Product Image

SmartEnergy® Pellets

SmartSupplements by SmartPak
- Item #18251
Form: Pellets
Maintenance Dose: 1 SmartPak Well



Running low on horsepower? If your horse isn’t giving you his all, it might be because he doesn’t have everything he needs. Give him comprehensive nutritional support to power his performance so he can give you everything he’s got.

SmartEnergy is ideal for horses that lack stamina, are lethargic or are easily fatigued. While many other energy supplements are focused on providing iron, feeding extra iron has not been shown to improve red blood cell count or athletic ability, and veterinarians agree that iron is rarely deficient in a horse’s diet. SmartEnergy offers a smarter solution by providing a range of nutritional building blocks required for the production of healthy red blood cells, without added iron.

View our Energy Supplement Comparison Chart

Order This Product In:

    Ships every 28 days
  edit
Maintenance Dose
  edit
Custom Dose  cancel
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Shipping on SmartPaks over $40
Congrats, you earned free shipping!

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Shipping on orders over $75
Congrats, you earned free shipping!
You Might Also Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    SmartEnergy® Pellets is rated 4.5309 out of 5 by 81.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really works! I have battled with weight control and energy issues with my Insulin Resistant Lusitano gelding for the past 6 years (since I bought him). I tried Thyo-L, keeping him off pasture during spring and summer months or any time the grass was growing. About a month ago I added SmarPak IR and a bit later added the SmartEngergy. My boy has dropped about 100 lbs. (though still has the fat pockets at his shoulders) and he has much more energy. To be fair, I also added some alfalfa pellets to my local hay, so I'm not entirely sure which of these additions gave the most results. My horse loves the flavor of both SmarPak supplements and he is much more "awake". He even started jumping at noises that he has been exposed to since he's lived here! I have a different horse...the one I've always wanted! By the way, with my Vets okay I have slowly removed him from the Thyro-L.
    Date published: 2013-09-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product My horse was short on energy. I tried other products to increase his energy but nothing seemed to work. Then I saw this product online. My horse is also insulin resistant so I decided to run this by my vet before trying it. She said it was perfectly safe so I decided to try it. What a difference it has made. My horse is a 3 day eventer and has placed in the top 3 in his class all year long. I highly recommendThis product.
    Date published: 2013-09-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Smart Energy Pellets I have noticed a huge difference since i started feeding Smart Energy pellets. My daughters jumper pony, who prefers to move along at a very slow tempo unless she is jumping, has certainly moved it up a notch on the flat and over fences. Since feeding these pellets , My daughter and her pony have only come home from shows with Reserve and Champion ribbons. This supplement has made a huge difference and I highly reccomend it.
    Date published: 2013-08-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from GO without WACKO 6 YO Gelding Luken for Blue Skies just didn't have a gas pedal. He'd be good for about 30 minutes dressage training a few days a week. Get to four days in a row of hard riding, and forget about it! He wasn't naughty, but he sure wasn't going forward, either.Enter SmartEnergy. Regular dose, 7 days. Today? Different horse. "Harley" has a GO, he rode hard for over 45minutes, and had more to give. Whitetail deer sprinted behind his arena, and he barely flicked an ear. No spook, and still sustained energy.If you need more energy from your horse, but don't want to peel him off the stall walls? This is the product for you!
    Date published: 2014-02-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just awesome My event horse needed extra "oomph". This was exactly what was needed. He had more energy from the first time I added this to his feed. Once again, great job Smartpak!
    Date published: 2013-05-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have a new horse! I decided to try SmartEnergy because my Irish Sport Pony was sluggish and "lazy". People didn't like riding him because he needed so much leg to keep going. I know that's not his real nature, so after having him vetted, I decided to try this product. I was looking for something that would give him more stamina without getting him hot, and that's just what this product did. After a little more than one month, I now have a pony who is quicker in transitions, and who now canters without looking for excuses to break. He is just as happy, -no change in moods, only more active. Love the product!
    Date published: 2013-05-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works! My 15 year old Saddlebred gelding used to get sluggish in the summer heat. Not anymore! He is now more than happy to gallop and play for most of an afternoon. This gives him the extra boost he needs to act like his old self.
    Date published: 2013-05-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Energy to spare I added the energy supplement to help a lazy horse that would not pick his feet up. Well, it worked!! Not only does he pick up his feet, he also dances and prances. LOL. So, if you or your horse need more energy, give it a shot.
    Date published: 2013-03-21
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from We haven't quite been on it for 2 months. Some days it appears it working & some days not.
    Date published: 2013-03-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have a different horse now!! I have had my lazy/no energy Percheron cross on this supplement for over 5 months and he is a different horse!! His stamina has improved and he is nicely forward. Such a joy to ride him now!!
    Date published: 2013-02-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice "Slow Burn" Really liked this product. I found some of the other energy supplements (RedCell in particular) gave my Haflinger quick energy...he would really SPOOK, then go back to "normal". SmartEnergy gave him a nice steady "slow burn" energy, without the jumpy-ness. Was useful in keeping his energy up during interval work so I could build the fitness and increase energy.
    Date published: 2012-12-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Have noticed an improvement It has only been about a month since starting this supplement and I have noticed an increase in energy. It has not made him "spooky" as other energy supplements have.
    Date published: 2012-12-28
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from No change yet I've had her on this supplement for a month and haven't noticed ANY difference whatsoever. I just got a new shipment so we'll see if there are any changes, if not I'll stop giving her this. Ugh
    Date published: 2012-11-09
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Need more energy Added to my horses smartpaks to increase stamina for training and also more energy at shows. I haven't noticed any change yet.
    Date published: 2012-10-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from MUST HAVE! I ride an Irish Sport Horse who knows the world of lazy all two well. The problem was that any food with sugar, such as sweet feed, would send him through the roof and he would get way to jittery. I spoke to a Smartpak representative and they recommended their Smart Energy Pellets. They have been working wonders. My horse has more energy and has completely stayed sane. I love what they are doing for him!
    Date published: 2013-02-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works the Best! My trainer had my 19 year old saddlebred gelding on Red Cell for energy this summer. After two months on the liquid, I wasn't noticing much of a difference. I looked up SmartEnergy on a whim and read the reviews of other senior horse owners, many of whom said Red Cell didn't really work for them either.My boy has been on SmartEnergy for a month now and he's as frisky as he was at 15! He's back to his old self and seems to enjoy our classes again.I don't know why I tried other supplements. SmartPak supplements always work the best!
    Date published: 2012-10-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing!! My Percheron cross was as lazy as you can get and would be exhausted after a short while. I put him on SmartEnergy and the results really are amazing. He holds his canter with minimal pushing, where as before he would constantly break stride. He can go for so much longer than previously and recovers so fast! I tire before he does. I have been very impressed with this product and will continue to use it. He also gobbles it right up!!
    Date published: 2012-09-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Pleased with this Product Every summer my horse seems to be more tired than normal. I used to chalk it up to heat, but notice other horses were more peppy. The other reviews on this product were from people with similar problems. Most mentioned past cases of Lyme disease that seemed to reoccur low grade each summer. This product got my horse back to his normal self without an added or unwanted energy. I would highly recommend this product.
    Date published: 2012-08-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gives Him a Boost I have a Belgian Draft/Tb, and I think the heat and humidity have sapped his energy a little bit. I thought this might be a good product for him. I have noticed he has been able to work without being so drained afterward. This gives him energy without making him spooky or hot.
    Date published: 2012-07-25
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-07-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I Am So Grateful To SmartPak For Developing This My mare is extremely finicky, but gobbles up these pellets. More importantly, she suffers from bouts of anemia. I was so excited to find a blood building product that did not contain iron, as I will be able to use it constantly without the worry of iron toxicity. My mare's Packed Cell Volume increased by 10.7 within 30 days of use. SmartEnergy is staying in her SmartPak!
    Date published: 2012-07-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Did the job... My Perch/Tb cross was petering out way too soon during a workout. He balked midway through a cross country canter w/o jumps. I had increased his feed and he still seemed tired. The SmartEnergy Pellets were the extra oomph that he needed. He enjoys working again.
    Date published: 2012-06-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Better than Red Cell My horse was acting extremely lethargic this last winter. His blood work came back with both low red and white cell counts and anemic. This seems to be a annual residual effect from an ehrlichiosis infection. In the past Red Cell seemed to help, not this year. I take B-vitamins myself and know the difference in energy levels and thought it was worth a shot. The very first day, his appetite picked up and within a week his energy was normal. He finally put weight on, moves better and has energy for riding. The amazing this is, by accident, he's only getting half the normal dose! Highly recommend for hard keepers, senior horses and those in the northern states.
    Date published: 2012-05-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Results After noticing my otherwise fit 20 year old schoolmaster was just ho-humming through his work I decided to try this product. SO glad I did. Before resorting to larger spurs or letting the thought that he was just getting "older" creep into my head I wanted to address his energy level with this. Within 3 weeks he is delightfully forward, attentive and very happy in his work without being hot. LOVE!
    Date published: 2012-04-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fixed Anemia Blood work late last summer revealed my mare was anemic, so I put her on this product. This last weekend we were at an eventing clinic and she had so much energy we probably could have made time around an Advanced course. I was wracking my brain, trying to figure out why she was so full of gas. Then it occurred to me she probably wasn't anemic anymore. Blood work two days later showed that yes, her red blood cells are up where they should be. I am happily able to stop this supplement now, because it did what it was supposed to. If we ever have this problem again I'll definitely return to it.
    Date published: 2012-03-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Noticeable Results in a Week I noticed my gelding was starting to run out of 'gas' towards the end of my rides. At 25 years young and still actively showing I gave SmartEnergy a try. My trainer and I noticed a difference in him within a week. He was much more active during my rides.
    Date published: 2012-03-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product My Friesian was lacking the "boost" we needed to move up to the next level in dressage. I know he doesnt like indoor work so I blamed his laziness on that. Now that he is on smart energy he seems to enjoy his work more and moves more like we are outside
    Date published: 2012-03-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Gave her a little more 'umph' SmartEnergy Pallets seemed to have boosted my mares energy. It didn't make her hyper, just gave her a little more 'umph' when competing and riding.
    Date published: 2012-02-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing stuff When the vet said he was slightly anemic, he said to use vitamins and red cell. So, I did both and he was still a little sluggish. After using the comparison chart and realizing iron may not be what he needs, I started using SmartEnergy, and wow.... he is just like a normal horse with calm energy. He can focus on learning new things now. :) He loves the taste of it too!!! Love it, Thank you SmarkPak
    Date published: 2012-02-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from SmartEnergy WORKS! I started using SmartEnergy a few months ago for my 4 year old quarter horse mare. Zoey was a very lethargic filly, she was so easy going for a young horse. I started barrel racing her and she would get so exhausted after the first run and she wasn't out of shape! I decided to start her on SmartEnergy and with in a week and a half I could see a small difference and now that she has been on it for a few months she has so much energy and she is able to conserve it for barrels. This did not make my horse go crazy she just acts like a normal 4 year old now. At first she wouldn't eat it very well but I don't know if that is the vitamins that are with it or just the energy supplement itself. I fully recommend this!
    Date published: 2012-02-13
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.