Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Colors and Styles

IRH Equi-Lite Helmet

International Riding Helmets
- Item #11752

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Equi-Lite Helmets are the highest quality schooling helmet. Dial Fit System accommodates your ponytail, hugs the back of your head, and reduces the tendency of your helmet to shift forward or backwards when you ride.

Total of 9 venting ports (five front and four back) to allow maximum air circulation keeping you cool and comfortable. The visor is equipped with IRH Snap Fit System which allows the rider to easily remove and replace visor.

Black, White or Purple. Small, Medium and Large. 

ASTM F1163-04a/SEI Certified

You Might Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    IRH Equi-Lite Helmet is rated 4.5972 out of 5 by 144.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Value Great value for the money. Lightweight, comfortable, more oval shape than round which suited me just fine.
    Date published: 2013-04-12
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Durable, but Awkward Fit I bought this helmet because it was cheap but had good reviews. I've ridden in it once or twice a week for little under a year, and it has held up great. I've fallen off twice, and hit my head once, but it doesn't have any cracks, only scratches. I assure you its very safe.However, the fit is a bit awkward. It runs large, and I have to have the dial almost all the way tight so that it stays in place. I look like a mushroom :P
    Date published: 2013-04-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfortable fit for oval head I am pleased with how comfortable this helmet is.I always wound up with a headache after wearing my troxel helmet for a couple of hours. While still not perfect for an oval head, this one is better thanthe troxel.
    Date published: 2013-03-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great schooling helmet I've purchased three of these helmets now. I have a school program so there are plenty of little melons needing protection. The helmet always fits, is comfortable and light weight. Not something I can say about many other helmets in this price range. The dial can get a bit sticky and may break but IRH will send you a new dial with a bit of phone/email haggling.
    Date published: 2013-03-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from fits well on a tiny girl My 6 year old weighs 35 lbs and it is hard to find things to fit. This helmet adjusts down without being too heavy for her to wear or fall down over her brow.And we love the pink color...not a pepto bismal pink, but a lovely dusty pink that we won't tire of.
    Date published: 2013-01-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love, Love, Love this helmet! I bought my first IRH Equi-Lite Helmet about 3 years ago. It was my first helmet, and I began wearing it after my friend had a bad horse riding accident and passed away due to head trauma. I loved it then, and when I had a pretty bad accident a few months ago (concussion, bruised rib, collapsed lung), I was ever greatful! This helmet saved my life! I had to get a new one, because the fall broke a piece off, and I absolutely love my new one aswell. I got black this time around, and It doesn't get hot, and I forget I have it on! I've actually gotten off and walked around the barn doing my job with it on. Recommend this to EVERYONE.
    Date published: 2013-01-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Perfect...for a while... This helmet was amazing!!!! If you put a velvet cover on it, it will work as a show helmet! Perfect for schooling! Didn't make my head look TOO weird. :) Although, I was always burning up in it! And after having it for about a year, I fell off. It wasn't too hard of a fall and it was the first time I had fallen wearing that helmet, and when I took it off, it was cracked! I was dissapointed.
    Date published: 2012-12-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great children's schooling helmet. Dial allows for correct adjustment. Nice color choice, too!
    Date published: 2012-10-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice helmet I bought this as an extra helmet to use for guests. It seems to be well-made, is easily adjustable, and has served its purpose with 2 different riders so far. Can't address durability as I haven't had it long, but so far so good!
    Date published: 2012-10-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great helmet for my children I bought two of these helmets for my sons who are just starting to ride. I bought a small for my 7 year old who probably has an average size head for a child his age and I bought a large for my 10 year old who has a large head for his age. I can wear the large and I am a female adult with an average size head (I think). They are well made and a great quality at an excellent price. The adjustable knob at the back is perfect for my children who are still growing. The more open vent-like design makes the helmet cooler and lighter. The visor is a nice touch aesthetically and perhaps blocks some sunlight. I am happy with this purchase.
    Date published: 2012-09-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-09-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-08-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic helmet for the price I have had these helmets for years and I LOVE them for everyday riding. They are light and well ventilated which is perfect for riding in Texas.
    Date published: 2012-07-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from I wish it fit! I got this helmet as a gift 5 years ago as my first ever riding helmet. I used it for trail rides about once every other month and there were no problems. When I started taking lessons three years ago I had to purchase a different helmet as this one had a crack in it, likely from being stored and moved around in the garage. I now own a CO Ayr8 but I wanted something cheap and light weight that I could school in. Unfortunately, when I received this helmet it was too wide for my head. It looked great for a schooling helmet and felt soo light on my head! I wish it fit! Thank you smartpak for making returns simple and easy, and free! If you're looking for a great light weight helmet for schooling, try this!
    Date published: 2012-07-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Value, but you get what you pay for I bought this helmet is S, M, and L to add to my lesson program. I was thrilled with the price, but after limited use, the visor on the S has already broken. We have taken great care to ensure the helmet has not bee dropped so I am not sure why the break occurred. Fortunately, it is on the side very close to where is attached to the helmet so I think it will be an easy fix. You really can't beat the price, but you get what you pay for when it comes to helmets. The visor is an inexpensive plastic. I will likely continue to purchase these helmets because the value is unbeatable.
    Date published: 2012-07-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exceptional Value Love it! Great for the price and I love the IRH helmet profile overall. I have a lot of curls and the IRH has always been the best helmet for my face. Great value for schooling helmet and good safety features!!
    Date published: 2012-07-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect All Around! I recently purchased an expensive show helmet, while I was "Eh" on my opinion, I still needed to find a casual helmet to wear on the trails and around the arena. At first, I was a little skeptical of the price. Under $50 dollars for a good helmet seemed a little odd to me, but knowing the quality of Smartpak products, I gave it a try! I was very pleased with the helmet size. I went up one size though, because it seems like helmets tend to run a little small sometimes--This helmet is also dial-fit, so I knew I could still adjust it if it were a little big. It fit PERFECTLY! The dial fit is not 100% necessary to me, but it is wonderful to have if a friend needs to borrow my helmet. I have found that some helmets give somewhat of a mushroom appearance such as my show helmet. This helmet is strong yet it looks small and fitting. It is very padded on the inside making it super comfortable. The bill gives a little shade on your face and the adjustable straps give enough comfortable slack. I haven't noticed any damage whatsoever. It's great for the price--But the price really doesn't matter here, I wouldn't be able to guess it was under $50 dollars either way! To top it off, it has a little extra opening in the back than my other helmet, leaving room for a not-completely-messy-pony tail!
    Date published: 2012-07-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Buy this!! I love this helmet! It fits well. I love the color and how you can make it bigger and smaller.
    Date published: 2012-06-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Basic Helmet A little large looking, but a good basic helmet for a lesson - definitely not a show helmet.
    Date published: 2012-06-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from BETTER THAN EXPECTED Helmet much nicer than pictured & very light weight & sturdy - my daughter is learning to jump horses and I feel very secure in purchasing this helmet . Great service, too - had to exchange for a smaller size and return/exchange was totally painless!HIGHLY recommended - we got the purple one!
    Date published: 2012-06-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolutely a Great Helmet Choice This helmet is so wonderfully light! It's easy to forget about it when you're riding. The vents are perfect. Thanks to the crazy weather here, this helmet has already gone from from 12 degrees to 65 this spring. It stays warm when it's cold, and cool when it's hot. I love that the lining is removeable, so it can be washed when it gets sweaty in summer.Overall, it's a great little helmet. Certainly not a Charles Owen of course, but it's a fantastic helmet, one that I'll be wearing for years.
    Date published: 2012-03-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfy & Safe Just getting back into riding and found myself needing a helmet. I assumed it was going to be bulky, heavy and uncomfortable, but necessary. So glad my trainer recommended this helmet because it is so lightweight and comfortable. The dial adjustment keeps it snug without feeling tight so now I can ride a little safer and didn't have to break the bank to do it. Thanks!
    Date published: 2012-03-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth buying Surprised by the quality and the fit is great. love the ability to adjust the size depending on how I am wearing my hair at the time. Light weight very comfortable and the colors allow you to have fun. Always hated just plain black. You wont be disappointed . Nice for a trail or lessons.
    Date published: 2012-03-02
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not for me. I have tried this helmet for fit and plan to send it back. It is uncomfortable on my cranium; the vents are only adequate. I don't like IRH helmets; have had to buy one before in an emergency. The only reason I ordered this helmet was because it was white. That color is necessary in my area because of the hot sun in the summer. If you offered other brands in white, I would have purchased one of them.
    Date published: 2012-03-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from i love my IRH equi-lite helmet i would fully recomend this helmet to anyone.it is vary light weight, and it keeps my head cool in hot weather even if the rest of my body is sweating like crazy, my head stays nice and cool.overall it was a rewarding perchase and i am vary happy with it, and if whoever is reading this is interested in buying the IRH equi-lite helmet i woud say that it is a good choice for a reasonable price and that you should seriously consider picking it. :)
    Date published: 2012-02-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect for lessons My daughter and I gave this helmet to her riding coach for her to use with her riding lesson kids - her other helmets were really beat up. She was delighted! We bought 2 - a small and a medium because she has lots of different aged kids. We actually returned the small because it was too small, even for her littlest riders, but the medium is perfect because it adjusts so easily. Anyway, the coach is happy and so are the kids.
    Date published: 2012-02-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just what I was looking for. I needed a helmet for my 5 yr. old granddaughter. And she is small for her age. This one adjusts nicely so that it fits correctly on her head. I'm not sure how long it will last, but she will probably grow out of it before it wears out so I'm not worried about that.
    Date published: 2011-12-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Helmet for my Toddler! I bought this helmet for my 2 1/2 year old son as an early Christmas gift. I tried two other brands of helmets but they just didn't fit him right (too big even in the smallest size and too heavy), so I was very pleased when this one fit him perfect just right out of the box! He loves it too since it doesn't weigh his head down or "hurt". I has worked great for us thus far. I really like the adjustment dial on the back of it. A plus when you have a kid since they grow out of everything so fast! Price is reasonable to me even on our tight budget. Wish we would have gone for one of the colored ones (we got black), just because my son would have enjoyed that, but the price does go up with the color. Guess I would have to say that's the only down side of it =)
    Date published: 2011-12-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great starter helmet Came as part of the beginner rider kit, great value, didn't want to spend a lot in case my 6 year old loses interest in riding. It is a little on the big side, we just pad her helmet with a kercheif for a better fit, but on the plus side she won't be outgrowing it very soon. I did order the smallest one available.
    Date published: 2011-12-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from this is the nicest company I have ever dealt with!!
    Date published: 2011-12-08
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.