Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Charles Owen GR8 Helmet

Charles Owen, Inc.
- Item #12415

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer. That means this item isn't eligible for additional discounts or promotions.
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

The GR8 helmet by Charles Owen is at the cutting edge of equestrian fashion. The GR8 Helmet is covered with a microfibre suede material that has been treated to afford it protection against marking and scuffing. The brim is gently rounded to flatter the face, and a press stamped metallic logo is positioned centrally above the peak. Another embroidered logo is featured on the back of the helmet where a ribbon would traditionally be. The harness is reinforced with nylon for additional strength, safety and security. The headband is interwoven with silver ions throughout the lining, providing anti-microbial protection against sweat and odors.

Kitemarked to PAS015 and BSEN 1384. Certified by SEI to ASTM F1163. Black with Charcoal Stripe, Brown with Tan Stripe or Black with Black Stripe. Breast Cancer Benefit, Midnight Navy/Silver and Black/Hunter are custom styles. Please allow 6-9 weeks for delivery.

Breast Cancer Benefit, Midnight Navy/Silver and Black/Hunter are custom styles. Please allow 6-8 weeks for delivery.
You Might Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    Charles Owen GR8 Helmet is rated 4.6667 out of 5 by 69.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2013-01-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Well Fitting Helmet I purchased the GR8 helmet after not being able to get the right size (and not wanting to wait for it to be back in stock) in the Samshield helmet. I am pleased the GR8, as it fits well and looks quite sharp.The helmet fits pretty true to size, maybe just a touch on the large size, and the chin strap is comfortable and easy to adjust. I am not wild about how it fastens, with the weird metal thingy and snap, but it stays put and doesn't pinch or cause discomfort.The other nice thing about this helmet is that it seems to clean up easily. Dusty finger prints and horse hair just brush right off.In my opinion, this is a quality product and a good value.
    Date published: 2012-12-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Fit Love the fit, not as streamlined as I'd like but that's due to my giant head I think! This is my second CO and it fits great! I don't like how the fabric shows dust easily, but it comes off easy enough.
    Date published: 2012-10-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Expensive, but worth it This is wonderful helmet! It looks much better than the older CO models... much more streamlined and attractive. I did have a little trouble finding the right fit, however. Since I wasn't in a hurry, I was able to make worry-free returns to Smartpak until I had the perfect fit!
    Date published: 2012-08-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Such a "GR8" Helmet! The Charles Owen GR8 Helmet was definitely a great buy! The helmet itself fits well and a little snug, it is also very durable and protects very well. Aside from being a fully functional helmet, it is also very fashionable and easy to clean. A little towel or sponge can easily clean up any mess! At first I was a lithe skeptical of the price, but I have heard many wonderful things about this helmet and wanted to give it a try! Although it is on the pricier end of helmets; it is definitely worth it if it keeps you safe and you can keep it for years to come!
    Date published: 2012-08-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from A wonderful helmet After a fall my much beloved helmet needed to be replaced. I had previously had the Hampton hat by CO and really wanted to stick with CO. I love this helmet very much. It is extremely comfortable. Cleans up well with a damp sponge, or riding +3 horses in the pouring rain, of which being completely soaked (but not soaked through) dried out over night to a just purchased clean.
    Date published: 2012-08-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Charles Owen GR8 For that special show look! Nice fit - no headache -light on your head. I wear this one for Dressage. Jazz loves the fact that it matches HIM!
    Date published: 2012-07-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful Quality Helmet This is easily the one of the best helmets on the market today in terms of quality and style. Though expensive, you truly get your money's worth. The shape of the helmet itself seems to flatter anyone's face and it is very stylish and appropriate for the show ring. You can tell just by the way the helmet feels that it's made with quality materials. And I absolutely love the buckle feature instead of the snap. It looks much cleaner for shows. A suggestion I would make is that you should order the helmet to fit SNUGLY. This is what I did and it fits absolutely perfectly now. If you buy it a little bigger, the inner lining wil compress and the helmet will be way too big after a few rides. Also, some people say this helmet gets very hot when riding in warm weather, but it's actually not unbearable. It's of course not going to keep you as cool as a vented helmet, but you'll be hot in whichever helmet you wear when it's this hot. This is the best purchase I have ever made on a helmet, and when my other one is ready to retire, I will for sure be buying another GR8.
    Date published: 2012-07-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-07-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful Helmet This helmet is terrific. It fits perfectly (make sure to measure your head as instructed). It seems to be very high quality and I am proud to wear it at competitions. Good buy.
    Date published: 2012-06-23
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Bleh. My parents purchased this helmet for me since i had been begging for a GR8 for a very long time. Sadly, it was uncomfortable to wear with my long shiny locks down, and i looked like a snowglobe with my hair up... so unfortunately i had to return. All my friends who have this helmet say it's wonderful though, so i guess my hair and head shape are only suited for GPA's!
    Date published: 2012-05-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best helmet out there I absolutly love my GR8 charles owen!! this is my second one and i still love it. its the black on charcoal, i get a lot of compliments at shows and my friend liked the colors so much she got the same helmet. It fits beautifully and if buying this helmet get the cleaner and disenfectant, my helmets relatively new but on my old GR8 the sprays saved me before shows. Its a great helmet and i would reccomend it to anyone.
    Date published: 2012-05-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of the best out there I don't have enough good things to say about this helmet. The fit is terrific. I have never been more comfortable riding for long hours. Additionally, it's one of the few helmets that I don't think makes me look ridiculous with a bulbous head. It does ventilate well, especially outdoors, in the indoor if it's hot it gets a little toasty. I wish the outside of the helmet was a touch easier to clean.
    Date published: 2012-05-01
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from TOO HOT! I bought this helmet during the winter and really loved how it fits. However, there is not one single vent anywhere. Every time I ride my head is sweating and very hot, even when it is zero degrees out, my head is drenched in sweat when I take off the helmet. Forget about the summer months...it is painful to wear this helmet! Love the quality and style...but it is just way too hot!
    Date published: 2013-07-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Helmet! Worth the money! The only thing is, I ordered a 7 1/8 because my old IRH was that size, but it is a bit snug-Nothing bad just order one size up! :)
    Date published: 2012-03-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Helmet!! I absolutely LOVE the GR8. If you are looking at Charles Owen's, go with this one. The JR8 fit my head wierd. The GR8 Is also really good for fitting alot of hair under which is a problem for alot of competing junior riders. Hands down, best helmet around.
    Date published: 2012-03-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Charles Owen is unsurpassed in quality I love every CO helmet I have ever owned! Fit is great, and they are stylish!
    Date published: 2012-02-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from cool I love this helmet so much! At first I didn't think that is was worth all that money because I also have a IRH and it works really good and it was used... when I started to look into this helmet I really started to like it so I got it! It was a really nice helmet! I don't think I should've paid that much money for it though, like it really didn't do any thing special for me.
    Date published: 2012-02-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Helmet Great helmet. Fits awesome. I ordered it 1 size bigger than my head measured so I could put my hair up. I have thin and long hair. It fits perfectly!
    Date published: 2012-01-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2011-12-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gorgeous Helmet! This helmet is gorgeous. Very sleek and stylish yet durable and strong. It doesn't make your head look funny like some other show helmets do. It was pretty true to size. I measured my exact size then ordered the next size up for when I put my hair up. I have long hair, thin-medium hair. The helmet has plenty of room but is still snug without cutting off any circulation!
    Date published: 2011-12-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great helmet This helmut fits my head like a glove. Snug, and doesn't make me look like a bubblehead, especially as I have a very narrow face. I would recommend it to anyone who wants a very comfortable fit, and a professional look.
    Date published: 2011-12-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sharp helmet for the show ring This helmet is very attractive and looked incredibly sharp with my custom hunt coat. The fit is wonderful and the low profile keeps you from the dreaded "mushroom head" look :)
    Date published: 2011-12-06
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from It appears to sit high on your head (looks a little funny), but the quality of the helmat is very good.
    Date published: 2011-11-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love This Helmet After a fall from my horse, I had to replace my old helmet. I changed brands to buy the Charles Owen, but it's a better fit than my old, pricier helmet.
    Date published: 2011-10-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from GR8 Buy I bought tis during helmet safety week at a Great price. The harnes and chin strap are comfortable. The ample padding is a bit snug but is soft enough that I feel it will conform to mt head over time. If one has a lot of hair to tuck into a helmet consider going up a bit in size. Is is a professional polished look in the show ring.
    Date published: 2011-08-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Mid-Range Helmet I've had a GPA Titium for years now, as a "show-only" helmet because of how expensive and high quality it is. My everyday, beaten-up helmet, however, has needed replacing for a few months now. I was looking to upgrade to something more affordable than another GPA, but would be similar in quality, as well as function as a back-up show helmet in an emergency. About a month ago, I got my new CO GR8.I'm very happy with the quality, fit (I have a very hard-to-fit and large head.), and comfort of the helmet. It is relatively breathable (for not having air vents), since it doesn't cover as much of the skull as other helmets.On the other hand, it makes me look a bit like a bobble-head. The biggest problem I have with the GR8 is that I have a difficult time putting my hair up. My hair is quite long, and, with the shallowness of the helmet, it is hard to look tidy in the back. Small things like these are acceptable when considering cost.
    Date published: 2011-07-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Helmet! I've had this helmet for 2 years & it looks great in the show ring & is durable enough to be worn everyday. Its extremely comfortable & easy to clean, highly recommended!
    Date published: 2011-07-07
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Helmets What can I say, it's a helmet. I ended up returning it because I didn't like the way it fit. It sat purched ontop of my head. It wasn't very low profile....
    Date published: 2011-06-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love It! I love this product! It fits great and feels awesome.
    Date published: 2011-06-06
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.