Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Animalintex

Item #10614

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Animalintex is a veterinary poultice dressing. Animalintex works effectively as a cold poultice to reduce swelling, stiffness and soreness and as a hot poultice to draw abscesses and infections. Animalintex can also use as an antiseptic dry dressing. Clean and easy to work with.

8" x 16" Wrap or 5.5" x 5.5" Hoof Size.

You Might Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    Animalintex is rated 4.9091 out of 5 by 33.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Work well The hoof size works well. The price is not too bad. It does the job better than just salt soaking and waiting it out.
    Date published: 2012-11-12
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Abcess killer. Our vet suggested we use the full square to wrap the entirety of the hoof. Worked wonders!!
    Date published: 2012-05-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Poultice Animalintex is an easy to use and very effective poultice. I have used it for bee stings, abcesses, and strained tendons and it really helps draw out the heat and swelling. Will definitely get more.
    Date published: 2012-04-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Faster Drainage of Abscess The Animalintex hoof shaped pads are very convenient and much easier to use than cotton or other "home made" poultice alternatives. I always wrap the pad on securely with vet wrap. My horse shows improved comfort and draining with these pads and it is easy to identify when the abscess is fully drained because the pad stays in place and in contact with the hoof.
    Date published: 2012-03-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Product Ever This product is the BEST ever to use if your horse is experiencing an abscess. My Percheron is known for having abscesses. Our most recent abscess was a blow out and crack at the Coronary Band all the way around to the back of the hoof. The Vet and my Equine Podiatrist did not agree on the proper treatment for his hoof. The hoof was wrapped every day to every other day depending on how the boot held up! this product was the best at drawing out the infection! I would recommend the use of this product over warm water and epsom salt soaks any day of the week! The price is GREAT and the Product speaks for itself! A wonder treatment for horses that abscess!!
    Date published: 2011-12-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Waaaaay better than goopy poultices! For those of us in wet climates who battle hoof abscesses on a fairly routine basis, these fabulous innovations make the job MUCH easier! Just slap on the pad, wrap it with a baby diaper and some duct tape, and you're done! No poultices that turn hard in wet weather, no pouring iodine on epsom salts while balancing a hoof on your knee - well worth the money. I plan to buy in bulk before next winter!
    Date published: 2011-07-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from 100% WONDERFUL! When I first found this product: my friend's horse had been hit by a drunk driver. No one found the horse until it was too late to stitch up the wounds & my friend had been instructed to keep the wounds clean and moist. I got this product, took it to my friend's house & we wrapped it in the wound. THE POULTICE PULLED OUT AN INCREDIBLE AMOUNT OF GUNK! With repeated use of this product, the huge wound healed up-the only evidence left is a small scar. I immediately bought more to stock my own first aid kit with!
    Date published: 2011-06-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great product Draws out abcesses and then dry protects the hoof while healing
    Date published: 2011-05-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from An amazing product! This poultice was recommended by my vet when my gelding had a sore front hoof. After flexing and xrays turned up negative and no sign of an abcess could be found, she recommended I hot pack and wrap him. The results were amazing - a few days later he was as good as new. Great as a dry packing for healing abcesses, too.
    Date published: 2011-05-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from works well I have used these for bleeding injuries with good results.
    Date published: 2011-04-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wow! I was dealing with a small but nagging puncture wound on my horse's fetlock that just would NOT heal, despite multiple vet visits and different treatment options. The wound wound get better for a week or two, then abscess, over and over again.I eventually heard about the Animalintex pads after a couple months of this... Wrapped as a warm poultice for 3 days straight (12 hours wrapped, 12 hours unwrapped), and finally, SUCCESS!!! It's been over a month and no return abscesses... I think the Animalintex poultice pads were what finally did the trick.
    Date published: 2011-01-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful for Emergencies or Occasional Wrapping I purchased both the wraps and the hoof pads, but only had to use the wraps recently. They worked really well, were far less messier than poultice and standing wraps, and were more sanitary than reusable cotton quilting. Because of the cost, if a horse needed to be wrapped consistently for a long period of time, it might be more cost efficient to use good ol' poultice and standing wraps. But I'm glad I had these in my first aid kit, considering my horse doesn't need to be wrapped consistently, and they worked very well to take down the initial swelling from a pasture kick.P.S. when wringing the water out, do so GENTLY otherwise the three layers that make it up will separate!
    Date published: 2011-01-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Innovation at it's Best This is a great innovative product that is so convenient, easy to use and very effective. My vet used it first and recommended I keep a few. I hope I never need it but I'm ready if I do!
    Date published: 2010-12-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2010-11-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from We all know it works I had a stubborn blood pocket in the hoof that required me to soak and wrap every day for 3 weeks. I normally use an epsom salt paste which we all know is messy and hard to deal with for everyday wrapping. After 2 weeks of using that, my vet recommended Animalintex. The Aminalintex is easy to use and it does work. If there was any negative at all, it would be that it really stinks and makes the hoof stink after use but that is a non issue when you have a horse that is traveling on 3 legs!
    Date published: 2010-11-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best ever for treating abscesses! No soaking required; easy to apply even on difficult horses.
    Date published: 2010-09-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great all around product These pads are fabulous! They can be used as any sort of wet dressing as well as dry and come in two convenient sizes. The SmartPak price is unbeatable!
    Date published: 2010-07-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from excellent product! I use these all the time. They're especially handy in the winter when mixing poultice is difficult at best. I just wet them per the instructions and secure with a wrap. They really work to take the swelling down quickly.
    Date published: 2010-04-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from SUPER price!!! When I read a post to an EquiSearch forum about a vet for the Olympic eventing team raving about the Animalintex pad, I remembered that I had one in my medical supplies, and thought I'd look at them on SmartPak's site. I paid nearly twice SmartPak's price at a tack shop for the one I have! When I saw how good the price was here--and had heard so many good reviews about them--I ordered a pack of hoof-size pads, and 3 full-size pads, to put in all of my 1st aid bags!
    Date published: 2010-01-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tack room must have Everyone should have one of these little jems on hand at all times.
    Date published: 2010-01-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A STAPLE first aid item Everyone should have a few of these poultice pads on hand. They are so versatile! You can use them dry as a wound dressing, or wet them with cold water to serve as a poultice. They travel easily too, making them nice to take along in place of a heavy bucket of poultice.
    Date published: 2009-10-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Product This product is the best thing ever!! i used it on my horses abcess. it was unbelievable how it drew out the infection.. it worked better than any drawing sauve. i will continue to use these in the future for the care of my horses.
    Date published: 2009-09-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from vet recommended is easy to use to help open/drain a gravel on the horses foot. didn't have much success, but was more the nature of the gravel rather then the product
    Date published: 2009-04-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Life Saver! This poultice wrap is awesome. I used upon recommendation from my vet for treating a hoof abscess. It's great becasue you can cut the wrap down to whatever size you need and get multiple uses out of the wrap. Super easy to use- I plan on keeping this stocked in my first aid cabinet for any future needs. Also, SmartPak's price on this is great. I was horrifed to learn that I payed over TWICE SmartPak's price when I bought it from my vet.
    Date published: 2009-01-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from my #1 must have product!!! I was first turned on to Animalintex while working at a farm in the UK, where it was used for everything - with good reason! I use it wet for treating scratches, mud fever, dew poisoning, etc. (the only thing I've found to be 100% effective - it may take a day or two of continuous bandaging, but it's well worth it!) Wash legs ONCE then bandage with wet poultice and don't rinse afterward! (You’ll have to wrap it lightly with gauze to hold it in place under a standing bandage, sheet-cotton-and-vet-wrap, or polo.) It is also great for drawing hoof abscesses and thrush (even good for white line.) Use wet after soaking foot and bandage, then switch to dry after the abscess has drained. It is great on wounds, and can be used wet or dry - depending on the type of wound - to speed healing and prevent infection. If you switch to the dry application at the right time, it will help prevent all or most proud flesh (off-label use with cortisone ointment over the granulation tissue works great.) The list goes on. I just can't say enough great things about this product. The only drawbacks are that it is expensive and the dimensions of the pad are awkward, but if you can work around that, this will become your favorite go-to product for all of your first-aid needs!
    Date published: 2009-02-04
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.