Product Image

Cosequin® DS (Double Strength)

Nutramax Laboratories
- Item #10676
Form: Capsule
Maintenance Dose: 1 SmartPak Well

#1 veterinarian recommended oral joint health supplement. Cosequin is the only brand proven in published, controlled U.S. studies to be bioavailable in dogs and to improve joint function. Cosequin DS has been specifically designed to meet the joint needs of larger dogs. Prescription not required.

Sizes: 120 capsules, 132 chewable tablets or 250 chewable tablets.

Click here to view our Canine Joint Product Comparison Chart.

Order This Product In:

    Ships every 28 days
  edit
Maintenance Dose
  edit
Custom Dose  cancel
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing dog
FREE
Shipping on SmartPaks over $40
Congrats, you earned free shipping!

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing dog
FREE
Shipping on orders over $75
Congrats, you earned free shipping!
You Might Also Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    Cosequin® DS (Double Strength) is rated 4.7742 out of 5 by 155.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from What a Difference! Started our older Husky mix on a partial dose of this per vet recommendation and saw results immediately. As she's aged, she's gotten a little more joint-sore and arthritic. The great thing about this product is there is flexibility to increase the dosage (easily!) and still maintain affordability. Definitely my top pick for canine joint maintenance!
    Date published: 2014-02-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very helpful My 14 year old lab appreciates the help she gets from these supplements!
    Date published: 2014-02-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2013-06-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Classic Favorite I am now using this on my 2nd dog and it is the best stuff!!!! When they told me my lab may have a tear and to use rimadyl, I just put him on this and it is all I use. My lab has no problem with the pills, but I like how it used to come better for overall usage.My 1st dog was on it for years and never gave him any issues! It is my go to for any joint issues in dogs.
    Date published: 2014-02-28
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good fit for the right dog I bought this for my aging lab and it is doing an ok job. I had started with a different consequences formula but switched to this because it was convenient to have it shipped with my other meds for my horse. My lab became a little stiff after I switched her so I think she just needs different dosing of the glucosamine, condroitin and msm. Nt the right fit for my pup but no major complaints.
    Date published: 2014-02-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth the money I bought this for my older Corgi who was starting to have trouble going up the stairs. Seems to be helping.
    Date published: 2014-02-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works Wonders When we first got our 8 yr old border collie, Sebastian, he was 25 pounds overweight. Every now and then he would limp on his front left leg after a good game of frisbee. I suspected arthritis so I researched and researched a good joint supplement and decided to try this. It worked wonders! After about 2-3 weeks, his limping episodes completely stopped. And I KNOW it works because if he goes a couple days without it, he starts limping again within the week. I'd say it is one of the best joint products out there. I think Sebastian would have to agree!
    Date published: 2014-02-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works Great; Glad I Tried It! I was skeptical, it seems these types of things are hit or miss; with humans, horses and dogs. Either this is a great product or I really lucked out on the 1st try this time!!! My 8 year old Rottweiler is doing great. It's only been 2 1/2 weeks and I am really noticing how much easier it is for him to get up. I have a prescription for Rimadyl but I'd rather not use that if I don't need to and I've started using SmartPak for my horses so I thought I'd give it a try for Rocky and see how it went. It's went great and for about $20.00 a month I'm very happy with it. The only trouble is he won't eat them out of my hand but no problem, I simply put them in the bowl with his morning kibble and he eats them right up (I never said he was the smartest dog in my house!) I'm very pleased with Cosequin and might try some of the other products in their line too.
    Date published: 2014-02-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! This product works wonders for my aging Husky mix. She has significantly less stiffness and mobility issues. I'd highly recommend it!
    Date published: 2012-09-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Supplement I used this many years ago and it was recently recommended for another dog who tore her CCL. Since she and my other dog are both 8, I started them both on it. I can't say they've shown any improvements, but I'm hoping for a more long-term benefit.
    Date published: 2012-08-23
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy to feed in food The pills are small enough to break up easily to hide in food. The pill is not beef flavored looking and is different than another brand that my dog would eat as a treat so I have to break by fingers into her food and she will eat it then.
    Date published: 2014-02-28
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from No change to note in my dogs hips I have to be honest here. I have been using this every day now for about a month for both my dogs with no descernable change in my female dogs hip pain. I used another product previously that had msm and hyaluronic acid that did work so I am going back to that. I think glucosamine and chondriotin doesn't always work for all dogs just as it doesn't work for all people.One other thing; these are blue and white plasticy capsules and not a tablet and though my dogs generally will eat them out of hand, they may not be the easy to does for a picky eater. I prefer and more palatable tablet myself.
    Date published: 2014-02-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Help for dog who has had ACL surgery My dog unfortunately had to have ACL surgery in 2007. She is now almost 10 years old. I had been giving her Glycoflex III for about a year and it helped her somewhat and decided to try Cosequin for a couple of months. Truthfully I could not tell any difference in the help the two products gave her. I am sure she would be less mobile without one of these products. She still loves to swim and retrieve!
    Date published: 2014-02-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Helped! Improved my 11 yo German Shepherd's mobility by about 25-30%! Great product!
    Date published: 2014-02-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great joint help It is in a capsule so it is easy to give I use a piece of hotdog and put it in the middle. My dog is 10 so she slowed down and had some joint pain this has helped her out alt in a short time. She is running around more like a younger dog and not so ouchy.
    Date published: 2012-03-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from It works! Purchased this for a fourteen year old dog who would lay around most of the day and moved with obvious pain. Started with the recommended loading dose, which seemed too strong for her, backed down to the maintenance dose. Now she gets up in the morning and is moving with much greater comfort. She is a much happier dog!
    Date published: 2012-02-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Helps! My 11 year old German Shepherd whose "stiff" backend was moving onto "weak" seems to be moving better; maybe a 30% improvement. With the addition of Rimadyl he shows about a 50% improvement! He is still in his 1st month or so and hopefully will improve still!
    Date published: 2012-02-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This really works I have been using Cosequin DS for years. As each one of my Pugs reached a stage in their lives when they had arthritic changes or another joint issue I immediately put them on this and within days I could see an improvement every time. Fantastic stuff. I will ALWAYS have Cosequin DS in my home for my little dollies.
    Date published: 2012-01-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great purchase My 12 year old dog bounces like a puppy again! Try it!
    Date published: 2012-01-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good supplement I have been feeding Cosequin DS chewables to my German Shepherds for years. I feel like they help prevent problems from starting as well as helping with any ongoing problems.I have not had any issues with my dogs. Thanks Cosequin.
    Date published: 2011-12-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent, effective product This is an excellent, high quality, supplement. My dog suffered a temporary paralysis as a result of spinal arthritis a few months ago. I started him on this product and he feels like a frisky puppy. It really helps. I call him "Cosequin Arliss" after the successful jumper "Cosequin Adam". :)
    Date published: 2011-12-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Too early to tell I was quite shocked that my dog actually ate the tablet. She takes it like a treat with her evening meal. We're only on month two, so the results may take a bit longer. My vet did say that my Jack Russell's hips and flexion are good for her age.
    Date published: 2011-11-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Dog Joint Supp! My German Shepard was having trouble with his hips at a young age. He would cry when he would stand up sometimes and would get very sore. After being on this for a few weeks he didn't have anymore problems. He has been on it for a few years and loves it! My horse is on the equine Cosequin too!
    Date published: 2011-10-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Started giving these once daily to my 13 1/2 year old black lab about 1 month ago. I've seen a noticable difference in her energy. She still walks twice daily and this is a good supplement to add to her diet.Also give to my 3 1/2 year old German shepherd.
    Date published: 2011-10-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product Great product at a reasonable price. I give my aging husky mix half a dose for maintenance and she eats it right up. Had her on another similar product but she wouldn't eat it (and she's NOT picky!). Still a little stiff sometimes after a long day but MUCH better than before.
    Date published: 2011-09-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2011-08-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product This product has drastically helped our 4 year old Spaniel mix. He no longer shows any signs of discomfort in his hips.
    Date published: 2011-08-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cosequin® DS (Double Strength) I inquired about my horse's limp to my vet and he recommended Cosequin® DS (Double Strength) to me stating that in supplement studies this product was the only one that had the actual amount of ingredients that was stated on the label. So even though it was higher priced then some of the other products that are supposed to do the same thing, i ordered it for my horse & WOW! It is an awesome product; enough so that that I also put my two older dogs with their stiff hips on it and within a week I saw the same results. They acted like much younger dogs! Free movement and no pain, running and playing again... I will recommend this to anyone with a dog or horse that has had and injury in the past or an aging animal with stiffness! IT WORKS!! So do your best friends a favor and start giving them this product and watch the magic happen, now can I get some myself LOL!P.S. I am a LMT (Licensed Massage Therapist) So I know alot about supplements and this is one of the best I have seen. Thank you makers of Cosequin® DS (Double Strength) you are life savers! :)
    Date published: 2011-07-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Everyday without fail! I split a capsule between my two small dogs and sprinkle it on their breakfast every day. I started giving it to my 16 yo terrier mix after she had an ACL repair done a couple years ago. She loves to run and still gives rabbits a run for their money thanks to the cosequin.
    Date published: 2011-07-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cosequin DS I have been giving Cosequin DS to my dogs for 6 years. They are now both 11 and can climb stairs and run really well. I would highly recommend this to anyone with a dog, after checking with your dog's Vet.
    Date published: 2011-06-06
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.