Product Image

Mega-Mag™

Med-Vet Pharmaceuticals (MVP)
- Item #11815
Form: Pellets
Maintenance Dose: 1 SmartPak Well

Mega-Mag™ (Pellet) is a well balanced multi-vitamin and mineral supplement formulated to coincide with current NRC (National Research Council) recommended daily requirements, to accommodate feeding programs consisting of alfalfa hay/grain based diets. The addition of live, stabilized direct fed microbials, live cell yeast culture and amino-acid content, sourced from alfalfa meal, rice bran and soybean meal makes Mega-Mag™ an excellent choice to support growth, stamina, conditioning and maximum performance for all disciplines.

Note: To accommodate feeding programs consisting of grass type hays (timothy, coastal, bermuda, native grass)/grain, choose Mega-Cell™.

View our Multi-Vitamin Supplement Comparison Chart

Order This Product In:

    Ships every 28 days
  edit
Maintenance Dose
  edit
Custom Dose  cancel
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Shipping on SmartPaks over $40
Congrats, you earned free shipping!

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Shipping on orders over $75
Congrats, you earned free shipping!
You Might Also Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    Mega-Mag™ is rated 4.6818 out of 5 by 44.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Mega Mag Have used the product about 45 days and noticed my horse has more energy , great coat and shine. He started shedding in Jan. as our winters are mild here in Calif. Would highly recommend this product
    Date published: 2012-02-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-02-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this product! i purchased mega mag when i rescued my, at the time, just turning 1, baby horse. when i bought him he was just 300 pounds and had absolutely no life in him. I bought this in hopes of getting as much in him as safely as i could. within just a couple of weeks he started showing improvements! I was amazed how quickly the stuff worked on him
    Date published: 2012-02-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Happy Horses, Happy Owner I bought this product hoping to supplement my horses through the winter months when they aren't on good grass and need extra nutrients and vitamins that can't be provided by hay alone. We've only used it for a month but I can't believe how nice their coats look. Normally that long, scruffy winter hair seems a bit dull, but this winter they are shiny and my palomino's wooly coat has even dappled! They all seem happy and healthy and that makes me happy.
    Date published: 2013-07-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good, But Not What I Needed I had my horse on this product for over a month. Then I decided to switch to Barn Bag supplement to save money and get the results I was looking for
    Date published: 2011-10-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2011-06-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2011-05-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Mega Mag Best vitamin supplement we have ever used! Fabulous!
    Date published: 2011-04-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Economical With all the different brands of multi-vitamin supplements out there, I had to compare them to find the most economical multi-vitamin & mineral supplement on the market. Mega-Mag is very affordable and I like the fact that it comes in pellet form, so I don't have to purchase additional grain. My horse is on an Alfalfa/Orchard Hay diet, but mostly Alfalfa, so I went with the Mega-Mag, instead of the Mega-Cell.
    Date published: 2010-12-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good but I wish it didn't have iron in it other then that I love this product, I am switching to mega cell because it has a little less iron.
    Date published: 2010-08-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product! I have been using this product for over a year and it has really helped our over 20 arabian mare. Her coat looks great and she does better during shows. I took her off it this May and in July her coat was getting long again. So we plan to keep her on it. She has no problem eating it with her grain or alone. I love the pellet form.
    Date published: 2010-07-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Good Product This works very well. The horses eat it well, and it provides just enough calming influence on them.
    Date published: 2010-05-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Product. Great Price I fed this to my horses for a few months and started seeing improvements in their health in ways I didn't really imagine.I had a QH that would eat all of her hay, and her straw bedding within about 2 hours of being in her stall. She had also started chewing on the wood in her stall. I started feeding this to her in a double dose because I thought maybe she was lacking some nutrients from somewhere. Within about a week and a half the wood chewing subsided and she was eating less and less of her bedding. Her coat was looking nice and shiny and she was more apt to run around the pasture instead of looking like a mole hill in the pasture.My 17 year old Arab also began to perk up. And my 2 year old TB rescue was putting on weight more rapidly!I like this product and will continue to feed it to my horses.
    Date published: 2012-01-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2010-03-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2010-03-11
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for finicky eaters After my horse rejected both Select I and the SmartPak brand, I thought there wasn't a vitamin supplement out there that he would eat - or at least not one properly balanced for his higher Ca diet. Then the SmartPak customer service rep suggested I try this and sent a sample. I liked that it was cheaper, but didn't think I had a prayer of getting it into him. Each sample day and every day since he's devoured it! I don't even know if he realizes it's in his grain. I'd be happier if it better compared to the other two nutritionally, but I'm just glad to be getting something into him as he doesn't need much of any grain and he's well worked regularly.
    Date published: 2010-03-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2010-01-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great value great value for horses receiving only whole oats and alfalfa/timothy hay
    Date published: 2009-11-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So far so good I purchased this for a mare with a two month old filly at the barn where I board my horse; the mare is emaciated and I am hoping this helps her.
    Date published: 2009-10-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Mega-Mag Palatability is good since our horse is a messy eater. Adding vitamins to his grain has always resulted in some of it ending up on the ground, stall walls or his nose. Seems to be less of a problem with Mega-Mag.
    Date published: 2009-09-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product Mega Mag is a great product. My 2 yo colt is very nervous and excitable. A friend told me about Mega Mag and so I thought. Why not give it a try. So far I have noticed that he is not pacing as much and seems a little more focused. I will keep using this product daily it seems to help.
    Date published: 2009-08-17
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Interesting Product I love that this can be customized to the type or hay/pasture provided. I have never had to provide a vitamin supplement before. But in an attempt to "buy local" I switched to locally grown unfortified grains. I do not have a lot to compare this to but it fits my needs. It does smell a bit "funky" but the dose is so small my horse eats it with out complaint.
    Date published: 2009-08-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2009-07-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent! Somehow,I managed to accidentally order this last time instead of my regular Mega-Cell, and my horse seems to do very well on it! He's on a not-so-great pasture with sandy soil, and bermuda grass, and grass hay in the winter, and a picky eater but eats this up. I had changed his grain and supplement diet this spring, so I'm not sure if it's the Mega-Mag or the other dietary changes, but he looks better than ever this summer! Super shiny coat, good attitude, and less grain than he's been on...and he's still chunky. Excellent value and quality ingredients!
    Date published: 2009-06-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2009-06-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2009-05-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Mega Mag value For the value, can't beat it; my mare had filled out, looks and is healthy and chows it right down.
    Date published: 2009-05-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Supplement This is the best supplement that I have found for my thoroughbreds. They have maintained their body weight and their coats just shine. Their hooves are nice and strong and I would reccommend this to anyone. Easy to add to their grain and they clean up their meals.
    Date published: 2009-05-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Product I have been using this product now for about 3 weeks. I cannot believe how shinny my gelding's coat is. He has shed out to an amazing glossy TRUE black. He is an extremely picky eater (does not even like carrots) and he does not even turn his nose at this. I will definitely be purchasing this again for him.
    Date published: 2009-04-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Mega-Mag I own an Arabian gelding which exhibited mild string-halt symptoms. A reputable vet college recommended adding magnesium to my horse's diet. I am pleased to report after using the product since the 1st of April (3 weeks) , all symptoms have disappeared.This gelding can readily sift grain from supplements. The Mega-Max is palatable enough for even the pickiest equine eaters.
    Date published: 2009-05-21
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.