Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Roma Fly Boots

Roma
- Item #13535

 

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Roma’s Mesh Wraps offer strong and durable fly protection. These wraps are made from 100% nylon mesh with soft fleece edging to protect against rubs. Strong touch tape closure keeps leg wraps in place for turnout.

15" tall.

Set of 4.

You Might Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    Roma Fly Boots is rated 3.8833 out of 5 by 60.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2013-03-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works Great Got these in the middle of summer not only to keep flies off, but help my horse from stomping his feet and hooves chipping bad. I had no idea how many flies go around their lower leg. His hooves have literally improved about 80% from these. Stops ALOT of stomping and he's much more happy. They do slid down if not on right, but my horse didn't seem to mind even when they'd slid alot. Recommend these to anyone I can!
    Date published: 2012-09-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from MUCH better than expected!! I was hesitant to order these because they don't look very durable--they are MUCH better than they look!! I marked them as "runs large" because they fit my Oldenburg!!! Not a lot of things do. I am VERY happy with these. They do sag down, but I put them on pretty loosely. They might stay up better if I made them tighter but I've had problems with others that were too tight and his leg swelled up. I am using them mainly to protect his fetlocks from sores--the fly deterrence is an extra bonus. They sag but don't come off. They have not caused any rubs. He doesn't mess with them so I don't have that problem. I only gave 4 stars for durability because I've only been using them for about a week and a half. We'll see how long they last--but there were FOUR in the pack--so I've still got two more! I am not using them on his hind legs because he didn't like having them on there. I highly recommend these!!
    Date published: 2012-08-15
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Met my need for now The boots are doing the job of protecting Bens legs from flys. They are not form fitting and need to be adjusted. The fit is better when applied upside down. For the price they are ok.
    Date published: 2012-07-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works as Expected Very easy to use, can wrap as tight as need be. Frosty seems to love them as he hasn't destroyed them yet!
    Date published: 2012-07-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Fly Boots Roma makes high quality products so I purchased their fly boots and I wasn't disappointed! Durable and comfortable, these well made boots are kept on my horse 24/7 and have held up very well! I would recommend them for your horse because they have kept the flies off my horse's legs and prevented fly bites and the problems that happen because of them.
    Date published: 2012-07-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from no flys wasn't happy that I couldn't get cob size for my little thoroughbred as these - like most fly wraps run long on him. Also found it odd that for a set of 4 they all seem to be the same size and the logo goes one way so half the wraps seem upside down when put on correctly and run alittle long for the fronts. All in all they are staying on and haven't ripped - yet so I'm happy.
    Date published: 2012-07-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Better Than Expected I am quite pleased with these boots, I divided the four on two horses' front legs. They stay up on the shorter horse better than the taller horse, but they still seem to do the job. The flies feast on these horses' fetlocks, pasterns and heel bulbs and the boots provide good protection in these areas. The velcro is very sticky and sturdy.
    Date published: 2012-06-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for fly control Really keeps the flies off horses legs and stops the stamping all day.
    Date published: 2012-06-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good with vices Love these fly boots. Stopped my horses from stomping, and saved their feet and legs. They did collect burs but i fixed that with a mower. They stayed on well and have lasted a while! I love them. Ordering two more pairs today! :)
    Date published: 2012-06-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from fly boots I purchased these because they were the best prices and seemed to be the lightest weight. I live in southeast Texas, so heat is a problem along with flies. My mare is more comfortable without stopping flies so much. So far they are staying up and doing a great job. I have only used them about 2 weeks.
    Date published: 2012-05-31
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Roma fly wraps These fly wraps were the first purchase that I have ever had to return to Smartpak. They didn't even make it 24 hours on my two QH's. The wraps did not stay up, just ended up in a big wad around their fetlocks. My younger horse wasted no time in ripping the Velcro off. Just no good all the way around. However, Smartpak was great about me returning them, and I have replaced them with Kensington fly boots, which work very well.
    Date published: 2012-05-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-04-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very good deal; easy to wash/repair These are not my favorite fly boots, but for the money they are an excellent value. Yes I do find they will sag and one of my horses is notorious for taking off her fly boots - rips the velcro off. The velcro is very easy to sew back on and the boots still look good. I always take my horses fly boots off every night, a good time to inspect their legs closely. I also cut off the excess velcro tab to help make it a little more difficult for my horse to get the fly boots off.
    Date published: 2012-04-09
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from no so good I have searched around and tryed out different fly boots this past year, these were nice but really bad for tall pastures collected lots of burs.
    Date published: 2011-11-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from No more stomping.... Great..... Horse very tolerant and keeps those nasty flies off his legs. No more stomping.
    Date published: 2011-09-21
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from no good :( They did not stay up and bunched really really bad...
    Date published: 2011-09-12
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Did not stay up/on! These didn't last a day on my gelding, sadly! He really needs them but managed to get one of the 2 I left on off overnight, and the other was bunched around his fetlock when I arrived. He's an Arab, and they didn't stay up at all, even though they were tight. Can't recommend them.
    Date published: 2011-07-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very useful item Now that it's mega-bug season in Connecticut (thanks, rain!), I've bitten the bullet and bought fly wraps for the first time. My horse is very happy to wear them and not spend his time stamping away the flies. Vet and farrier are happier too. And I use that much less fly spray, so that's nice too!
    Date published: 2011-07-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super Value! I have a 16.2 Thoroughbred with pretty long cannon bones. These are definitely tall enough for his legs - the only question about fit is that there seems to be some excess space around the leg, that determined flies can still enter from the top. However, the value is awesome. For the same price as other listed fly boots, you get two pairs versus one pair. My guy won't tolerate the boots on his hind end, so I swap the sets out as they get dirty. To reduce slouching of the boots, and to help with how wide they appear to be, I sewed some $0.20 felt on the inside in a narrow strip. It took me all of half an hour to do all four and they stand up better for longer. I do wish, though, that they came in a color other than white. Dirt shows up like crazy. Overall, VERY PLEASED!
    Date published: 2011-07-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice wraps - great price Very nice wraps - well made and do a great job. Stay on. Can't beat the price. Length is perfect. Rather large around - but adjustable with the touch tape closures.
    Date published: 2011-07-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2011-06-01
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from not worth the money My horse has worn these wraps TWICE and they are already coming apart. And she wore them in her paddock, and not even turned out. There is a hole in the mesh which she must have bitten on the first wearing. And tonight (the 2nd wearing) the velcro stitching is coming undone on one of them. They've also created a 'fold' from her wearing them, which looks pretty permanent.
    Date published: 2010-08-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2010-08-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2010-08-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2010-07-26
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not Impressed Several persons had given good reviews on here, so I decided to try these. I had one velcro strap break the first day and had to sew it back on. They sag down to about 6 inches b/c they seem to be top-heavy from the fleece. I think the bottom velcro strap could be placed lower b/c the boots tend to fall and then the whole hoof is covered and just retains mud/moisture in the fleece/nylon. I've seen another brand where there is only fleece at the bottom and the velcro goes vertical vs. horizontal straps and they stay up & perform better.
    Date published: 2010-07-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from roma fly boots great boots for the price. they are a little big but may be made to fit that way.
    Date published: 2010-07-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2010-06-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have a horse with some soundness issues so stomping her legs from flies is a problem. I have used the Kensington wraps in the past, but they only lasted 1 season. These fit really nice and are super light. The mesh is small enough to keep out gnats too.
    Date published: 2010-06-10
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.