Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!

Product Video:

Our toughest waterproof blanket yet
Find out why

Withers & Withers Insulin Resistant Horse Treats

Item #18282
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Your horse will love these treats and won't even know it's good for them! Withers & Withers Insulin Resistant Horse Treats are for Insulin Resistant, overweight, older horses and horses with Cushing's Disease. Made with Stabilized Oat Bran, Stevia Leaf, Cinnamon Bark Powder, and Apple Powder.

Sizing

24 oz. tin or Refill Bag
What Customers Say:

Ingredients

Stabilized Oat Bran, Food Grade Wheat Bran, Food Grade Organic Apple Powder, Food Grade Organic Stevia Leaf Powder Organic Cinnamon Bark Powder Salt Citric Acid
You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "Omega Horse Nibblers® are tasty and functional! These ...
    Description:
    "Omega Horse Nibblers® are tasty and functional! These treats provide omega 3 fatty acids from stabilized flaxseed to support overall health and wellness. In addition to being perfect for clicker training or as an anytime treat, they’re a convenient supplement ...
    "We couldn't believe FlaxSnax are really for our ...
    Description:
    "We couldn't believe FlaxSnax are really for our horses- they simply smell wonderful! FlaxSnax are oven baked and enriched with flax, providing 3g of Omega-3 Fatty Acids per serving (7 cookies). Cinnamon. Made in the USA"
    "The Cantering Chef has baked up something unique ...
    Description:
    "The Cantering Chef has baked up something unique for your horse! His tasty horse cookies combine the freshest natural ingredients, including scrumptious rolled oats and molasses. Choose from three delicious flavors: Blackberry Vanilla - flavored with natural blackberry flavor and ...
    "Uncle Jimmy's Big Licky Starter Kit is a ...
    Description:
    "Uncle Jimmy's Big Licky Starter Kit is a hanging boredom buster from Uncle Jimmy's popular line of products. The Big Licky was created to reduce mess and stickiness. Packed with all the same nutritional value and flavor as their popular ...
    "The blending of natural anise seed and orange ...
    Description:
    "The blending of natural anise seed and orange oils combines two wonderful flavors to create a delicious treat for your favorite equine! Super Stars are oven baked as bite sized, star shaped pieces. There's no crumbling, no mess, and they ...
    "Omega Nibblers® Low Sugar & Starch are tasty ...
    Description:
    "Omega Nibblers® Low Sugar & Starch are tasty and nutritious Omega-3 heart shaped apple flavored treat supplement for horses in all life stages. Made from stabilized ground flaxseed and natural ingredients that taste great – a worthy treat for all ...
    "Naturally flavored with fresh peppermint oil, Meadow Mints ...
    Description:
    "Naturally flavored with fresh peppermint oil, Meadow Mints are cool, crunchy and delicious. Like our favorite old fashioned dinner mints, these treats are traditionally shaped and baked into perfectly bite sized Meadow Mints pieces. There's no crumbling, no mess, and ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Withers & Withers Insulin Resistant Horse Treats is rated 4.1 out of 5 by 51.
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Mare rejected the new formula. My mare ate these treats with gusto until they added the apple cider vinegar. Now, even after a week of trying, she spits them out. I thought they looked different when I opened the bag, then noticed the "Now with apple cider vinegar" note on the bag. I have always been happy with these treats in general, and have purchased all "flavors" for years. Just very disappointed that I have to search again for a small treat for my IR horse.
    Date published: 2016-02-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from she loves them! My mare is a real beggar for treats and I worried about giving her them as she is a bit "stocky". Now she can have them and I don't worry...
    Date published: 2016-01-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tasty! I bought these for my mini, as he doesn't need any extra calories. He likes them okay. The biggest fan, however, is my big horse. I've never had her go after treats like these. So, they get 5+ stars on taste from her.
    Date published: 2015-12-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love giving treats! My 17 year old Rocky Mountain mare is a bit of a princess and does love her treats. Unfortunately, she tends towards insulin resistance. I tried Withers & Withers Insulin Resistant Horse Treats. I wasn't sure she was going to like them, but she's decided they are definitely okay. I'm happy to have a treat that I don't have to worry so much about giving!
    Date published: 2015-09-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best treats My horse loves these treats and they r a great substitute for sugar cubes. Perfect size !
    Date published: 2015-09-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good treat Like most of you, I bought these for a horse that should not have sugary treats. At first, he didn't understand what they were and I thought they weren't going to work for him. After he chewed them up, he loved them. Now, one at a time is not enough and he pesters me for me. They are pricey for me because of how many I end up feeding.
    Date published: 2015-08-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A great treat for ponies with IR issues! The pony that I purchased these for LOVES them! I am so pleased that I can reward him for a good training session in a way that will not exacerbate any metabolic issues that he has. Thank you, SmartPak, for making a healthy treat available!
    Date published: 2015-07-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2015-04-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I'll admit it, I tried one. I really didn't know how to review these treats. My vet told me it was imperative to cut out the sugar in my horse's diet. I used to buy him a 25 lb bag of carrots per week and whatever muffin/cookie/snack I could get at the Feed Store. I was sure that this change in diet was not going to go down well for either of us. He is a very spoiled horse and I love to spoil him.I bought these treats and hoped for the best.Well, he likes them and he eats them so I am happy with that. He makes that "laughing face" when he does, so I decided to try a bit of one myself. I found them to be super sweet the way non-sugar sweeteners taste and they have a overriding licorice taste. I do wonder why they can't make them carrot, apple or banana flavored but they are not for me so as long as they are healthy for him I consider it money well spent. Even my mare likes them.They are easy to keep in your pocket without getting all crumbly or sticky and now there is much more room in my refrigerator for things I like and perhaps are not good for me. Like cheese.
    Date published: 2015-02-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pony approves! My pony loves these. He has Cushings,so, I was looking for a fun treat for him. I find there are plenty in the bag and they last quite a while.
    Date published: 2014-12-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Healthy Treats Again Purchased these with my horse had some health issued and needed to get off sugars and corn products. He also was borderline insulin resistant. He likes these and I know they are good for him.
    Date published: 2014-07-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Picky eater - loves them My 27 year old Cushings horse loves these treats. He usually turns his nose up at anything "new" but he didn't hesitate with these. Just wish they were a little less expensive for the amount in the bag. Otherwise, Perfect!
    Date published: 2014-06-17
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Great idea Only 2out of 3 of my minis likes the treats. The first bag I purchased was over half powdered treats. Smart pack replaced it with a new bag that was about 1/4 powder. I don't think I would purchase them again
    Date published: 2014-04-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from big success with my pony My pony loved these treats. I wish it wasn't so expensive for such a small bag of treats though.
    Date published: 2014-03-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from IR donkeys After a number of abscesses, my vet said one of my jennies was likely IR. Although the vet also said that stevia--one of the ingredients in these--has not been studied for donkeys, both donkeys have had two treats each with no bad consequences so far. My fingers are crossed. Though donkeys are not just long eared horses, people I asked about them and stevia have guessed that they'd be okay with it. 
    Date published: 2014-01-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Smells absolutely Delicious! My treat loving horse enjoys these and I don't feel guilty Over indulging him!
    Date published: 2013-12-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good sugar substitute This treat was more readily accepted than I had expected it to be - the horse is kind of picky! It is a nice size to have in one's pocket during training in lieu of sugar cubes. It smells appealingly like cinnamon.
    Date published: 2013-10-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Neigh or Bray My horses do not like these at all and will spit them out.My donkeys however, like them.Probably will not order again, due to already having found a healthy treat they all like.
    Date published: 2013-08-12
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from They are great! I was very torn about buying these because some of the reviews said "my horse didn't like these" but my horse likes them! So I think it depends on the horse! But I will defiantly by these again of Angel!
    Date published: 2013-06-18
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Smelled fantastic... horse didn't agree These treats smelled incredible when they arrived! Unfortunately, my gelding didn't find them tasty which was definitely disappointing... and they seemed awfully dry. Finding good treats for my IR horse is difficult and it would've been great if they had worked.
    Date published: 2013-04-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome purchase Having an insulin resistant horse it's nice to be able to give treats that r specifically for them. Now my horse doesn't go without (eg no carrots, etc...)
    Date published: 2012-11-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-03-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from very satisfied with purchase Horses do enjoy. Use treats for clicker training with my 25 yr old TWH and my cresty little Paso Fino. Treats are a little pricey so I cut them in half. That said, hard to find good treats for metabolically challenged horses
    Date published: 2012-02-10
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from my horse has EPSM and I was thrilled to get a treat she can have. Only problem is she thinks they are discusting! She acts like I'm poisoning her and won't even chew them. They are small and dry but smell good to me (like cinnamon). They are far too expensive unless the horse loves them. Need more products that don't have sugar, molasses, oats, etc for horses like this.
    Date published: 2012-01-24
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from A waste of money I was so disappointed in this product. The "cookies" are smaller than a hershey's kiss, so small it is hard to handle them with gloves on. I was planning to use them for clicker training, I'm going to use carrot slices instead.In addition, the price was way too high for this product.
    Date published: 2011-12-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Horses love taste but pricey! I have two mares with epsm and have to limit their sugar intake. They love these treats and they smell good too! However, they are very expensive for the quantity you get.
    Date published: 2011-10-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very useful treat! I am very fond of these cookies. I use them as a treat at times, but really use them to help my picky eater eat his suppies. Just one or two crumbled cookies combined with the splash of apple cider vinegar pretty much guarantees my boy will lick his bowl.While some reviewers disliked that the cookies will "soften" or crumble more easily if they are older or exposed to the air, I prefer them that way to crumble up onto his dinner =) It also allows us to give them to the 33 y/o who eats soaked feed and no treats unless they "melt" since she is missing many of her teeth.Maybe I should request the "powdered" bags some have had! All my recent orders have been perfect original texture, so Smartpak definitely took their comments to heart. Great treats.
    Date published: 2011-08-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Treats! I purchased these for my pleasantly plump TWH mare. She has spit other cookies out like she thought they were poison, but LOVED these after just one taste! They are pretty small (more like a mint size) but it is great to have a treat I can give her without feeling guilty!
    Date published: 2011-08-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tasty Treat My horse loves these! I love them because I am able to give him a tasty treat that is okay to eat. Being Insulin Resistant he can no longer have apples or carrots. My vet is happy a treat was developed for insulin reisistant horses.
    Date published: 2011-07-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Some Like It Some Spit It Out This is a great treat for my IR horses. Some of my non-IR horses spit it out, not sure if it is the taste or the consistency.
    Date published: 2011-07-08
    • y_2017, m_2, d_27, h_20
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_4, tr_47
    • loc_en_US, sid_8282, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders