears.
  • 1000 denier nylon is ultra durable and the toughest blanket material available
  • Available in Light (no fill), Medium (220g)
  • Nylon outer is waterproof and breathable, so your horse stays dry and protected from the elements without feeling stifled underneath
  • Nylon lining
  • Two low-cross surcingles keep the blanket secure on your horse
  • Quick-clip front closures are easily adjustable and allow you to take your horse's blanket on and off effortlessly
  • Nylon/elastic leg straps allow freedom of movement and keep the blanket from shifting
  • Tail flap provides additional protection from the elements so your horse stays warm and dry

Matching SmartPak Ultimate Neck Rug also available.

Sizing It Up

Available in sizes 69-87" (3" increments)

How to measure a horse

Please note: We recommend placing embroidery on a surcingle. Embroidery on the body of the blanket may interfere with the blanket's waterproof

You Might Like
    out of 5
    92% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SmartPak Ultimate Turnout Blanket is rated 4.6026 out of 5 by 234.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Loose fit, but great quality I bought this blanket about a month ago for one of my horses who lives next door to "Jaws". His neighbor eats holes in his blankets over their paddock fences, so we decided to try this one and the outstanding guarantee. I purchased it when Smartpak was offering a 20% off sale prior to Christmas, so the price was outstanding. He's been wearing it for a few weeks now, and so far it still looks perfect. The fit is large and loose. From the reviews, I ordered down one size, and could have gone down another if I wanted it to fit a little snugger. Mathis blanket is for a 17 hand + American Saddlebred with very high withers and a very upright neck. The blanket fits him well through the neck and shoulders. It's nice and snug in the neck, which is often a problem with turnout blankets for our horses. The rest of the body is not fitted, more like you just threw a blanket over the top of him. I'm used to our fitted stable blankets that are made specifically for asb's, Morgan's, Arabians, etc. however, the blanket is staying in place with the leg straps, so the fit doesn't seem to be an issue for him. My one big complaint is that the tail flap is not removable. For our horses that wear tail sets, it looks really weird to have the tail flap going over it. Normally I would have just cut it off, but I was afraid it would void the warranty on the blanket, so I have to deal with it. If the tail flap removed with velcro, I would have given the blanket five stars instead of four. If this blanket continues to hold up, I will probably replace all of my horses blankets with these in time.
    Date published: 2014-12-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Looks good, fits good! Absolutely perfect. Looks good on my paint and doesn't even get dirty
    Date published: 2014-12-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product! This blanket is great! My QH is built narrow and this blanket fits him really nice. All of his old blankets would shift side-to-side. This one doesn't budge. Also, it appears well made and durable. I love the waterproof feature. Thanks SmartPak for making a great product and for sticking a 10 yr warrenty on it. I look forward to purchasing another for my other QH. Oh, and SmartPak is great...I ordered the wrong size...I shipped it back ..and boom...7 days later I had the correct size. no questions, no hassles.
    Date published: 2014-12-30
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from great fit I have a growing 3 year old and I have struggled to find a good fitting blanket. This blanket fits PERFECTLY. It also is holding up very well against all the gelding playing. Not even a sign of a bite mark, and trust me they play hard. The only reason I don't give this 5 stars as I am still not 100% sure it is 100% waterproof. The few times it has rained this winter there seemed to be some moistness between this sheet and stable blanket. Not wet, just a damp feeling.
    Date published: 2014-12-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great quality!!! I bought this about a month ago for my one horse who likes to DESTROY blankets and so far (other than being kinda dirty) it's still in one piece! The quality is great! I would definitely recommend it to a friend! :)
    Date published: 2014-12-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Blanket I bought this blanket about a month ago and it fits and looks great on my horse. Still looks brand new, and seems to be well worth the money.
    Date published: 2014-12-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great value and looks great! I bought this blanket about a month and a half ago and had to return it for a size down. I have a 17.1 Dutch warm blood and the 81 fits him perfectly! He is quite mouthy so I'm excited for the 10 year warranty. This blanket is exactly what I need and it looks great!
    Date published: 2014-12-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great blanket!! I have 2 of these blankets with neck covers and they are awesome!! Both of my boys are VERY VERY rough on their blankies, and thus far, I haven't had any tears or straps coming off!! They do at times manage to undo the velcro on the neck covers, but no tears! I am anxious to see how they hold up over the years and how well the waterproofing works after a few washes! But these are very reasonably priced nice blankets!! I find they fit pretty true to size, I have an 81 and 84, which is what my boys usually wear and they fit well!! And of course I'm not worried if something happens with Smartpaks awesome customer service!
    Date published: 2014-12-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very durable blanket! Only one little flaw... I bought this blanket about a month ago for my horse who seemed to be able to destroy any blanket you put on him! He would rip everything and last year went through about 6 blankets/sheets (blankets are not cheap!!!) BUT THIS BLANKET HOLDS UP!!! I was a little skeptical at first but after buying this blanket I am VERY happy! The only little thing that I would complain about is that the inside is not as durable... My horse was able to pull the front down and tear the inside. The blanket fits perfectly and holds up everywhere else so it is not that big of a deal! I also ordered the SmartPak Stable Sheet in Black with Grey and found that it looks really nice with the blanket! Absolutely LOVE the quality and appearance of BOTH products and will order from SmartPak again!
    Date published: 2014-12-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from smartpak ultimate turnout blanket I have had quarter horses more than 40 years and have to say this is the best blanket I have ever purchased.. the fit is excellent and the ease of putting them on and off is great. will purchase more in the future. and the warranty is exceptional
    Date published: 2014-12-23
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from fits great and wears well I have some tough horses and it is holding up well
    Date published: 2014-12-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So far, so good!! My young mare ripped through 4 sheets last winter so this year, I thought I'm tried the 10 year guarantee.Fits great, true to size. All strap, buckles, etc seem good. She has only worn a few times, but so far it's intact.
    Date published: 2014-12-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from SmartPak Ultimate Turnout Medium Weight Horse Friends...this is the elegant answer we have been seeking for a long time. The gussets are high so no more shoulder rub. The weight is perfect. AND it is indestructible. Sky has been wearing his quite often in the last 3 weeks and it still looks brand new! I'm getting another one to replace the patched one Spright wears. THANK YOU SMARTPAK
    Date published: 2014-12-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really happy with this blanket. Love this blanket. I do wish it was 1200 denier but 1000 seems to be fine. My horse is a big guy and hard on his blankets so far we are very pleased with our purchase. The guarantee and sale price sealed the deal.
    Date published: 2014-12-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from best sheet ever!! I have 2 horses that are boarded with about 15 others. Blankets do NOT last with this gang! I was skeptical that a blanket could make it past the first week! But a month later both are still perfect! These blankets are worth every penny! Plus it's nice knowing that they are backed by smartpak 10 year warranty!
    Date published: 2014-12-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great fit I purchased two blankets several weeks ago. They fit my hefty quarter horses very well. I love the lighter weight of the blankets for ease of taking them on and off. The only thing I would change is the front fasteners. They don't really make them any easier and previous blankets with this type of clip has shown them to break quickky. But maybe I'll have better luck with these.
    Date published: 2014-12-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from glad i bought this My horse does not have a full winter coat and she gets cold. She will stand still and let me put it on her willingly. We have some very cold weather here and she loves it. Thanks.
    Date published: 2014-12-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality blanket! I bought this blanket about a month ago, but so far it has held up fantastic! While I can't attest much to the durability yet (although the fabric seems very heavy-duty), I will say that I was very impressed with the fit of the blanket! I got two, and the same blanket size fits both my high-necked warmblood gelding and my paint mare great! Another great buy from smartpak.
    Date published: 2014-12-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best blanket for fit, quality and value. My horse needed a waterproof blanket. I found this one to be a great value, fit and very well constructed. The 10 year guarantee makes it more incredible. The help from the staff was priceless.
    Date published: 2014-12-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing blanket!!! I've had this for just over a month! I love it and so does my horse!
    Date published: 2014-12-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this blanket- fits great! Our horse is turned out 24 hrs/day with a large group of geldings and has had his previous blankets shredded by them. I am happy to say that he is wearing the blanket and it fits great. We have endured two straight days of December rain here in Wisconsin and I found him perfectly dry under the blanket! The ten year warranty is what hooked me but the quality of this blanket is outstanding! Thank you SmartPak for making such a terrific product! The tough outer fabric is holding up well against the biting geldings and the leg straps are extra thick and durable! Love the clipping front closure.
    Date published: 2014-12-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from best blanket ever usually buy a new blanket every couple of years but this blanket looks like it will be the last I buy for a long, long time. Looks indestructible!
    Date published: 2014-12-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So far so good! It's waterproof, fits well and has a guarantee that I've yet to use.
    Date published: 2014-12-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great quality! I have gotten tired of replacing blankets and sheets every few years. Usually you can't wash a blanket very much before it loses its waterproof abilities. I plan to put the ten year guarantee to the test. But the minute it went on my mare I could see the quality and excellent fit I have not received from other blankets in the same price range. This blanket is the best value per dollar as she wears it now so the guarantee is just an added value to an already excellent blanket.
    Date published: 2014-12-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best blanket on the market! This blanket is absolutely amazing. The fit is excellent and the way this blanket is designed, you can tell it will last! Would not buy any other blanket!!!
    Date published: 2014-12-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from happy horses! Just bought a new ultimate turnout blanket for both horses last month. They fit well and allow free movement which is especially appreciated by the three-year-old!
    Date published: 2014-12-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice quality and super guarantee! I bought this and was pleased when I opened it up and put this on my Thoroughbred, leg straps were missing but SmartPak quickly sent me replacements showing me that their customer service will be there when or if I need them. The quality is really nice and I'm more concern with quality than colors so this is fine.
    Date published: 2014-12-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great blanket, even better customer service I got this blanket in the light fill, which is more of a sheet rather than a blanket. I decided to exchange it for the medium fill, and it was such an easy process. The blanket looks great. I love the front clips in addition to the adjustable strap. Also I'm super happy with the guarantee since my horse is a rascal.They do run large though, so make sure to get a size (or two) down from what your horse normally wears.
    Date published: 2014-12-04
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from SmartPak Blankets I recently purchased two Smartpak blankets. Never again! The turnout sheet after one day of rain was totally soaked, including my horse. The second blanket is a Smartpak mid weight ( both blankets brand new ) and after a rain my horse was wet and the inside of the blanket was damp. I have spoken with several people that have recently had or known of similar experiences.
    Date published: 2014-12-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Durable I absolutely love this blanket! Very durable and tough. Exactly how I would expect/ want in a turnout. I also love that you can customize it!
    Date published: 2014-12-02
    • 2015-03-04T08:29CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.1
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_9, tr_225
    • loc_en_US, sid_10621, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    In Loving Memory
    You were a loving and patient partner. From our early days learning dressage together, to your "retirement" years of tearing around the field and stirring up all the youngsters, you always brought your kindness, your heart, and your spirit. Thank you for everything, Wes. You are missed.

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.