Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Oster Mane & Tail Brush

Oster
- Item #18857
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

 

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Say goodbye to broken or pulled hair with the gentle Oster Mane & Tail Brush! This mane and tail brush uses gentle bristles that effectively brush through hair to remove knots with extra care.

Favorite Features

  • Comfort handle and round brush head for grooming ease
  • Doesn't break or pull out hair

You Might Like
    out of 5
    93% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Oster Mane & Tail Brush is rated 4.675 out of 5 by 80.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! This brush works great! My sensitive horse even likes me to use it as a curry as well!
    Date published: 2014-07-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Oster was suggested to me as a great mane and tail brush for my horse. I had been using an old brush of my own that had the balled tips of it and it worked too, but this Oster is great. It is very comfortable n my hand, teeth a far enough apart that they slip through the horse's mane and tail easily. The brush is very comfortable in my hand too.
    Date published: 2014-06-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from FABULOUS PRODUCT I have had this brush for a while, and none of the bristles have fallen out, gets right through the knots. VERY HAPPY I BOUGHT THIS PRODUCT
    Date published: 2014-06-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best mane and. Tail brush I. Have trouble with my hands, this grip is comfortable for effective brushing
    Date published: 2014-04-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect I have always had good luck with oster products, and this is no exception. It's very sturdy, durable, and easy to clean. It works very well and my horse loves getting his mane brushed with it.
    Date published: 2014-01-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great brush! This brush works great for manes and tails and I've found it to be pretty durable. One of the main reasons I love it, though, is it does double duty as an excellent scratching device that saves my hands and fingers from exhaustion and filth. I use it a lot to win over the suspicious horses that come through where I work, and I also use it to introduce our weanlings and yearlings to currying because they take to it more readily then a regular curry at first.
    Date published: 2013-08-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best brush ever I love love this mane/tail brush, it is super durable and has held up great to countless brushings of my horses tick mane and thick and long tail. Plus it is super comfortable in my hand.
    Date published: 2013-08-19
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Awkward Shape and too Expensive I find that this brush is an awkward shape, so when I used it for the mane and tail, I had to go over the same areas multiple times. It is not a very practical design. I have not used it for that long, so I can't say anything about durability. I feel that the price of this brush is way too much.
    Date published: 2013-08-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Brush This went through my horse's tail in no time. He totally doesn't mind having his tail brushed now and it pulls little to no hair out!
    Date published: 2013-07-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Oster Brush I love this brush, mostly for it's durability. I got tired of sticking my fingers with the pin needle dog brushes and getting no where with human hair brushes and bought my first Oster about 8 years ago. Didn't buy my second one until last month when I realized the bristles were worn down! BTW, I have 3 horses and groom often.
    Date published: 2013-07-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Brush This brush has worked really well. I've gone through a lot of brushes, so it's nice to finally find one that's durable!
    Date published: 2013-06-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best mane and tail brush ever! I have Morgans with unpulled manes that can get very unruly. I have used MANY mane and tail brushes over the years and am so pleased with this one. I have only been using it for a month on my 4 Morgans and it is holding up great!!
    Date published: 2013-05-06
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Stick to the Basics! I used this brush a few times before, and it isn't anything special. The circular design is hard to brush with. You miss sections in manes, it's rough in tails, and I just didn't like it. I like the regular square brushes or brushes for my own hair. Not a fancy mane brush.
    Date published: 2013-04-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Brush This is an amazing brush. I love how durable it is. It works great on his mane and tail.
    Date published: 2013-03-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works better than it looks! I love this mane and tail brush! Yes, I know, it looks like quite a few others on the market and they all cost less, but this one works better. I don't know why, it just does. In my search for the perfect tangled tail detangler, I tried quite a few others - even some innovative looking designs, but this one wins. It not only works faster and better with less pulling, but it's very comfortable to hold. I would give it all 5 stars except I think it's a bit expensive, but really, for the durability, it's worth it. It does not pull the hair like most others (even some that look the same) and it easily handles those dirt-filled ringlets my mare gets when her tail hasn't been groomed in awhile. I think this is the best mane and tail brush out there.
    Date published: 2013-03-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Mane and tail brush I don't buy these items often, because old fashioned mane combs do just fine, except when you've got thistles, mud, and unruly hairs! I did not know what to expect with this brush but it has done just fine so far. Does not pull hairs out and is gentle on the tail. My horse tolerates it well and the results are good.
    Date published: 2013-03-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from best brush Works wonderfully on long winter coats along with doing manes & tails.
    Date published: 2013-03-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from This brush has really hard plastic prongs/bristles that are good for getting out dreadlocks or tangles from horses with super thick manes or tails. Unfortunately it does tend to pull out a lot more hair with it than a "ball tip" brush, so you have to be careful. Using a detangler on the tail first helps to reduce the amount of hair that gets pulled out. Still a fairly good product though.
    Date published: 2013-02-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best mane/tail comb around I already had one of these and absolutely love it! I like to keep separate grooming tools for each horse and the price here was better than I could get it locally. Both my horses have long manes, and the draft X is very coarse and thick. This comb goes thru without pulling any hairs out, for the most part, so his mane stays long and full. Same for the tail. The Arab has a thinner mane, also prone to tangles, and this works without the use of spray detanglers. Love it. Highly recommend.
    Date published: 2013-02-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Tail Brush Really gets into deep tails without pulling them out. I usually use a detangler first. Durable, easy to hold. Bristles are really hard, so just be careful to not pick yourself.
    Date published: 2013-02-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from BEST BUY OF THE YEAR This is the best product I have purchased in ages. Wish I had done it when it first came out. Untangles manes without yanking the hair out. Easy to clean and comfy for my hand. A+++
    Date published: 2013-01-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Mane and tail brush This is a great brush. My horses all have long tails and it brushes thru them easily and without breaking hairs or pulling them out.
    Date published: 2012-12-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Oster knows their stuff! Have always been happy w Oster products, works great!
    Date published: 2012-12-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from perfect brush Easy to use and doesn't pull out their tail and mane. It gets through tangles so easily without breaking the hair. Well worth the price.
    Date published: 2012-12-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this brush I have been using it for over a year. Good grip. I particularly like it because it doesn't break the hair as other brushes can do.
    Date published: 2012-11-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from oster mane and tail brush I find that this brush works the best out of so many that I have tried
    Date published: 2012-11-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great brush easy on the hands Very comfortable brush to use. Works great on long thick manes and tails and doesn't hurt my hand or wrist. One of my boarders has one, too, and loves hers as well.
    Date published: 2012-10-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Oster tail and mane brush Great brush! Don't know how I managed without it before--cuts grooming time in half and is so much gentler on the mane and tail!
    Date published: 2012-10-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good, so far, I think... I like that this brush is the same shape but does not have the "cushion" because those never hold up. I bought this to replace my old "cushion" brush that I had for years, I'm sure well past it's life expectancy. It's nice to have a brush that doesn't come apart or have the bristles come out when you're using it. The handle grip is very comfortable but it seems like the handle is at a weird angle compared to the brush head, but maybe it's just me. I'm a little worried that since this brush doesn't have any "give" to it, it will tear out or break more hair so I've had to remind myself to be careful with it. I'm just not sure how I feel about it yet, it seems to work well and be sturdy, but I feel like it's a little too aggressive. Maybe I just need some time to get used to it? Regardless, it sure beats having the brush come apart with every stroke!
    Date published: 2012-09-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great brush My horse has a thick tail that tangles quite a bit. I have tried other brushes but this one works very well. I have not had any problems with bristle tips coming off yet after about a month of regular use. It is nice in my hand and seems to do a very good job. I'm pleased. I use it with the hair moisturizer below and it is a great combo.
    Date published: 2012-09-11
    • 2015-03-03T06:57CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.1
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_9, tr_71
    • loc_en_US, sid_8857, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    In Loving Memory
    You were a loving and patient partner. From our early days learning dressage together, to your "retirement" years of tearing around the field and stirring up all the youngsters, you always brought your kindness, your heart, and your spirit. Thank you for everything, Wes. You are missed.

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.