Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Back on Track Western Pad

Back on Track
- Item #20171
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer. That means this item isn't eligible for additional discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Give your cold-backed horse (or any horse, for that matter) the edge with Back on Track's western pad. Top riders worldwide have found that using this thin pad under their regular pad greatly improves their horse's performance.

Favorite Features

  • Made of polypropylene combined with Back on Track's state-of-the-art Weltex fabric, which is infused with ceramic powder to reflect your horse’s natural body warmth, creating a soothing infrared thermal heat
  • Speeds up warm-up time
  • Provides relief for tired muscles by increasing blood flow
  • Great for training or competing

Imported.

Sizing It Up

29" spine
16" drop

You Might Like
    out of 5
    94% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Back on Track Western Pad is rated 4.5714 out of 5 by 35.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product! I think these products really work ! Really well built
    Date published: 2014-10-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from too long for short backed Arabs Wanted to try this as my gelding has had a sore shoulder and trouble taking his right lead. Unfortunately, the pad only comes in one size and was way too long for him. Wish I could have used it on him - I use the back on track shirts and they do make a difference for humans. Pad was nicely made, good quality. Most likely a good product for average to larger horses, (QH, TB)
    Date published: 2014-10-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Pad I'm in love with this pad. My horse's back sweat is even and it does not move under my saddle pad. It's much easier to take this pad and clean it than to clean my whole pad. I've used it about a month now and have found no faults to it. I love BOT products and was glad to add this one to them.
    Date published: 2014-09-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very satisfied! Ive been using this pad for about a month now and love it! I was hesitant about switching from a thick felt pad to such a thin pad but the therapeutic effects have greatly helped my horse with her lower back soreness!!
    Date published: 2014-09-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works great! I bought this blanket over a month ago, wasn't sure about it but thought I would give it a try!! I love it, my horse was always stiff and with the blanket it really loosens his muscles up!! So happy I got it!!
    Date published: 2014-08-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I received this under pad about 2 weeks ago. I am extremely happy I bought it. A friend loaned me one and i I wanted one right away. My horses run barrels and work hard. The back on track pad gives them some back therapy every time I ride. I feel they are more comfortable working while wearing it. Very happy I made the purchase. Plus I received free back on track wraps with my pad, that was an extra bonus as I use them regularly as well.
    Date published: 2014-08-12
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works Great My horse tends to get body sore, but after a week of using this pad, it has been noticeably better. I ride mostly in an English saddle and bought this pad to cover the length along his back, rather than the standard English pad.
    Date published: 2014-08-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great pad! Bought this for my reining horse who doesn't have issues but thought it wouldnt hurt to give him some soothing comfort and keep him happy and supple. He seems to enjoy it i put it on before wrapping his legs and he starts licking and lowering his head.
    Date published: 2014-08-11
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Pad doesn't stay in place I was very excited to get this BoT pad. I placed my order when they were giving a set of leg wraps with the pad - I didn't get the wraps and no one was able to explain why except "BoT only sent so many." I placed the order the day I received my email with the offer from SmartPak . OK...very disappointed in SmartPak but that is the first time they have ever let me down. I kept the pad. It does what it's supposed to do - it nicely warmed my 17 yr old's back and she appeared very comfortable ---while the pad was in place. It's not thick enough to use without another western pad and it definitely did not stay where it was supposed to. After about 10 minutes of light work I finally removed the pad. Plan B: I tried the pad under my English saddle where it stayed somewhat better. I thought about using a no slip pad under this pad but wouldn't that defeat the purpose? Knowing what I know now, would I buy this pad? Probably not for Western but maybe for English.
    Date published: 2014-08-11
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from I purchased two of the Back On Track Western Pads to use as awards at a recent horse show. The recipients were very interested to try this product. It was a reined cow horse event and these horses do get sore backs from the twisting and hard stops they do while working a cow. Anything we can do to make them more comfortable is worth trying. I had heard excellent reviews of some other Back on Track Products and decided to try these pads.
    Date published: 2014-07-25
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Bought this rode in it a few times and I returned it because it slides around under my pad
    Date published: 2014-07-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this pad! I purchased this pad for my husbands rope horse that has a sensitive back. I love how thin and SOFT it is. The shape of the pad is just perfect, I love that it has a shaped spine so as not to add extra wither pressure. An added benefit is its a great pad liner and is super easy to wash. It certainly helps him not get stiff and back sore the day after the ropings. It keeps him loose and warm. I was usure at first about adding extra "heat" as I live in already warm climate but as other reviewers have said it really does have a deep soothing warmth, not the "sweat pouring down the sides" kind of heat. Now I just need to get another one for MY horse!
    Date published: 2014-04-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Pad I purchased this pad for my 24yr old who doesn't really have any back issues but in the winter months needs just a bit extra time to warm up. This pad was just enough to warm his back up while I groomed and tacked up so when I got on he was ready to go! As just a side note be warned the underside of this pad is like felt and if your horse is going through shedding season this pad is a hair magnet.
    Date published: 2014-04-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Does what it says! We barrel race and I have friends who use and love Back on Track products. I have used magnets in the past but was willing to try this type of therapy saddle pad as a liner under my regular pad. It is thin enough and gives big benefits. The pad does everything is says it does. I am very very happy I purchased this back on track pad.
    Date published: 2014-01-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very pleased with this pad on my TN Walker It sets really well under my regular pad and endurance saddle. I've noticed a big difference within the first few rides and so has Ranger. He is 16.1hh and about 1300lbs. He will throw a fit if it's not on him for riding. I just recently took him to Land Between the Lakes in KY and this pad was very durable in the woods just as it is in the arena. I just started using this pad on my Rocky Mtn horse whom is always spooky and nervous and put it on my Spotted Saddle Horse which we are just now starting under saddle. It fit all 3 horses fine.
    Date published: 2013-12-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from It really makes a difference I was very skeptical of this pad when I first purchased it. From the moment that I pulled it out of the packaging though it has not stopped amazing me. It is thin like a normal quilted english pad and fits perfectly beneath my western pad. I put it on my horse the moment that I am done grooming his back and let it sit on him while I finish grooming the rest of him. There is a obvious difference in heat from his shoulder to under the pad. It is mid summer where we are and I was really worried that he would be sweaty before we even began riding but he was fine. The heat beneath the pad was very soothing. I have really noticed a difference after the ride and the next day. He no longer is stiff when we start riding and stays loose after the ride. I find that there is no swelling around an old injury that would normally swell the next day.I have used this pad beneath my english saddle and it reaches far enough back that it provides soothing heat everywhere that I want. I have felt the difference in his stride and his ability to bend. His muscles are definitely not as tense as they were.I have washed it now and it did tend to hold on to the hair but it came out looking very nice. The back did not fade. It dried in the same shape that it was in when I put it in the washer. So as far as quality is concerned the fabric seems very durable and held up to washing with a very mild detergent. I followed the directions that were sent with the pad, just be sure never to dry it. I plan on purchasing several of the other back on track products for the future.This pad was well worth it.
    Date published: 2013-07-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Being kind to me horse. Feel like I'm doing right by my horse when I ride him with this pad. Well worth the money.
    Date published: 2013-03-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Back on Track Western Pad The countour shape fits the horse's back nicely.After 30+ minutes of training the horse had broke a sweat but was dry where the back on track pad was. My horse never showed signs of soreness afterwards and seemed more content.Easy to clean.
    Date published: 2013-03-25
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Jury is still out. I acquired a very cold-backed and cinchy mare. We take approximately 20 minutes to saddle and she still feels obligated to try and bite or to buck after she is saddled. I have used this pad 3x now and she has not bucked once saddled and moving which is a great improvement. It is thin and easily fits beneath her regular pad. I have some concern that during the hot and humid summer her back may overheat but time will tell on that - I usually use 100% wool blankets/pads.
    Date published: 2013-03-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this pad! Feel like I am giving back to my horse when I ride him in this pad. It helps warm up all his back muscles. For all he has done for me I deserve to do something for him. Money well spent.
    Date published: 2013-03-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Back on Track pad has my mare on track I purchased this pad for my 15 year old cutting mare that was usually stiff in the back, tense making transitions, and sometimes tender when she was in heat. Well, I now saddle her with my back on track pad under her usual gel impact pad, let her stand about 15 minutes, and then warm her up. Her warmup has gone from "gee, mare, are you 15 or 3?" to "that's a GOOD girl!" I highly recommend the Back on Track Western pad for anyone who's horse may be touchy to warm up...it has made my nice mare even better!
    Date published: 2013-02-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Like the BOT products - hope the pad works My horse is rehabing from some back issues. I ordered this pad to see if it helps him warm up faster and stay more comfortable during his work. It is too soon to tell.
    Date published: 2012-07-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from my horse and i love this!!! I use this under my work/show pads its thin like an english saddle pad so its thin enough to put undear a western pad. It has really helped my cold back/girthy mare. she no longer dances/backs while being cinched and she no longer trys to trot off before i get my butt in the saddle. she still is not a huge fan of the girth but at least she stands still these days. i do a brush off of her back than put this pad on while i finish grooming and tacking up so that it can get an extra few min of warm up time before i get on. what i also love is by using it as a liner my work pads stay a heck of a lot cleaner and this liner is much much easier to wash than a western work pad. i just put it in the washer in cold water low spin and a gentle soap like woolite than air dry...comes out like new. i love love love back on track products and i LOVE smartpak for carrying them :)
    Date published: 2012-05-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very helpful This pad has made a huge difference in my gelding. He's always cold backed and sore. Since I started using this he's like a different horse
    Date published: 2012-04-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Product I was really happy Back on Track made a saddle pad which was longer, front to back. Even though this says 'western' pad I use it under my close contact jumping saddle. I like the fact that it reaches back to horse's loin area, where she needs the warmth. I also have the BOT sheet for after riding which is fantastic. Pad could be a little thicker and does lack any girth stays (probably 'cause it's a western pad)
    Date published: 2012-03-22
    • 2015-03-06T07:45CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.1
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_33
    • loc_en_US, sid_10171, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    In Loving Memory
    You were a loving and patient partner. From our early days learning dressage together, to your "retirement" years of tearing around the field and stirring up all the youngsters, you always brought your kindness, your heart, and your spirit. Thank you for everything, Wes. You are missed.

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.