Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

SmartPak Deluxe Fly Boots

SmartPak
- Item #21108
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Is your horse tired of stomping in the field all summer long to keep the bugs off his legs? Protect his legs from pests with the SmartPak Deluxe Fly Boots!

Favorite Features

  • Airmesh body allows for maximum airflow and breathabiliy while offering maximum protection against biting insects which means your horse's legs stay cool and protected
  • Comfortable fleece edging keeps the boots from rubbing
  • Ergonomic fit ensures a comfortable horse
  • VELCRO® brand closures keep boots securely in place
Set of 4.

*Fly boots are not designed to be kept on overnight or for extended period of time if the horse is not supervised.

Sizing It Up

Cob, Horse.

You Might Like
    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SmartPak Deluxe Fly Boots is rated 3.413 out of 5 by 46.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great coverage on all four legs! My horse injured his right front leg swatting flies. These boots have totally stopped foot stomping and kicking at his front legs.
    Date published: 2014-07-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Durable & Comfortable! (Not Barn-Staff-Proof) LOVE these boots! They have a much better fit than other brands, stay up all day and keep bugs off and out. My only wish is to see them come in a slimmer design for petite boned horses. (I own a large and simultaneously petite Thoroughbred) My gelding loves them!These are NOT Barn Staff Proof. Staff at our stables do not do them up tightly enough or correctly on the back legs, they were also put on during a very muddy day which pulled them down. Best used in a paddock that is not a giant mud puddle!(They did effectively keep the mud off of a bad case of Scratches on one foot - bonus!)
    Date published: 2014-07-23
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fits great I have a warmblood and it fits her nicely and doesn't rub !
    Date published: 2014-07-17
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from The concept works These would be great and I think stay up better if there was one additional size. There is either Cobb or Horse and the Horse size is to big around for my Quarter Horse and she is average size. Need a size in between. The velcro is extremely tough, they aren't coming off for sure but I think would actually stay up better if I could make them more snug.
    Date published: 2014-07-09
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Disappointing... Unfortunately, these fly boots were disappointing. The plastic stays did not help at all with keeping the boots in the proper position and the boot material was not stiff enough to keep the boots in place. Even before they were in place, one of the tabs on the Velcro tore off. Not what I expected from a SmartPak item - returned one of the 2 pairs I bought. After only a couple of weeks, the hind pair are shredded at the bottom and not useable.
    Date published: 2014-06-17
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Disappointing Quality I live in South Carolina and we are constantly fighting flies. I have tried several different fly boots and since my horses wear them every day from April until October I tend to order several over the summer. I bought the smartpak brand because I have been very pleased with their high standards and quality of their products. I purchased the fly boots for my daughter’s 16 hand thoroughbred who is turned out 24/7. The fly boots were so big, around the leg that they barely fit. Then after 3 weeks we noticed they were sliding down around the fetlock and after 5 weeks they have developed holes. I am very disappointed since I have been ordering smartpak brand products for years and have always been impressed. Unfortunately, I do not recommend this product.
    Date published: 2014-05-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally! Fly Boots that work!!! I have a mare who is allergic to midges and gnats. She gets scabby legs every summer. These are the only fly boots that I have found to stay up and stay on! Wonderful product!!!!!!!!
    Date published: 2013-09-04
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Love the Concept... Sincerely love the design of these boots but they didn't work for a very personalized situation. For my mare with a dropped hind fetlock, the boots got pulled down and the stays warped and twisted, but bent back surprisingly well. Fronts are a great fit and didn't have to fight the conformation to stay up.Construction is lovely, fleece is very soft but doesn't pick up a ton of "stuff". Velcro is strong but I had no problems removing it. Even the boots that got dragged in the dirt for a day or two as "anklets" came 99.9% clean and will simply mix my pairs with another brand on the hinds to avoid the dropped fetlock pulling the boot down. Felt like they ran a bit large in diameter and wish in retrospect that I had gone for the Cob size for my mare. She wears a medium WOOF splint boot all around.
    Date published: 2013-08-19
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Pretty disappointed My horses live outside, and these fly boots held up for about a week or less. Definitely not made for horses who live in 24/7 turnout. I have always had great experience with Smartpak products, but these were very disappointing. The support in the back bent and the Velcro stopped sticking because of the mud. They did not stay in place and shifted around the cannon bones causes rubs. Smartpak did however honor their return policy and said they will be taking them back and giving me different fly boots. Thankful for Smartpak good customer service!
    Date published: 2013-08-16
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Worst purchase ever My horse is turned out all day. Within two weeks of purchase the boots would not stand up and one of the stays/bands (keeps boot up) had pushed through the fabric. I do not have the extra money to purchase a different pair. I am very very upset with the lack of quality of these fly boots. Along with the purchase of the fly sheet - these are probably two of the worst purchases I have made in 24 years of owning two different horses.
    Date published: 2013-08-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love Them!! I have a gelding that always took off his fly boots by ripping the Velcro. He leaves these on! Funny though he will not wear the hind ones. He doesn't mind polo wraps, track bandages, or boots on his hind legs but with fly boots, he kicks out and/or down, squeals/grunts, and is just disturbed the entire time! They are too long to use on his front legs (15.3hh) but maybe my mare could wear them since she's bigger and longer legged (16.3hh).
    Date published: 2013-08-07
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Smart Pak Fly Boots I thought with the design the boots would stay in place. They don't :o( they twist around their legs. Which makes the stiff plastic stay bend in an odd way, that I have to try and re-bend to correct angle hoping I don't crack the plastic stay. I do like the material used B/C they don't rub causing sores on my horse's leg.
    Date published: 2013-07-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Better than some but with a few issues My horse stomps flies no matter what I spray on her and has had sore feet in the past. Have tried many different fly leg wraps - some fell apart, some ended up around her ankles. These wraps are better than most - they are very soft and the velcro closures are very secure. There is an insert in the back of the wraps that helps the wraps stay up. These wraps are designed to the shape of the lower leg which is a plus and a minus. Initially they go on well and fit the leg well. However as the horse walks they tend to twist around and the "insert" to help them stay up gets twisted as well and is hard to get back into shape. I'm not sure how a wrap could be designed so it doesn't twist like this and I do realize we are trying to put "clothing" on an 1100 lb animal so nothing is going to be perfect. All in all I am happy with these boots - they are better than most, but they have their issues also.
    Date published: 2013-07-24
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from love SmartPak, but not these boots I was looking for more leg coverage (these boots are longer than most) but they don't stay up well, they also shift around, and the "stay" in the back of them kept having to be straightened out a bit. I also wanted the coverage for the rear legs (and this set comes in 2 fronts and 2 backs) but my horse just kept stomping his hind feet for 3 days straight. Finally I took them off and don't use them. I realize that is not SmartPak's problem but overall I wouldn't recommend these boots. I like the Kensington boots better and will go back to them.
    Date published: 2013-07-24
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Bad Design These sounded like a good idea but are a big flop. I have a 16.1 morgan gelding with normal legs and there is no way they fit. Too big. Twist around all the time. Can not speak to the issue of durability because I have only had them 2 weeks. Bad design.
    Date published: 2013-07-23
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Had to be Returned Unfortunately they had to be returned. I bought 3 sets for 3 horses - one 17.0hh and two 17.1hh. Even though I have larger horses, the Velcro was too long (or inappropriately placed) so by the time the boots were fastened there was little Velcro attached and lots of Velcro flapping in the breeze. The plastic stays on the back of the boots permanently crumpled, letting the boots collapse to the fetlocks. Once crumpled the stays could not be straightened so the boots could no longer be placed straight on the lower leg. All of this happened over two-day's use. I appreciate that SmartPak guarantees their products so I was able to return the fly boots.
    Date published: 2013-07-22
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Great Concept but Don't Actually Work Despite wrapping these as tightly as I can, these boots do NOT stay up. My horses include Warmbloods, a Friesian cross, and an Arabian. The horse-sized boots are too big around on all but the Friesian, and need a longer strip of Velcro. I am switching to the Kensington fly boots, as they do stay up.
    Date published: 2013-07-15
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from The quality is good However, I think they are too thick and heavy. I don't believe they will breathe well, and the horses' legs will heat too much. They do seem very durable on the other hand. But I'm willing to sacrifice that for their well-being.
    Date published: 2013-07-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great boots! I purchased these about two weeks ago to replace the typical plastic mesh type boots from another company as those boots were giving my older mare rubs on her hind legs. These are a soft material, very similar to the mesh on sneakers, only thicker. There is nothing to rub her legs on these boots! We call them her bedroom slippers :). However, if you have burrs in your pasture, these boots would probably not be a good choice for you. The plastic stay in the back molded itself to the actual shape of her leg (I'm guessing from her body warmth?), which really helps them stay in place. I love that the fronts and hinds are sized appropriately for the differing lengths of front and hind legs. I did not find the Velcro tabs to be too difficult to undo, especially since they have a small "grab tag" on the ends. I liked these boots so much that I immediately purchased another pair for my other horse.The fit seems good too (I ordered two pairs in the cob size). My older mare is a bulldog type QH with thick, stocky legs. These fit just right with no gaps, and the Velcro matches up completely. My other mare is an Arab/QH with finer legs, and there is some overlap on the front of these boots for her and the Velcro overlaps a bit at the ends, but the fit is still good. She has not undone the Velcro yet either, even with the overlapping bit.My only concern is how well the stay will remain in place in the boot itself. I think it could use some reinforcement to keep it from rubbing through the top or bottom of the "sleeve" it is in---perhaps some heavy webbing on the inside of the fleece where it won't touch the horse? I do think they will last as long as any other fly boot I have tried though, and the price is excellent.These will be my fly boots of choice from now on! Thank you SmartPak!
    Date published: 2013-07-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Impressive! Have held up so far... But it's only been a week. Haven't shifted or fallen down at all and he has been wearing them 24/7. Hope they keep up through the rest of the fly season!
    Date published: 2013-07-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Boots! My 16.1, thoroughbred mare has been wearing these wraps during the day for 3 weeks. Smart Pak offered them as a replacement for a pair of Fly Wraps which had lost a Velcro strap within a couple of days. These wraps don't slip down my girl's long, skinny legs like the other wraps did. They have a strip of plastic along the back that has conformed to her leg. She occasionally tugs at a wrap and turns it around. The material is thicker than I had imagined it would be, and I was afraid they might be too hot, but even in our hot, humid climate, she is not sweating under the wrap. The wraps definitely help to give her some peace from those pesky flies!
    Date published: 2013-06-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Fly Boots I've had the SmartPak flyboots for several weeks now on both of my horses, and they're working very well. I find them easy to put on and remove, they stay in place, and they give great protection from flies. I will definitely buy these again. They are a great value for the price.
    Date published: 2013-06-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good fit, softer than others I've used I really like the softer feel and smooth fit of these fly boots. My mare is a fly magnet and these fly boots do a good job keeping her legs fly-free. Super velcro closures and a stabilizer along with back keep them from sagging. Easy to hose clean and they dry quickly. I have used two other brands in the past-these are my choice.
    Date published: 2013-06-19
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Shifting and difficulty keeping the boots in place The boots lasted well for the first few weeks. I'm having more difficulty keeping them in place now, particularly the rear boots. One issue is the Velcro on the boot themselves needs to be longer to allow the tabs to fully attach. When first put on, a good half of the tab is without anything to attach to. More Velcro could help keep them in place and stop their annoying tendency to twist around on the leg. I would try them again if improvements were made but not otherwise.
    Date published: 2013-06-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Poor flies never had a chance! The soft mesh fabric seems so much more comfortable but it's fitted so the flies can't get in at the top or bottom. The Velcro is SUPER strong and they haven't come off in the pasture yet.
    Date published: 2013-06-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very satisfied My mare is constantly stomping the flies off her legs so decided to try the fly boots. Have only been using them a couple of weeks but so far they have been great. Biggest concern was whether or not they would stay in place and they do. Fit is good and so far very sturdy. I have a small Arabian and ordered the cobb size. Easy to put on and take off. I have not washed them yet.
    Date published: 2013-06-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Seriously Good Buy I have a giant Dutch Warmblood mare that really, really hates flies. She gets fussy when I take these boots off and allow flies access to her legs. She loves them, which means I love them. They're the only ones I've tried that stay put. As others have mentioned, the Velcro is ridiculously strong. I have to allow a couple of extra minutes to get these things off before I tack up. These fly boots are well worth the price and I will buy them again.
    Date published: 2013-06-11
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love the ergonomic fit. I have found the front boots to be excellent. Very pleased with how they fit and that they stay up, my horse has gotten no rubs from these as of this time.The back boots however slouch quite a bit - you really have to do them up as tight as you can. The plastic "stay" that runs up the back has warped from the slouching (so there is a bend in it besides the one it's made with) and I can not get it to straighten out. So far this has not caused any rubbing, but I'm keeping an eye on it.
    Date published: 2013-06-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Fly Boots I have been using these fly boots for 3 days and they are the best I have ever bought. I have a 24 year old Arabian that is a bug magnet. Over the 14 years I have owned him I have tried every brand of fly boots on the market. Either they did not fit well, would not stay up, rubbed, tore, or he did not like them. These are soft, easy to put on, are staying up beautifully, easy to fit to hIs legs, and he has not protested at all. He and I both are happy with them.
    Date published: 2013-05-28
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Do not cover the top of the hoof The first time we fitted them they did not cover the edge of the hoof so flies still bother them. Then they slid because of the loose connection around the hoof. After one wearing there was a hole in one the size of my horses hoof. It slid off and dragged until it wore through.
    Date published: 2013-05-17
    • 2015-03-02T07:59CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.1
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_45
    • loc_en_US, sid_11108, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Horse of the Month: Sir Rocco
    Horse of the Month: Sir Rocco, a.k.a “Bud” Breed: Appaloosa Age: 24 years old PATH Intl. Accredited Center: Hearts & Horses Location: Loveland, CO Bud is an incredible equine therapist, and has been at Hearts & Horses the longest of

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.