Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Weatherbeeta Airflow Detach-A-Neck Fly Sheet

Weatherbeeta USA
- Item #20260

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Sometimes you want the protection of a neck cover with your fly sheet, and sometimes you don't.

The Weatherbeeta Airflow Detach-A-Neck Fly Sheet, made of a soft and durable polyester mesh outer shell, allows you to choose the neck style you need. The Freestyle Full Wrap Tail Flap and removable belly band provide additional protection to the tail and belly area. Traditional shoulder gussets for mobility, plus removable web leg straps. 70% UV protection.

Imported.

How to measure a horse.

You Might Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    Weatherbeeta Airflow Detach-A-Neck Fly Sheet is rated 4.4627 out of 5 by 67.
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not As Durable As I Hoped... Purchased this sheet at the beginning of the summer for my Paint mare. The "map" across her back, in the saddle area, burns if she isn't covered, and I thought a sheet with UV protection would be easier than keeping sunscreen on her. This sheet was perfectly fitted to her, um, "generous" (beerkeg) figure - I never found a rub anywhere. The neck cover stayed put very well, and I did notice a reduction in the number of bites/welts on her while wearing the sheet. The two issues I had were 1) the near side T-buckle on the back of the belly strap would consistently come undone, no matter how (or how often) I adjusted the straps, and 2) less than 3 months in, there are massive holes torn in it. I can only assume she got into it with some of her pasture mates, as the damage came on suddenly. Unfortunately, the tears are not on the seams, they are throughout the central portions of the sheet itself and do not seem repairable. Even if they are, I am still disappointed. I have always had good luck with Weatherbeeta products, but I will buy cheaper fly/UV sheets from now on, and only count on them lasting one season.
    Date published: 2013-08-14
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Keeps flies off but........ First ordered the detach-a-neck. Sent back cause the neck was too big and fell down without being attached to a halter. The standard sheet fit well and protected against flies. It seems to be comfy for my horse. But.. I've had the sheet for less than 1 month and it is already torn. My horse is at pasture with 2 other horses so.... not sure what is causing the rips. Thought it would hold up longer than this.
    Date published: 2013-08-04
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not for turnout I have had the sheet for less than 3 months and it already has several rips in from being on for 8 hours/day with only one other horse in a cleared pasture. The material isn't as strong as I had thought or expected. The belly band is great, and my horse doesn't get hot with it. However, I would not recommend this fly sheet if you are looking for a more than one season sheet. If I had known the material wasn't as tough as advertised I would have bought a less expensive sheet. The fit is a little large, but does not rub.
    Date published: 2013-08-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from MY HORSE LOVES THIS FLYSHEET!! I have never spent this much for any stable sheet, but this fly sheet is great, and now I know it was worth the money. My 20 year old QH gelding I was told never had on any kind of stable sheet/blanket before. When I bought him 3 years ago, I promised him a very happy semi-retirement, and he loves this sheet so much, he stands over by the fence for me to put it on him, with nothing holding him there! It is very durable, as my horse still rolls when wearing it, and it appears to be very comfortable and breathable, by feeling him underneath the sheet. When it gets dirty, I just take it off, hose it off, let it dry, and put back on. He also has the fly mask by defender that is the same color, silver and navy, and has the eyes infront looking at a bug. They match perfect! I haven't tried the neck attachment yet. It is designed and sewn very well. It appeared to be just right in size. I leave the top buckle in the front very loose, so that when he bends down to eat, it doesn't rub on him. The lower buckle I keep as you normally would. We are extremely happy with it! The belly cover is great too, really keeps bugs off. Highly recommend it!
    Date published: 2014-03-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Like It This fly sheet appears to be well made. The fabric is not stiff and drapes well. The best part by far is the belly band.
    Date published: 2013-07-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome fly protection These fly sheets are wonderful! They fit well and they are easy to get on and off. They are machine washable and hold up very well. It says to line dry...but I'll be honest, I've thrown them in the dryer on gentle...they came out great. My two mares roll in them, and are basically pretty tough on them and they have held up wonderfully. They run true to size. I would buy them again and recommend them highly.
    Date published: 2013-07-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Well Made, But Heavy I really liked the price point and construction of this fly sheet! If you horse is hard on his blankets & tends to rip up flysheets I would give this a try. I did return this fly sheet because I felt it was too heavy. My horse gets sweaty very easily & felt he needed something lighter.
    Date published: 2013-07-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Well Made, But Heavy I really liked the price point and construction of this sheet! If your horse tends to tear up his flysheet I would recommend this sheet. I did return it because the sheet itself was very heavy & my horse gets very sweaty very easily & I felt I needed something lighter for him.
    Date published: 2013-07-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice sheet! Although others commented that this runs large, I found it to be right on target. Smart Pak's customer service is so good, they sent both a 75" & 78" (my horse wears a 75" in Rambos), and the 75 fit perfectly. Free shipping both ways, including the return on the one I didn't want. I like the ample shoulder room and the wide belly band. My only criticism is that it runs a little shallow through the chest - in order to give him leeway to graze, I have to buckle so that there is a slight gap in the front. Otherwise, a very nice sheet.
    Date published: 2013-06-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fly sheet! This is a great fly sheet! I love the belly band and tail flap. The neck portion could stand to be a little smaller around but nothing that would make me not buy several more.
    Date published: 2013-06-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great sheet This fly sheet has worked real well for me. My horse has a problem with flies and hives. Since I started using this sheet, no problems! It's only a month old, but no visible signs of wear. Like the belly strap a lot.
    Date published: 2013-06-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Classy, durable fly sheet I love the Weatherbeeta Fly Sheets. After having one for my upper level horse for almost 2 full years there was no question on what to order when I got a new horse this winter. They hold up well, look great, and the shoulder gussets allow for longer turnouts without shoulder rubs. The removable neck is a nice feature as well, if for some reason you do not need it, but have it for turnout.
    Date published: 2013-06-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Consistent Weatherbeeta Quality I purchased this fly sheet with the neck cover, after purchasing the same one (sheet only) last year. It fits my large TB mare well, does not rub at the shoulders, neck or hips and keeps her comfortably protected from bugs. The only downside is the trade off between the durability of the mesh, and its ability to breathe and allow the horse to keep cooler on hot days. I will happily replace a sheet like this more often than worry about overheating.
    Date published: 2013-06-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good sheet for fly protection I have a big 1/2 perch 1//2 arab. This fits well & ran true to size for her, even though she is exceptionally broad for her height. It covers very well & seems to be durable. It washed very well. I don't know how it will hold up all season, cause I just got it a couple of weeks ago. I love the detachable hood & use it all the time. It is very roomy. Like the Velcro to attach to fly mask or halter.
    Date published: 2013-06-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super fly sheet I bought this sheet for both my percherons. I read the other reviews stating that the neck was big so I figured it would fit my boys well and it does! I don't know how they would fit an average sized horse but for my big fellas, I am very happy. I wish they came with the insectashield though.
    Date published: 2013-05-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Runs big, but good sheet I bought one of these fly sheets for both my horses, who are about to spend their first summer in North Carolina. The quality seems to be pretty good, especially for the price.However, they do run large. I sized down for both of my horses based on other reviews, and the blankets fit well in terms of length. The neck cover is still pretty loose on both of them though, including my big guy with the huge neck. Because of that, it slides down a little bit and leaves the top part of their neck exposed. There is a loop to attach to a halter or fly mask at the top of the neck cover, but the neck cover isn't long enough on either of my boys to be able to use it. I ended up just taking the neck covers off.
    Date published: 2013-04-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from So far, so good. Coming into spring this is my new best flysheet. It seems durable. Fits my big guy well, will have to wait to see if it's durable enough for a field of geldings.
    Date published: 2013-03-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent coverage Bought this for my mare with insect sensitivity. She had another brand before that didn't offer enough neck coverage (she is a large warmblood with a super long neck) and she always expressed some unhappiness when I put the old one on. She willingly accepts this sheet, and the coverage is much better. It covers almost to her ears even without using the halter strap. It also does not rub her mane like the old one I had. I wish there was one more velcro strap for the neck piece, but otherwise it has a nice thick belly strap and a great tail cover. So far she hasn't managed to rip it, and neither has her friend across the fence that rips her blankets all the time!
    Date published: 2013-03-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great sheet! love the sheet! fits great and the belly & neck options are wonderful.
    Date published: 2012-10-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this fly sheet This is my first fly sheet but I love it! It has held up wonderfully and doesn't rub. Washes well too. Just make sure you measure correctly according to the Weatherbeeta website. Fits true to size if you measure correctly. I am planning to buy a second for a spare.
    Date published: 2012-10-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Fly Sheet Having tried a cheaper fly sheet I wanted one with a wider belly band as my horse is subject to skin issues in the spring/fall from flies. This one was not as spendy as some I looked at and was the only one I found with the wider belly band. I really like it. It seems to help and has been VERY durable. He is wearing it 24/7 and it has held up just great. I have washed it several times and it comes out looking like new. I have also found this one to be a bit more breathable than some of the cheaper fly sheets. Sizing runs a bit to the large side.
    Date published: 2012-10-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect! Fits true to size if you measure right. This sheet has held up to turnout with several other horses. Now I don't have to worry about my boy being sprayed often enough or that he is being tormented by flies and mosquitos!
    Date published: 2012-10-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Runs way big My horse measures 82" so I ordered the 81". Was way to big. The 78" fits nicely.
    Date published: 2012-10-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very happy with it! My gelding is extremely fly sensitive and they really seem to attack him, no matter the amount of fly spray I use. This fly sheet has really helped. It is durable, fits nicely (almost perfectly, maybe just a teeny bit long), and covers as much as possible. He's rolled in it extensively and has been out with other playful horses, yet it still has no rips, tears, or snags at all. I really like that the top of the detachable neck has a strap to hook onto a fly mask, and it's actually long enough to stay up and not pull on the fly mask or halter. I would definitely buy it again.
    Date published: 2012-09-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Purchase This fit my large mare perfectly and has been durable all summer long.
    Date published: 2012-09-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great buy I bought this fly sheet over the summer for my paint gelding. He developed a sensitivity to the sun and began to burn badly. I needed something light weight and UV protective and this was perfect. He is turned out 24/7 and this sheet kept up with him. I really like the belly piece because its not just a strap but more of a detach able wrap. The neck piece is nice too because it covers parts of the shoulders (which in his case where burned the worst) that the sheet didn't. However, the neck does run a little big (wide).
    Date published: 2012-09-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Runs big, but love everything else! My giant usually barely squeezes into an 86, but the size 84 in this flysheet has plenty of room. It seems comfortable for him, and he doesn't sweat much even on the hottest days. I can't really comment on durability since I got it only about a month ago, but so far so good!
    Date published: 2012-08-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best fly sheet My mare is a bug magnet and is allergic to insect bites. She develops big hives. I've used this fly sheet for over a month and washed it several times. The fabric is breathable and very durable. She rolls when wearing the fly sheet and it stays in place thanks to the legs straps and broad belly band. We live in Florida where the humidity and heat can be almost intolerable. She is able to sweat and not become overheated while wearing this sheet. I'm very happy with this product.
    Date published: 2012-08-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-08-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-08-19
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.