Product Image

Yucca Saponin

Uckele Health & Nutrition
- Item #11842
Form: Powder
Maintenance Dose: 1 SmartPak Well

Yucca Saponin is an herb that is used to naturally support joint health/promote comfort in older horses or any horse suffering from stiffness and soreness. Yucca Saponin contains 10% Yucca Schidigera extract. May reduce inflammation associated with normal daily exercise and activity. 

View our Anti-Inflammatory Comparison Chart

Order This Product In:

    Ships every 28 days
  edit
Maintenance Dose
  edit
Custom Dose  cancel
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Shipping on SmartPaks over $40
Congrats, you earned free shipping!

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Shipping on orders over $75
Congrats, you earned free shipping!
You Might Also Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    Yucca Saponin is rated 4.6757 out of 5 by 37.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Quality, Excellent Price My biggest worry with my OTTB regarding her pain management is the development of ulcers, which has occurred in the past. She cannot be on any medication or herb like Bute, Firocoxib, or even Devil's Claw without having a reaction or stomach upset. Since having her on Yucca Saponin by Uckele she has maintained her weight and appetite beautifully with no changes whatsoever! She is moving much more comfortably without being numbed or drugged to achieve these results when before this was what had to be done to keep her 100% sound. I'm very pleased with the results. Thank you to Uckele for a great product and to SmartPak for carrying such wonderful supplements!!
    Date published: 2012-07-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-03-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Old Reliable Back in the 80's before there were many supplements on the market, I used yucca for my teenaged show jumper. It worked really well then to relieve him of stiffness so I decided to try it again as an inexpensive alternative today. My teenaged horses and ponies who I've put on it have shown a remarkable difference in their way of going.
    Date published: 2013-11-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Choice We had a close call with a nerve disease on this 30 year old horse. Her joint clicking and and overall movment has improved, glad I found this product!
    Date published: 2011-09-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from works good Works good using in conjunction to senior flex pellets. Have noticed a difference so far.
    Date published: 2011-08-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product I have been giving my 25 year old mare Yucca Saponin for about 3 years now. Her arthritis and stiffness in her legs has improved immensely since starting her on Yucca Saponin. The best part is that she actually eats it willingly in her grain. Great product at a great price.
    Date published: 2011-07-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So far so good! Its's only been a few days since i have had JC on yucca but so far i have seen improvement...she doesn't limp anymore after being worked. I will be putting her on smart tendon along with keeping her on the yucca. Being an ottb she does have a small tendon issue in her front leg so hopefully between the two supplements it helps keep her sound..i would recommend this to someone with a horse that has tendon or ligament problems..even arthritis, which JC also has in her front leg. I am very happy with this product and will continue the use of it!
    Date published: 2011-03-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth a try My mare had a bad case of cellulitis that took three weeks worth of antibiotics to clear up. Apparently the vascular/lymphatic vessels in her leg were damaged during that time, causing fluid to build in her leg because the vasc/ lymph system was unable to drain it away. I tried a variety of therapies, (liniment, poultices, sweat wraps, warm hosing, cold hosing, acupuncture, magnawave, etc) with nothing really helping. I decided to try the yucca supplement out of desperation, but not really expecting much. I am happy to report that with constant wrapping, full turn-out, icing after work, and her yucca supplement that she is doing great. The yucca has definitely helped in keeping the inflammation to a minimum, and even when she is having a 'flare-up', they are much shorter and less intense than before. My only concern is if used long term, will it increase her chances of ulcers? There seems to be conflicting answers. I don't like creating a problem in order to treat a different problem. I guess only time will tell.
    Date published: 2011-03-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Helps Arthritis I have seen an improvement in my horses movement with using Yucca and this is the first one that he will eat within adding something to it.
    Date published: 2011-03-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic results! Years ago I leased a 21 year old TB gelding. At 21 years of age he was still sound and jumping (itty bitty things). He would get slightly creaky every once and a while, and I put him on Yucca half expecting it to do nothing.Boy was I wrong! I noticed a huge difference. His mane and tail even improved.Now Yucca is my go to supplement for any horse that is just plain creaky. Fantastic product, with real results- for a reasonable price!
    Date published: 2011-02-17
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Yucca Saponin I have had my 15 yr. old TB gelding on Yucca for a few months now and it seems to be helping with the stiffness and creeking in his hocks. I am using it in combination with Smart Flex Senior Pellets. It is also very inexpensive so I will continue to purchase as long as it seems to be helping.
    Date published: 2011-01-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yucca Is a great idea The yucca saponin is a great help in mares with mild heat issues. It eases the pain and makes the horse more comfortable. It also eases day to day strains and stresses due workouts. I recommend yucca for any horse to ease the strain of daily workouts.
    Date published: 2010-08-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Helps with aches and pains I love to use yucca when my horse creatively hurts himself playing in the pasture, or training strenuously. It helps with aches and pains associated with muscles and tendon issues. All my horses like the flavor, however, I love pellets better. Just toss some chopped carrots in the bucket to stick the extra supplement on...
    Date published: 2010-05-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2010-05-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2010-04-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Doing the job well My 16 year old horse was getting stiff joint's easily and took a long time to warm up. He loves to work (Prix St George level) and enjoys doing what he did all those years, but his joints were not cooperating. Now that he is on Yucca (and MSM) he is showing great improvement and is enjoying showing off again!
    Date published: 2010-03-24
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Creak no more ! My 22 year old quarter horse mare was developing audible "creaking" in her legs when she first got moving on cold mornings.After about two weeks on Yucca she was silent as a mouse and moving around with little to no stiffness. A great product for a great price!
    Date published: 2010-03-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2010-02-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Hoping for same efficacy as,.... Had my senior horse on this product before and switched because he was leaving all the powder in the bottom of his bucket. Switched to Nu-Flex Jr. because it was pelleted and actually had more Yucca per serving. Manufacterer has discontinued the Nu-flex Jr. and so I'm back to this product. It has less Yucca per dose (than the Nu-fex Jr.) and a powder/crumble presentation that my horse does not care for. Am trying some flavored pellets and if those do not work, maybe some flavored electrolytes. I'm sold on Yucca as an effective supplement, just wish this product was palatable without going through additional steps and money to get it into my horse.
    Date published: 2010-02-12
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from So far so good I have picky eaters and this can be a challenge when needing to put them on a supplement. This product has been great so far.
    Date published: 2010-01-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent product I have been using Yucca for years on my horses. I use it for all of them. As a maintenance for the older or ones with lameness problems, and just for preventative measures for all others. I've had horses all my life. Yucca keeps them sound and happy.
    Date published: 2010-01-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Arthritis Cure I have an appaloosa mare who is about 22 years old and she has been suffering from arthirtis for years. I started giving her Yucca Saponin about a year ago and it has helped cure her stiffnesss immensely. Also, she is very picky about what she eats in her grain and she will actually eat this with no problem!
    Date published: 2009-12-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Costs required a change I changed from a product that I really liked and so did the horses. The change of product I figured out was just one ingredient so I thought I would try this. So far the change has been good and it seems that it is working just as well as the other. I deal with minor arthritis and when it comes to being a major arthritis I may have to change back but for now this is really doing well. I hope I don't have to go back!
    Date published: 2009-11-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great product, smells yummy, and my horse licks the bucket clean every time. When he got pulled at a 50 mile for lameness I put him on Yucca Saponin and he hasn't been pulled from a 50 yet! We also went 94 miles at Tevis (100 very tough miles) before getting pulled.
    Date published: 2009-08-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Second best I've had my horse on yucca for years and have no doubts about its benefits. This isn't my favorite yucca supplement, but it's the only one offered by SmartPak at this time. I wish I didn't have to make a choice between the convenience of including yucca in my SmartPaks and having the product I really want! This is still a better supplement than the "yucca-flavored pellets," which actually contain very little yucca per ounce.
    Date published: 2009-06-23
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from unbelievably, he eats it! It is probably too soon to tell whether the product is improving my 26 yo gelding's flexibility, but he is eating it, which he doesn't do with most other supplements. This may be the first one I have not had to hide in his food.
    Date published: 2009-06-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yucca I have a older mare I give her Yucca and it seems to make her feel better. She trots to her feed bucket
    Date published: 2009-06-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Too soon to tell So far, so good, but I've only been using the product for few days, and I think it will take longer to see if it really works or not.
    Date published: 2009-08-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Value I am a 12 year old Thoroughbred who jumped for years in the AAO Division; I am now retired due to degenerative joint disease (i.e. I was over-jumped by my last owner). I now have a new owner who uses me for hacking and 1st level dressage. Yucca added to my smartPaks has helped me remain comfortable and happy in my new job. As a teenage horse with lots of years left in me, I expect to be ridden for years to come and my owner and veterinarian will see to it that I remain as happy and comfortable as possible. I highly recommend this product. Great value for the money.
    Date published: 2012-10-25
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.