Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Review Snapshot

Wonder Dust

Farnam Companies, Inc.
- Item #10223

 

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Wonder Dust is a dressing powder and blood coagulant for use on wounds, cuts, abrasions, and capillary bleeding. Will stop bleeding fast, dry up the wound, and help control granulated tissue formation- a must for any first-aid kit!

Wonder Dust contains activated charcoal to help prevent proud flesh, and serves as a caustic and drying agent for slow-healing sores and infected lesions. Wonder Dust may be used with or without a bandage.

4 oz. bottle with puffer.

You Might Like
    out of 5
    92% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Wonder Dust is rated 4.8846 out of 5 by 26.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great to cover up wounds Me and my horse were at a dressage show and he has bed sores on both of his fetlocks. Well my trainer took him out of his stall at the show and found that both bed sores were bleeding. It was a USEF, USDF rated dressage show and we would be eliminated for because of the blood. Well we cleaned out both bed sores and applied some Wonder Dust to them and it worked so well it clotted up the blood and you couldn't even see that they were even bleeding. Thankfully my horse is a bay so the Wonder Dust blended in perfectly. Wonder Dust save the day.
    Date published: 2013-08-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from wONDER dUST Great product we use it to control a chronic problem with a draft horse greasy heal condition.I do wish the spritz top worked better and that it came in a larger bottle
    Date published: 2013-08-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this! I used this when my horse got cuts in Wellington and it really helped! I love the fact that it covers a cut, but still allows it to breathe. I totally recommend it!
    Date published: 2013-08-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from good product good product for cuts that need help to stop bleeding or are oozing a lot and attracting bugs. Have also used when a horse had bit their tongue before going into the arena to stop bleeding quickly. *** My vet told me something that I didn't know and thought was important to share, he said they he would not be able to sew up a wound if I have used this product on it due to not being able to get all the particles out. So do not use unless you know it wont need stitches.
    Date published: 2013-05-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great to stop bleeding! I use this mostly on little cuts my horse gets that drips blood and on my dog's nails when they get clipped too close. It works really well! I wouldn't go anywhere without it! Also, I bought my first and only bottle of it in about 2003 and now 10 years later I still have some left! Great value for the price.
    Date published: 2013-01-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Product I like to use this product on my horse for hard to heal areas. If the wound is moist, the powder sticks to it, covering it well and protecting it, promoting healing.
    Date published: 2012-09-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A must have in the first aid kit. I keep one in the barn first aid kit as well as in our trailer. Easy to use and well tolerated. Does the trick in preventing proud flesh and drying up wounds quickly.
    Date published: 2012-08-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product! We've used Wonder Dust for years with great results. Great for "poofing" on an abrasion when you have a horse who's not crazy about 'direct contact' medication. Especially good for leg wounds and abrasions. Does everything it says it will do.
    Date published: 2012-08-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works as Always It's not a matter of IF you need this, it's just WHEN you will need it with a horse. I don't know a horse person without it. Works as it always has, quickly, and easily.
    Date published: 2011-12-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from first aid must This stuff is great. On top of taking car of my horse caring for school horses is a big part of my job. This stuff is good for cuts and things that can't be bandaged or as insurance if bandages are likely to come off. Follow the directions on the bottle and it will work great. Make sure to take out the plastic under the cap before putting it in your first aid kit. It can be tough to take out if in a hurry.
    Date published: 2011-08-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product I always keep this on hand. I had purchased a thoroughbred mare from a dealer that had caught herself on a nail in the pasture and sliced the point of her shoulder. It was too late for stitches and I was worried it wouldn't heal. My vet told me to keep it clean and dry, so I cleaned the cut everyday and put the Wonder Dust on it and it was cleared up within a month!! The best part is that you couldn't even see the scar!!!
    Date published: 2011-05-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A First Aid kit Staple The Same product that I have grown up with, that I always keep around for those scrapes and cuts that we know all happen.
    Date published: 2010-05-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from long time staple does exactly what it says it will. no bells and whistles.
    Date published: 2010-05-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great product Wonder Dust is great, acts like an artificial scab, and stops bleeding on the spot! Must have for any first aid kit.
    Date published: 2010-03-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Wonder Dust Have used Wonder Dust for a long time and am happy with the results.
    Date published: 2009-07-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really works This really stops bleeding. Great for surface abrasions and deeper cuts. It forms an instant scab that promotes healing. The only trouble is that unless you're careful the puffer can get clogged and it's a pain to fix.
    Date published: 2009-06-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from WORKS GOOD This is a fast and easy way of treating a fresh wound. Works well.
    Date published: 2007-10-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from It really is wonderful... Managing a 28-horse barn with horses that are turned out together in one large pasture makes treating wounds very time consuming. Wonderdust is GREAT for a fresh wound. Puff the powder over a wound once and it basically forms an instant scab. No need for bandages! The horses liked it, too, because it was so quick and easy.
    Date published: 2007-06-19
    • 2016-02-11T15:13CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_3, tr_23
    • loc_en_US, sid_223, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Mollie and Eden
    I started riding when I was 9 years old and quickly got swept up into the competitive hunter/jumper world. I showed my first pony, Chloe, in the Small Pony Hunter divisions were we competed at shows like Fairfield Hunt Club, Old Salem, HITS, and West...

    Learn more »

    SmartPak Barn Field Trip, Part 2: Decoding hay and grain for horses
        Download the worksheet to test your knowledge! How much hay and grain does your horse get every day? How much SHOULD your horse be getting each day? Many horses may not be getting what your feed bag recommends,

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-800-461-8898.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.