Product Image

MSM

Select The Best
- Item #10180
Form: Powder
Maintenance Dose: 1 SmartPak Well

Finish Line’s MSM is an ultra pure 99.9% source of bio-available sulfur. MSM, or methylsulfonylmethane is thought to have anti-inflammatory properties. No fillers, artificial colors or flavors.

View our Anti-Inflammatory Comparison Chart

View our Joint Supplement Comparison Chart

View our Respiratory Supplement Comparison Chart

Order This Product In:

    Ships every 28 days
  edit
Maintenance Dose
  edit
Custom Dose  cancel
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Shipping on SmartPaks over $40
Congrats, you earned free shipping!

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Shipping on orders over $75
Congrats, you earned free shipping!
You Might Also Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    MSM is rated 4.7082 out of 5 by 233.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from good product This product works well. Unfortunately one of my two horses that receives this has decided she doesn't want to eat it anymore. It amazes me how she can eat her grain yet manage to not eat powder (has a granular texture like salt or sugar). She has been getting it for years and every now and then she decides she doesn't want to eat it anymore. She does not like powers. I purchase it for respiratory reasons (she has very slight IAD) but feed it to my other horse for joint reasons (no issues, just preventative since I order it in large quantities for my other horse). I do like this product and have a large bucket of it left that I'll just feed to my one horse that will eat it. I did switch my picky eater to the SmartPak Smart Breath and she eats that with no problem (so far).
    Date published: 2013-12-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from In 1 week you' ll see a difference Been using this for years! Took my horses off of it for about 2 months just to see, and they just didn't step out as well as when they are on it.
    Date published: 2013-11-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great general joint supplement! My horses have been on MSM for a few months now. It has done wonders for both of them. My gelding who is getting older was stiff for weeks, and I was considering having the vet come check him out because of how "off" he was for so long. I started MSM and he began moving and feeling better with a week and a half or so. My mare is also on this supplement. She has permanent damage to her fetlock and back legs in general after being hit by a car before I rescued her. Her hocks are in horrible shape. She always walked everywhere very slowly. Now, after being on MSM for about two months, she canters and gallops out to the big pasture every morning. It has made a huge improvement in her overall quality of life. So happy to see my older horses feeling good!
    Date published: 2013-11-04
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Satisfied Overall, I have been satisfied with this product. My horse seems less stiff and generally moves very well. I can't point to anything in particular as being an obvious difference. For the price, it's definitely worth a try!
    Date published: 2013-10-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from excellent results MSM works great, it keeps my 26 year old pony moving comfortably and also helps with itchy skin, could not ask for more
    Date published: 2013-08-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome stuff! My mare is getting older and had a tendon Injury I started her on MSM to keep her from stocking up as badly at night and it worked!
    Date published: 2013-06-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Helpful and affordable! After purchasing man for my Ottb mare I noticed that she was more willing to step up with her hind and and was not as tense through her back:) the MSM has helped her feel more comfort in her joints everywhere!
    Date published: 2013-06-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works Wonders! I started using MSM on my 14 year old horse to keep her in good shape. I have noticed after about 3 weeks of using this, she has been a better mood, she is better undersaddle, and her joints don't seem to "creak" like they did. I love this product and you can't go wrong with the price!
    Date published: 2013-04-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Can't go wrong with this supplement I use MSM in addition to Cosequin. Even when used alone, I have seen great results, including less stiffness, and better hoof and coat quality. For this price, you can't go wrong!
    Date published: 2013-03-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Purchase Ever My Senior horse is truly benefiting from taking the MSM joint supplement. He has a happy attitude and is demonstrating more flexibility in his left hock which tends to be stiff during the winter months. We are looking forward to spring and conditioning for show!
    Date published: 2013-03-05
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very economical choice for MSM I have used msm off and on for years, I just started using this brand but I really like it so far. It seems to be very palatable and it is the most economic brand I have ever bought. I love that it is 100% pure instead of being full of fillers that I hate!I currently have 3 horses on this with Yucca Saponin it and they all eat it with no problems. for two of them I just mix the two supplements together in a tub and they eat it all and then fight over who gets to lick it clean (they share the tub)!!!2 of them are older and get worked pretty hard and are starting to get a bit stiff and the other one is a 11 year old race green broke mare that I am finishing on on the barrels so I can resell her. She is on this as a preventative. I don't want to have to stop training her because she is sore or worse!I will buy this again for sure! I will probably buy it in a bigger bucket(10 lb instead of 4 lb) next time though 'cause I go through it fast! Thank you SmartPak!!!
    Date published: 2012-11-17
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from MSM I'm not sure what the results are/will be yet. I do know one thing I don't like about it is that much of the product seems to stick to the inside of the container and I have to wipe it to get it all out. Apellet or crumble may be a better choice.
    Date published: 2013-12-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great! I take MSM and have seen a difference in myself. With the tough training schedule he is on, I figured a little something to help maintain him during training would be great. This is a HUGE value for a pure high potency form of MSM. And he eats it!
    Date published: 2012-11-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-10-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Texture not the same between 1 and 4 lb packages I use MSM as a preventative for my horse, so I can't really comment on its effectiveness right now. I originally bought the 1 lb bag and then followed it up with the 4 lb bucket. I'm a little confused that they have a different consistency. The 1 lb bag was a dry granule (kind of like salt) without any discernible scent. The stuff in the bucket is almost like damp sand and has a little bit of sulfurous smell (not entirely surprising, since it's a sulfur compound) My horse still eats it, but I will switch to a different brand once I'm done with this bucket, as the difference between the two sizes leaves me a little worried about the quality control.
    Date published: 2012-10-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is the best MSM! Such a good product for the value! It is really inexpensive, and has one of the highest quantities of MSM. I have been using it for a long time as a preventative/maintenance measure and it is totally worth it. I recommend everyone use if for their horse, especially since it is so inexpensive!
    Date published: 2012-10-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best value of MSM as of yet! My horses have been on pure MSM for over a decade now. Every horse has something to benefit from it from stiff joints to heaves. I thought I had found the best value on another site; boy was I wrong! I buy the biggest bucket for the best value. This stuff is incredible! All of my horses are very active and this helps keep them at their best.As for the clumping some people have mentioned, it's more than manageable. I give mine a good stir and that seems to do the trick. I also have yet to have a problem with my picky eaters eating it. They don't even notice, even with only a little grain!
    Date published: 2012-10-16
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from MSM I did not notice much of a change in her. She was still itching all the time
    Date published: 2012-10-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Solid deal I mix this in with grain or in a beetpulp mash. My horse always eats it and the powder is much better deal then the pellets. Will buy again.
    Date published: 2012-10-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from MSM My instructor who was on the Barcelona Olympic team and WEG recommended MSM, so I am trying it on my mare. It's easy to feed and my horse eats it in her grain with no Problem.
    Date published: 2012-09-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good supplement I like this MSM supplement. My arabian gelding likes to stalk up after a ride and this did what its supposed to do and helps keep the swelling down to a minimum. It is also a plus that even in the powdered form he eats it all up. I have a VERY picky Appendix gelding that also gets this MSM supplement and he eats it all up as well. Good Buy for someone with picky eaters.One problem was the powder started to clump up after a few weeks, but it still worked fine and the horses ate it anyway.
    Date published: 2012-08-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Stuff for good price! I trust Smart Pack to offer quality products for good value. I have cut an "Easy Keeper's" glucosamine back a bit but wanted to increase this to help with any discomfort she may experience. She is 18 and has some intermittent stiffness in one stifle....She seems to be doing really well with the change...no stiffness and we have had some pretty nasty weather of late.
    Date published: 2012-08-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wouldn't Go Without It I love this stuff. It works wonderfully. I can tell the difference in the way my mare moves.
    Date published: 2012-07-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect!!! I just got this supplement in the mail today and gave it to my mare. She loved it! I added a little water to it to make it adhere to her grain so it wouldn't get wasted. It mixed in great.
    Date published: 2012-06-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from select the best MSM I was originally concerned if any of my 3 picky eater horses would like it. I have a mini that had foundered long ago somewhere in his past and on occasion still has small chronic bouts of laminitis and an older (22?) year old Belgian mare that I rescued from a dire situation. Select the best has REALLY helped the both of them move around so much better without the staggering for the mini and the creaking that the mare had in her joints which is now only barely noticeable. I keep the other horse on it now as a preventative (he's 19+) The results were pretty quick, and I still may see even more improvement as they have only been on this for only 3 weeks. And as for the taste? It's got a light salty taste to it and all 3 of them gobble it up! Would definitely recommend this product!
    Date published: 2012-06-14
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from I suggest spending a bit more... I tried this with out the research and what I discovered was....MSM doesn't get absorbed unless it has a combo vitamin effect where one vitamin is needed to help the other absorb into the system. When you feed just MSM it gets passed through because the body won't absorb it naturally by its self. At least that's what I read... I saw no difference in my horse/test subject. She also did not like the taste or the powder which magically ended up mixed up with sawdust in the stall and not from pale to stomach. Spend an extra $15 if you're serious about helping your horse's joints and start young! Don't wait till they are 15 and already have issues, prevention is key! For young horses I LOVE.....
    Date published: 2012-06-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The boost most supplements need Adding a therapeutic dose of MSM provides a beneficial antiinflammatory response for horses with joint and allergy issues. Select-The-Best is an economical option to try for your horse.
    Date published: 2012-06-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Buy on the product In comparing prices and quality for the particular product, MSM, I decided on purchasing from SmartPak. I have 3 horses so go thru quite a lot of MSM, I was able to purchase 10 pounds without added shipping and handling which I try to only buy on line where shipping, freight, etc is not required. I also researched a vitamin/mineral supplement and found SmartPak to have the best quality and price. My area doesn't have much in feed/tack stores and what they do have is very expensive so I do most all my purchasing online.
    Date published: 2012-05-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-04-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful product, great price! MSM is MSM I suppose, but this product is great because it is 100% pure & you cannot beat the price. All of my horses receive this as their only form of joint support (With the exception of one horse who is older & competing upper levels, plus has some injuries) & it keeps hem going strong, they never feel stiff after tough workouts. I like that this product has so many other benefits as well. Definitely a great deal.
    Date published: 2012-04-26
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.